We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all La Paz hostels

Reviews of Hostal Provenzal

Guesthouse | Murillo street # 1014, Tarija corner, Next to Oliver's travells La Paz, Bolivia 57451

84.7% Overall Rating

31 out of 31 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/05/2014)

Lisa Findley thinks…

"Nice hotel, the cable TV is addictive after months on the road. Slightly better than average breakfast. Wifi wasn't great, and then I re-set the router and it worked better. Great location. There's…"

Read all Hostal Provenzal reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 8.49

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to La Paz?

Contact us directly

See other properties in La Paz

HI Hostel Onkel Inn 1886
11.46 USD

Hostel 77.8% 33 reviews
Cruz de los Andes
15.50 USD

Hostel 86.5% 370 reviews
Hotel Milton
16.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 80.9% 53 reviews
Hotel Fuentes
11.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.9% 155 reviews
Hostal Sol Andino
13.86 USD

Guesthouse 84.7% 162 reviews
Estrella Andina
16.00 USD

Hostel 88.1% 133 reviews
Hotel Sajama
17.89 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Las Brisas
18.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.8% 16 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.7%

Overall Rating

31 out of 31 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal Provenzal'

Atmosphere
64.8%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
75.2%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
82.4%
Value
90.4%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 28 of 30 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Danielle Curcio`

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 December 2014 Danielle would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, good sized room, nice location

Disliked: Could get quite noisy at night (although our room did share a wall with the common room - others may have been better!)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Liam Ferney

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 August 2014 Liam would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Clean. Cheap

Disliked: Nil

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lisa Findley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2014 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hotel, the cable TV is addictive after months on the road. Slightly better than average breakfast. Wifi wasn't great, and then I re-set the router and it worked better. Great location. There's an elevator so you don't have to schlep up stairs!

Disliked: Not a place to meet people, this is much more hotel than hostel, just be aware of that. Rooms overlooking Calle Murilla are loud day and night because it's a main street. No laundry on-site.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kurt Easton

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 March 2014 Kurt would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is good, clean and great location. The tours desk on the ground level was excellent, great service and very helpful.

Disliked: This is the second time I have booked with hostel bookers, and both hostels have never received our reservation, we have had to show them the screen shot of the reservation on our iPad to be able to get a room. Hostel world.com has never let us down. We will be never using hostel bookers again.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

raffaella doneddu

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2013 raffaella would recommend this property

Liked: Hostal Provenzal offers clean and comfortable rooms with bathroom and TV. The property is very conveniently located in the middle of the tourist area and historical center.

Disliked: Breakfast is less than miserable. Rooms on the street are noisy during the day and early evening.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fabrice Alleaume

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 December 2012 Fabrice would recommend this property

Liked: The location is excellent and the staff very nice. The place is very secure and clean.

Disliked: The noise! The street can be quite busy and the Oliver travel pub not far can be really loud at night. Make sure you have some ear plugs with you!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great helpful staff, wifi

Disliked: Lots of street noise

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Joanne Raine

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 August 2012 Joanne would recommend this property

Liked: You can leave your luggage. Rooms clean, more like a hotel really.

Disliked: Breakfast was minimal. Wifi didnt reach the room.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean safe and in a good locaton..Nce view from roftop terrac..free breakfast.Cable TV if rquested.

Disliked: Someties no hot water

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: That was the cleanest and nicest room we had in all of South America and for this price it was really good value. It was close to amneties like banks, restaurants, internet, sights. The breakfast is simple but adequate in a beautiful room with a pretty nice view. The staff is very nice and helpful but they speak very minimal english. We got a nice cheap lunch for 2 on Tarija for 23 Bs with drinks.

Disliked: I would recommend this hotel (its more of a hotel than a hostel, so do not look to use the kitchen) but make sure to dress warm because at this time of the year the room was freezing. You will get plenty of blankets so its not too bad. Also, we took cold showers until we figured out that the pressure is very low so you can manage to get warm showers but keep the shower pressure low.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great central location, excellent hot water 24 hours.

Disliked: No wifi and a lack of information regarding tours and local information. More of a couple´s hostal than a place to meet people.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Denis Ometto

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 January 2011 Denis would recommend this property

Liked: Cleaness, location and personal stuff

Disliked: They close the front door very early at night, so we stay on the street (not so safe) until someone get the door

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shaz Davison

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture
Relaxation/spa
Work / volunteering

04 December 2010 Shaz would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was great in me overcome altitude dizziness. they also confirmed my flight and called my taxi.

Disliked: no wi-fi

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Olan O´Mahony

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 November 2010 Olan would recommend this property

Liked: Really clean rooms, great location, hot showers.

Disliked: Very little English spoken by most of the staff

71.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kieran Geraghty

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 October 2010 Kieran would recommend this property

Liked: Clean

Disliked: Wifi would be really useful.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Anthony Silipo

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2010 Anthony would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and clean, nice rooftop area. Location great! right in the middle of everything.

Disliked: Not much opportunity to meet other travelers. Very hotel like.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

03 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the rooms are really nice and friendly.

Disliked: there is no common kitchen or place to leave food. there is no wifi.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a great place to stay if your looking for hot showers and hotel like qualities. Its really quiet and clean in a brilliant location.

Disliked: If you are after a place to meet other travellers and a party atmosphere this is not the place for you.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Our third stay... loved most things. Just as we were leaving, the owner stopped us and shouted at us for breaking the bathroom door. We hadn't done this - had no idea what she was talking about. As we were trying to explain this, she demanded 10 Bolivianos and locked the door to stop us leaving!! The comments she made had a hint of racism about them. Luckily we could explain ourselves to a helpful member of staff (the owner wouldn't listen) and we managed to leave without further problems. Crazy woman owner spoilt an otherwise flawless stay - I think the staff were embarrassed by her! Deserves a bad review to dissuade this ridiculous behaviour in the future. Can't treat decent, peaceful returning customers like that!!

Disliked: See above.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfy, clean, friendly, towels free of charge, breakfast included, GREAT showers, rooms cleaned daily, good location, helpful staff. Really good for couples and others wanting to take it easy / have a quiet time. Would stay here again.

Disliked: Not very characterful (more like a hotel than a hostel), and not a great place to meet people.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anthony O'Callaghan

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2010 Anthony would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were excellent at provencal and the owners made themslves known to you as soon as you booked in. As well as this when trying to organise trips they went out of their way to find something suitable

Disliked: The only negative as far as I was concerned was if an early visit was booked breakfast wasn't available until 8:00 AM. Although something was arranged for you

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gregory Ryan

06 June 2010 Gregory would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, just down the road from the witches markets! Heaps of great restaurants close by. Perfect for couples

Disliked: Gregory left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maurice van der Velden

25 March 2010 Maurice would recommend this property

Liked: A very good new and modern place to sleep in La Paz, but if you are looking for fun this is not for you. Excellent beds, fantastic hot showers for a change and very clean. Highly recommended.

Disliked: Maurice left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Kettle

15 March 2010 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable and clean rooms in central location but noisy as result, currently road works to wake you up every morning

Disliked: Mark left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

31 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: tv

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all La Paz hostels