HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all La Paz hostels

Reviews of Cruz de los Andes

Hostel | Calle Aroma No 216, Zona el Rosario, La Paz, Bolivia 00591

88.9% Overall Rating

338 out of 355 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/04/2014)

"The staff was super friendly and always willing to help. Location also good. Few blocks from main plaza. Rooms very clean. We liked that we had wifi connection in the rooms."

Read all Cruz de los Andes reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wake-up calls
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 90.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to La Paz?

Contact us directly

See other properties in La Paz

Hostal Provenzal
14.14 USD

Guesthouse 84.5% 29 reviews
HI Hostel Onkel Inn 1886
10.89 USD

Hostel 75.5% 30 reviews
Hotel Milton
16.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 80.8% 52 reviews
Hotel Fuentes
11.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.9% 155 reviews
Hostal Sol Andino
13.85 USD

Guesthouse 85.4% 146 reviews
Estrella Andina
18.00 USD

Hostel 90.1% 127 reviews
Hotel Sajama
17.88 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Las Brisas
18.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.4% 15 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.9%

Overall Rating

338 out of 355 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Cruz de los Andes'

Atmosphere
77.6%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
91.2%
Value
93.6%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 317 of 342 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Zara Oliveira

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 October 2012 Zara would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient location, friendly staff and good breakfast.

Disliked: The rooms get a bit cold at night (but you can rent a heater fo USD3/night), our room didn't have the wall paintings most of them have. Also, there was space in the room for a table or chair, but there was only a bed and 2 bed side tables.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great breakfast, great value for money. nice rooms. helpful and friendly staff. HOT SHOWERS!

Disliked: ---

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely helpful staff, far beyond expectations.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Delaunay Elsa

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 September 2012 Delaunay would recommend this property

Liked: It's more an hotel than an hostel but was cool staying there, having a real room, big bed and big breakfast! If you need to rest it's a good choice, if you want to have party go away... :)

Disliked: We had to wait sooo long to use the computers

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Nicole Scott

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2012 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money. Free coca tea is a welcome touch.

Disliked: No heating in the room (but you can rent one). Bit noisy.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luke Kendall

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 August 2012 Luke would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, good value. And hot water!

Disliked: Luke left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Donald Williams

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2012 Donald would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast and Staff

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Gustav Grytzell Mansson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 August 2012 Gustav would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, big double room, good common areas for socializing

Disliked: Gustav left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was actually one of the most comfortable we've stayed at in South America - more a hotel than a hostel though. There is a helpful tour desk in the lobby and a common room down stairs.

Disliked: The internet is rubbish - you spend more time waiting for it to work than it actually does anything - checking your email is a chore. Don't choose this place if you want internet. They are not responsive to emails either, so unless you phone (which they are helpful if you do) don't expect a reply.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean hostel, with great showers and balconies. The heater which can be rented keeps very warm. Beds are very comfortable and the breakfast is great too.

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cruz de los Andes is a clean place to stay. If you want to you can have your room cleaned every day. Hot showers 24h. The breakfast they offer, is great! There is a public room with internet/wifi, books, billiard table... And it's located right next to the famous Calle Sagarnada where you can buy the famous souvenirs and eat great lunch/dinner.

Disliked: The staff cannot answer give you that much information about the city.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Melissa Brookes

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2012 Melissa would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Clean room. Fast wifi and friend staff.

Disliked: Melissa left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: In a good location. Very well run. Friendly and helpful staff [they gave us breakfast when we arrived very early from an overnight bus] Excellent breakfast. Rooms cleaned every day. All good really. And they have 2 'sister' hostels [one in in the same street, and one round the corner] so if they are full you can ask about those.

Disliked: If you are suffering from the altitude in La Paz you can get a bit puffed out climbing the stairs if your room is above the 2nd floor!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Arvin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 July 2012 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, perfect location, hot showers!

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

luke harris

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2012 luke would recommend this property

Liked: Basically a hotel, rooms get cleaned daily and towels replaced daily as well. Staff at reception are friendly and know good English. Laundry service was ok, pool table, coca tea, tv and DVDs. Our friends were also allowed in with no fuss, large breakfast selection. Pretty good hostel

Disliked: Computers were really slow and wifi was sometimes temperamental. Water wasn't always the hottest and the bread was sooooo hard in the morning. The cafe also wasn't open every day as it seemed to depend on whether staff wanted to turn up

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, felt safe and secure. Comfortable rooms

Disliked: 5th Floor unfinished where we stayed

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marta Lemos

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2012 Marta would recommend this property

Liked: Bem localizado, staff simpáticos e sempre ajudavam. Café da manhã muitoooo bom. Tinha até ovos fritos etc... quarto grande, ducha quente! Adorei e recomendo!

Disliked: não ter aquecedor. tivemos que pagar 3 dolares por noite.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This porperty is much more like a hotel than a hostel!! Property is clean, and staff were nice.

Disliked: As I mentioned it is a very nice place to stay, much like a hotel...thus if you are after atmostphere and socializing, this place probably isn't the best place for you

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Georgina cauchi

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 June 2012 Georgina would recommend this property

Liked: As others have said, it is nearly like a hotel. We loved this as it was a good break from other hostels. It meant you could go out late and then sleep in as you are away from the party places. Room was big, with extra beds (we were a couple). Good hot water (if it fails ask at reception and they fix it immediately). Good location too, oh and they book flights for the same price as what it cost with no extra fees or commission!

Disliked: Georgina left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice staff, good breakfast but you have to ask for scrambled eggs seperately.

Disliked: Our window was looking down into the garage.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location near markets, restaurants & everything you need. Large clean rooms. Clean modern bathroom with hot showers. Nice breakfast. Internet was not bad. Free pool table.

Disliked: Not much atmosphere for a hostel (more of a hotel) so you won't really meet people.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Courtney Fraser

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 May 2012 Courtney would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, decent sized rooms, helpful staff, breakfast, all day tea service, safe, quiet, comfortable beds, cable tv and really hot showers. It was more of a hotel so less mixing with other travellers but good respite from all the adventure activities and partying in La Paz.

Disliked: The wifi didn't always work well and if your on the 4th floor its a long way up with luggage in altitude!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the location it's right in the middle of the market area and close to the city centre... Staff are friendly enough and the rooms are cleaned daily... It is more of a hotel than a hostel... Breakfast is ok basic but ok...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice old Hotel now renovated into a great hostel, excellent location with very friendly staff.

Disliked: Nothing major but staircase can be noisey

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

David Phillips

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 May 2012 David would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were amazing, with good hot showers and the breakfasts were great with fruit and eggs. Good Internet.

Disliked: The street the hostel is on isn't amazing


See all La Paz hostels