HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all La Paz hostels

Reviews of Cruz de los Andes

Hostel | Calle Aroma No 216, Zona el Rosario, La Paz, Bolivia 00591

87.9% Overall Rating

343 out of 360 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/07/2014)

Kiara Gallop thinks…

"Loved the free buffet breakfast, and the hot showers. Also pretty good location, only 10 mins from San Francisco square - but it is uphill all the way!"

Read all Cruz de los Andes reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wake-up calls
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 12.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to La Paz?

Contact us directly

See other properties in La Paz

Hostal Provenzal
12.74 USD

Guesthouse 84.9% 30 reviews
HI Hostel Onkel Inn 1886
11.47 USD

Hostel 76.8% 32 reviews
Hotel Milton
16.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 80.8% 52 reviews
Hotel Fuentes
11.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.9% 155 reviews
Hostal Sol Andino
13.87 USD

Guesthouse 83.9% 152 reviews
Estrella Andina
16.00 USD

Hostel 87.7% 131 reviews
Hotel Sajama
17.91 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Las Brisas
18.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.4% 15 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.9%

Overall Rating

343 out of 360 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Cruz de los Andes'

Atmosphere
73.6%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
90.4%
Value
89.6%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 322 of 348 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Bishop

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2012 David would recommend this property

Liked: All the rooms are individually decorated, and the staff are brilliant.

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maria Morales Hintze

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 February 2012 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: STAFF! very helpful, also very close to main attractions. TV in the room with all possible channels, a nice warm shower and a great breakfast with fresh eggs made by order.

Disliked: climbing up the stairs at the altitude can be very heavy

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

BAILEY VAN WATERSCHOOT

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 February 2012 BAILEY would recommend this property

Liked: This hotel is in a great location! The staff are very friendly. The rooms are clean. Our room on the second floor had a lovely belcony to have drinks on in the afternoon. La Paz is a busy place, so street noise will happen anywhere. Hot water is so good! Clean towels. One of the best breakfasts i've had in a long time.

Disliked: Maybe just the street noise.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was an excellent place to stay. More hotel than hostel with great breakfast and helpful staff. Location was central and everything was very clean. The murals in the rooms were a nice touch.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

alexa hunn

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 January 2012 alexa would recommend this property

Liked: The computers are fast, the breakfast is ok and the pool table and common area is quaint. The showers arre wicked and the beds are nice and comfortable and warm.

Disliked: I would not say this property is as clean as everyone has made out, we had a lot of different hairs in our room. And the balcony had at least 15 cigarette butts, but all in all it's reasonably clean for a hostel.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Heidi Boardman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2012 Heidi would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean, quiet, good tv room and dining room. More like a hotel than a hostel.

Disliked: Heidi left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

adam popowicz

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 January 2012 adam would recommend this property

Liked: had a great stay here, arrived early and room ready, beautiful big room with amazing showers and most comfy bed we have had so far in south america. tv etc was lovely, more like a hotel. location great too.definitely recommend!

Disliked: no lift so bit of a slog up to 4th floor but good exercise i say!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice room with your own bathroom

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was like a hotel. The breakfast was good.

Disliked: It was cold and rainy in La Paz and there was no heating, even in the common rooms. And because of the rain there was a leak in our room. (4 th floor room 405).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Family Holiday

20 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked my stay at Cruz de los Andes: friendly and helpful staff, good value for the amenities; good location - convenient to the sights. In comparison to another hotel I stayed when I joined my group which offered the same amenities but 3 times more, I prefer this hostal. I definitely recommend it.

Disliked: Could be noisy sometimes but that's normal in any hotel in the city.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Victoria Franklin

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 December 2011 Victoria would recommend this property

Liked: Nice property with helpful staff. Decent breakfast to start the day off and not too far from main sights

Disliked: Victoria left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

YIN MUI CHAN

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 December 2011 YIN MUI would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfast and has wifi in the twin room

Disliked: YIN MUI left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is good, close to everything you want to see in La Paz.. This is my second stay at this hotel in 1 year and they remain to have a set standard of quality and comfort.

Disliked: Climbing the stairs to youy room, (altitude) however this is common in La Paz.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

jostein jerkoe

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 December 2011 jostein would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast!

Disliked: The electric showers were not in a proper shape. Watch out for electric shock or just cold water. The rooms were quite cold.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We loved the breakfast - location was also good.

Disliked: During your initial stay we stayed on the same side as the road - its really noisy (even on the 3rd floor) very early in the morning.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kevin O´Connell

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 December 2011 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast is great and they allowed us to have it when we checked in at 10am on our first day. Room was very spacious with its own bathroom, tv and balcony.

Disliked: the stairs were tough enough but good exercise i suppose!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dimitri Rousseau

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

26 November 2011 Dimitri would recommend this property

Liked: Quality for the price is unmatched

Disliked: breakfast was not incredible

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfast and really good location

Disliked: Dodgy electric shower in the room, got shocks from the tap

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfast, friendly staff. Comfy beds and quiet location off Llampu on a oneway side street. Free internet in foyer is very useful. Lovely murals painted on the walls in each room.

Disliked: Some rooms facing the interior are a bit dingey.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly people and nice breakfast, good to have own bathroom with towels...

Disliked: Good

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Swanston

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

13 November 2011 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: great breakfast with an amazing view. Place was very clean and the biggest plus was the staff, I guess bolivians in general are just very friendly ppl but the staff always had a smile on their faces

Disliked: Can't say anything really! Maybe a bit noisy with traffic in the morning but most of the rooms are higher up anyway

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, vey clean, nice rooms, god wifi, great breakfast

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was very central and it was very quiet

Disliked: Not a lot going on and we didn´t meet many people there - considering it was a capital city. We were on the fourth floor with no lift - at altitude this was sometimes tough!!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We arrived at the hostel late at night after booking on hostel bookers and were told it was full! However they handled the situation extremely well, obviously knew we were coming and put us in a hotel 2 doors down, that I think may be owned by the same people. We got a discount at the hotel and it ended up costing about the same so we didnt mind at all! We moved to the hostel the next day. Breakfast is good, rooms are clean and comfortable.

Disliked: There is no kitchen but other people we spoke to said it is hard to find a hostel in La Paz with a kitchen! The supermarket is miles away anyway! The rooms are a little noisy if there is someone in the room above, but not too bad!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice rooms, good breakfast with eggs,staff really helpful

Disliked: More of a hotel than a hostel which was great for us but others may want to stay at a backpackers to meet people


See all La Paz hostels