HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all La Paz hostels

Reviews of Cruz de los Andes

Hostel | Calle Aroma No 216, Zona el Rosario, La Paz, Bolivia 00591

86.5% Overall Rating

352 out of 370 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/10/2014)

Marieke Desmense thinks…

"I booked Cruz de los Andes to be sure to have a nice room in case I would get sick from the altitude (flying in directly from sea level). I did get sick and was happy to be in this clean private room…"

Read all Cruz de los Andes reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wake-up calls
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 12.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to La Paz?

Contact us directly

See other properties in La Paz

Hostal Provenzal
12.73 USD

Guesthouse 84.7% 31 reviews
HI Hostel Onkel Inn 1886
11.46 USD

Hostel 77.8% 33 reviews
Hotel Milton
16.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 80.8% 52 reviews
Hotel Fuentes
11.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.9% 155 reviews
Hostal Sol Andino
13.86 USD

Guesthouse 84.7% 162 reviews
Estrella Andina
16.00 USD

Hostel 88.1% 133 reviews
Hotel Sajama
17.89 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Las Brisas
18.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.8% 16 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.5%

Overall Rating

352 out of 370 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Cruz de los Andes'

Atmosphere
73.6%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
90.4%
Value
87.2%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 331 of 358 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big rooms, private showers, really friendly staff and a pool table!

Disliked: Not at all social

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovel orginals murals un room,dealt with any issues promply and good location to gringo area.

Disliked: Needs a lift especially if your on the 4th floor

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent breakfast. Very clean. Great location (also quiet). Safe. Comfortable beds

Disliked: No lockers. A lot of steps if you're on the top floor. Dodgy shower.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great wi-fi in room. Very clean rooms and comfy beds. Hot showers. Good breakfast selection. Cable TV to watch the footy!

Disliked: Quite pricy.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

julia pell

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 September 2010 julia would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was extremely clean and the bed was really comfortable (had double room ensuite). Good location to go out for dinner and during the day.

Disliked: Was a bit cold in the room but there was a heater to make up for this.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexander Scheling

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 September 2010 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: perfect place to stay, close to all the attractions, large clean rooms, helpful staff, really friendly!

Disliked: Alexander left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

matthew greenham

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2010 matthew would recommend this property

Liked: nice room, cable tv. good wifi.

Disliked: shower was warm, not hot no lift to 4th floor

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Hamish Mace

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

03 September 2010 Hamish would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful rooms with ensuite. Friendly and helpful staff. A hop skip and a jump from calle saganaga and restaurants/tourist agencies etc.

Disliked: No communal area for meeting people - more of a hotel. Stairway noise outside rooms occasionally a problems, as is that from the street.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff. The showers were generally hot and the place is very clean. The tv´s in each room mean you can chill out and acclimatise to the La Paz life.

Disliked: The rooms can be a bit loud, as they are all centred around the main staircase and you can hear everyone walking up and down at all hours of the day. If you get a room that is not on the edge of the property it is a bit dark as you don´t have a window to outside, this also makes the rooms colder. Internet is expensive in comparison to what you get outside, but the WiFi is free which is great if you have the equipment to use it.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Alistair Pott

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2010 Alistair would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, easy to walk to the witches market and the tour companies. Pretty good breakfast with cerearl, fruit, bread, yoghurt and (terrible) coffee. Free internet

Disliked: Walking up a lot of stairs to the room. Shower was luke warm at best even after complaining.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hotel was very clean, the staff were exceptionally helpful and very friendly. The hotel is in an excellent location, very close to all amenities but in a back street which is very quiet.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Televsion in the room, secure baggage store, buffet breakfast, hot showers, decent beds and good locks

Disliked: It was a little way from the main street- the location was good for the Witches market but not so good for restaurants, also the showers were a bit dodgy- the temperature of the water kept changing and it felt like it was giving you a little electric shock every time you turned it on/off.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nette Zimmer mit Balkon oder Terrasse. Gute Lage.

Disliked: Relativ ringhörig.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

steven mcdougall

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2010 steven would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff and location is good for getting to all areas. Large rooms and goos showers. Breakfast was also better than the average.

Disliked: steven left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very clean and breakfast very good

Disliked: n/a

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Harriet Sheppard

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2010 Harriet would recommend this property

Liked: clean rooms with private bathrooms, new towels and made bed everyday.

Disliked: electric showers. make sure you wear thongs.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location and cleanliness

Disliked: breakfast has room for improvement

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lucy Forrester

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

04 August 2010 Lucy would recommend this property

Liked: Good-sized room with private bathroom, balcony and nice decoration (lots of painted murals everywhere!). Fresh fruit and coffee at breakfast, free wifi and plug-in heaters (if you ask for them) make this a good-value choice. Plus, it's very clean.

Disliked: Our room was next to the stairs, hence we could hear people stomping up and down them.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, nice big comfortable rooms and great breakfasts!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Catherine Hughes

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

24 July 2010 Catherine would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing Beds!

Disliked: Shower not amazing...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The wall paintings in each room created a really unique, cosy feel. Also the showers were lovely and warm.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was very clean, and when the shower was not working (only cold water) they fixed the issue immediately. I felt really safe leaving my luggage in their storage while I went to Lago Titicaca. Very nice staff.

Disliked: everything was great!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Markus Juhn

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2010 Markus would recommend this property

Liked: central, quiet and very friendly

Disliked: Perfect, 2 things to complain: Breakfast is till 10.30 (why does the guy always take away the buffet @ 10.15), Please repair the f*cking shower, i hate it when i get into electricity ;)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Nicolas Haezebrouck

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2010 Nicolas would recommend this property

Liked: Good hostel, I would rcomend it!

Disliked: Nicolas left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location an breakfast

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all La Paz hostels