We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all La Paz hostels

Reviews of Estrella Andina

Hostel | Illampu #716, La Paz, Bolivia 4321

88.1% Overall Rating

129 out of 133 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (31/08/2014)

Anne Harai thinks…

"The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was lovely and the common areas really pleasant. I'd stay there every time I come to La Paz."

Read all Estrella Andina reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wake-up calls
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 12.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to La Paz?

Contact us directly

See other properties in La Paz

Hotel Sajama
17.91 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Las Brisas
18.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.8% 16 reviews
Hostal Sol Andino
13.88 USD

Guesthouse 85.8% 159 reviews
Hostal Naira
27.00 USD

Guesthouse 87.7% 73 reviews
Bash And Crash
5.52 USD

Hostel 73.6% 59 reviews
Pirwa Hostel La Paz
6.94 USD

Hostel 71.7% 19 reviews
Bacoo Hostel
5.66 USD

Hostel 81.7% 37 reviews
Cruz de los Andes
15.50 USD

Hostel 85.4% 367 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.1%

Overall Rating

129 out of 133 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Estrella Andina'

Atmosphere
82.4%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
89.6%
Value
84.8%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 113 of 130 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big room. Interesting, spacious building with lots of natural daylight. Good breakfast.

Disliked: Showers are temperamental but, after a change of room, ours was fairly warm at least. Break fast room was cold.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very nice hotel very clean and the staff were always helpful and it is very clean and well situated. The breakfast they provide was lovely.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julia Scott

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2012 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: Great location in central La Paz, close to everything we needed. Very helpful staff. Tourist office on site, so able to easily book tours and onward travel. Clean, nice rooms, cleaned daily with new towels. Great breakfast with eggs and variety of fruit and cereal. Would recommend.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Brendan O Connor

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2012 Brendan would recommend this property

Liked: Booked one night through hostelbookers but they were very accommodating in allowing us to stay a second night & book in for a night on our return from Uyuni. Even allowed us to check in when our bus arrived at 6am without paying extra. Friendly staff with good English. Dated decor, in a bit of disrepair but generally very nice. Good breakfast, adequate restaurant service in the evening if you don't feel like venturing out. Nice views from upper floors.

Disliked: nothing to complain about really!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place was great! Friendly staff, hot water, clean rooms, and laundry service! I felt safe leaving my. Stuff in my room and the breakfast bar will get you going in the morning!

Disliked: Only thing that was hard was meeting people! There is no real lounging place only the breakfast bar in the morning. Being solo that was the only problem.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, in the heart of the town. Breakfast was great and the views from the room beautiful. Very clean, this place is a hotel not a hostel!

Disliked: Very loud due to location on a busy road (La Paz is crazy with traffic) Cold at night

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

13 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness of the staff. Creative decoration. Central location.

Disliked: Cold.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

viviana rozas

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 February 2012 viviana would recommend this property

Liked: Loved this Hostel, very nice rooms with private bathrooms- rooms get cleaned everyday which is a plus and the breakfast was on a beautiful terrace with the view of the city!!

Disliked: well there was obviously 2 of us staying in the matrimonial room but we would only ever get 1 towel very time our room was cleaned, so everyday we had to ask for an ´"extra" towel

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location and if you stay on higher levels you can see a great view. The roof top terrace is lovely and breakfast is decent. Overall enjoyed my stay here and would recommend this place to travellers.

Disliked: Although there are some interesting art works all over the walls there was an artwork on my room wall and the face was a bit scary!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place, nice rooms, great location

Disliked: We arranged previously the transfer with Estrella Andina but nobody were at the airport to pick us up.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are clean with interesting murals. There was always hot water for showers. The staff was extremely helpful,especially Corina in the travel office who went out of her way and met us at the hotel where Diana Tours dropped us off to make sure we got on our next bus okay. Breakfast was good with fruit,quinoa, yogurt, coffee and of course there is tea all day long. I highly recommend this hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mario Guajardo

Alone

Family Holiday

15 January 2012 Mario would recommend this property

Liked: Quite picturesque walls, safe enough, good value for money, room basic but enough for short and comfortable staying: spacious bed, and room large enough, bathroom ensuite, TV incorporated. Staff helpful.

Disliked: A bit noisy, since it is next to a busy street.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and we loved all the murals! Very helpful staff and a tour company in the lobby who were very helpful. Really good breakfast.

Disliked: Nothing.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

10 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast amd the room it is served in are both very nice

Disliked: booked an airport transfer that didn't show up

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lucy ledger

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 December 2011 Lucy would recommend this property

Liked: Ability to access wifi from most areas of the hotel, and the central location

Disliked: The decor in the rooms was very dated

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was delicious - and a lovely rooftop setting restarant. Free internet with plenty of computers also great. Very clean

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Xlnt. value for money. Our double was more like a hotel than hostel. Nice central location close to services.

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Keegan Sinnott

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 November 2011 Keegan would recommend this property

Liked: Very good hostel, lots of character with paintings a ling every wall and room. Staff was helpful and a security guard at the door makes you feel very safe. The breakfast is awesome though doesn't always start Or have the full menu available right when it starts

Disliked: No real common area makes it a but hard to meet other travellers

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hotel is a great place to stay. The staff were so helpful. Rooms are clean and spacious and nicely decorated. The location is ideal right in the centre of town. Breakfast was delicious. It´s one of the best hotels I have stayed in South America. I would definitely recommend this hotel to fellow travellers.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved our stay and everything. Nice rooms and great breakfast.

Disliked: Showers are a bit tricky but it was fine

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We most liked the hot water, the interior decor, and the included breakfast.

Disliked: It has an elevator, but it doesn't service all floors! We could only take it up to the 4th floor and then had to climb the stairs up to the 6th where our room was. Not a huge deal, but it is the thing I disliked!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Much more a hotel than a hostel. Colourful and cheery rooms with helpful staff. Location is pretty good too.

Disliked: Wouldn't advise for travellers looking to meet people, as although it was great, no real opportunity to mix with other guests.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful and friendly staff

Disliked: No comment

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marsela Schroth

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2011 Marsela would recommend this property

Liked: We liked everything. The rooms, the paintings on the walls, the breakfast, the many terraces in the sun.

Disliked: Nothing to complain about!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very clean rooms, good variety of breakfast, friendly staff.

Disliked: nothing


See all La Paz hostels