We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all La Paz hostels

Reviews of Wild Rover Backpackers Hostel

Hostel | Calle Comercio 1476, Esquina Bueno, (frente al Hostal Republica) La Paz, Bolivia .

87.3% Overall Rating

276 out of 296 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/01/2015)

"As a solo traveller I got to meet people in the bar. If you don´t want to venture out into the city at night you don´t need to."

Read all Wild Rover Backpackers Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to La Paz?

Contact us directly

See other properties in La Paz

Loki Backpackers La Paz
8.30 USD

Hostel 79.1% 114 reviews
Residencial Latino
9.99 USD

Hostel 82.9% 92 reviews
Panamerican Hotel
20.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 61.9% 3 reviews
Hotel LP Columbus
67.81 USD

Hotel 3 star 80.0% 15 reviews
Hostal Naira
29.00 USD

Guesthouse 87.7% 73 reviews
Hotel Eldorado
29.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 75.2% 3 reviews
Bacoo Hostel
5.63 USD

Hostel 82.4% 40 reviews
Hotel Sajama
17.80 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 06/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 06/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.3%

Overall Rating

276 out of 296 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Wild Rover Backpackers Hostel'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
84.8%
Value
87.2%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 248 of 253 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jorge Colatruglio Pedroso

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 March 2015 Jorge Colatruglio would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere and services.

Disliked: Internet slow, sometimes off-line and not hot showers (sometimes)

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: As a solo traveller I got to meet people in the bar. If you don´t want to venture out into the city at night you don´t need to.

Disliked: It can be noisy at night as although they have security, people would be playing music in the courtyards on the other side of the hostel at 4am and it didn´t get stopped. The food is overpriced for Bolivian standards.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its in a good location near the main square! The bathroom is provided with hot water as well as clean!

Disliked: As it said it is a party hostel,so can be really noisy and growded with crazy partypeople! Even so the staff is friendly they are really strict and leaving you too much messages for recall you on reception! Some rooms dont have any socket,because there are special lockers fro your belongings which have to be charged in the reception area...

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

philipa day

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 August 2014 philipa would recommend this property

Liked: My boyfriend and I really enjoyed the bar. Great atmosphere and decent food and drink, really liked the fact that travellers were working behind the bar.

Disliked: During our stay we was unfortunately woken up by sex, in the dorm bed next to us so we didn't get much sleep. We knew it was a party hostel but didn't realise we would have to endure this kind of encounter!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Safe (doorman 24h, lockers - bring your own padlock!), good food, central location, spacious areas (in- and outside, with hammocks) and good beds (large, sturdy).

Disliked: It is full of English-speaking people that only seem to be in La Paz to drink and getting laid, not what I was looking for. We were also disturbed basically every night by partying people, screaming in the corridors or entering the room. The whole hostel is built around the bar concept - you are not allowed to bring any alcohol on your own and there is no possibilty to cook your own food; there is basically no reason to leave the hostel and I had the impression that some visitors really didn't. If you are up for partying among your own folk go here, if not maybe look for something else.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Matthew Davies

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 July 2014 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: This is a complete party hostel, perfect for someone like me travelling alone, and the staff are all very friendly and fun. The travel agents within the hostel is also first class.

Disliked: It wouldn't be the place to go if you wanted to sleep well everyone night, and I'm not sure I could have survived more than 8 nights. These aren't really complaints though!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Dustin Brett

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2014 Dustin would recommend this property

Liked: Bar is nice, staff was friendly, computers worked okay, nice setup.

Disliked: WiFi barely works, the dorms have physical noise issues such as a door that keeps opening itself and banging shut.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

philipp leitner

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 June 2014 philipp would recommend this property

Liked: Good party atmosphere

Disliked: They dont rent towls, showers arent always warm. Staff are medium helpful but I guess its hard in such a big hostal. Go here for crazy nights not the technically best hostal in town.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Marie Guinane

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 April 2014 Marie would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, great atmosphere in the bar, lovely food!

Disliked: Showers were not always hot

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Sara Correia

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 April 2014 Sara would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast till late. Good party atmosphere. Great tv/louge room. Even had room with hairdryers and straightners!!!

Disliked: The tab...its deadly. Not enuf tables in bar. Showers were cold one day warm the next

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fun party hostel

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Gozen Soydag

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2014 Gozen would recommend this property

Liked: This is a great place to meet travellers and have fun! The food is good too!

Disliked: Gozen left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

27 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Party place, but a big-hostel-type one...great for small groups, I guess, but not so much for solo travelers. Good food to order from their kitchen. Free pool table. Bar staff is good and usefull, unlike reception one. Toilets are clean when not ocupied by cleaning ladies...

Disliked: Some reception staff is not just poor, but outright subversive. Are they not paid well or what? I will not leave any names but...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

19 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: big area to hang out and meet other backpackers.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Reilly Cowan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Reilly would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing bar and bar staff make every night a great party. The restaurant had really great food, showers were good, and the rooms were clean and comfortable.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Well-maintained and lively hostel, but even though it is a party hostel it is still possible to have a quiet night. Spotless bathrooms, great bread for breakfast, fast laundry service and a good menu at the bar.

Disliked: Staff at tour desks not that communicative. Often one of the computers was broken.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

16 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a really good atmosphere, and a crazy layout, which i love! You cannot hear the bar from the rooms when you want to sleep!

Disliked: No locks on doors, i didn't have my own padlock so i worried for a bit till i got one! ... but it's not a big issue as there is security on door so only hostel stayers can get in!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was very clean, the atmosphere was great and the staff was welcoming and friendly! Additionally, it's conveniently located by Plaza Murillo and the church of San Francisco, so there's a lot to see only a walking distance from the hostel.

Disliked: I saw signs for no smoking in some of the common areas, but it seems like the rule was not enforced. The wi-fi only worked in the central common space; and for such a big hostel, it was a bit inconvenient.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A good place to meet people, clean facilities, very helpful staff.

Disliked: No wi-fi in a lot of the parts of the hostel. No kitchen.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing hostel, a great place to meet other travellers, such a good atmosphere in the hostel bar, the staff are brilliant and so helpful. Ask for Paul at the bar, he'll sort you out. Beds are the most comfortable in South America and the hostel is one of the cleanest I've stayed in. Came for a few days ended up staying two weeks, two of the best weeks of the whole trip.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jennifer Crilly

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 August 2013 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere and the staff are very welcoming and great chat. Bathrooms are cleaned regularly and the rooms are clean and comfortable. I would most definitely recommend this hostel if you are looking for good fun, but not much sleep!

Disliked: Jennifer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Valerie Garside

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 June 2013 Valerie would recommend this property

Liked: Party hostel! Good location. Great on site bar with good food, reasonable drinks and good atmosphere. Tab system operates so you can spend at the bar and pay on check out. Good laundry service. Wifi throughout hostel. Lots of bathrooms. Wide and comfortable beds! Free breakfast available 8am until 12pm - great for a lie in and also provided on arrival day when checking in early from an overnight bus! Helpful tour desk for booking trips like death road. Would definitely recommend this hostel - I extended my stay! Good for meeting other travellers!

Disliked: Charging lockers in reception only big enough for phones and cameras - not iPads or computers and no charging points in dorms meantyoucould only charge iPad or computer if you sat with it. Showere temperature controls were rubbish - scolding hot or cold - really really hard to get a shower at a comfortable temperature.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

beth hammond

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

05 June 2013 beth would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely loved my time at the wild rover! Nice big bunk beds, and the sheets are regularly changed. bathrooms were impeccable and were forever being cleaned! This is a party hostel so expect to party! Bar is always lively with a great food menu, we were never disappointed! The staff behind the bar were great and always up for a laugh, drinks prices very reasonable! (Especially during happy hour!) We had an amazing time at the wild rover! If you want to party and meet some amazing people in La Paz go to wild rover!!

Disliked: When I ordered the Irish breakfast I thought I would get real baked beans!! However I have found out it is impossible to get baked beans in South America! They provided a good alternative!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Moa Rahmn

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

03 June 2013 Moa would recommend this property

Liked: Great beds, staff was helpful with everything we needed, atmosphere was great and you meet many awesome people, good party! It's clean, they clean the bathrooms every hour.

Disliked: Breakfast wasn't very good

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Catherine Dobison

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 June 2013 Catherine would recommend this property

Liked: Great bar, sociable atmosphere and great place to meet people. The food is also good and reasonably priced

Disliked: sometimes it can be difficult to sleep but it is a party hostel so you expect tbat


See all La Paz hostels