HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all La Paz hostels

Reviews of Cruz de los Andes

Hostel | Calle Aroma No 216, Zona el Rosario, La Paz, Bolivia 00591

88.9% Overall Rating

338 out of 355 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/04/2014)

"The staff was super friendly and always willing to help. Location also good. Few blocks from main plaza. Rooms very clean. We liked that we had wifi connection in the rooms."

Read all Cruz de los Andes reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wake-up calls
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 90.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to La Paz?

Contact us directly

See other properties in La Paz

Hostal Provenzal
14.14 USD

Guesthouse 84.5% 29 reviews
HI Hostel Onkel Inn 1886
10.89 USD

Hostel 75.5% 30 reviews
Hotel Milton
16.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 80.8% 52 reviews
Hotel Fuentes
11.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.9% 155 reviews
Hostal Sol Andino
13.85 USD

Guesthouse 85.4% 146 reviews
Estrella Andina
18.00 USD

Hostel 90.1% 127 reviews
Hotel Sajama
17.88 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Las Brisas
18.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.4% 15 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.9%

Overall Rating

338 out of 355 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Cruz de los Andes'

Atmosphere
77.6%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
91.2%
Value
93.6%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 317 of 342 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: rooms are nice and clean, walking distance downtown.

Disliked: nothing.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 February 2011

Liked: The beds are very comfortables and the breakfast are quite nice.

Disliked: The whole time we were there (4 nights) the internet was not working. On the web they advertise payment by credit card and debit cards but they dont have the facilities at all so they should'nt advertise it. The building next door is under refurbishment so expect to be waken up at 8am EVERY DAY. People at reception are quite miserables appart from one lady.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michelle Hardie

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 February 2011 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful when I had trouble with my visa to Brazil. It was extremely clean and comfortable, breakfast was fabulous. They even picked me up at 1am in the morning from the airport.

Disliked: Tea and coffee facilities would have been great.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was like a small hotel, big rooms, quiet....

Disliked: the internet was down during our stay which was a shame but overall all good

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfast, common room downstairs, clean rooms, cool atmosphere, bag storage, friendly staff

Disliked: Shower was a bit cold, no internet onsite

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: directly in the market area of la paz. nice rooms and extremely clean.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

23 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The friendliness and helpfulness of the people. Am returning for another night´s stay there. Great value for money.

Disliked: The only complaint is that there´s a Sports´Club with very excited people playing there, so a bit noisy until the Club closes.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: spacious room (double), very clean, good breakfast, friendly staff... we arrived at the hostel early at 7 a.m. and could move into the room and already have breakfast without any problems.

Disliked: i disliked nothing. but it is not a party place, if that´s what you want you should stay somewhere else...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is more a hotel than a hostel, our room(s) were huge with comfy beds, warm showers when you knew how to use them! The staff were incredibly flexible and moved our booking by a day due to an issue with our flight.

Disliked: The WIFI was a bit temperamental, there's some building work going on next door and its not an ideal place to meet people - there are other hostels in La Paz that are made for this!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Patrick Kraehenbuehl

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break

19 January 2011 Patrick would recommend this property

Liked: Perfecto!!!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mandlmeier Mathias

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 January 2011 Mandlmeier would recommend this property

Liked: It was the best hostel in south America

Disliked: Nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: breakfast was decent, fruit and cereal, good bread. Nice pool table and internet connection.

Disliked: The location is in a bit of a sketchy alley at night.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great room and lovely staff

Disliked: nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were quite large and some had balconies. All were ensuite and the showers were always hot.

Disliked: One thing was that there was a slight aroma from the bathroom but it was never that strong and a few minutes with a window open it was fine. The only other little thing which isn't really a dislike was that the staff on duty during our stay didn't speak much English, but if you have good Spanish that shouldn't be a problem.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfasts, clean and very good value!

Disliked: The stairs are a killer in altitude, but that is just our lack of fitness!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

01 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The toilets were FANTASTIC! Clean, nice bathroom, hot water in the showers. The staff were very helpful when we were stuck here in La Paz due to blockades/strikes/riots/NYE, and allowed us to extend our room booking multiple times. The travel agency connected with the hostel was also helpful, and got us on the first bus out of here (hopefully!!). They cleaned the rooms and gave us clean towels etc each day. Breakfast was also really good.

Disliked: We were on the fourth floor, which was good for the peace and quiet, but in combination with the altitude made for a bit of a struggle up the stairs, especially with backpacks or head colds. Although they did actually help us carry our packs up the stairs when we arrived.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Wijnand Laan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 December 2010 Wijnand would recommend this property

Liked: We arrived art 7 am and could enter our room right away! The hostel has a great location, right 'where it all happens'. Room was beautifully decorated, very clean as well, spotless even. Wifi had a decent speed, staff could inform us about bus schedules. Not a party hostel, but a good place to stay nevertheless.

Disliked: A bit cold inside when it is cold outside.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good breakfast, good pool table, very clean

Disliked: not a party place

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Magee

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2010 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is in the best location in la paz, hands down. Half a block to the mercado negro on a quiet street in Rosario. Two blocks from the witches market and Saranaga. Perfect. Murals on all the walls were an excellent decorating touch. Great stay, great breakfast.

Disliked: Didn't like the shower, They have a crazy contraption for a shower head instead of a simple two knob setup which doesn't make any sense and doesn't work well. And there's construction on the left side of the building which isn't their fault but a pain in the ass if you plan on sleeping past 9:30.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

barbara cullinane

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 December 2010 barbara would recommend this property

Liked: We booked for two nights and ended up staying 8!! this is more like a hotel which really nice rooms decorated individually. Cable tv with lots of english speaking channels which kept us in our room too much! The price was a little over our backpacking budget but we thought it was well worth it for the room with tv and the very good breakfast (fruit, cereal, yoghurt bread, juice, hot drinks). The staff were very friendly and the place felt secure.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I thought the sfatt were vert helpful and friendly. The breakfast was a full buffet of cereal, bread and jam with fresh juice to drink and coffee on hand which was great. The internet was quick and you could use at anytime and the room I had was excellent as the bed was really comfy. I would stay here again as it is also located near to the main square.

Disliked: It wasnt a place to meet other people but I guess that was because everyone else had different rotas so not entirely hostels fault.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Thomas Grinter

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 December 2010 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: helpful staff who spoke good english

Disliked: None

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jens Brinkmann

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 December 2010 Jens would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was so friendly and helpful..I lost my passport and the really helped me out!!..rooms are quiet and the location a good start to explore the city!!

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hamish Moffatt

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

03 December 2010 Hamish would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, modern, and the murals in each room are cute.

Disliked: There was no balcony (nor much natural light at all) in my room.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly. Helpful. Good value for money.

Disliked: Nothing


See all La Paz hostels