HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all La Paz hostels

Reviews of Cruz de los Andes

Hostel | Calle Aroma No 216, Zona el Rosario, La Paz, Bolivia 00591

86.5% Overall Rating

352 out of 370 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/10/2014)

Marieke Desmense thinks…

"I booked Cruz de los Andes to be sure to have a nice room in case I would get sick from the altitude (flying in directly from sea level). I did get sick and was happy to be in this clean private room…"

Read all Cruz de los Andes reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wake-up calls
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 12.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to La Paz?

Contact us directly

See other properties in La Paz

Hostal Provenzal
12.73 USD

Guesthouse 84.7% 31 reviews
HI Hostel Onkel Inn 1886
11.46 USD

Hostel 77.8% 33 reviews
Hotel Milton
16.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 80.8% 52 reviews
Hotel Fuentes
11.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.9% 155 reviews
Hostal Sol Andino
13.86 USD

Guesthouse 84.7% 162 reviews
Estrella Andina
16.00 USD

Hostel 88.1% 133 reviews
Hotel Sajama
17.89 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Las Brisas
18.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.8% 16 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.5%

Overall Rating

352 out of 370 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Cruz de los Andes'

Atmosphere
73.6%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
90.4%
Value
87.2%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 331 of 358 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Konradin Resa

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 April 2011 Konradin would recommend this property

Liked: the service was exceptional - we arrived early in the morning, and instead of having us wait for the rooms to be ready, they instead transfered us to the a bit more expensive Estrella Andina around the corner, for the same price!

Disliked: nothing at all to say here.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Christopher Clark

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2011 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: The room was very clean (apart from the bed-spread covers, which are more old than dirty). The staff were always helpful and smiley. Room had cable TV and electric shower and the wifi worked well in our room (which we were able to choose on arrival).

Disliked: The area is not so nice looking, but is fairly close to everything.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great buffet breakfast, very clean and spacious room. More of hotel than a hostel. We stayed there agian on our return to La Paz

Disliked: Internet / wi fi was tempermental, shower was hot but could be more powerful. Not a good place if you want a party place, but this could be prefered by some.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were immaculately maintained and charmingly decorated.

Disliked: The shower was either scalding at a trickle, or freezing at a reasonable pressure.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas welsh

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2011 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: nice rooms with wi-fi. we checked in early and got breakfast for that day as well - nice touch! friendly and helpful staff, cheap laundry service!

Disliked: breakfast was a bit slow in coming sometimes, but it is free so can't grumble too much

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Lisa doyle

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 March 2011

Liked: Erm not much

Disliked: The decor in the room was crazy - a mural of the Andes which gave us a headache. Room was freezing cold and noisy from the street below. We requested a wake up call for an early flight which never came. Overall it just felt grotty; we were glad to leave.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ben Dudley

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 March 2011 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: location great, excellent showers! felt a bit like a hotel rather than a hostel

Disliked: nothing

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

AMELIE BARRE

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 March 2011

Liked: good location

Disliked: breakfast really overestimated in the description; rooms VERY very cold; NO hot shower! they have a very old system they know it they proposed to change to another hostl but it as not practical for us... and internet had somebig problems every day. all in all does not worth the price.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

bryan shaw

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 March 2011 bryan would recommend this property

Liked: great location, right near all the markets, very secure 24 hr reception

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Heiko Wissmann

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 March 2011 Heiko would recommend this property

Liked: A very nice place about 1,6 km outside from Copacabana. Calm but lots of nature and the lake just in front of the lodge. Very friendly and helpfull staff. A really nice place to relax or come back after a tour to the island.

Disliked: nil

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is one of the best hostels I have stayed at. If you plan to visit La Paz, look no further and stay at the Cruz de los Andes.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very clean ! fast free internet and skype

Disliked: breakfast was presented nicely on the table but actually didnt have enough to eat. no cheese and no eggs... very important for a healthy start in the morning..

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

23 February 2011

Liked: Friendly staff, secure and decent location

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Megan Fletcher

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 February 2011 Megan would recommend this property

Liked: A nice place to stay, not a party place by any stretch of the imagination. Showers are a bit temperamental and the stairwells are quite noisy. But the staff are great, great location, and comfortable rooms.

Disliked: Coldsih showers, noisy stairwell, chilly rooms

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: rooms are nice and clean, walking distance downtown.

Disliked: nothing.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 February 2011

Liked: The beds are very comfortables and the breakfast are quite nice.

Disliked: The whole time we were there (4 nights) the internet was not working. On the web they advertise payment by credit card and debit cards but they dont have the facilities at all so they should'nt advertise it. The building next door is under refurbishment so expect to be waken up at 8am EVERY DAY. People at reception are quite miserables appart from one lady.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michelle Hardie

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 February 2011 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful when I had trouble with my visa to Brazil. It was extremely clean and comfortable, breakfast was fabulous. They even picked me up at 1am in the morning from the airport.

Disliked: Tea and coffee facilities would have been great.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was like a small hotel, big rooms, quiet....

Disliked: the internet was down during our stay which was a shame but overall all good

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfast, common room downstairs, clean rooms, cool atmosphere, bag storage, friendly staff

Disliked: Shower was a bit cold, no internet onsite

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: directly in the market area of la paz. nice rooms and extremely clean.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

23 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The friendliness and helpfulness of the people. Am returning for another night´s stay there. Great value for money.

Disliked: The only complaint is that there´s a Sports´Club with very excited people playing there, so a bit noisy until the Club closes.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: spacious room (double), very clean, good breakfast, friendly staff... we arrived at the hostel early at 7 a.m. and could move into the room and already have breakfast without any problems.

Disliked: i disliked nothing. but it is not a party place, if that´s what you want you should stay somewhere else...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is more a hotel than a hostel, our room(s) were huge with comfy beds, warm showers when you knew how to use them! The staff were incredibly flexible and moved our booking by a day due to an issue with our flight.

Disliked: The WIFI was a bit temperamental, there's some building work going on next door and its not an ideal place to meet people - there are other hostels in La Paz that are made for this!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Patrick Kraehenbuehl

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break

19 January 2011 Patrick would recommend this property

Liked: Perfecto!!!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mandlmeier Mathias

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 January 2011 Mandlmeier would recommend this property

Liked: It was the best hostel in south America

Disliked: Nothing


See all La Paz hostels