HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all La Paz hostels

Reviews of Cruz de los Andes

Hostel | Calle Aroma No 216, Zona el Rosario, La Paz, Bolivia 00591

88.9% Overall Rating

338 out of 355 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/04/2014)

"The staff was super friendly and always willing to help. Location also good. Few blocks from main plaza. Rooms very clean. We liked that we had wifi connection in the rooms."

Read all Cruz de los Andes reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wake-up calls
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 90.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to La Paz?

Contact us directly

See other properties in La Paz

Hostal Provenzal
14.14 USD

Guesthouse 84.5% 29 reviews
HI Hostel Onkel Inn 1886
10.89 USD

Hostel 75.5% 30 reviews
Hotel Milton
16.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 80.8% 52 reviews
Hotel Fuentes
11.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.9% 155 reviews
Hostal Sol Andino
13.86 USD

Guesthouse 85.4% 146 reviews
Estrella Andina
18.00 USD

Hostel 90.1% 127 reviews
Hotel Sajama
17.89 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Las Brisas
18.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.4% 15 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.9%

Overall Rating

338 out of 355 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Cruz de los Andes'

Atmosphere
77.6%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
91.2%
Value
93.6%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 317 of 342 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was super friendly and always willing to help. Location also good. Few blocks from main plaza. Rooms very clean. We liked that we had wifi connection in the rooms.

Disliked: Maybe a bit to expensive for the budget traveller

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Natasha Hutchinson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2014 Natasha would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious room, with lovely ensure - hot showers with high pressure - all day! Nice balcony overlooking the street, comfy bed. Decent breakfast and very friendly staff.

Disliked: Laundry service was pricey, and had slight difficulties with the onsite tour agency, but otherwise fine.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great rooms, w Satelite tv and hot showers. Good breakfast. Good location. Helpful staff, arranged a great death road trip via here.

Disliked: Room on 3rd floor was tough in altitude. Wifi mostly good but sometimes not.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca Venuto

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 January 2014 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: beautiful room!

Disliked: Rebecca left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephanie Abbott

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 December 2013 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: Great location amongst the markets and up from the city a little. Really spacious clean room with hot water all the time! Helpful staff and on site tour help (we were here on a weekend and the tourist office in the city is closed Saturdays and Sundays.) Good breakfast to get you going.

Disliked: Slightly dodgy plugs in the bedroom- had to wedge the adaptor in with a table to dry my hair! But only complaint!! Careful on the stairs if you're new to La Paz we practically had to kip on every ascent due to the altitude- not the hostels fault though!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lorissa Achjian

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 December 2013 Lorissa would recommend this property

Liked: Great location close to the markets and iglesia San Francisco, excellent value for money especially including the continental breakfast (eggs, bread, jam, cereal, yoghurt, coffee, tea, fresh juice, fruit), hot showers 24/7 (necessary with La Paz's cold climate) and friendly staff.

Disliked: Nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Caitriona Quigley

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2013 Caitriona would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is quite central. Great breakfast Nicely decorated

Disliked: Only one working plug socket. Neighbourhood is not the nicest or perhaps safest

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

mason smith

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2013

Liked: WiFi in the room,when it worked!

Disliked: Went to check out and was told it was 297 bolivianos,had a hostelbookers print off clearly stating I owed 189,a stand off ensued at 6:30am,had a flight to catch,desk clerk wouldn't have it,eventually called the boss and paid the lower amount,not happy

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laurie Nock

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2013 Laurie would recommend this property

Liked: Hotel Cruz de los Andes and its rooms are very colorful – lots of murals and primary colors. The stairs up to the fourth or fifth floors are a good test of one’s acclimatization to altitude! My room was big, with three beds and plenty of space. Cable TV has good reception of all the important international and national stations, and then some. The tiny restaurant serves a decent breakfast of cereal, fruit, bread with butter and good jam, and an egg – plus coffee, tea, cocoa and mate de coca. In the early evening, there’s also good chicken soup and empanadas (and more I didn’t try). The front desk seems to be manned constantly. All staff were helpful, patient and friendly. Knowledgeable, too. Great hot shower! Hostal Cruz de los Andes is kept really clean, beds made and towels changed daily.

Disliked: Multiple beds were needed so I could borrow blankets to be warm enough at night. It’s well worth renting a space heater! Wifi works moderately well. Furniture in common rooms is rather uncomfortable, often broken.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfasts are very good: fresh fruit, choice of cereals, eggs, fresh crusty bread, jam, variety of teas, coffee (though this was poor), hot chocolate, fresh fruit juice. The staff are helpful, booking taxis, providing an early breakfast, etc. Heating is available, though at an extra cost. Showers are amazingly hot

Disliked: It is more of a hotel than a hostel, so hard to meet people if you are a solo traveller. The stairs!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cruz de los Andes is a very colourful, nice place to stay in La Paz. The location is perfect, close to lots of attractions. The rooms are big, clean, proper bathroom with hot shower. The staff is very helpful and the breakfast is great - buffet with bread, muesli, fresh fruits, yoghurt, orange juice and eggs if you want to. Highly reccomend it!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good shower!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Michael Turner

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2013 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Character and location.

Disliked: Slight echo noise from the atrium but I'm nit-picking!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel for a good night's sleep. Not much atmosphere but that was fine for us. Very clean and nice paintings on the wall. Good breakfast. Also they are so kind with sorting early breakfast or letting you check in early.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: large room, nice room

Disliked: no lift!!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place was safe and more like a hotel than a hostel. Friendly staff and booked me a 6am taxi to the airport. Everything in the area is so cheap!

Disliked: A shady lane -- would recommend not going out at night.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

VASILEIOS SMYRLIS

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 December 2012 VASILEIOS would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpfull and profecional staff! Clean rooms and safe hostel. recomended 100%

Disliked: The area that Hotel is located. You can not walk in the night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alex Proimos

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 December 2012 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: Absolute oasis. In a perfect position and extremely helpful staff.

Disliked: The internet was patchy.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

01 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I would say the people

Disliked: The rooms need more electrical outlets and more hooks to hang items on.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Fernanda Melchiors Wenzel

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 November 2012 Fernanda would recommend this property

Liked: Confortable rooms and nice breakfest, with fruits and iogurt!

Disliked: Fernanda left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Large, bright rooms with spacious bathrooms. Good, hot showers. Cable TV and wifi was very useful. This hostel is really more like a hotel. They clean your rooms during the day and make your bed.

Disliked: No computers, travel agent was not very good. We walked a couple of minutes down the road and found a fantastic one. They are very strict about breakfast start times. Our tours began before breakfast so we missed out and only got a piece of bread even though we gave them 2 days notice. Water turned off on our last morning so we couldnt shower. We asked for some compensation but got nothing. Overall a reqasonable hotel.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I arrived very early in the morning and they let me check-in right away! The front desk staff is very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We realy liked the room with the wall painting, the hot showers and the breakfast.

Disliked: The computers were sooooooo slow and didn`t een work half the time.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was convenient, the breakfast was good, and served quickly. The staff was very helpful and friendly, and the travel agency located there was very efficient. The rooms were spotlessly clean, the showers were always hot, and the rental heater was well worth the additional cost. Overall a very good experience.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious Rooms, clean, nice.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all La Paz hostels