We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all La Paz hostels

Reviews of Cruz de los Andes

Hostel | Calle Aroma No 216, Zona el Rosario, La Paz, Bolivia 00591

86.5% Overall Rating

352 out of 370 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/10/2014)

Marieke Desmense thinks…

"I booked Cruz de los Andes to be sure to have a nice room in case I would get sick from the altitude (flying in directly from sea level). I did get sick and was happy to be in this clean private room…"

Read all Cruz de los Andes reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wake-up calls
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 12.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to La Paz?

Contact us directly

See other properties in La Paz

Hostal Provenzal
12.73 USD

Guesthouse 84.7% 31 reviews
HI Hostel Onkel Inn 1886
11.46 USD

Hostel 77.8% 33 reviews
Hotel Milton
16.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 80.8% 52 reviews
Hotel Fuentes
11.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.9% 155 reviews
Hostal Sol Andino
13.86 USD

Guesthouse 84.7% 162 reviews
Estrella Andina
16.00 USD

Hostel 88.1% 133 reviews
Hotel Sajama
17.89 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Las Brisas
18.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.8% 16 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.5%

Overall Rating

352 out of 370 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Cruz de los Andes'

Atmosphere
73.6%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
90.4%
Value
87.2%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 331 of 358 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: breakfast was decent, fruit and cereal, good bread. Nice pool table and internet connection.

Disliked: The location is in a bit of a sketchy alley at night.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great room and lovely staff

Disliked: nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were quite large and some had balconies. All were ensuite and the showers were always hot.

Disliked: One thing was that there was a slight aroma from the bathroom but it was never that strong and a few minutes with a window open it was fine. The only other little thing which isn't really a dislike was that the staff on duty during our stay didn't speak much English, but if you have good Spanish that shouldn't be a problem.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfasts, clean and very good value!

Disliked: The stairs are a killer in altitude, but that is just our lack of fitness!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

01 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The toilets were FANTASTIC! Clean, nice bathroom, hot water in the showers. The staff were very helpful when we were stuck here in La Paz due to blockades/strikes/riots/NYE, and allowed us to extend our room booking multiple times. The travel agency connected with the hostel was also helpful, and got us on the first bus out of here (hopefully!!). They cleaned the rooms and gave us clean towels etc each day. Breakfast was also really good.

Disliked: We were on the fourth floor, which was good for the peace and quiet, but in combination with the altitude made for a bit of a struggle up the stairs, especially with backpacks or head colds. Although they did actually help us carry our packs up the stairs when we arrived.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Wijnand Laan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 December 2010 Wijnand would recommend this property

Liked: We arrived art 7 am and could enter our room right away! The hostel has a great location, right 'where it all happens'. Room was beautifully decorated, very clean as well, spotless even. Wifi had a decent speed, staff could inform us about bus schedules. Not a party hostel, but a good place to stay nevertheless.

Disliked: A bit cold inside when it is cold outside.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good breakfast, good pool table, very clean

Disliked: not a party place

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Magee

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2010 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is in the best location in la paz, hands down. Half a block to the mercado negro on a quiet street in Rosario. Two blocks from the witches market and Saranaga. Perfect. Murals on all the walls were an excellent decorating touch. Great stay, great breakfast.

Disliked: Didn't like the shower, They have a crazy contraption for a shower head instead of a simple two knob setup which doesn't make any sense and doesn't work well. And there's construction on the left side of the building which isn't their fault but a pain in the ass if you plan on sleeping past 9:30.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

barbara cullinane

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 December 2010 barbara would recommend this property

Liked: We booked for two nights and ended up staying 8!! this is more like a hotel which really nice rooms decorated individually. Cable tv with lots of english speaking channels which kept us in our room too much! The price was a little over our backpacking budget but we thought it was well worth it for the room with tv and the very good breakfast (fruit, cereal, yoghurt bread, juice, hot drinks). The staff were very friendly and the place felt secure.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I thought the sfatt were vert helpful and friendly. The breakfast was a full buffet of cereal, bread and jam with fresh juice to drink and coffee on hand which was great. The internet was quick and you could use at anytime and the room I had was excellent as the bed was really comfy. I would stay here again as it is also located near to the main square.

Disliked: It wasnt a place to meet other people but I guess that was because everyone else had different rotas so not entirely hostels fault.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Thomas Grinter

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 December 2010 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: helpful staff who spoke good english

Disliked: None

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jens Brinkmann

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 December 2010 Jens would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was so friendly and helpful..I lost my passport and the really helped me out!!..rooms are quiet and the location a good start to explore the city!!

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hamish Moffatt

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

03 December 2010 Hamish would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, modern, and the murals in each room are cute.

Disliked: There was no balcony (nor much natural light at all) in my room.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly. Helpful. Good value for money.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Warren Guest

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 November 2010 Warren would recommend this property

Liked: Nice rooms and showers, good internet connection and if you need a good nights sleep in La Paz its nice and quiet!

Disliked: Not easy to meet people

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great wifi connection in all the rooms, good breakfast, very clean rooms and bathrooms with hot showers.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lars Kroon

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 November 2010 Lars would recommend this property

Liked: The friendly and helpful staff.The beautiful design of the propertyI have been in more that 100 countries and I want to say that thisproperty is one of the best I have been toThe first time I give 100 %.

Disliked: Everything is on the top so there is nothing I can find bad

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

01 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very very clean. every ammenity available. quiet. staff were really really friendly and helpful. one of the best hostel breakfasts i have had. comfortable!! worth every dollar and more

Disliked: loved everything. not as easy to meet people here as in other hostels, but it is possible with a pool table, common room, etc

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location. wifi in every room

Disliked: toilets have sometimes a strange smell

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Matt Kitson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 October 2010 Matt would recommend this property

Liked: We initially booked in for two nights, but ended up staying two more. The staff were very helpful (except where my poor Spanish let me down!) and were able to recommend places to eat and where to go to see La Paz. They also had a doctor on call, which was very handy.

Disliked: It was quite noisy outside the room when people checked out early.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location is very good, wifi in the room helpful

Disliked: rooms are very cold, so you cannot stay inside much, there was no hot water, the water was only slightly warm, breakfast fairly simple

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

16 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place with good location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Davies

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

16 October 2010 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Very central location, very clean and tidy, great TV room with free coca de mate. Really good internet and helpful staff.

Disliked: Not enough hot water in the showers. Otherwise can't fault it.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lennart De Witte

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 October 2010 Lennart would recommend this property

Liked: The first decent showers in weeks! + Check out can be at 1 PM.

Disliked: Lennart left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - Great breakfast- Wi-Fi in room very reliable (except if you're on the first floor)- Beds are comfortable- Not as noisy as other hotels I've stayed in Bolivia and Peru.- Shower was hot

Disliked: -Ask to be on greater floors because the first floor is noisy (because of people in staircase) - Shower needs more pressure


See all La Paz hostels