We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all La Paz hostels

Reviews of Loki Backpackers La Paz

Hostel | Av. Las Americas #120, La Paz, Bolivia .

80.6% Overall Rating

97 out of 117 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/03/2015)

"The view from the private double is stunning. Worth far more than what you pay for the room. Beds are comfy, very clean."

Read all Loki Backpackers La Paz reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Late check-out
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 9.78
  • Towel USD 1.40

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to La Paz?

Contact us directly

See other properties in La Paz

Wild Rover Backpackers Hostel
8.66 USD

Hostel 87.0% 298 reviews
Residencial Latino
10.89 USD

Hostel 82.4% 94 reviews
Bash And Crash
4.19 USD

Hostel 71.3% 63 reviews
Panamerican Hotel
20.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 61.9% 3 reviews
Hostal Naira
29.00 USD

Guesthouse 87.7% 73 reviews
Hotel Eldorado
29.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 75.2% 3 reviews
Hotel LP Columbus
67.31 USD

Hotel 3 star 80.0% 15 reviews
Bacoo Hostel
5.59 USD

Hostel 81.0% 42 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.6%

Overall Rating

97 out of 117 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Loki Backpackers La Paz'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
74.4%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
76.8%
Value
79.2%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 86 of 95 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very easy to meet people here

Disliked: need more communal computers, it would be nice if smoking was only allowed outdoors

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loki has good atmosphere and is a good place to meet other travelers. The happy hour drinks are cheap and the OWNER and people at reception are very friendly and helpful. Amazing showers! Internet room upstairs is fairly good. Clean hostel. Tv room is nice to just chill and watch films etc. Food is alright depending on what you order.

Disliked: When the quiet area closes at 10, you have nowhere to go :( as people are sleeping in the dorms and you dont want to drink at the bar or be around the loud music so you end up stuck on the bar (which may be fine for people who like that) but not good to do every night. Most of the staff are travelers so they aren't very helpful. Like when food is served and it is supposed to come with something, if they have run out they just say there isn't any. Well why not say before we ordered the food? Also during our stay - as the staff are allowed to drink (no problem at all) but they drank way too much and end up being sick all night in the dorm. not exactly what we paid for! But when u stay in a dorm then u have to expect people to be inconsiderate which is not a fault of the hostel themselves. Also wifi is pretty bad but not the end of the world! Also didn't like people wing able to smoke anywhere they like in the hostel (apart from at breakfast and in dorms) as a non-smoker I don't like this but for some if may not be a problem.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chris Carey

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 February 2012 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: bar, restaurant, clean, cheap

Disliked: problems with reservations

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jonathon Stevens Onians

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 January 2012 Jonathon would recommend this property

Liked: great party hostel, nice big beds and clean rooms. Hot showers :) clean bathrooms with toilet paper simple breakfast, however it goes till 1pm, which is good. Just bread and jam and butter, and tea Good lockers and travel agent at reception

Disliked: no kitchen, however they have a restaurant at the bar, however is a little pricey for Bolivia.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

kimberley davison

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 December 2011 kimberley would recommend this property

Liked: very clean, large beds, hot showers!

Disliked: smoking allowed throughout the property any time of day. as a non smoker, it did get annoying!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great atmosphere,good location and staff are very friendly

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the bar staff are fun and engaging. we partied there most of the time

Disliked: our room had no windows

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed in the female dorm which was fantastic value for money and really cosy. Even had little bunk bags you could hang your stuff in. Massive beds and comfy duvets. Great hostel!

Disliked: The breakfast wasn´t great.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 September 2011

Liked: location

Disliked: most of everything

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The friendly atmosphere and the helpful staff.

Disliked: The opportunity to meet some great travellers in the dorms and in the common areas.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2011

Liked: Good vibe and a place to party

Disliked: Crap service behind the bar

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loki is a good place to meet people. It has a friendly and laid back bar and it isn't to noisy if you want an early night. It is in a good location to.

Disliked: I didn't dislike anything.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2011

Liked: Nice beds and warm water..

Disliked: People had sex in the doorm rooms... Very inappropriate!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: one of, if not the best hostel i have stayed in in 6 months in south america! big dorm rooms, beautiful builiding, very comfortable beds, clean bathrooms, great party atmosphere but could still get your sleep if needed, fun and helpful staff, felt really at home there after a few days. cant say enough good things really!

Disliked: cold showers during peak times and the internet wasnt the best - although both of these things are standard/expected in bolivia.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carla Meers

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2011 Carla would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere and very social, Loki has something on every night. Great bar and sunny courtyard, comfy rooms.

Disliked: Nothing. A few heaters around would be good?

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2011

Liked: nothing my booking got lost then my coat got stolen the staff wee very rude and not willing to help look for it and when i asked for help none was given and i was told that it was my own fault by the rude bouncer who insulted me *** book a different hostel***

Disliked: nothing my booking got lost then my coat got stolen the staff wee very rude and not willing to help look for it and when i asked for help none was given and i was told that it was my own fault by the rude bouncer who insulted me *** book a different hostel***

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beds are very comfortable, with a "bunk buddy", bathrooms and rooms regularly cleaned (rarity in Bolivia), very social so great for meeting people. I was sick while I was there and the staff helped me get to a good doctor which was great. It is a party hostel but with some earplugs there was no problem to sleep.

Disliked: Showers weren{t always hot but if you head to the top floor you should be right! internet access was dire, very slow.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: fun place

Disliked: cold

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

shiamalee tillekeratne

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2011 shiamalee would recommend this property

Liked: Really liked the chilled out atmosphere but you could actually party to usually on the weekends. The staff were really friendly. Showers are great powerful and hot. The whole place was really clean and the bed really comfortable.

Disliked: Nothing really except they didnt have a book exchange.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Eamonn Peters

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2011 Eamonn would recommend this property

Liked: Plenty of places to hang out within the hostel, beds were comfortable & price was very reasonable.

Disliked: Felt the atmosphere & staff in the bar were much better in the Wild Rover Hostel around the corner

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place was constantly being cleaned, always had toilet paper, soap etc. The beds were really comfy and big, 2 pillows and a duvet!! the showers were usually hot, 1 or 2 warm ones but never cold.

Disliked: The internet was rubbish, still had to use different internet cafes a lot. No kitchen which means you have to eat out all the time.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely hostel, really friendly and good beds/ showers etc. It's very big, but there are quiet areas at night so sleeping was no problem. Good location right near the plaza, the witches market and San Pedro.

Disliked: No towels, so I had to buy one for 60,000B. The food isn't great either.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is really clean, with good hot showers. The bar is good with great food and very cheap.

Disliked: It is noisy at times, but in the rooms it is fine.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joanna Zaleska

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 March 2011 Joanna would recommend this property

Liked: Well runned, big party-hostel. Good showers (but sometimes there was not hot water), very very clean shared toilets and bathrooms. Nice "quiet room" where you can lay down and read or just sleep after crazy night in the bar above. The bar is great, but food maybe a little bit overpriced. But if are looking for a calm place to sleep at - you will not find it in Loki. The party runs till 2am every night and is very loud.

Disliked: Not enough computers for such a big hostel and wi-fi sometimes doesnt work as one would like.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Monique Jarny

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 March 2011 Monique would recommend this property

Liked: Epic, everything you could want in a hostel and more!!!

Disliked: Nada!!


See all La Paz hostels