We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all La Paz hostels

Reviews of Estrella Andina

Hostel | Illampu #716, La Paz, Bolivia 4321

88.1% Overall Rating

129 out of 133 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (31/08/2014)

Anne Harai thinks…

"The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was lovely and the common areas really pleasant. I'd stay there every time I come to La Paz."

Read all Estrella Andina reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wake-up calls
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 12.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to La Paz?

Contact us directly

See other properties in La Paz

Hotel Sajama
17.89 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Las Brisas
18.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.8% 16 reviews
Hostal Sol Andino
13.86 USD

Guesthouse 84.7% 162 reviews
Hostal Naira
27.00 USD

Guesthouse 87.7% 73 reviews
Bash And Crash
5.52 USD

Hostel 74.6% 60 reviews
Pirwa Hostel La Paz
6.93 USD

Hostel 71.7% 19 reviews
Bacoo Hostel
5.66 USD

Hostel 81.7% 37 reviews
Cruz de los Andes
15.50 USD

Hostel 86.5% 370 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.1%

Overall Rating

129 out of 133 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Estrella Andina'

Atmosphere
82.4%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
89.6%
Value
84.8%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 113 of 130 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

SEUNG EUI KO

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

10 February 2013 SEUNG EUI would recommend this property

Liked: location, breakfast, kind staff

Disliked: nothng

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

seamus o sullivan

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 February 2013 seamus would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, internal decor definitely different but got used to it.

Disliked: A little dated.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jennifer Wong

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 February 2013 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: Each floor was very unique in its design. It added a lot of character to the hotel.

Disliked: The hot water faucet and cold water faucet in all the sinks were separate which made it very annoying when it was cold outside to get hot water. The shower water pressure wasn't great either.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

14 January 2013

Liked: very simple hotel

Disliked: bad breakfest,

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emma Gook

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 January 2013 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, an easy walk into town. These couldnt do enough for us, cable tv, beautiful breakfast and super clean rooms. Excellent value! They booked us taxis and tours -a great place to stay.

Disliked: Showers were luke warm but we found this every where in bolivia.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Cockrell

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 November 2012 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Very good service. Free internet.

Disliked: Robert left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved it. It was a little oasis for me. I had been staying in dorm rooms for a couple of months, and recommend this as a great place to have a break with a room to yourself for a few nights to rest, sort out the backpack etc. Very clean and bright, and the murals are really quite nice. Breakfast is great, and if you want you can have other meals there too. There are also some really nice terrace areas with chairs and swings where you can relax in the sun, and a fabulous view over the city from the top floor dining area.

Disliked: As a solo traveller, I didn't find it to be a particularly sociable place to stay.. which was okay for me at the time, because I chose to stay there to have some downtime anyway. The hot water takes quite a while to kick in, but it gets there eventually.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great service, excellent breakfast, rooms are clean and tidy, no complains!

Disliked: Maybe they could improve their recommendations as to what places to visit for newcomers to la paz

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alyssa Miller

Alone

Work / volunteering

22 September 2012 Alyssa would recommend this property

Liked: Airport pickup, central location, decor

Disliked: Noisy streets

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Stefan Schillig

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 July 2012 Stefan would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, great murals (wall paintings) on all walls, nice view from top floor at breakfast

Disliked: Stefan left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very helpful and there is a great travel agency on site. The hotel was very unique what with all the wall murals and the location was perfect... minutes away from the Witches market and other points of interest.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly. The building was clean and exactly as described. I requested an airport pickup and the driver arrived on time, no problems. The view from the roof is great.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great staff, good rooms, available heaters, great breakfast

Disliked: its perfectly located in the city center, however, its also on the edge of the red light district, which isn't the best area. we didn't have any problems though.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, friendly staff and clean.

Disliked: It is more of a hotel than a hostel which isn't a big disadvantage but it doesn't have the same social vibe as a hostel.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gillian Gale

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 June 2012 Gillian would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, helpful staff, clean, fairly quiet for its location, the higher the floor the better i would say. Good breakfast and a fabulous shower, lovely and hot and so strong!!! Nice big rooms

Disliked: Something about the bottom mattress cover they put on makes the bed ruck up and its no so comfortable

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We really liked this hotel, the shower was big and warm, the room was very nice and pretty with the mural, and the terrace on the roof is very nice. The breakfast is also very good! We loved our stay!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year

23 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are all very helpful and most on reception speak good English. The rooms are big, comfortable and warm and the bathrooms are clean with a hot shower. There is a restaurant on the top floor with fantastic views over the city. The breakfast is good and dinner is served in the evening. It is located near the local and tourist markets. Recommended for a stay in La Paz

Disliked: There is a safe in the room but it does not lock.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Derek Nielsen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 May 2012 Derek would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing breakfast and great rooms. One of the best locations in all of La Paz. The terrace is amazing with great views of downtown. Top 5 in our 6 months of traveling.

Disliked: Derek left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Huib Volker

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 May 2012 Huib would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfast, friendly and helpful staff. Unique artwork on the walls in the rooms and communal areas that adds to the atmosphere, outdoor facilities, sun decks etc. They let us have breakfast and use our room very early in the morning when we had just arrived, tired from an overnight bus trip - this gesture was unexpected and really made our day! Also allowed us to store some bags for a few days while we went on an excursion, this was much appreciated.

Disliked: Hot water supply in shower was a little intermittent sometimes. Bedroom during our second stay (307) was smaller than the previous room (403) and had a much less comfortable bed, with a loose headboard that rattled.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty murals, good staff, central location.

Disliked: A bit of street noise at night, but did die down

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms were clean and comfortable, as was the bathroom. Staff were helpful though a little on the slow side.

Disliked: The tour agency associated with the hostel was awful. We were sold a one day tour to Lake Titicaca and Isla de Sol, and told we would visit several Inca ruins on the island. We were told there was a 3 hour bus journey each way. On the day of the tour, there was a 3 hour bus journey on the way to Lake Titicaca, followed by a 90 minute boat journey to Isla de Sol which the tour agency had not told us about. By the time we arrived at the island, we had all of 40 minutes on the Island, we saw ONE Inca ruin (which took all of 10 minutes at the very most), the tour guide sat us down and showed us pictures in a folder of Inca /Tiwanaku ruins in other places, then we got back on the boat for a 90 minute journey back to catch our bus, which on the return journey took over 4 hours - not because of traffic, but because the driver took a different route. In total, our tour end to end lasted 14 hours, of which an hour was spent on lunch, 40 minutes on the island, and the rest of the time traveling. To top it off, despite my having told the tour guide repeatedly that I was a vegetarian, he gave me a soup at lunch that he assured me was vegetarian, only for me to find chunks of meat in it once I started eating! Needless to say, once we returned from our tour, we could find no one to complain to about our experience. Classic case of take the tourist's money & then bury your head!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We particularly liked the friendly and helpful staff. Loved the murals and atmosphere, breakfast and the self-service tea facilities.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Breakfast is great. Comfortable rooms.

Disliked: Older property, bathroom in particular was basic, but clean and water was hot.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Anne-Katrin Schlesier

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 April 2012 Anne-Katrin would recommend this property

Liked: Nice view form the top terrace. Friendly staff.

Disliked: Room was cleaned although we put the 'don't clean'-sign on the door.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central for the Witches Market and good choices of local shops and restaurants

Disliked: The cost of the room is dependent upon the number of people staying inside it,


See all La Paz hostels