HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all La Paz hostels

Reviews of Cruz de los Andes

Hostel | Calle Aroma No 216, Zona el Rosario, La Paz, Bolivia 00591

86.5% Overall Rating

352 out of 370 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/10/2014)

Marieke Desmense thinks…

"I booked Cruz de los Andes to be sure to have a nice room in case I would get sick from the altitude (flying in directly from sea level). I did get sick and was happy to be in this clean private room…"

Read all Cruz de los Andes reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wake-up calls
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 12.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to La Paz?

Contact us directly

See other properties in La Paz

Hostal Provenzal
12.73 USD

Guesthouse 84.7% 31 reviews
HI Hostel Onkel Inn 1886
11.46 USD

Hostel 77.8% 33 reviews
Hotel Milton
16.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 80.8% 52 reviews
Hotel Fuentes
11.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.9% 155 reviews
Hostal Sol Andino
13.86 USD

Guesthouse 84.7% 162 reviews
Estrella Andina
16.00 USD

Hostel 88.1% 133 reviews
Hotel Sajama
17.89 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Las Brisas
18.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.8% 16 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.5%

Overall Rating

352 out of 370 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Cruz de los Andes'

Atmosphere
73.6%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
90.4%
Value
87.2%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 331 of 358 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dimitri Rousseau

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

26 November 2011 Dimitri would recommend this property

Liked: Quality for the price is unmatched

Disliked: breakfast was not incredible

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfast and really good location

Disliked: Dodgy electric shower in the room, got shocks from the tap

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfast, friendly staff. Comfy beds and quiet location off Llampu on a oneway side street. Free internet in foyer is very useful. Lovely murals painted on the walls in each room.

Disliked: Some rooms facing the interior are a bit dingey.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly people and nice breakfast, good to have own bathroom with towels...

Disliked: Good

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Swanston

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

13 November 2011 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: great breakfast with an amazing view. Place was very clean and the biggest plus was the staff, I guess bolivians in general are just very friendly ppl but the staff always had a smile on their faces

Disliked: Can't say anything really! Maybe a bit noisy with traffic in the morning but most of the rooms are higher up anyway

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, vey clean, nice rooms, god wifi, great breakfast

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was very central and it was very quiet

Disliked: Not a lot going on and we didn´t meet many people there - considering it was a capital city. We were on the fourth floor with no lift - at altitude this was sometimes tough!!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We arrived at the hostel late at night after booking on hostel bookers and were told it was full! However they handled the situation extremely well, obviously knew we were coming and put us in a hotel 2 doors down, that I think may be owned by the same people. We got a discount at the hotel and it ended up costing about the same so we didnt mind at all! We moved to the hostel the next day. Breakfast is good, rooms are clean and comfortable.

Disliked: There is no kitchen but other people we spoke to said it is hard to find a hostel in La Paz with a kitchen! The supermarket is miles away anyway! The rooms are a little noisy if there is someone in the room above, but not too bad!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice rooms, good breakfast with eggs,staff really helpful

Disliked: More of a hotel than a hostel which was great for us but others may want to stay at a backpackers to meet people

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jeroen Schrama

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 October 2011 Jeroen would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and in the centre of the city. Not cold even though La Paz is way up in the mountains

Disliked: Bad WiFi in the room, that´s about it

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JOHN ARDRON

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

19 October 2011 JOHN would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Good breakfast beds were clean

Disliked: Our bedroom was awfull. no windows but I think we were unlucky because there were some nice ones so don't go in 103 and you will be ok

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Zammit Mangion

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

19 October 2011 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent all round

Disliked: None

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher Simkiss

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 October 2011 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: good size room, location, breakfast, 3 computers

Disliked: our room 104 was a little smelly, think it was the drains in the bathroom maybe? But it didn't really bother us that much.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean towels every day! Comfortable beds.

Disliked: slightly smelly drainage in bathroom.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jack Collins

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2011 Jack would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location near the witches market. Good value, nice rooms.

Disliked: Internet was a bit patchy during the two days, with the wifi, internet in the lobby or both not working at times.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good and comfortable bed

Disliked: value for money

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location for the market and restaurants etc. Later breakfast was good. The wall murals were a nice touch but some weren't very Andean but more European.

Disliked: Our room was dingy with a very dirty window opening on to an airshaft where other rooms had balconies and looked much brighter. Our door was very difficult to lock from inside and out so I didn't feel very secure with it. Ask for a higher floor and a proper window and it should be better.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rosa Ungpakorn

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 October 2011 Rosa would recommend this property

Liked: Great location - easy to walk to anywhere in central La Paz. The room was big with a balcony and warm blankets on the bed. The shower was hot and the hotel is very clean. Probably more expensive than other places in La Paz but worth it. The breakfast was great - all you eat fruit, yogurt, cereal (including quinoa for gluten-free diets) and bread and eggs and hot drinks and juice.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was great, good wi-fi plus computers for free internet for those without wi-fi devices, spacious rooms, good location - great hostal overall!!

Disliked: -

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, fantastic spacious bedroom, friendly staff. Highly recommended, especially for couples.

Disliked: The breakfast was great but it was not often ready until 8.30ish despite being advertised as 7-10am.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good spot, good breakfast and great soccer table.

Disliked: Wifi did not reach all of the hotel

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

tiziana pelagatti

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2011 tiziana would recommend this property

Liked: good hostal in market area, staff friendly

Disliked: stairs in altitude

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its a great hostel, really clean, big and colorful rooms. The bed was very comfy and big. As well the private bathroom was very clean. Breakfast was the best I've had for a long time, big choice and if you ask them they even serve you scrambled eggs! We had a good wifi connection even in our room, which isn't usual in most south american hostels.

Disliked: The neighbourhood looks pretty scary at night, but it didn't bother us too much as we were just taking taxis at night. Plus, kind of expensive, but still worth the price.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lorenz Schmid

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 August 2011 Lorenz would recommend this property

Liked: clean rooms, hot shower, nice staff, good breakfast

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Daniela Burr

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2011 Daniela would recommend this property

Liked: Great place, perfect location.

Disliked: Not many common areas to hang out.


See all La Paz hostels