HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all La Paz hostels

Reviews of Cruz de los Andes

Hostel | Calle Aroma No 216, Zona el Rosario, La Paz, Bolivia 00591

87.9% Overall Rating

343 out of 360 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/07/2014)

Kiara Gallop thinks…

"Loved the free buffet breakfast, and the hot showers. Also pretty good location, only 10 mins from San Francisco square - but it is uphill all the way!"

Read all Cruz de los Andes reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wake-up calls
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 12.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to La Paz?

Contact us directly

See other properties in La Paz

Hostal Provenzal
12.74 USD

Guesthouse 84.9% 30 reviews
HI Hostel Onkel Inn 1886
11.47 USD

Hostel 76.8% 32 reviews
Hotel Milton
16.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 80.8% 52 reviews
Hotel Fuentes
11.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.9% 155 reviews
Hostal Sol Andino
13.87 USD

Guesthouse 83.9% 152 reviews
Estrella Andina
16.00 USD

Hostel 87.7% 131 reviews
Hotel Sajama
17.91 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Las Brisas
18.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.4% 15 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.9%

Overall Rating

343 out of 360 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Cruz de los Andes'

Atmosphere
73.6%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
90.4%
Value
89.6%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 322 of 348 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect, right near the Witches Market off the main road. The staff are extremely helpful, the rooms spotless (I had a private room with ensuite), and the breakfast is brilliant.

Disliked: If you are travelling on your own then this is a difficult place to meet people as there is no common room.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicole Abdul

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2011 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: Nice rooms, pretty hostel, great location, hot showers!!!

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice double rooms. Cheap. Hot water that was hot.

Disliked: More of a cheap hotel than a hostel so not the place if you are looking for parties or to meet people

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really clean, high standard of service.

Disliked: Not a great social area.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Holmes

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 June 2011 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff, rooms very comfortable , lovely murals.

Disliked: Breakfast first am excellent but next ones lacked eggs and sufficient supplies.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good choice in la Paz, close-ish to the main bus terminal and the herbs market and not too far from the city centre. Well maintained and well functioning operation, helpful staff.

Disliked: Not too much english is spoken - best if you speak a few words of spanish. Promised a breakfast package when i left early in the morning for Arica - great initiative - but when I asked for it in the morning it was not there. So double check everything.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff helpful, rooms good size with balcony, cable TV, good breakfast, wifi in rooms, safe baggage deposit

Disliked: Electric hot showers bit iffy

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - great staff - lovely breakfast included - good location with many travel agencies, restaurants, markets outside - the door to our balcony did not lock and they got it fixed straightaway - we liked it so much we extended our stay! - good lounge room downstairs with pool table, free coca tea, heater, book exchange and sofas - offered an airport pickup for 80 Bs not 100 as in the email

Disliked: - space heater should be included as rooms are cold - shower ok but not great although we understand this is a problem at lots of La Paz hostels - there was an issue with some (drunk and) violent guests late one night and although they evicted the culprit for the night he was allowed to return to stay for the rest of his booked time - we feel that he should not have been allowed to return - the snacks for sale in the lobby are very overpriced, just step outside and buy from the ladies in the street

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Harriet Beaton

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 May 2011 Harriet would recommend this property

Liked: Like a hotel for the price of a hostel, and eggs for breakfast. Lots of books to choose from in the book exchange

Disliked: Because it is more like a hotel you can´t really meet other travellers

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, nice rooms, Cable TV

Disliked: Breakfast, hot water a bit capricious in the shower.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms are nice, clean and secure. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The showers seem a bit dodgy and it's difficult to get a good temperature.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice clean rooms, cute murals on the walls, nice elliptical spiral staircase and a pool table! Breakfast was very nice as well and the staff were friendly. Location is smack bang in the middle of the touristy part of La Paz with a short walk to the main plazas, markets and sights.

Disliked: Our electric showerhead was not working properly and was promised by staff it would be replaced/fixed that day. We arrived back late after a day of tramping around the city and halfway through my shower the showerhead stopped working leaving me soapy, still sweaty and a little angry.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amardeep Nijjar

With my spouse / partner

City break

29 April 2011 Amardeep would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! As mentioned by others before, this hostel is definitely more like a hotel. It has good facilities such as a tv and games room, the breakfast is very good by Bolivian standards (bread, cereals, fruit, milkshake, hot drinks etc), the staff are very friendly, the location is excellent, there is sky tv in the rooms, and the rooms are kept extremely clean. I would definitely recommend Cruz de los Andes to anyone wanting to stay in La Paz.

Disliked: The only thing I would say is that because it is more like a hotel, you don´t get to meet people very much except at breakfast, but there are plenty of local hostels around if you want to go out for drinks and meet people.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, very friendly staff, WiFi was great, even in the room. We had a huge doubleroom with balcony and a view over the city, cable-TV, writing desk and private bathroom. Breakfast was good. The hostel is not a partyplace but a great place for couples. It is more of a middleclass hotel for the price of a hostel.

Disliked: The common areas were a bit boring and nobody used them, so not the best place to get in contact with other travellers.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 April 2011

Liked: Nothing in particular. But overall a descent hostel.

Disliked: Some rooms are way better than others. For the same price...

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, cheap, good location and nice staff!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Konradin Resa

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 April 2011 Konradin would recommend this property

Liked: the service was exceptional - we arrived early in the morning, and instead of having us wait for the rooms to be ready, they instead transfered us to the a bit more expensive Estrella Andina around the corner, for the same price!

Disliked: nothing at all to say here.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Christopher Clark

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2011 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: The room was very clean (apart from the bed-spread covers, which are more old than dirty). The staff were always helpful and smiley. Room had cable TV and electric shower and the wifi worked well in our room (which we were able to choose on arrival).

Disliked: The area is not so nice looking, but is fairly close to everything.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great buffet breakfast, very clean and spacious room. More of hotel than a hostel. We stayed there agian on our return to La Paz

Disliked: Internet / wi fi was tempermental, shower was hot but could be more powerful. Not a good place if you want a party place, but this could be prefered by some.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were immaculately maintained and charmingly decorated.

Disliked: The shower was either scalding at a trickle, or freezing at a reasonable pressure.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas welsh

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2011 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: nice rooms with wi-fi. we checked in early and got breakfast for that day as well - nice touch! friendly and helpful staff, cheap laundry service!

Disliked: breakfast was a bit slow in coming sometimes, but it is free so can't grumble too much

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Lisa doyle

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 March 2011

Liked: Erm not much

Disliked: The decor in the room was crazy - a mural of the Andes which gave us a headache. Room was freezing cold and noisy from the street below. We requested a wake up call for an early flight which never came. Overall it just felt grotty; we were glad to leave.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ben Dudley

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 March 2011 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: location great, excellent showers! felt a bit like a hotel rather than a hostel

Disliked: nothing

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

AMELIE BARRE

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 March 2011

Liked: good location

Disliked: breakfast really overestimated in the description; rooms VERY very cold; NO hot shower! they have a very old system they know it they proposed to change to another hostl but it as not practical for us... and internet had somebig problems every day. all in all does not worth the price.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

bryan shaw

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 March 2011 bryan would recommend this property

Liked: great location, right near all the markets, very secure 24 hr reception

Disliked: nothing


See all La Paz hostels