We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all La Paz hostels

Reviews of Cruz de los Andes

Hostel | Calle Aroma No 216, Zona el Rosario, La Paz, Bolivia 00591

84.1% Overall Rating

354 out of 373 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/05/2015)

luc bellemare thinks…

"Original good looking rooms. Heater include in the price. Breakfast OK. Location very quiet and well situaded."

Read all Cruz de los Andes reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wake-up calls
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 1.70

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to La Paz?

Contact us directly

See other properties in La Paz

Hostal Provenzal
12.72 USD

Guesthouse 85.4% 32 reviews
HI Hostel Onkel Inn 1886
9.75 USD

Hostel 78.4% 36 reviews
Hotel Milton
17.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.7% 54 reviews
Hotel Fuentes
11.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.9% 155 reviews
Hostal Sol Andino
14.13 USD

Guesthouse 84.8% 172 reviews
Estrella Andina
16.00 USD

Hostel 88.5% 135 reviews
Hotel Sajama
17.87 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Las Brisas
19.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.8% 16 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.1%

Overall Rating

354 out of 373 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Cruz de los Andes'

Atmosphere
72.0%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
81.6%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
85.6%
Value
84.8%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 333 of 361 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfasts are very good: fresh fruit, choice of cereals, eggs, fresh crusty bread, jam, variety of teas, coffee (though this was poor), hot chocolate, fresh fruit juice. The staff are helpful, booking taxis, providing an early breakfast, etc. Heating is available, though at an extra cost. Showers are amazingly hot

Disliked: It is more of a hotel than a hostel, so hard to meet people if you are a solo traveller. The stairs!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cruz de los Andes is a very colourful, nice place to stay in La Paz. The location is perfect, close to lots of attractions. The rooms are big, clean, proper bathroom with hot shower. The staff is very helpful and the breakfast is great - buffet with bread, muesli, fresh fruits, yoghurt, orange juice and eggs if you want to. Highly reccomend it!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good shower!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Michael Turner

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2013 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Character and location.

Disliked: Slight echo noise from the atrium but I'm nit-picking!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel for a good night's sleep. Not much atmosphere but that was fine for us. Very clean and nice paintings on the wall. Good breakfast. Also they are so kind with sorting early breakfast or letting you check in early.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: large room, nice room

Disliked: no lift!!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place was safe and more like a hotel than a hostel. Friendly staff and booked me a 6am taxi to the airport. Everything in the area is so cheap!

Disliked: A shady lane -- would recommend not going out at night.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

VASILEIOS SMYRLIS

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 December 2012 VASILEIOS would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpfull and profecional staff! Clean rooms and safe hostel. recomended 100%

Disliked: The area that Hotel is located. You can not walk in the night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alex Proimos

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 December 2012 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: Absolute oasis. In a perfect position and extremely helpful staff.

Disliked: The internet was patchy.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

01 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I would say the people

Disliked: The rooms need more electrical outlets and more hooks to hang items on.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Fernanda Melchiors Wenzel

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 November 2012 Fernanda would recommend this property

Liked: Confortable rooms and nice breakfest, with fruits and iogurt!

Disliked: Fernanda left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Large, bright rooms with spacious bathrooms. Good, hot showers. Cable TV and wifi was very useful. This hostel is really more like a hotel. They clean your rooms during the day and make your bed.

Disliked: No computers, travel agent was not very good. We walked a couple of minutes down the road and found a fantastic one. They are very strict about breakfast start times. Our tours began before breakfast so we missed out and only got a piece of bread even though we gave them 2 days notice. Water turned off on our last morning so we couldnt shower. We asked for some compensation but got nothing. Overall a reqasonable hotel.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I arrived very early in the morning and they let me check-in right away! The front desk staff is very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We realy liked the room with the wall painting, the hot showers and the breakfast.

Disliked: The computers were sooooooo slow and didn`t een work half the time.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was convenient, the breakfast was good, and served quickly. The staff was very helpful and friendly, and the travel agency located there was very efficient. The rooms were spotlessly clean, the showers were always hot, and the rental heater was well worth the additional cost. Overall a very good experience.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious Rooms, clean, nice.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Zara Oliveira

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 October 2012 Zara would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient location, friendly staff and good breakfast.

Disliked: The rooms get a bit cold at night (but you can rent a heater fo USD3/night), our room didn't have the wall paintings most of them have. Also, there was space in the room for a table or chair, but there was only a bed and 2 bed side tables.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great breakfast, great value for money. nice rooms. helpful and friendly staff. HOT SHOWERS!

Disliked: ---

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely helpful staff, far beyond expectations.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Delaunay Elsa

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 September 2012 Delaunay would recommend this property

Liked: It's more an hotel than an hostel but was cool staying there, having a real room, big bed and big breakfast! If you need to rest it's a good choice, if you want to have party go away... :)

Disliked: We had to wait sooo long to use the computers

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Nicole Scott

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2012 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money. Free coca tea is a welcome touch.

Disliked: No heating in the room (but you can rent one). Bit noisy.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luke Kendall

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 August 2012 Luke would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, good value. And hot water!

Disliked: Luke left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Donald Williams

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2012 Donald would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast and Staff

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Gustav Grytzell Mansson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 August 2012 Gustav would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, big double room, good common areas for socializing

Disliked: Gustav left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was actually one of the most comfortable we've stayed at in South America - more a hotel than a hostel though. There is a helpful tour desk in the lobby and a common room down stairs.

Disliked: The internet is rubbish - you spend more time waiting for it to work than it actually does anything - checking your email is a chore. Don't choose this place if you want internet. They are not responsive to emails either, so unless you phone (which they are helpful if you do) don't expect a reply.


See all La Paz hostels