We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all La Paz hostels

Reviews of Cruz de los Andes

Hostel | Calle Aroma No 216, Zona el Rosario, La Paz, Bolivia 00591

86.5% Overall Rating

352 out of 370 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/10/2014)

Marieke Desmense thinks…

"I booked Cruz de los Andes to be sure to have a nice room in case I would get sick from the altitude (flying in directly from sea level). I did get sick and was happy to be in this clean private room…"

Read all Cruz de los Andes reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wake-up calls
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 12.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to La Paz?

Contact us directly

See other properties in La Paz

Hostal Provenzal
12.73 USD

Guesthouse 84.7% 31 reviews
HI Hostel Onkel Inn 1886
11.46 USD

Hostel 77.8% 33 reviews
Hotel Milton
16.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 80.8% 52 reviews
Hotel Fuentes
11.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.9% 155 reviews
Hostal Sol Andino
13.86 USD

Guesthouse 84.7% 162 reviews
Estrella Andina
16.00 USD

Hostel 88.1% 133 reviews
Hotel Sajama
17.89 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Las Brisas
18.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.8% 16 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.5%

Overall Rating

352 out of 370 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Cruz de los Andes'

Atmosphere
73.6%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
90.4%
Value
87.2%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 331 of 358 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Richard Baker

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 August 2011 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and helpful very staff.

Disliked: Room was quite cold. There was not kitchen to use, but the breakfast was good.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Barbara Einspieler

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2011

Liked: das Hostel ist zentral in Mitten der Märkte gelegen, aber doch ein bisschen in einer ruhigeren Nebenstraße. Die Zimmer sind sehr ansprechend durch die Malerei an den Wänden . Sehr gutes Frühstück und schöne heiße Dusche!!

Disliked: alles ok - nur Personal spricht ausschließlich spanisch

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hotel is amazing. Clean, quiet, great staff who are very helpful (and speak great English). The murals all over the hotel and in every room are beautifulThey picked us up from the airport and on the way back to the hotel stopped off at the view point for us to take photos! The breakfast is good as they make eggs every day (sometimes you have to ask for the eggs though). Great cable TV and WiFi in the room. Quiet too. I would highly recommend this hotel

Disliked: The shower was fiddly to use. To get warm water you only turn the shower on a bit but if you turn it on too much the water runs cold. The sink also has only one tap with cold water...no hot water on the sink. I think that is pretty standard for Bolivia though.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

06 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Showers are hot, although water pressure is a little low. You are able to rent electric heating systems if you are feeling cold at night. Really friendly and helpful staff, who did everything to help me when I got sick in La Paz.

Disliked: Location is great, very near the Plaza San Francisco. But be careful because streets in the centre are steep and you easily get tired on your way back to the hostel.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Roberta Wells

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

01 August 2011 Roberta would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very welcoming. The property was well maintained and clean. The shower was good and hot. Loved the murals on the walls. Breakfast was good and plentiful...you have to ask for the eggs! good location.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is more like a hotel, but for the price you can't go wrong. Clean, comfortable with friendly staff and hot showers.

Disliked: No problems at all.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Dean Finch

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2011 Dean would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location in walking distance of tourist attractions, very friendly staff, colourful rooms (!), nice comfortable beds, cable TV in the rooms, option to hire radiator (useful for very cold eves!) hot water all the time (once you're used to the special Bolivian shower heads), nice towels and fast laundry service (although check they're giving you back the right bag of clothes!).

Disliked: Very little. The WiFi is very temperamental. It works in some of the rooms, sometimes. More luck with reception is had sat out on the chilly landings, but there are also 3 computers in reception which you can use.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

18 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place was clean and close to the action. I arrived on an overseas flight at 6am on the day that I was supposed to check in and there was somebody to greet me and show me to my room. I would recommend this to anybody looking for a private and clean hotel with a good value. Breakfast was great too!

Disliked: The only issue was that there was only enough hot water for one of us to take a shower. I would not necessarily call this a complaint though because at least there was some hot water

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

John Tumbridge

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2011 John would recommend this property

Liked: Was one of the nicest places I´ve stayed in. Price reflected that though

Disliked: The price and the hill!!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect, right near the Witches Market off the main road. The staff are extremely helpful, the rooms spotless (I had a private room with ensuite), and the breakfast is brilliant.

Disliked: If you are travelling on your own then this is a difficult place to meet people as there is no common room.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicole Abdul

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2011 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: Nice rooms, pretty hostel, great location, hot showers!!!

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice double rooms. Cheap. Hot water that was hot.

Disliked: More of a cheap hotel than a hostel so not the place if you are looking for parties or to meet people

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really clean, high standard of service.

Disliked: Not a great social area.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Holmes

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 June 2011 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff, rooms very comfortable , lovely murals.

Disliked: Breakfast first am excellent but next ones lacked eggs and sufficient supplies.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good choice in la Paz, close-ish to the main bus terminal and the herbs market and not too far from the city centre. Well maintained and well functioning operation, helpful staff.

Disliked: Not too much english is spoken - best if you speak a few words of spanish. Promised a breakfast package when i left early in the morning for Arica - great initiative - but when I asked for it in the morning it was not there. So double check everything.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff helpful, rooms good size with balcony, cable TV, good breakfast, wifi in rooms, safe baggage deposit

Disliked: Electric hot showers bit iffy

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - great staff - lovely breakfast included - good location with many travel agencies, restaurants, markets outside - the door to our balcony did not lock and they got it fixed straightaway - we liked it so much we extended our stay! - good lounge room downstairs with pool table, free coca tea, heater, book exchange and sofas - offered an airport pickup for 80 Bs not 100 as in the email

Disliked: - space heater should be included as rooms are cold - shower ok but not great although we understand this is a problem at lots of La Paz hostels - there was an issue with some (drunk and) violent guests late one night and although they evicted the culprit for the night he was allowed to return to stay for the rest of his booked time - we feel that he should not have been allowed to return - the snacks for sale in the lobby are very overpriced, just step outside and buy from the ladies in the street

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Harriet Beaton

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 May 2011 Harriet would recommend this property

Liked: Like a hotel for the price of a hostel, and eggs for breakfast. Lots of books to choose from in the book exchange

Disliked: Because it is more like a hotel you can´t really meet other travellers

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, nice rooms, Cable TV

Disliked: Breakfast, hot water a bit capricious in the shower.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms are nice, clean and secure. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The showers seem a bit dodgy and it's difficult to get a good temperature.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice clean rooms, cute murals on the walls, nice elliptical spiral staircase and a pool table! Breakfast was very nice as well and the staff were friendly. Location is smack bang in the middle of the touristy part of La Paz with a short walk to the main plazas, markets and sights.

Disliked: Our electric showerhead was not working properly and was promised by staff it would be replaced/fixed that day. We arrived back late after a day of tramping around the city and halfway through my shower the showerhead stopped working leaving me soapy, still sweaty and a little angry.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amardeep Nijjar

With my spouse / partner

City break

29 April 2011 Amardeep would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! As mentioned by others before, this hostel is definitely more like a hotel. It has good facilities such as a tv and games room, the breakfast is very good by Bolivian standards (bread, cereals, fruit, milkshake, hot drinks etc), the staff are very friendly, the location is excellent, there is sky tv in the rooms, and the rooms are kept extremely clean. I would definitely recommend Cruz de los Andes to anyone wanting to stay in La Paz.

Disliked: The only thing I would say is that because it is more like a hotel, you don´t get to meet people very much except at breakfast, but there are plenty of local hostels around if you want to go out for drinks and meet people.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, very friendly staff, WiFi was great, even in the room. We had a huge doubleroom with balcony and a view over the city, cable-TV, writing desk and private bathroom. Breakfast was good. The hostel is not a partyplace but a great place for couples. It is more of a middleclass hotel for the price of a hostel.

Disliked: The common areas were a bit boring and nobody used them, so not the best place to get in contact with other travellers.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 April 2011

Liked: Nothing in particular. But overall a descent hostel.

Disliked: Some rooms are way better than others. For the same price...

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, cheap, good location and nice staff!

Disliked: Nothing


See all La Paz hostels