We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all La Paz hostels

Reviews of Loki Backpackers La Paz

Hostel | Av. Las Americas #120, La Paz, Bolivia .

79.1% Overall Rating

93 out of 111 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/05/2014)

Tessa Burton thinks…

"We absolutely loved our stay at Loki, the highlights definitely had to be the bar and the bar staff! There was a fantastic view of the city from the bar, along with cheap drinks (happy hour 6-12!!),…"

Read all Loki Backpackers La Paz reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Late check-out
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 9.88
  • Towel USD 1.41

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to La Paz?

Contact us directly

See other properties in La Paz

Wild Rover Backpackers Hostel
8.33 USD

Hostel 87.2% 293 reviews
Residencial Latino
10.02 USD

Hostel 84.2% 88 reviews
Bash And Crash
5.50 USD

Hostel 73.6% 59 reviews
Panamerican Hotel
20.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 61.9% 3 reviews
Hostal Naira
27.00 USD

Guesthouse 87.7% 73 reviews
Hotel Eldorado
27.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 75.2% 3 reviews
Hotel LP Columbus
23.43 USD

Hotel 3 star 80.0% 15 reviews
Bacoo Hostel
5.65 USD

Hostel 81.7% 37 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.1%

Overall Rating

93 out of 111 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Loki Backpackers La Paz'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
84.0%
Facilities
73.6%
Cleanliness
79.2%
Staff
74.4%
Value
79.2%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 83 of 89 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Erika Goransson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2014 Erika would recommend this property

Liked: Its a great party hostel! The staff is great :)

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tessa Burton

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 May 2014 Tessa would recommend this property

Liked: We absolutely loved our stay at Loki, the highlights definitely had to be the bar and the bar staff! There was a fantastic view of the city from the bar, along with cheap drinks (happy hour 6-12!!), fantastic food and the funnesr bar staff! I don't know how they manage to do it ever day but they are such a laugh and keen to get everyone involved! Also appreciated the wristband tab system, saves you faffing about with change! Overall soooo much fun!

Disliked: The only bad thing I have to say is that we booked 3 people in a 10 bed dorm and ended up with 2 of us in a 4 bed and 1 in another 4 bed which was pretty annoying! But the beds were comfortable and clean and the showers were hot so only a minor complaint!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

04 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Was a great stay at the Loki! If you like to Party, but also want a good sleep go there. Downhill Mountainbiking on the Deathroad is an amazing experience. The Hostel is clean and is located pretty much in the centre. From the Bar in the "Penthouse" you have a great view oder the whole City!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sara Rodríguez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 March 2014 Sara would recommend this property

Liked: I arrived there when they were changing to the new loki hostel and even when it was a chaos I got an excellent attention. In order to compensate the incomvenoences I got a very cjeap room and a free drink. The place is amazing, with nice views to La Paz. And if you want to meet people, thisis your place

Disliked: Sara left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: pretty clean

Disliked: the staff at the bar was not really that nice, sometimes u had to wait a loing time until being served even though there was noone else there. the food took a very long time usually.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bruno Cesar Fiorini Amorim

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 September 2013 Bruno Cesar would recommend this property

Liked: The building is beautiful.

Disliked: Poor Poor breakfast. Bar and restaurant are quite expensive.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emma Linton

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 September 2013 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: This is an awesome hostel! It is a party hostel so be prepared for that! The bar staff were really good and made sure we had a good time, the bar always had stuff going on. Rooms and bathrooms were always really clean, lockers in the rooms were good. Really good location close to the main street and lots of nice restuarants. We really enjoyed our stay here!!

Disliked: Wifi was a bit slow and breakfast is really basic (unless you want to pay for a cooked breakfast).

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: If you have never heard of the reputation of Loki Hostels, then you probably shouldn´t stay here. Here, along with Wild Rover, are the biggest party hostels in La Paz (and a few other cities in Peru). You come here to drink and party; that is it, so don´t convince yourself of any other reason. Then you´re too hungover to checkout the next day, so you keep staying another night. It´s fun and its needed once in a while.

Disliked: The breakfast is simply bread and really bad jam (but that might be Bolivia´s fault). It´s a bit of a walk, uphill, from the center, and far from the bus station (meaning 2+ km, you need to take a taxi).

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really big, good bar (pool) a lot of computerd

Disliked: almost only party people. not so easy for sleep. almost only young people

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome hostel , nice staff and fun

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: fun

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Dennis Van Assche

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

20 February 2013 Dennis would recommend this property

Liked: Food and drink

Disliked: Nothing

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Alina Kalinchenko

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 December 2012

Liked: Staff was very helpful answering my questions via email. For the rest it was my worst experience ever.

Disliked: Looks like a cocaine center. Everyone is taking cocaine here. Very weird personages here either drunk or under drugs burst in your room at night shouting weird things, touching u,farting. Music goes on till morning. Impossible to sleep. Dirty linen,dirty rooms,shower... Inet was down when I stayed there. But dirt is ok - the worst thing about this place is cocaine taken by people there and that stupid way they behave after.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matt Walker

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 December 2012 Matt would recommend this property

Liked: It was central, staff were very friendly and helpful, the atmosphere is great.

Disliked: The wifi was TERRIBLE. It constantly cut in and out. Even using their PCs was a nightmare, with them having the same problem. Everything else was great though.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jason Webber

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 November 2012 Jason would recommend this property

Liked: did the job!! good hostel to have a beer with new friends!

Disliked: Jason left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Rebecca Collins

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 September 2012

Liked: The beds were clean.

Disliked: completely mediocre. There weren't enough bathrooms, half of the computers in the computer room were broken. The bar was a bit overpriced and it took forever for them to get the food out. The staff were friendly, but since they only work there for a couple weeks at a time, they're not very helpful. I also didn't like that they don't have a shared kitchen for people to use.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 September 2012

Liked: The small lockers at reception with a built in plug to safely charge your phone are GENIUS. The bar was pretty good, although a little pricey. Nice to have a quiet area available for people who need some peace and quiet

Disliked: It's so impersonal, it has no character, the rooms are dark and uninviting. I couldn't wait to keave my room and go somewhere else.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, comfy beds, quiet zone

Disliked: Computers down alot

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good and cheap place to stay, had all the basic stuff we needed in a hostel.

Disliked: It's packed with people and is very noisy. We were up until way past 2am because of noisy dormmates. The water pressure of the showers was terrible.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 March 2012

Liked: was a party hostel as advertised, really clean bathrooms with great hot showers

Disliked: unhelpful staff, meals would sometimes take up to 2 hours to come out, our room was mouldy and we all got sick, but the other rooms we saw looked nicer so it might have been bad luck.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Aaron Loftus

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 March 2012 Aaron would recommend this property

Liked: Always a lot on offer and great food at the bar!

Disliked: bit dated in places and needs more computers.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Dominic Moser

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

20 March 2012 Dominic would recommend this property

Liked: nice and clean, good bar and good party vibe (if if wasnt for the many isreaelis)

Disliked: full of israelis which is a shame cuz they are mostly loud and don't care about anything or anyone, hardly the hostels fault tho. Internet is pretty rubbish, either its not working or too slow and there arent enough computers but there's plenty of internet cafes around .

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very easy to meet people here

Disliked: need more communal computers, it would be nice if smoking was only allowed outdoors

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loki has good atmosphere and is a good place to meet other travelers. The happy hour drinks are cheap and the OWNER and people at reception are very friendly and helpful. Amazing showers! Internet room upstairs is fairly good. Clean hostel. Tv room is nice to just chill and watch films etc. Food is alright depending on what you order.

Disliked: When the quiet area closes at 10, you have nowhere to go :( as people are sleeping in the dorms and you dont want to drink at the bar or be around the loud music so you end up stuck on the bar (which may be fine for people who like that) but not good to do every night. Most of the staff are travelers so they aren't very helpful. Like when food is served and it is supposed to come with something, if they have run out they just say there isn't any. Well why not say before we ordered the food? Also during our stay - as the staff are allowed to drink (no problem at all) but they drank way too much and end up being sick all night in the dorm. not exactly what we paid for! But when u stay in a dorm then u have to expect people to be inconsiderate which is not a fault of the hostel themselves. Also wifi is pretty bad but not the end of the world! Also didn't like people wing able to smoke anywhere they like in the hostel (apart from at breakfast and in dorms) as a non-smoker I don't like this but for some if may not be a problem.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chris Carey

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 February 2012 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: bar, restaurant, clean, cheap

Disliked: problems with reservations


See all La Paz hostels