We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all La Paz hostels

Reviews of Cruz de los Andes

Hostel | Calle Aroma No 216, Zona el Rosario, La Paz, Bolivia 00591

83.8% Overall Rating

356 out of 375 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/08/2015)

Marko Saje thinks…

"Open and efficient staff. We used private with bathroom, clean and cozy enough with great facilities and very good wifi. Great breakfast. Very convenient location. Will definitely return."

Read all Cruz de los Andes reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wake-up calls
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 1.69

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to La Paz?

Contact us directly

See other properties in La Paz

Hostal Provenzal
12.71 USD

Guesthouse 85.4% 32 reviews
HI Hostel Onkel Inn 1886
9.74 USD

Hostel 78.4% 36 reviews
Hotel Milton
17.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.7% 54 reviews
Hotel Fuentes
11.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.9% 155 reviews
Hostal Sol Andino
14.12 USD

Guesthouse 86.9% 175 reviews
Estrella Andina
16.00 USD

Hostel 88.5% 135 reviews
Hotel Sajama
17.86 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Las Brisas
19.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.8% 16 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.8%

Overall Rating

356 out of 375 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Cruz de los Andes'

Atmosphere
69.6%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
81.6%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
84.8%
Value
84.8%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 335 of 363 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is good, close to everything you want to see in La Paz.. This is my second stay at this hotel in 1 year and they remain to have a set standard of quality and comfort.

Disliked: Climbing the stairs to youy room, (altitude) however this is common in La Paz.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

jostein jerkoe

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 December 2011 jostein would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast!

Disliked: The electric showers were not in a proper shape. Watch out for electric shock or just cold water. The rooms were quite cold.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We loved the breakfast - location was also good.

Disliked: During your initial stay we stayed on the same side as the road - its really noisy (even on the 3rd floor) very early in the morning.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kevin O´Connell

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 December 2011 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast is great and they allowed us to have it when we checked in at 10am on our first day. Room was very spacious with its own bathroom, tv and balcony.

Disliked: the stairs were tough enough but good exercise i suppose!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dimitri Rousseau

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

26 November 2011 Dimitri would recommend this property

Liked: Quality for the price is unmatched

Disliked: breakfast was not incredible

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfast and really good location

Disliked: Dodgy electric shower in the room, got shocks from the tap

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfast, friendly staff. Comfy beds and quiet location off Llampu on a oneway side street. Free internet in foyer is very useful. Lovely murals painted on the walls in each room.

Disliked: Some rooms facing the interior are a bit dingey.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly people and nice breakfast, good to have own bathroom with towels...

Disliked: Good

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Swanston

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

13 November 2011 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: great breakfast with an amazing view. Place was very clean and the biggest plus was the staff, I guess bolivians in general are just very friendly ppl but the staff always had a smile on their faces

Disliked: Can't say anything really! Maybe a bit noisy with traffic in the morning but most of the rooms are higher up anyway

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, vey clean, nice rooms, god wifi, great breakfast

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was very central and it was very quiet

Disliked: Not a lot going on and we didn´t meet many people there - considering it was a capital city. We were on the fourth floor with no lift - at altitude this was sometimes tough!!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We arrived at the hostel late at night after booking on hostel bookers and were told it was full! However they handled the situation extremely well, obviously knew we were coming and put us in a hotel 2 doors down, that I think may be owned by the same people. We got a discount at the hotel and it ended up costing about the same so we didnt mind at all! We moved to the hostel the next day. Breakfast is good, rooms are clean and comfortable.

Disliked: There is no kitchen but other people we spoke to said it is hard to find a hostel in La Paz with a kitchen! The supermarket is miles away anyway! The rooms are a little noisy if there is someone in the room above, but not too bad!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice rooms, good breakfast with eggs,staff really helpful

Disliked: More of a hotel than a hostel which was great for us but others may want to stay at a backpackers to meet people

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jeroen Schrama

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 October 2011 Jeroen would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and in the centre of the city. Not cold even though La Paz is way up in the mountains

Disliked: Bad WiFi in the room, that´s about it

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JOHN ARDRON

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

19 October 2011 JOHN would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Good breakfast beds were clean

Disliked: Our bedroom was awfull. no windows but I think we were unlucky because there were some nice ones so don't go in 103 and you will be ok

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Zammit Mangion

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

19 October 2011 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent all round

Disliked: None

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher Simkiss

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 October 2011 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: good size room, location, breakfast, 3 computers

Disliked: our room 104 was a little smelly, think it was the drains in the bathroom maybe? But it didn't really bother us that much.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean towels every day! Comfortable beds.

Disliked: slightly smelly drainage in bathroom.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jack Collins

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2011 Jack would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location near the witches market. Good value, nice rooms.

Disliked: Internet was a bit patchy during the two days, with the wifi, internet in the lobby or both not working at times.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good and comfortable bed

Disliked: value for money

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location for the market and restaurants etc. Later breakfast was good. The wall murals were a nice touch but some weren't very Andean but more European.

Disliked: Our room was dingy with a very dirty window opening on to an airshaft where other rooms had balconies and looked much brighter. Our door was very difficult to lock from inside and out so I didn't feel very secure with it. Ask for a higher floor and a proper window and it should be better.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rosa Ungpakorn

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 October 2011 Rosa would recommend this property

Liked: Great location - easy to walk to anywhere in central La Paz. The room was big with a balcony and warm blankets on the bed. The shower was hot and the hotel is very clean. Probably more expensive than other places in La Paz but worth it. The breakfast was great - all you eat fruit, yogurt, cereal (including quinoa for gluten-free diets) and bread and eggs and hot drinks and juice.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was great, good wi-fi plus computers for free internet for those without wi-fi devices, spacious rooms, good location - great hostal overall!!

Disliked: -

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, fantastic spacious bedroom, friendly staff. Highly recommended, especially for couples.

Disliked: The breakfast was great but it was not often ready until 8.30ish despite being advertised as 7-10am.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good spot, good breakfast and great soccer table.

Disliked: Wifi did not reach all of the hotel


See all La Paz hostels