We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all La Paz hostels

Reviews of Wild Rover Backpackers Hostel

Hostel | Calle Comercio 1476, Esquina Bueno, (frente al Hostal Republica) La Paz, Bolivia .

87.2% Overall Rating

273 out of 293 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/09/2014)

"Its in a good location near the main square! The bathroom is provided with hot water as well as clean!"

Read all Wild Rover Backpackers Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to La Paz?

Contact us directly

See other properties in La Paz

Loki Backpackers La Paz
7.07 USD

Hostel 79.1% 111 reviews
Residencial Latino
10.04 USD

Hostel 85.0% 89 reviews
Panamerican Hotel
20.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 61.9% 3 reviews
Bash And Crash
5.52 USD

Hostel 74.6% 60 reviews
Hotel LP Columbus
28.21 USD

Hotel 3 star 80.0% 15 reviews
Hostal Naira
27.00 USD

Guesthouse 87.7% 73 reviews
Hotel Eldorado
27.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 75.2% 3 reviews
Bacoo Hostel
5.66 USD

Hostel 81.7% 37 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.2%

Overall Rating

273 out of 293 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Wild Rover Backpackers Hostel'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
84.0%
Value
86.4%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 246 of 250 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great party hostel, good place to meet other travellers. Comfy beds and good showers. Awesome bar.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dan Bond

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

26 February 2013 Dan would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing party place! Don't worry about seeing La Paz, Wild Rover is enough. Jade, the bar manager was amazing! So friendly, party animal, a bit funny looking though. Can't be bothered to write anymore but stay here

Disliked: Jades strange looking morning face

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere. Comfortable beds. Good tour office.

Disliked: Didnt actually have a door to my dorm room, which meant anyone could enter the room whenever they felt like it. Also made the room very cold. Security therefore not good in room despite lockers.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable warm beds, bathrooms kept clean

Disliked: terrible breakfast

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The beds are big and comfy, the bar is tops and staffed by fellow backpackers. Solid hot showers (rare in Bolivia). The lunch deal is pretty good value.

Disliked: Only downside is there are no locks of the doors. You do have lockers, but anything not small enough to fit in them is fair game for the entire hostel, not just your dorm, and a night often people not from the hostel come to use the bar.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

thadeu mosqueira

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 January 2013 thadeu would recommend this property

Liked: I had a good experience in the hostel, the staff is friendly and helpfull, the bed has okay, the bathroom is really clean, a good bar inside, amazing location close to restaurants, main square, markets, shops...

Disliked: No 24h hot shower, my locker was almost broked and theres a lot of people from other hostels at the bar, and how the door in the room had no key, i felt myself little insecure.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Amoro Hermes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 January 2013 Amoro would recommend this property

Liked: Not much

Disliked: Much

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is quite big but it still offers some privacy and safety. There is a big bar with pool offering food, and parties each night which is quite convenient. All in all a good hostel.

Disliked: Well if ure not in the party mode be sure your room is quite far away :D

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

adam teece

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2013 adam would recommend this property

Liked: Great bar and atmosphere which is a blessing as the La Paz nightlife is pretty average.

Disliked: Dont stay here if you want a good nights sleep.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Britt van Keulen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 December 2012 Britt would recommend this property

Liked: Great party's, nice people and good beds.

Disliked: Breakfast is poor.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mattias Engström

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

28 November 2012 Mattias would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay, friendly people, good food and good service at a decent price.

Disliked: The only dislike I can think of is maybe the noise level but it is a party hostel and they are totally clear about it!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Sandra Rohde

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 November 2012

Liked: cleanliness was very good.

Disliked: U have to keep in mind that its a party hostel. so at night its very loud because of the bar inside the hostel. there are more rules to follow than probably at home...there is rules about everything. they offer breakfast from 8 o'clock on, but let us in 15 mins later so we nearly missed our tour. the breakfast is not very good either: just jam, butter and bread. for this price one can expect a better breakfast (u can buy a better one I guess). however, the atmosphere was for us too much of partying. it was not about to get to know the city but to party and show off and flirting. if u consider that and like that, this hostel is ok!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Deborah Carey

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 November 2012 Deborah would recommend this property

Liked: Nice rooms very comfortable beds with lots of space and lockers for luggage. It is a party hostel with everything from full moon parties to bbqs on during the week but u can also have a good nights sleep as most of the rooms, are away from the bar. The staff are very friendly and facilitating especially Tom the Barman one of the nicest barmen we have ever met. Also the management were very accommodating especially when we wanted to change rooms on very short notice.

Disliked: Nada

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nathan Odgers

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 October 2012 Nathan would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very helpful, good facilities, atmosphere was good however note it is a party hostel though!

Disliked: Nathan left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bathrooms were super clean and reminded me of European bathrooms.

Disliked: Nothing at all.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wild parties and very nice people

Disliked: Nothing!!!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cool bar, comfi beds

Disliked: waiting times at the bar

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere was really good, friendly and lively. I accidently left my phone after me when I left the hostel but they found it and kept it safely for me until I dropped by to collect it even though I didn't though I didn't even know it was missing for about 5 days.

Disliked: The noise from the bar was very loud in my room (other guests told me it was not nearly as loud in some of the other rooms at the back of the hostel).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ashleigh Wilson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2012 Ashleigh would recommend this property

Liked: Loved my stay here, this place is so much fun and on top of that a really really good hostel. Ive returned here 4 times now i think! My only concern is they really need to sell water at the front desk after the bar closes.

Disliked: nada

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a good place to go when travellin solo, as it's easy to meet people in the bar.

Disliked: If you like a rest, better pick another hostel (although the beds are great).

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

cheryl johnson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 June 2012 cheryl would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and safe, beds were great, bar and restaurant was cheap!

Disliked: Although I knew it would be loud it was just crazy and any sleep at all just wasn't happening! Lots of very rude Israelies!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great party atmosphere - good bar and food in bar is excellent. Beds very comfortable. Our room was quiet - you could sleep early if you wished.

Disliked: The promised 24 hr power hot showers did not live up to expectations and the internet/ wifi definitely need some improvement.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect place to stay if you want to party!

Disliked: well, its loud, but you know that before. It is a bar with beds

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: fun atmosphere, good events, cheap drinks and food

Disliked: noisy!


See all La Paz hostels