HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of HI-Onkel.Inn 1886 La Paz

Hostel

Calle Colombia, Galeria Colonial, La Paz, Bolivia

Atmosphere 73%

Cleanliness 87%

Facilities 75%

Location 90%

Safety 87%

Staff 72%

Value 80%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Outdoor Swimming Pool
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Postal Service
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to La Paz?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 73%

Cleanliness 87%

Facilities 75%

Location 90%

Safety 87%

Staff 72%

Value 80%

Showing 1-9 of 9 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Really chilled which is nice if you have altitude sickness. Lovely warm duvets (the only hostel ever where i have had a divet!) Nice breakfast, common areas.

Disliked: It was a bit cold. Not terribly social but that was ok for me at this stage in my trip.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location is good and the room and wc were clean.

Disliked: It could be more well-kept, although perhaps I am being too picky for bolivian standarts. For instance, the toilet seat was broken - would it be too much to have it changed? Also, the shower was either boiling hot or cold. It is hard to save water in these conditions. I booked a 6 dorm but they put me in a 8 dorm (luckly it was never full, but what happened with following what was booked?!!) Lastly, the property charged me more than it was supposed to. I showed them the email from hb with the deposit payed and the price I should pay and they then charged less than at first, but still more than agreed through the website. I consider this very serious. You can't change the price at will!

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: friendly staff

Disliked: none

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Work / volunteering

Liked: The hot water really is hot and doesn't go cold.The duvets are extra warm and you don't feel cold at nightThe location is walking distance from most of the sites.The roof top terrace is ace!It is very clean and has lots of good light.

Disliked: Staff don't speak much English so can be hard at times to communicate with them.They don't go out of their way to help you.Breakfast is not very exciting.After hours and on weekends when you ring the bell at the street front you need to wait for someone to come down and get you.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The rooms were super clean, great locker space, a nice kitchen to cook in and even swings!

Disliked: the showers were moldy and had no room to change or put your things and wifi is really bad...But I think that's pretty standard in Bolivia

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good size dorm & breakfast. Good common facilites.

Disliked: My Spanish is poor - difficult to speak with staff as no English spoken .Tried to book extra night - but they weren't interested/fully booked on weekend.

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Comfy beds, hot water, ok wifi.

Disliked: Staff tried to be helpful, and were nice, but spoke very little English -- this was an issue because I had a room booked through a tour (already paid for) but they kept trying to charge me!!!! It has very little atmosphere, not a good spot to meet people as the communal areas are uncomfortable. There's no bar to speak of, breakfast was VERY average (stale bread and jam..) and the staff were kind of slow, especially to replace breakfast items in the morning. Not so good when you have to rush off to a tour! Don't do your washing here, it is double the price of everywhere else in la Paz, takes forever, and they didn't return my towel - I came back days later and asked for it, and it turns out they had it, but hadn't emailed me to tell me or anything. It is more expensive than most other hostels in La Paz - and not as good! I moved hostels because I didn't want to spend any more time here.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The rooms were ultra nice, probably the best ive seen in a hostel! Felt really clean. There were huge lockers so you could literally pack alllll your stuff in there!

Disliked: Staff werent particularly helpful and i asked them to order me a cab for the airport which they didnt do so i had to wonder the streets in the middle of the night to find one.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Its located close, but still quite silent. Has a good atmosphere.

Disliked: Internet is rather slow, Breakfast looks like a buffet, but you actually dont get a lot, the Stove doesnt work,some private Rooms are directly to the dorms and not fully isolated by sound - but it does have a nice atmosphere

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Awesome beds. Very clean and good showers.

Disliked: Breakfast being served late. Not a big deal but if they say it begins at 7 they should commit to it, especially when people have tours to go on and they're relying on it to be served early.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability