HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all La Paz hostels

Reviews of Cruz de los Andes

Hostel | Calle Aroma No 216, Zona el Rosario, La Paz, Bolivia 00591

88.9% Overall Rating

338 out of 355 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/04/2014)

Linda Burford thinks…

"Great location close to everything. The staff were really helpful and friendly and my room was very clean and comfortable."

Read all Cruz de los Andes reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wake-up calls
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 90.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to La Paz?

Contact us directly

See other properties in La Paz

Hostal Provenzal
14.15 USD

Guesthouse 84.5% 29 reviews
HI Hostel Onkel Inn 1886
10.89 USD

Hostel 75.5% 30 reviews
Hotel Milton
16.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 80.8% 52 reviews
Hotel Fuentes
11.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.9% 155 reviews
Hostal Sol Andino
13.86 USD

Guesthouse 85.4% 146 reviews
Estrella Andina
18.00 USD

Hostel 90.1% 127 reviews
Hotel Sajama
17.89 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Las Brisas
18.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.4% 15 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.9%

Overall Rating

338 out of 355 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Cruz de los Andes'

Atmosphere
77.6%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
91.2%
Value
93.6%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 318 of 343 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean towels every day! Comfortable beds.

Disliked: slightly smelly drainage in bathroom.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jack Collins

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2011 Jack would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location near the witches market. Good value, nice rooms.

Disliked: Internet was a bit patchy during the two days, with the wifi, internet in the lobby or both not working at times.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good and comfortable bed

Disliked: value for money

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location for the market and restaurants etc. Later breakfast was good. The wall murals were a nice touch but some weren't very Andean but more European.

Disliked: Our room was dingy with a very dirty window opening on to an airshaft where other rooms had balconies and looked much brighter. Our door was very difficult to lock from inside and out so I didn't feel very secure with it. Ask for a higher floor and a proper window and it should be better.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rosa Ungpakorn

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 October 2011 Rosa would recommend this property

Liked: Great location - easy to walk to anywhere in central La Paz. The room was big with a balcony and warm blankets on the bed. The shower was hot and the hotel is very clean. Probably more expensive than other places in La Paz but worth it. The breakfast was great - all you eat fruit, yogurt, cereal (including quinoa for gluten-free diets) and bread and eggs and hot drinks and juice.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was great, good wi-fi plus computers for free internet for those without wi-fi devices, spacious rooms, good location - great hostal overall!!

Disliked: -

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, fantastic spacious bedroom, friendly staff. Highly recommended, especially for couples.

Disliked: The breakfast was great but it was not often ready until 8.30ish despite being advertised as 7-10am.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good spot, good breakfast and great soccer table.

Disliked: Wifi did not reach all of the hotel

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

tiziana pelagatti

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2011 tiziana would recommend this property

Liked: good hostal in market area, staff friendly

Disliked: stairs in altitude

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its a great hostel, really clean, big and colorful rooms. The bed was very comfy and big. As well the private bathroom was very clean. Breakfast was the best I've had for a long time, big choice and if you ask them they even serve you scrambled eggs! We had a good wifi connection even in our room, which isn't usual in most south american hostels.

Disliked: The neighbourhood looks pretty scary at night, but it didn't bother us too much as we were just taking taxis at night. Plus, kind of expensive, but still worth the price.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lorenz Schmid

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 August 2011 Lorenz would recommend this property

Liked: clean rooms, hot shower, nice staff, good breakfast

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Daniela Burr

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2011 Daniela would recommend this property

Liked: Great place, perfect location.

Disliked: Not many common areas to hang out.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Richard Baker

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 August 2011 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and helpful very staff.

Disliked: Room was quite cold. There was not kitchen to use, but the breakfast was good.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Barbara Einspieler

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2011

Liked: das Hostel ist zentral in Mitten der Märkte gelegen, aber doch ein bisschen in einer ruhigeren Nebenstraße. Die Zimmer sind sehr ansprechend durch die Malerei an den Wänden . Sehr gutes Frühstück und schöne heiße Dusche!!

Disliked: alles ok - nur Personal spricht ausschließlich spanisch

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hotel is amazing. Clean, quiet, great staff who are very helpful (and speak great English). The murals all over the hotel and in every room are beautifulThey picked us up from the airport and on the way back to the hotel stopped off at the view point for us to take photos! The breakfast is good as they make eggs every day (sometimes you have to ask for the eggs though). Great cable TV and WiFi in the room. Quiet too. I would highly recommend this hotel

Disliked: The shower was fiddly to use. To get warm water you only turn the shower on a bit but if you turn it on too much the water runs cold. The sink also has only one tap with cold water...no hot water on the sink. I think that is pretty standard for Bolivia though.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

06 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Showers are hot, although water pressure is a little low. You are able to rent electric heating systems if you are feeling cold at night. Really friendly and helpful staff, who did everything to help me when I got sick in La Paz.

Disliked: Location is great, very near the Plaza San Francisco. But be careful because streets in the centre are steep and you easily get tired on your way back to the hostel.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Roberta Wells

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

01 August 2011 Roberta would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very welcoming. The property was well maintained and clean. The shower was good and hot. Loved the murals on the walls. Breakfast was good and plentiful...you have to ask for the eggs! good location.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is more like a hotel, but for the price you can't go wrong. Clean, comfortable with friendly staff and hot showers.

Disliked: No problems at all.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Dean Finch

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2011 Dean would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location in walking distance of tourist attractions, very friendly staff, colourful rooms (!), nice comfortable beds, cable TV in the rooms, option to hire radiator (useful for very cold eves!) hot water all the time (once you're used to the special Bolivian shower heads), nice towels and fast laundry service (although check they're giving you back the right bag of clothes!).

Disliked: Very little. The WiFi is very temperamental. It works in some of the rooms, sometimes. More luck with reception is had sat out on the chilly landings, but there are also 3 computers in reception which you can use.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

18 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place was clean and close to the action. I arrived on an overseas flight at 6am on the day that I was supposed to check in and there was somebody to greet me and show me to my room. I would recommend this to anybody looking for a private and clean hotel with a good value. Breakfast was great too!

Disliked: The only issue was that there was only enough hot water for one of us to take a shower. I would not necessarily call this a complaint though because at least there was some hot water

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

John Tumbridge

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2011 John would recommend this property

Liked: Was one of the nicest places I´ve stayed in. Price reflected that though

Disliked: The price and the hill!!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect, right near the Witches Market off the main road. The staff are extremely helpful, the rooms spotless (I had a private room with ensuite), and the breakfast is brilliant.

Disliked: If you are travelling on your own then this is a difficult place to meet people as there is no common room.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicole Abdul

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2011 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: Nice rooms, pretty hostel, great location, hot showers!!!

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice double rooms. Cheap. Hot water that was hot.

Disliked: More of a cheap hotel than a hostel so not the place if you are looking for parties or to meet people

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really clean, high standard of service.

Disliked: Not a great social area.


See all La Paz hostels