HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Wild Rover Backpackers La Paz Hostel

Calle Comercio1476,, La Paz, Bolivia

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 90%

Location 86%

Safety 90%

Staff 77%

Value 84%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 13:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to La Paz?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 90%

Location 86%

Safety 90%

Staff 77%

Value 84%

Showing 11-20 of 27 reviews

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: As a solo traveller I got to meet people in the bar. If you don´t want to venture out into the city at night you don´t need to.

Disliked: It can be noisy at night as although they have security, people would be playing music in the courtyards on the other side of the hostel at 4am and it didn´t get stopped. The food is overpriced for Bolivian standards.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Its in a good location near the main square! The bathroom is provided with hot water as well as clean!

Disliked: As it said it is a party hostel,so can be really noisy and growded with crazy partypeople! Even so the staff is friendly they are really strict and leaving you too much messages for recall you on reception! Some rooms dont have any socket,because there are special lockers fro your belongings which have to be charged in the reception area...

Customer would recommend this property

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: My boyfriend and I really enjoyed the bar. Great atmosphere and decent food and drink, really liked the fact that travellers were working behind the bar.

Disliked: During our stay we was unfortunately woken up by sex, in the dorm bed next to us so we didn't get much sleep. We knew it was a party hostel but didn't realise we would have to endure this kind of encounter!

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Safe (doorman 24h, lockers - bring your own padlock!), good food, central location, spacious areas (in- and outside, with hammocks) and good beds (large, sturdy).

Disliked: It is full of English-speaking people that only seem to be in La Paz to drink and getting laid, not what I was looking for. We were also disturbed basically every night by partying people, screaming in the corridors or entering the room. The whole hostel is built around the bar concept - you are not allowed to bring any alcohol on your own and there is no possibilty to cook your own food; there is basically no reason to leave the hostel and I had the impression that some visitors really didn't. If you are up for partying among your own folk go here, if not maybe look for something else.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: This is a complete party hostel, perfect for someone like me travelling alone, and the staff are all very friendly and fun. The travel agents within the hostel is also first class.

Disliked: It wouldn't be the place to go if you wanted to sleep well everyone night, and I'm not sure I could have survived more than 8 nights. These aren't really complaints though!

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Bar is nice, staff was friendly, computers worked okay, nice setup.

Disliked: WiFi barely works, the dorms have physical noise issues such as a door that keeps opening itself and banging shut.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good party atmosphere

Disliked: They dont rent towls, showers arent always warm. Staff are medium helpful but I guess its hard in such a big hostal. Go here for crazy nights not the technically best hostal in town.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Friendly staff, great atmosphere in the bar, lovely food!

Disliked: Showers were not always hot

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Breakfast till late. Good party atmosphere. Great tv/louge room. Even had room with hairdryers and straightners!!!

Disliked: The tab...its deadly. Not enuf tables in bar. Showers were cold one day warm the next

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Party place, but a big-hostel-type one...great for small groups, I guess, but not so much for solo travelers. Good food to order from their kitchen. Free pool table. Bar staff is good and usefull, unlike reception one. Toilets are clean when not ocupied by cleaning ladies...

Disliked: Some reception staff is not just poor, but outright subversive. Are they not paid well or what? I will not leave any names but...

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability