HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all La Paz hostels

Reviews of Cruz de los Andes

Hostel | Calle Aroma No 216, Zona el Rosario, La Paz, Bolivia 00591

88.0% Overall Rating

337 out of 354 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/04/2014)

"The staff was super friendly and always willing to help. Location also good. Few blocks from main plaza. Rooms very clean. We liked that we had wifi connection in the rooms."

Read all Cruz de los Andes reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wake-up calls
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 90.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to La Paz?

Contact us directly

See other properties in La Paz

Hostal Provenzal
14.18 USD

Guesthouse 84.5% 29 reviews
HI Hostel Onkel Inn 1886
10.92 USD

Hostel 75.5% 30 reviews
Hotel Milton
16.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 80.8% 51 reviews
Hotel Fuentes
11.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.9% 155 reviews
Hostal Sol Andino
13.90 USD

Guesthouse 85.4% 146 reviews
Estrella Andina
18.00 USD

Hostel 90.1% 127 reviews
Hotel Sajama
17.94 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Las Brisas
18.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.4% 15 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.0%

Overall Rating

337 out of 354 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Cruz de los Andes'

Atmosphere
76.0%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
91.2%
Value
92.0%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 317 of 342 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place is really great! We are a young couple but didn't want to stay in a party hostel and thIs place is perfect. Our private room was huge with a massive modern bathroom and everything was very clean. The staff are lovely and very helpful. The location is amazing. We also booked out pampas tour & flights here and we found the prices as good as other agents around town. Highly recommended.

Disliked: Nothing! We loved it!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, helpful staff, free coffee & coca tea all day and free pool table!

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gloria Paterson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 May 2012 Gloria would recommend this property

Liked: It´s a really nice hotel! (kind of boutiquish). Good breakfast, wifi, location etc. Stayed twice.

Disliked: Gloria left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was great, the room was large and very comfy, good location. I don´t think we can fault the place. They booked us flights, no commission. When we previouslyt stayed they had double booked, they upgraded us to a hotel around the corner. No complaints!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location, very comfy beds, great shower pressure

Disliked: The travel desk is great for info but charge way too much, you can get the same tours for much cheaper at travel agencies down the road.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gerald Pit

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2012 Gerald would recommend this property

Liked: This place was more like a hotel! When we arrived, we were given a room on the 3rd floor. There were no escalators but we had a really nice guy who worked there helped us carry our luggage up to the room for us. I generously tipped him as he did not expect anything and was really smiley =) The room was clean and a good size. Beautiful decorated with paintings on the wall. Very artistic and pleasant. Bath room was modern with a very powerful hot hot consistent shower. Pool table was at the basement free to play any time with a lounge area, reading area and a big hot water dispenser to eat your pot noodle and watch a bunch of dvd movies with your friends. Felt like home and amazing for what we paid for! Reception was also very helpful with our bunch of touristy questions and happily arranged taxi's for us. Very flexible for settling the bill. Paid half in Bolivianos (what we had left over) and the rest in USD. Breakfast buffet was ok, included scrambled or fried eggs =D Overall, amazing for what we paid for! Thank you for such a nice experience!

Disliked: Nothing! =)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: More like a hotel then hostel, very large comfortable rooms all with own bathroom and cable TV. There's a downstairs common area with pool table and computers to use and free coca tea available all day.

Disliked: Not a place to really meet anyone.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

doug simpson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 May 2012 doug would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, cool clean rooms and being able to take us in at 5.30am (plus free breakfast!)

Disliked: The Internet computers didn't work, but wifi is good

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Kayur Kotecha

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2012 Kayur would recommend this property

Liked: Not to far from main attractions, nice/ spacious rooms, decent breakfast, decent common room with TV, pool table and computers with Internet, tea/ coffee availability 24/7.

Disliked: Inconsistent showers, slippy floors throughout the property (health hazard), no vibe at all between travellers!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and central

Disliked: You have to pay an extra to get an heater

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Guilherme Gomes

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 May 2012 Guilherme would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location and nice breakfast!

Disliked: Guilherme left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Genevieve baker

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 April 2012 Genevieve would recommend this property

Liked: Good selection at breakfast and you can ask for eggs however you like them, free tea/coffee/coca tea throughout the day, free wifi and Internet, cable tv in rooms, clean spacious room with hot shower, friendly and helpful staff, good central location and tour desk at reception.

Disliked: Genevieve left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Wood

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 April 2012 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: A nice place to stay, but echoing other comments below - more of a 3 star hotel than a hostel. The breakfast is very good (make sure you ask for an egg) and the staff are friendly. No lift, so be prepared to hike up stairs in altitude with your luggage. Rooms are big and ensuites are clean.

Disliked: Jessica left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jamie Carroll

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 April 2012 Jamie would recommend this property

Liked: excellent hotel like hostel! super clean and has very friendly staff which will go out of their way to help you. great facilities on offer with wifi, books, pool table, hot showers and tour agency as well as food available for purchase. Wouldnt hesitate to stay here again.

Disliked: internet a little off and on and occaisional cold shower

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and they help you whenever you got problems. also the breakfast was amazing with fresh fruits and sometimes an egg. furthermore it was a big room with a clean bathroom- and everything was fine.

Disliked: the only negative thing in cruz de los andes is maybe the price. it isn't really expensive but if you travel for months it's a bit too expensive and you can find cheaper hostels in la paz.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, hot water, location, safe

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: breakfast, staff and breakfast.

Disliked: They booked Gravity Assisted for us for the death road and they were a really bad company with nobodys safety in mind. Use Overdose or Madness, at least they were given safety gear.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Bishop

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 March 2012 David would recommend this property

Liked: Great rooms, lovely staff and fresh eggs for breakfast, this place is an absolute gem and a bargain at the price. The tour company in the hostel is great we booked everything through them

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great hotel! absolutly clean, central location, very good all u can eat breakfast

Disliked: really no complains

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything . I really would like to thank Jose for his help when i arrived late without Bolivianos to pay the taxi. As the transfer service i had schedulled forgot me.

Disliked: The transfer service. I sent an email, received the confirmation from Julio Medina, sent my flight data, but they were not there to pick up me up.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Bishop

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2012 David would recommend this property

Liked: All the rooms are individually decorated, and the staff are brilliant.

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maria Morales Hintze

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 February 2012 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: STAFF! very helpful, also very close to main attractions. TV in the room with all possible channels, a nice warm shower and a great breakfast with fresh eggs made by order.

Disliked: climbing up the stairs at the altitude can be very heavy

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

BAILEY VAN WATERSCHOOT

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 February 2012 BAILEY would recommend this property

Liked: This hotel is in a great location! The staff are very friendly. The rooms are clean. Our room on the second floor had a lovely belcony to have drinks on in the afternoon. La Paz is a busy place, so street noise will happen anywhere. Hot water is so good! Clean towels. One of the best breakfasts i've had in a long time.

Disliked: Maybe just the street noise.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was an excellent place to stay. More hotel than hostel with great breakfast and helpful staff. Location was central and everything was very clean. The murals in the rooms were a nice touch.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

alexa hunn

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 January 2012 alexa would recommend this property

Liked: The computers are fast, the breakfast is ok and the pool table and common area is quaint. The showers arre wicked and the beds are nice and comfortable and warm.

Disliked: I would not say this property is as clean as everyone has made out, we had a lot of different hairs in our room. And the balcony had at least 15 cigarette butts, but all in all it's reasonably clean for a hostel.


See all La Paz hostels