HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all La Paz hostels

Reviews of Cruz de los Andes

Hostel | Calle Aroma No 216, Zona el Rosario, La Paz, Bolivia 00591

85.7% Overall Rating

348 out of 366 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/08/2014)

Elly southwell thinks…

"The paintings on the walls and staff were helpful and friendly tv with English channels"

Read all Cruz de los Andes reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wake-up calls
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 12.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to La Paz?

Contact us directly

See other properties in La Paz

Hostal Provenzal
12.71 USD

Guesthouse 84.7% 31 reviews
HI Hostel Onkel Inn 1886
11.44 USD

Hostel 77.8% 33 reviews
Hotel Milton
16.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 80.8% 52 reviews
Hotel Fuentes
11.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.9% 155 reviews
Hostal Sol Andino
13.84 USD

Guesthouse 86.2% 158 reviews
Estrella Andina
16.00 USD

Hostel 88.1% 133 reviews
Hotel Sajama
17.87 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Las Brisas
18.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.8% 16 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.7%

Overall Rating

348 out of 366 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Cruz de los Andes'

Atmosphere
72.8%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
88.0%
Value
88.0%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 327 of 353 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, felt safe and secure. Comfortable rooms

Disliked: 5th Floor unfinished where we stayed

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marta Lemos

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2012 Marta would recommend this property

Liked: Bem localizado, staff simpáticos e sempre ajudavam. Café da manhã muitoooo bom. Tinha até ovos fritos etc... quarto grande, ducha quente! Adorei e recomendo!

Disliked: não ter aquecedor. tivemos que pagar 3 dolares por noite.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This porperty is much more like a hotel than a hostel!! Property is clean, and staff were nice.

Disliked: As I mentioned it is a very nice place to stay, much like a hotel...thus if you are after atmostphere and socializing, this place probably isn't the best place for you

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Georgina cauchi

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 June 2012 Georgina would recommend this property

Liked: As others have said, it is nearly like a hotel. We loved this as it was a good break from other hostels. It meant you could go out late and then sleep in as you are away from the party places. Room was big, with extra beds (we were a couple). Good hot water (if it fails ask at reception and they fix it immediately). Good location too, oh and they book flights for the same price as what it cost with no extra fees or commission!

Disliked: Georgina left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice staff, good breakfast but you have to ask for scrambled eggs seperately.

Disliked: Our window was looking down into the garage.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location near markets, restaurants & everything you need. Large clean rooms. Clean modern bathroom with hot showers. Nice breakfast. Internet was not bad. Free pool table.

Disliked: Not much atmosphere for a hostel (more of a hotel) so you won't really meet people.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Courtney Fraser

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 May 2012 Courtney would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, decent sized rooms, helpful staff, breakfast, all day tea service, safe, quiet, comfortable beds, cable tv and really hot showers. It was more of a hotel so less mixing with other travellers but good respite from all the adventure activities and partying in La Paz.

Disliked: The wifi didn't always work well and if your on the 4th floor its a long way up with luggage in altitude!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the location it's right in the middle of the market area and close to the city centre... Staff are friendly enough and the rooms are cleaned daily... It is more of a hotel than a hostel... Breakfast is ok basic but ok...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice old Hotel now renovated into a great hostel, excellent location with very friendly staff.

Disliked: Nothing major but staircase can be noisey

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

David Phillips

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 May 2012 David would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were amazing, with good hot showers and the breakfasts were great with fruit and eggs. Good Internet.

Disliked: The street the hostel is on isn't amazing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place is really great! We are a young couple but didn't want to stay in a party hostel and thIs place is perfect. Our private room was huge with a massive modern bathroom and everything was very clean. The staff are lovely and very helpful. The location is amazing. We also booked out pampas tour & flights here and we found the prices as good as other agents around town. Highly recommended.

Disliked: Nothing! We loved it!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, helpful staff, free coffee & coca tea all day and free pool table!

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gloria Paterson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 May 2012 Gloria would recommend this property

Liked: It´s a really nice hotel! (kind of boutiquish). Good breakfast, wifi, location etc. Stayed twice.

Disliked: Gloria left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was great, the room was large and very comfy, good location. I don´t think we can fault the place. They booked us flights, no commission. When we previouslyt stayed they had double booked, they upgraded us to a hotel around the corner. No complaints!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location, very comfy beds, great shower pressure

Disliked: The travel desk is great for info but charge way too much, you can get the same tours for much cheaper at travel agencies down the road.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gerald Pit

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2012 Gerald would recommend this property

Liked: This place was more like a hotel! When we arrived, we were given a room on the 3rd floor. There were no escalators but we had a really nice guy who worked there helped us carry our luggage up to the room for us. I generously tipped him as he did not expect anything and was really smiley =) The room was clean and a good size. Beautiful decorated with paintings on the wall. Very artistic and pleasant. Bath room was modern with a very powerful hot hot consistent shower. Pool table was at the basement free to play any time with a lounge area, reading area and a big hot water dispenser to eat your pot noodle and watch a bunch of dvd movies with your friends. Felt like home and amazing for what we paid for! Reception was also very helpful with our bunch of touristy questions and happily arranged taxi's for us. Very flexible for settling the bill. Paid half in Bolivianos (what we had left over) and the rest in USD. Breakfast buffet was ok, included scrambled or fried eggs =D Overall, amazing for what we paid for! Thank you for such a nice experience!

Disliked: Nothing! =)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: More like a hotel then hostel, very large comfortable rooms all with own bathroom and cable TV. There's a downstairs common area with pool table and computers to use and free coca tea available all day.

Disliked: Not a place to really meet anyone.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

doug simpson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 May 2012 doug would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, cool clean rooms and being able to take us in at 5.30am (plus free breakfast!)

Disliked: The Internet computers didn't work, but wifi is good

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Kayur Kotecha

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2012 Kayur would recommend this property

Liked: Not to far from main attractions, nice/ spacious rooms, decent breakfast, decent common room with TV, pool table and computers with Internet, tea/ coffee availability 24/7.

Disliked: Inconsistent showers, slippy floors throughout the property (health hazard), no vibe at all between travellers!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and central

Disliked: You have to pay an extra to get an heater

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Guilherme Gomes

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 May 2012 Guilherme would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location and nice breakfast!

Disliked: Guilherme left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Genevieve baker

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 April 2012 Genevieve would recommend this property

Liked: Good selection at breakfast and you can ask for eggs however you like them, free tea/coffee/coca tea throughout the day, free wifi and Internet, cable tv in rooms, clean spacious room with hot shower, friendly and helpful staff, good central location and tour desk at reception.

Disliked: Genevieve left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Wood

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 April 2012 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: A nice place to stay, but echoing other comments below - more of a 3 star hotel than a hostel. The breakfast is very good (make sure you ask for an egg) and the staff are friendly. No lift, so be prepared to hike up stairs in altitude with your luggage. Rooms are big and ensuites are clean.

Disliked: Jessica left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jamie Carroll

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 April 2012 Jamie would recommend this property

Liked: excellent hotel like hostel! super clean and has very friendly staff which will go out of their way to help you. great facilities on offer with wifi, books, pool table, hot showers and tour agency as well as food available for purchase. Wouldnt hesitate to stay here again.

Disliked: internet a little off and on and occaisional cold shower

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and they help you whenever you got problems. also the breakfast was amazing with fresh fruits and sometimes an egg. furthermore it was a big room with a clean bathroom- and everything was fine.

Disliked: the only negative thing in cruz de los andes is maybe the price. it isn't really expensive but if you travel for months it's a bit too expensive and you can find cheaper hostels in la paz.


See all La Paz hostels