HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all La Paz hostels

Reviews of Cruz de los Andes

Hostel | Calle Aroma No 216, Zona el Rosario, La Paz, Bolivia 00591

87.0% Overall Rating

347 out of 364 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/07/2014)

Kiara Gallop thinks…

"Loved the free buffet breakfast, and the hot showers. Also pretty good location, only 10 mins from San Francisco square - but it is uphill all the way!"

Read all Cruz de los Andes reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wake-up calls
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 12.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to La Paz?

Contact us directly

See other properties in La Paz

Hostal Provenzal
12.74 USD

Guesthouse 84.9% 30 reviews
HI Hostel Onkel Inn 1886
11.46 USD

Hostel 77.8% 33 reviews
Hotel Milton
16.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 80.8% 52 reviews
Hotel Fuentes
11.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.9% 155 reviews
Hostal Sol Andino
13.87 USD

Guesthouse 84.3% 154 reviews
Estrella Andina
16.00 USD

Hostel 87.7% 132 reviews
Hotel Sajama
17.90 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Las Brisas
18.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.8% 16 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.0%

Overall Rating

347 out of 364 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Cruz de los Andes'

Atmosphere
73.6%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
89.6%
Value
88.8%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 325 of 351 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

matthew greenham

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2010 matthew would recommend this property

Liked: nice room, cable tv. good wifi.

Disliked: shower was warm, not hot no lift to 4th floor

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Hamish Mace

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

03 September 2010 Hamish would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful rooms with ensuite. Friendly and helpful staff. A hop skip and a jump from calle saganaga and restaurants/tourist agencies etc.

Disliked: No communal area for meeting people - more of a hotel. Stairway noise outside rooms occasionally a problems, as is that from the street.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff. The showers were generally hot and the place is very clean. The tv´s in each room mean you can chill out and acclimatise to the La Paz life.

Disliked: The rooms can be a bit loud, as they are all centred around the main staircase and you can hear everyone walking up and down at all hours of the day. If you get a room that is not on the edge of the property it is a bit dark as you don´t have a window to outside, this also makes the rooms colder. Internet is expensive in comparison to what you get outside, but the WiFi is free which is great if you have the equipment to use it.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Alistair Pott

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2010 Alistair would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, easy to walk to the witches market and the tour companies. Pretty good breakfast with cerearl, fruit, bread, yoghurt and (terrible) coffee. Free internet

Disliked: Walking up a lot of stairs to the room. Shower was luke warm at best even after complaining.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hotel was very clean, the staff were exceptionally helpful and very friendly. The hotel is in an excellent location, very close to all amenities but in a back street which is very quiet.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Televsion in the room, secure baggage store, buffet breakfast, hot showers, decent beds and good locks

Disliked: It was a little way from the main street- the location was good for the Witches market but not so good for restaurants, also the showers were a bit dodgy- the temperature of the water kept changing and it felt like it was giving you a little electric shock every time you turned it on/off.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nette Zimmer mit Balkon oder Terrasse. Gute Lage.

Disliked: Relativ ringhörig.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

steven mcdougall

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2010 steven would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff and location is good for getting to all areas. Large rooms and goos showers. Breakfast was also better than the average.

Disliked: steven left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very clean and breakfast very good

Disliked: n/a

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Harriet Sheppard

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2010 Harriet would recommend this property

Liked: clean rooms with private bathrooms, new towels and made bed everyday.

Disliked: electric showers. make sure you wear thongs.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location and cleanliness

Disliked: breakfast has room for improvement

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lucy Forrester

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

04 August 2010 Lucy would recommend this property

Liked: Good-sized room with private bathroom, balcony and nice decoration (lots of painted murals everywhere!). Fresh fruit and coffee at breakfast, free wifi and plug-in heaters (if you ask for them) make this a good-value choice. Plus, it's very clean.

Disliked: Our room was next to the stairs, hence we could hear people stomping up and down them.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, nice big comfortable rooms and great breakfasts!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Catherine Hughes

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

24 July 2010 Catherine would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing Beds!

Disliked: Shower not amazing...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The wall paintings in each room created a really unique, cosy feel. Also the showers were lovely and warm.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was very clean, and when the shower was not working (only cold water) they fixed the issue immediately. I felt really safe leaving my luggage in their storage while I went to Lago Titicaca. Very nice staff.

Disliked: everything was great!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Markus Juhn

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2010 Markus would recommend this property

Liked: central, quiet and very friendly

Disliked: Perfect, 2 things to complain: Breakfast is till 10.30 (why does the guy always take away the buffet @ 10.15), Please repair the f*cking shower, i hate it when i get into electricity ;)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Nicolas Haezebrouck

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2010 Nicolas would recommend this property

Liked: Good hostel, I would rcomend it!

Disliked: Nicolas left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location an breakfast

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Philip Imlay

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2010 Philip would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, and breakfast.

Disliked: The showers. They are electric and sometimes don´t work.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Casey Fagre

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2010 Casey would recommend this property

Liked: This hotel is on a quiet side street so you don´t get a lot of noise from outside the hotel!

Disliked: The only thing was the bathroom smelled up the whole room, probably from the drains, so we had to ventilate frequently.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleaned the rooms and gave you fresh towels everyday.Breakfast is also above average with bread, cereal, fresh coffee, juice and fruit.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Rhona Cameron

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2010 Rhona would recommend this property

Liked: Very comfortable, nice rooms, good breakfast

Disliked: Rhona left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Rhona Cameron

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2010 Rhona would recommend this property

Liked: Beautifully decorated rooms, spacious clean bathrooms, good buffet breakfast, good wifi and internet

Disliked: Rhona left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice quiet hostel, with great location. Comfortable double bed and large room - electric shower was a bit unpredictable though! Not a hostel you´d go to if you want to meet lots of people, but if you were like us and wanted a really comfortable quiet room, then it´s perfect.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all La Paz hostels