HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all La Paz hostels

Reviews of Cruz de los Andes

Hostel | Calle Aroma No 216, Zona el Rosario, La Paz, Bolivia 00591

88.9% Overall Rating

338 out of 355 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/04/2014)

"The staff was super friendly and always willing to help. Location also good. Few blocks from main plaza. Rooms very clean. We liked that we had wifi connection in the rooms."

Read all Cruz de los Andes reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wake-up calls
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 90.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to La Paz?

Contact us directly

See other properties in La Paz

Hostal Provenzal
14.17 USD

Guesthouse 84.5% 29 reviews
HI Hostel Onkel Inn 1886
10.91 USD

Hostel 75.5% 30 reviews
Hotel Milton
16.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 80.8% 51 reviews
Hotel Fuentes
11.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.9% 155 reviews
Hostal Sol Andino
13.89 USD

Guesthouse 85.4% 146 reviews
Estrella Andina
18.00 USD

Hostel 90.1% 127 reviews
Hotel Sajama
17.92 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Las Brisas
18.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.4% 15 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.9%

Overall Rating

338 out of 355 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Cruz de los Andes'

Atmosphere
77.6%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
91.2%
Value
93.6%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 317 of 342 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Warren Guest

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 November 2010 Warren would recommend this property

Liked: Nice rooms and showers, good internet connection and if you need a good nights sleep in La Paz its nice and quiet!

Disliked: Not easy to meet people

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great wifi connection in all the rooms, good breakfast, very clean rooms and bathrooms with hot showers.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lars Kroon

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 November 2010 Lars would recommend this property

Liked: The friendly and helpful staff.The beautiful design of the propertyI have been in more that 100 countries and I want to say that thisproperty is one of the best I have been toThe first time I give 100 %.

Disliked: Everything is on the top so there is nothing I can find bad

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

01 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very very clean. every ammenity available. quiet. staff were really really friendly and helpful. one of the best hostel breakfasts i have had. comfortable!! worth every dollar and more

Disliked: loved everything. not as easy to meet people here as in other hostels, but it is possible with a pool table, common room, etc

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location. wifi in every room

Disliked: toilets have sometimes a strange smell

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Matt Kitson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 October 2010 Matt would recommend this property

Liked: We initially booked in for two nights, but ended up staying two more. The staff were very helpful (except where my poor Spanish let me down!) and were able to recommend places to eat and where to go to see La Paz. They also had a doctor on call, which was very handy.

Disliked: It was quite noisy outside the room when people checked out early.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location is very good, wifi in the room helpful

Disliked: rooms are very cold, so you cannot stay inside much, there was no hot water, the water was only slightly warm, breakfast fairly simple

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

16 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place with good location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Davies

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

16 October 2010 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Very central location, very clean and tidy, great TV room with free coca de mate. Really good internet and helpful staff.

Disliked: Not enough hot water in the showers. Otherwise can't fault it.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lennart De Witte

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 October 2010 Lennart would recommend this property

Liked: The first decent showers in weeks! + Check out can be at 1 PM.

Disliked: Lennart left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - Great breakfast- Wi-Fi in room very reliable (except if you're on the first floor)- Beds are comfortable- Not as noisy as other hotels I've stayed in Bolivia and Peru.- Shower was hot

Disliked: -Ask to be on greater floors because the first floor is noisy (because of people in staircase) - Shower needs more pressure

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big rooms, private showers, really friendly staff and a pool table!

Disliked: Not at all social

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovel orginals murals un room,dealt with any issues promply and good location to gringo area.

Disliked: Needs a lift especially if your on the 4th floor

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent breakfast. Very clean. Great location (also quiet). Safe. Comfortable beds

Disliked: No lockers. A lot of steps if you're on the top floor. Dodgy shower.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great wi-fi in room. Very clean rooms and comfy beds. Hot showers. Good breakfast selection. Cable TV to watch the footy!

Disliked: Quite pricy.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

julia pell

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 September 2010 julia would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was extremely clean and the bed was really comfortable (had double room ensuite). Good location to go out for dinner and during the day.

Disliked: Was a bit cold in the room but there was a heater to make up for this.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexander Scheling

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 September 2010 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: perfect place to stay, close to all the attractions, large clean rooms, helpful staff, really friendly!

Disliked: Alexander left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

matthew greenham

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2010 matthew would recommend this property

Liked: nice room, cable tv. good wifi.

Disliked: shower was warm, not hot no lift to 4th floor

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Hamish Mace

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

03 September 2010 Hamish would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful rooms with ensuite. Friendly and helpful staff. A hop skip and a jump from calle saganaga and restaurants/tourist agencies etc.

Disliked: No communal area for meeting people - more of a hotel. Stairway noise outside rooms occasionally a problems, as is that from the street.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff. The showers were generally hot and the place is very clean. The tv´s in each room mean you can chill out and acclimatise to the La Paz life.

Disliked: The rooms can be a bit loud, as they are all centred around the main staircase and you can hear everyone walking up and down at all hours of the day. If you get a room that is not on the edge of the property it is a bit dark as you don´t have a window to outside, this also makes the rooms colder. Internet is expensive in comparison to what you get outside, but the WiFi is free which is great if you have the equipment to use it.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Alistair Pott

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2010 Alistair would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, easy to walk to the witches market and the tour companies. Pretty good breakfast with cerearl, fruit, bread, yoghurt and (terrible) coffee. Free internet

Disliked: Walking up a lot of stairs to the room. Shower was luke warm at best even after complaining.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hotel was very clean, the staff were exceptionally helpful and very friendly. The hotel is in an excellent location, very close to all amenities but in a back street which is very quiet.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Televsion in the room, secure baggage store, buffet breakfast, hot showers, decent beds and good locks

Disliked: It was a little way from the main street- the location was good for the Witches market but not so good for restaurants, also the showers were a bit dodgy- the temperature of the water kept changing and it felt like it was giving you a little electric shock every time you turned it on/off.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nette Zimmer mit Balkon oder Terrasse. Gute Lage.

Disliked: Relativ ringhörig.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

steven mcdougall

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2010 steven would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff and location is good for getting to all areas. Large rooms and goos showers. Breakfast was also better than the average.

Disliked: steven left no negative feedback.


See all La Paz hostels