We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all La Paz hostels

Reviews of Cruz de los Andes

Hostel | Calle Aroma No 216, Zona el Rosario, La Paz, Bolivia 00591

86.5% Overall Rating

352 out of 370 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/10/2014)

Marieke Desmense thinks…

"I booked Cruz de los Andes to be sure to have a nice room in case I would get sick from the altitude (flying in directly from sea level). I did get sick and was happy to be in this clean private room…"

Read all Cruz de los Andes reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wake-up calls
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 12.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to La Paz?

Contact us directly

See other properties in La Paz

Hostal Provenzal
12.73 USD

Guesthouse 85.4% 32 reviews
HI Hostel Onkel Inn 1886
11.46 USD

Hostel 77.8% 33 reviews
Hotel Milton
16.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 80.9% 53 reviews
Hotel Fuentes
11.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.9% 155 reviews
Hostal Sol Andino
13.86 USD

Guesthouse 84.7% 162 reviews
Estrella Andina
16.00 USD

Hostel 88.1% 133 reviews
Hotel Sajama
17.89 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Las Brisas
18.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.8% 16 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.5%

Overall Rating

352 out of 370 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Cruz de los Andes'

Atmosphere
73.6%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
90.4%
Value
87.2%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 331 of 358 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Genevieve baker

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 April 2012 Genevieve would recommend this property

Liked: Good selection at breakfast and you can ask for eggs however you like them, free tea/coffee/coca tea throughout the day, free wifi and Internet, cable tv in rooms, clean spacious room with hot shower, friendly and helpful staff, good central location and tour desk at reception.

Disliked: Genevieve left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Wood

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 April 2012 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: A nice place to stay, but echoing other comments below - more of a 3 star hotel than a hostel. The breakfast is very good (make sure you ask for an egg) and the staff are friendly. No lift, so be prepared to hike up stairs in altitude with your luggage. Rooms are big and ensuites are clean.

Disliked: Jessica left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jamie Carroll

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 April 2012 Jamie would recommend this property

Liked: excellent hotel like hostel! super clean and has very friendly staff which will go out of their way to help you. great facilities on offer with wifi, books, pool table, hot showers and tour agency as well as food available for purchase. Wouldnt hesitate to stay here again.

Disliked: internet a little off and on and occaisional cold shower

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and they help you whenever you got problems. also the breakfast was amazing with fresh fruits and sometimes an egg. furthermore it was a big room with a clean bathroom- and everything was fine.

Disliked: the only negative thing in cruz de los andes is maybe the price. it isn't really expensive but if you travel for months it's a bit too expensive and you can find cheaper hostels in la paz.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, hot water, location, safe

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: breakfast, staff and breakfast.

Disliked: They booked Gravity Assisted for us for the death road and they were a really bad company with nobodys safety in mind. Use Overdose or Madness, at least they were given safety gear.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Bishop

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 March 2012 David would recommend this property

Liked: Great rooms, lovely staff and fresh eggs for breakfast, this place is an absolute gem and a bargain at the price. The tour company in the hostel is great we booked everything through them

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great hotel! absolutly clean, central location, very good all u can eat breakfast

Disliked: really no complains

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything . I really would like to thank Jose for his help when i arrived late without Bolivianos to pay the taxi. As the transfer service i had schedulled forgot me.

Disliked: The transfer service. I sent an email, received the confirmation from Julio Medina, sent my flight data, but they were not there to pick up me up.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Bishop

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2012 David would recommend this property

Liked: All the rooms are individually decorated, and the staff are brilliant.

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maria Morales Hintze

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 February 2012 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: STAFF! very helpful, also very close to main attractions. TV in the room with all possible channels, a nice warm shower and a great breakfast with fresh eggs made by order.

Disliked: climbing up the stairs at the altitude can be very heavy

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

BAILEY VAN WATERSCHOOT

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 February 2012 BAILEY would recommend this property

Liked: This hotel is in a great location! The staff are very friendly. The rooms are clean. Our room on the second floor had a lovely belcony to have drinks on in the afternoon. La Paz is a busy place, so street noise will happen anywhere. Hot water is so good! Clean towels. One of the best breakfasts i've had in a long time.

Disliked: Maybe just the street noise.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was an excellent place to stay. More hotel than hostel with great breakfast and helpful staff. Location was central and everything was very clean. The murals in the rooms were a nice touch.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

alexa hunn

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 January 2012 alexa would recommend this property

Liked: The computers are fast, the breakfast is ok and the pool table and common area is quaint. The showers arre wicked and the beds are nice and comfortable and warm.

Disliked: I would not say this property is as clean as everyone has made out, we had a lot of different hairs in our room. And the balcony had at least 15 cigarette butts, but all in all it's reasonably clean for a hostel.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Heidi Boardman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2012 Heidi would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean, quiet, good tv room and dining room. More like a hotel than a hostel.

Disliked: Heidi left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

adam popowicz

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 January 2012 adam would recommend this property

Liked: had a great stay here, arrived early and room ready, beautiful big room with amazing showers and most comfy bed we have had so far in south america. tv etc was lovely, more like a hotel. location great too.definitely recommend!

Disliked: no lift so bit of a slog up to 4th floor but good exercise i say!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice room with your own bathroom

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was like a hotel. The breakfast was good.

Disliked: It was cold and rainy in La Paz and there was no heating, even in the common rooms. And because of the rain there was a leak in our room. (4 th floor room 405).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Family Holiday

20 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked my stay at Cruz de los Andes: friendly and helpful staff, good value for the amenities; good location - convenient to the sights. In comparison to another hotel I stayed when I joined my group which offered the same amenities but 3 times more, I prefer this hostal. I definitely recommend it.

Disliked: Could be noisy sometimes but that's normal in any hotel in the city.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Victoria Franklin

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 December 2011 Victoria would recommend this property

Liked: Nice property with helpful staff. Decent breakfast to start the day off and not too far from main sights

Disliked: Victoria left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

YIN MUI CHAN

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 December 2011 YIN MUI would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfast and has wifi in the twin room

Disliked: YIN MUI left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is good, close to everything you want to see in La Paz.. This is my second stay at this hotel in 1 year and they remain to have a set standard of quality and comfort.

Disliked: Climbing the stairs to youy room, (altitude) however this is common in La Paz.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

jostein jerkoe

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 December 2011 jostein would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast!

Disliked: The electric showers were not in a proper shape. Watch out for electric shock or just cold water. The rooms were quite cold.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We loved the breakfast - location was also good.

Disliked: During your initial stay we stayed on the same side as the road - its really noisy (even on the 3rd floor) very early in the morning.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kevin O´Connell

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 December 2011 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast is great and they allowed us to have it when we checked in at 10am on our first day. Room was very spacious with its own bathroom, tv and balcony.

Disliked: the stairs were tough enough but good exercise i suppose!


See all La Paz hostels