HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all La Paz hostels

Reviews of Wild Rover Backpackers Hostel

Hostel | Calle Comercio 1476, Esquina Bueno, (frente al Hostal Republica) La Paz, Bolivia .

87.5% Overall Rating

266 out of 286 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/04/2014)

Sara Correia thinks…

"Breakfast till late. Good party atmosphere. Great tv/louge room. Even had room with hairdryers and straightners!!!"

Read all Wild Rover Backpackers Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to La Paz?

Contact us directly

See other properties in La Paz

Loki Backpackers La Paz
6.22 USD

Hostel 80.6% 107 reviews
Residencial Latino
8.48 USD

Hostel 79.5% 79 reviews
Panamerican Hotel
20.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 61.9% 3 reviews
Bash And Crash
5.51 USD

Hostel 76.3% 52 reviews
Hotel LP Columbus
23.47 USD

Hotel 3 star 80.0% 15 reviews
Hostal Naira
27.00 USD

Guesthouse 87.3% 72 reviews
Hotel Eldorado
27.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 75.2% 3 reviews
Bacoo Hostel
5.66 USD

Hostel 81.7% 37 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.5%

Overall Rating

266 out of 286 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Wild Rover Backpackers Hostel'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
84.0%
Value
86.4%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 239 of 243 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is quite big but it still offers some privacy and safety. There is a big bar with pool offering food, and parties each night which is quite convenient. All in all a good hostel.

Disliked: Well if ure not in the party mode be sure your room is quite far away :D

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

adam teece

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2013 adam would recommend this property

Liked: Great bar and atmosphere which is a blessing as the La Paz nightlife is pretty average.

Disliked: Dont stay here if you want a good nights sleep.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Britt van Keulen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 December 2012 Britt would recommend this property

Liked: Great party's, nice people and good beds.

Disliked: Breakfast is poor.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mattias Engström

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

28 November 2012 Mattias would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay, friendly people, good food and good service at a decent price.

Disliked: The only dislike I can think of is maybe the noise level but it is a party hostel and they are totally clear about it!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Sandra Rohde

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 November 2012

Liked: cleanliness was very good.

Disliked: U have to keep in mind that its a party hostel. so at night its very loud because of the bar inside the hostel. there are more rules to follow than probably at home...there is rules about everything. they offer breakfast from 8 o'clock on, but let us in 15 mins later so we nearly missed our tour. the breakfast is not very good either: just jam, butter and bread. for this price one can expect a better breakfast (u can buy a better one I guess). however, the atmosphere was for us too much of partying. it was not about to get to know the city but to party and show off and flirting. if u consider that and like that, this hostel is ok!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Deborah Carey

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 November 2012 Deborah would recommend this property

Liked: Nice rooms very comfortable beds with lots of space and lockers for luggage. It is a party hostel with everything from full moon parties to bbqs on during the week but u can also have a good nights sleep as most of the rooms, are away from the bar. The staff are very friendly and facilitating especially Tom the Barman one of the nicest barmen we have ever met. Also the management were very accommodating especially when we wanted to change rooms on very short notice.

Disliked: Nada

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nathan Odgers

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 October 2012 Nathan would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very helpful, good facilities, atmosphere was good however note it is a party hostel though!

Disliked: Nathan left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bathrooms were super clean and reminded me of European bathrooms.

Disliked: Nothing at all.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wild parties and very nice people

Disliked: Nothing!!!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cool bar, comfi beds

Disliked: waiting times at the bar

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere was really good, friendly and lively. I accidently left my phone after me when I left the hostel but they found it and kept it safely for me until I dropped by to collect it even though I didn't though I didn't even know it was missing for about 5 days.

Disliked: The noise from the bar was very loud in my room (other guests told me it was not nearly as loud in some of the other rooms at the back of the hostel).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ashleigh Wilson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2012 Ashleigh would recommend this property

Liked: Loved my stay here, this place is so much fun and on top of that a really really good hostel. Ive returned here 4 times now i think! My only concern is they really need to sell water at the front desk after the bar closes.

Disliked: nada

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a good place to go when travellin solo, as it's easy to meet people in the bar.

Disliked: If you like a rest, better pick another hostel (although the beds are great).

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

cheryl johnson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 June 2012 cheryl would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and safe, beds were great, bar and restaurant was cheap!

Disliked: Although I knew it would be loud it was just crazy and any sleep at all just wasn't happening! Lots of very rude Israelies!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great party atmosphere - good bar and food in bar is excellent. Beds very comfortable. Our room was quiet - you could sleep early if you wished.

Disliked: The promised 24 hr power hot showers did not live up to expectations and the internet/ wifi definitely need some improvement.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect place to stay if you want to party!

Disliked: well, its loud, but you know that before. It is a bar with beds

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: fun atmosphere, good events, cheap drinks and food

Disliked: noisy!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kathleen Cole

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2012 Kathleen would recommend this property

Liked: Staff extremely friendly and helpful and the hostel is the cleanest I've ever stayed in! The bar is fun and usually full with a brilliant atmosphere bedrooms are clean tidy and beds comfy with lockers. The food is also damn fine....oh and loved the movie room for hungover days

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There's no doubt about it, the organization of this hostel is phenomenal. There are big lockers in every room, small lockers with a electricity socket at the reception where you can charge your iPod safely, lots of bathrooms, lots of cosy common areas. There is a guard at the entrance checking everyone going in and out, the bar is awesome, the food cheap and plentiful, the beds are huge and comfy, the dorms are spacious, the bathrooms are cleaned every hous and thus tip top. Wifi works everywhere, they have their own travel agency, they organize big parties with different themes every night, show news in the morning, sports in the afternoon... Plus the staff i bilingual and very helpful (thumbs up for Giana who helped me out with everythign I needed!). And it's cheap!

Disliked: Stay here only if you want to party all night long. Until 2AM it is just impossible to get some sleep, as there are drunk people literally everywhere and the bar plays loud music. Then at around 0230 when people leave to party elsewhere you manage to get some sleep, but you will be woken up a bunch ot times during the night when they staggr home and ramble around in the dorms.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife

10 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I was seeking a party hostel and there´s no doubt the parties here are pretty big, raucous and messy. Otherwise, it´s a very nice hostel. The bathrooms and dorms are very clean, the beds are very good with decent lockers in the room, and the bar is a very good place for striking up a conversation at breakfast-lunch-dinner (good if you´re traveling solo). The food they serve is quite good and not particularly expensive.

Disliked: The demographic of this hostel feels quite young and it´s very white (Anglo-Celtic, not surprisingly, being an Irish backpackers). I think I might´ve met only 2 or 3 South Americans.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, clean toilets and hot showers, lots of party people

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Hayley Crowden

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 January 2012 Hayley would recommend this property

Liked: If you want a party hostel, this is definitely the place to come. The bathrooms are nice and clean and the beds comfy.

Disliked: If you want a quiet place, go elsewhere. There is no kitchen but the food they cook is pretty good. Its really loud in the rooms at night cause of the bar

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Oscar Medina

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 January 2012 Oscar would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is very clean the showers are hot, beds are comfie and you can come in and out at all hours of the night. Their are cool people from all over the world that are there to party.

Disliked: This is a party hostel, its loud and crazy at night. If you want to catch some zzz´s and just chil at night this is probably not the place for you. Also the hostel is set up so you spend most of your time and money their.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was excellent good fell and vibe about it, very friendly place to stay. you can party if you want to or you can chill out and be away from it aswell. the food is amazing in the bar so try. you must stay here.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all La Paz hostels