HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all La Paz hostels

Reviews of Cruz de los Andes

Hostel | Calle Aroma No 216, Zona el Rosario, La Paz, Bolivia 00591

87.9% Overall Rating

343 out of 360 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/07/2014)

Kiara Gallop thinks…

"Loved the free buffet breakfast, and the hot showers. Also pretty good location, only 10 mins from San Francisco square - but it is uphill all the way!"

Read all Cruz de los Andes reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wake-up calls
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 12.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to La Paz?

Contact us directly

See other properties in La Paz

Hostal Provenzal
12.75 USD

Guesthouse 84.9% 30 reviews
HI Hostel Onkel Inn 1886
11.48 USD

Hostel 76.8% 31 reviews
Hotel Milton
16.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 80.8% 52 reviews
Hotel Fuentes
11.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.9% 155 reviews
Hostal Sol Andino
13.88 USD

Guesthouse 83.9% 152 reviews
Estrella Andina
16.00 USD

Hostel 87.7% 131 reviews
Hotel Sajama
17.92 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Las Brisas
18.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.4% 15 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.9%

Overall Rating

343 out of 360 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Cruz de los Andes'

Atmosphere
73.6%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
90.4%
Value
89.6%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 322 of 348 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I thought the sfatt were vert helpful and friendly. The breakfast was a full buffet of cereal, bread and jam with fresh juice to drink and coffee on hand which was great. The internet was quick and you could use at anytime and the room I had was excellent as the bed was really comfy. I would stay here again as it is also located near to the main square.

Disliked: It wasnt a place to meet other people but I guess that was because everyone else had different rotas so not entirely hostels fault.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Thomas Grinter

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 December 2010 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: helpful staff who spoke good english

Disliked: None

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jens Brinkmann

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 December 2010 Jens would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was so friendly and helpful..I lost my passport and the really helped me out!!..rooms are quiet and the location a good start to explore the city!!

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hamish Moffatt

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

03 December 2010 Hamish would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, modern, and the murals in each room are cute.

Disliked: There was no balcony (nor much natural light at all) in my room.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly. Helpful. Good value for money.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Warren Guest

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 November 2010 Warren would recommend this property

Liked: Nice rooms and showers, good internet connection and if you need a good nights sleep in La Paz its nice and quiet!

Disliked: Not easy to meet people

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great wifi connection in all the rooms, good breakfast, very clean rooms and bathrooms with hot showers.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lars Kroon

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 November 2010 Lars would recommend this property

Liked: The friendly and helpful staff.The beautiful design of the propertyI have been in more that 100 countries and I want to say that thisproperty is one of the best I have been toThe first time I give 100 %.

Disliked: Everything is on the top so there is nothing I can find bad

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

01 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very very clean. every ammenity available. quiet. staff were really really friendly and helpful. one of the best hostel breakfasts i have had. comfortable!! worth every dollar and more

Disliked: loved everything. not as easy to meet people here as in other hostels, but it is possible with a pool table, common room, etc

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location. wifi in every room

Disliked: toilets have sometimes a strange smell

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Matt Kitson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 October 2010 Matt would recommend this property

Liked: We initially booked in for two nights, but ended up staying two more. The staff were very helpful (except where my poor Spanish let me down!) and were able to recommend places to eat and where to go to see La Paz. They also had a doctor on call, which was very handy.

Disliked: It was quite noisy outside the room when people checked out early.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location is very good, wifi in the room helpful

Disliked: rooms are very cold, so you cannot stay inside much, there was no hot water, the water was only slightly warm, breakfast fairly simple

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

16 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place with good location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Davies

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

16 October 2010 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Very central location, very clean and tidy, great TV room with free coca de mate. Really good internet and helpful staff.

Disliked: Not enough hot water in the showers. Otherwise can't fault it.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lennart De Witte

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 October 2010 Lennart would recommend this property

Liked: The first decent showers in weeks! + Check out can be at 1 PM.

Disliked: Lennart left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - Great breakfast- Wi-Fi in room very reliable (except if you're on the first floor)- Beds are comfortable- Not as noisy as other hotels I've stayed in Bolivia and Peru.- Shower was hot

Disliked: -Ask to be on greater floors because the first floor is noisy (because of people in staircase) - Shower needs more pressure

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big rooms, private showers, really friendly staff and a pool table!

Disliked: Not at all social

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovel orginals murals un room,dealt with any issues promply and good location to gringo area.

Disliked: Needs a lift especially if your on the 4th floor

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent breakfast. Very clean. Great location (also quiet). Safe. Comfortable beds

Disliked: No lockers. A lot of steps if you're on the top floor. Dodgy shower.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great wi-fi in room. Very clean rooms and comfy beds. Hot showers. Good breakfast selection. Cable TV to watch the footy!

Disliked: Quite pricy.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

julia pell

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 September 2010 julia would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was extremely clean and the bed was really comfortable (had double room ensuite). Good location to go out for dinner and during the day.

Disliked: Was a bit cold in the room but there was a heater to make up for this.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexander Scheling

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 September 2010 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: perfect place to stay, close to all the attractions, large clean rooms, helpful staff, really friendly!

Disliked: Alexander left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

matthew greenham

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2010 matthew would recommend this property

Liked: nice room, cable tv. good wifi.

Disliked: shower was warm, not hot no lift to 4th floor

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Hamish Mace

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

03 September 2010 Hamish would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful rooms with ensuite. Friendly and helpful staff. A hop skip and a jump from calle saganaga and restaurants/tourist agencies etc.

Disliked: No communal area for meeting people - more of a hotel. Stairway noise outside rooms occasionally a problems, as is that from the street.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff. The showers were generally hot and the place is very clean. The tv´s in each room mean you can chill out and acclimatise to the La Paz life.

Disliked: The rooms can be a bit loud, as they are all centred around the main staircase and you can hear everyone walking up and down at all hours of the day. If you get a room that is not on the edge of the property it is a bit dark as you don´t have a window to outside, this also makes the rooms colder. Internet is expensive in comparison to what you get outside, but the WiFi is free which is great if you have the equipment to use it.


See all La Paz hostels