HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all La Paz hostels

Reviews of Wild Rover Backpackers Hostel

Hostel | Calle Comercio 1476, Esquina Bueno, (frente al Hostal Republica) La Paz, Bolivia .

87.5% Overall Rating

266 out of 286 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/04/2014)

Sara Correia thinks…

"Breakfast till late. Good party atmosphere. Great tv/louge room. Even had room with hairdryers and straightners!!!"

Read all Wild Rover Backpackers Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to La Paz?

Contact us directly

See other properties in La Paz

Loki Backpackers La Paz
6.22 USD

Hostel 80.6% 107 reviews
Residencial Latino
8.49 USD

Hostel 79.5% 79 reviews
Panamerican Hotel
20.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 61.9% 3 reviews
Bash And Crash
5.52 USD

Hostel 76.3% 52 reviews
Hotel LP Columbus
23.48 USD

Hotel 3 star 80.0% 15 reviews
Hostal Naira
27.00 USD

Guesthouse 87.3% 72 reviews
Hotel Eldorado
27.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 75.2% 3 reviews
Bacoo Hostel
5.66 USD

Hostel 81.7% 37 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.5%

Overall Rating

266 out of 286 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Wild Rover Backpackers Hostel'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
84.0%
Value
86.4%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 239 of 243 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Sara Correia

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 April 2014 Sara would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast till late. Good party atmosphere. Great tv/louge room. Even had room with hairdryers and straightners!!!

Disliked: The tab...its deadly. Not enuf tables in bar. Showers were cold one day warm the next

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fun party hostel

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Gozen Soydag

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2014 Gozen would recommend this property

Liked: This is a great place to meet travellers and have fun! The food is good too!

Disliked: Gozen left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

27 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Party place, but a big-hostel-type one...great for small groups, I guess, but not so much for solo travelers. Good food to order from their kitchen. Free pool table. Bar staff is good and usefull, unlike reception one. Toilets are clean when not ocupied by cleaning ladies...

Disliked: Some reception staff is not just poor, but outright subversive. Are they not paid well or what? I will not leave any names but...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

19 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: big area to hang out and meet other backpackers.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Reilly Cowan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Reilly would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing bar and bar staff make every night a great party. The restaurant had really great food, showers were good, and the rooms were clean and comfortable.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Well-maintained and lively hostel, but even though it is a party hostel it is still possible to have a quiet night. Spotless bathrooms, great bread for breakfast, fast laundry service and a good menu at the bar.

Disliked: Staff at tour desks not that communicative. Often one of the computers was broken.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

16 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a really good atmosphere, and a crazy layout, which i love! You cannot hear the bar from the rooms when you want to sleep!

Disliked: No locks on doors, i didn't have my own padlock so i worried for a bit till i got one! ... but it's not a big issue as there is security on door so only hostel stayers can get in!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was very clean, the atmosphere was great and the staff was welcoming and friendly! Additionally, it's conveniently located by Plaza Murillo and the church of San Francisco, so there's a lot to see only a walking distance from the hostel.

Disliked: I saw signs for no smoking in some of the common areas, but it seems like the rule was not enforced. The wi-fi only worked in the central common space; and for such a big hostel, it was a bit inconvenient.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A good place to meet people, clean facilities, very helpful staff.

Disliked: No wi-fi in a lot of the parts of the hostel. No kitchen.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing hostel, a great place to meet other travellers, such a good atmosphere in the hostel bar, the staff are brilliant and so helpful. Ask for Paul at the bar, he'll sort you out. Beds are the most comfortable in South America and the hostel is one of the cleanest I've stayed in. Came for a few days ended up staying two weeks, two of the best weeks of the whole trip.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jennifer Crilly

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 August 2013 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere and the staff are very welcoming and great chat. Bathrooms are cleaned regularly and the rooms are clean and comfortable. I would most definitely recommend this hostel if you are looking for good fun, but not much sleep!

Disliked: Jennifer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Valerie Garside

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 June 2013 Valerie would recommend this property

Liked: Party hostel! Good location. Great on site bar with good food, reasonable drinks and good atmosphere. Tab system operates so you can spend at the bar and pay on check out. Good laundry service. Wifi throughout hostel. Lots of bathrooms. Wide and comfortable beds! Free breakfast available 8am until 12pm - great for a lie in and also provided on arrival day when checking in early from an overnight bus! Helpful tour desk for booking trips like death road. Would definitely recommend this hostel - I extended my stay! Good for meeting other travellers!

Disliked: Charging lockers in reception only big enough for phones and cameras - not iPads or computers and no charging points in dorms meantyoucould only charge iPad or computer if you sat with it. Showere temperature controls were rubbish - scolding hot or cold - really really hard to get a shower at a comfortable temperature.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

beth hammond

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

05 June 2013 beth would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely loved my time at the wild rover! Nice big bunk beds, and the sheets are regularly changed. bathrooms were impeccable and were forever being cleaned! This is a party hostel so expect to party! Bar is always lively with a great food menu, we were never disappointed! The staff behind the bar were great and always up for a laugh, drinks prices very reasonable! (Especially during happy hour!) We had an amazing time at the wild rover! If you want to party and meet some amazing people in La Paz go to wild rover!!

Disliked: When I ordered the Irish breakfast I thought I would get real baked beans!! However I have found out it is impossible to get baked beans in South America! They provided a good alternative!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Moa Rahmn

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

03 June 2013 Moa would recommend this property

Liked: Great beds, staff was helpful with everything we needed, atmosphere was great and you meet many awesome people, good party! It's clean, they clean the bathrooms every hour.

Disliked: Breakfast wasn't very good

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Catherine Dobison

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 June 2013 Catherine would recommend this property

Liked: Great bar, sociable atmosphere and great place to meet people. The food is also good and reasonably priced

Disliked: sometimes it can be difficult to sleep but it is a party hostel so you expect tbat

48.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Shauli Moskovich

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 May 2013

Liked: good bads

Disliked: I arrived at 7 AM, the check-in time is at 14 PM. I respect it but I asked if possible to check-in before, the staff were unfriendly and didn´t even tried to check me in before. The staff told me that I can´t have the room before since they need to clean it, when I got the room at 14 PM it was dirty and they didn´t even replace the linen so...there were clean ear sticks all over the floor!!! Don´t waste your money, you can get a much better place with a worm welcome for cheaper price! they charge a lot for Bolivia and it does not worth the money!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 March 2013

Liked: Good parties, especially for St Patricks Day. Big, comfortable beds. Decent food at decent prices.

Disliked: Some of the staff are clearly not very good at their job, and need more training. They double booked my bed two out of the four nights, so when I returned at 2am I found someone else in my bed! Management was good to sort the situation out in the morning, but this really shouldn´t happen ever.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great party hostel, good place to meet other travellers. Comfy beds and good showers. Awesome bar.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dan Bond

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

26 February 2013 Dan would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing party place! Don't worry about seeing La Paz, Wild Rover is enough. Jade, the bar manager was amazing! So friendly, party animal, a bit funny looking though. Can't be bothered to write anymore but stay here

Disliked: Jades strange looking morning face

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere. Comfortable beds. Good tour office.

Disliked: Didnt actually have a door to my dorm room, which meant anyone could enter the room whenever they felt like it. Also made the room very cold. Security therefore not good in room despite lockers.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable warm beds, bathrooms kept clean

Disliked: terrible breakfast

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The beds are big and comfy, the bar is tops and staffed by fellow backpackers. Solid hot showers (rare in Bolivia). The lunch deal is pretty good value.

Disliked: Only downside is there are no locks of the doors. You do have lockers, but anything not small enough to fit in them is fair game for the entire hostel, not just your dorm, and a night often people not from the hostel come to use the bar.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

thadeu mosqueira

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 January 2013 thadeu would recommend this property

Liked: I had a good experience in the hostel, the staff is friendly and helpfull, the bed has okay, the bathroom is really clean, a good bar inside, amazing location close to restaurants, main square, markets, shops...

Disliked: No 24h hot shower, my locker was almost broked and theres a lot of people from other hostels at the bar, and how the door in the room had no key, i felt myself little insecure.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Amoro Hermes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 January 2013 Amoro would recommend this property

Liked: Not much

Disliked: Much


See all La Paz hostels