We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all La Paz hostels

Reviews of The Adventure Brew B&B

Hostel | Av. Montes 533, La Paz, Bolivia .

79.9% Overall Rating

296 out of 327 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/08/2014)

"Short walk to main tourist attractions and you can easily sign up for any of the day/night activities. Security is good, with a guard on the door 24/7 and wristbands for all those staying at the B&B."

Read all The Adventure Brew B&B reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 13.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to La Paz?

Contact us directly

See other properties in La Paz

Hostal Isidoro's
8.49 USD

Hostel 77.4% 44 reviews
hotel savoy
18.38 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Pirwa Hostel La Paz
6.93 USD

Hostel 71.7% 19 reviews
Hostal Sol Andino
13.86 USD

Guesthouse 83.7% 161 reviews
Hotel Las Brisas
18.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.8% 16 reviews
Hotel Fuentes
11.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.9% 155 reviews
Bacoo Hostel
5.66 USD

Hostel 81.7% 37 reviews
Hotel Milton
16.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 80.8% 52 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.9%

Overall Rating

296 out of 327 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Adventure Brew B&B'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
79.2%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
71.2%
Value
80.8%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 252 of 258 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Short walk to main tourist attractions and you can easily sign up for any of the day/night activities. Security is good, with a guard on the door 24/7 and wristbands for all those staying at the B&B.

Disliked: Hot water was good, but it seemed to be either scolding or luke warm. But hey, it wasn't cold!!

31.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Samuel Barlow

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 June 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Terrible service, don't reply to emails, don't bother.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Martin Norman

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 May 2014 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: Safe, close to the bus station, good free beer and 1pm check out

Disliked: Not much

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 April 2014

Liked: The room was quite nice, guard 24 h and lockers downstairs so very secure and safe.

Disliked: When we came the staff person was rude and also first didnt find our reservation. The room was cold and no hot water in our shower in the privat room, but there was hot water in the other shower in the hallway. They say they have hotwater bottles but were out of them when we asked for them. Quite nice hostel but still probably not great value for money.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Angelica Mendoza

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 February 2014

Liked: A private room with ensuite in the B&B building was basic (bed, desk, chair, hanging space) and not especially clean but for one night this sufficed. Nice breakfast of pancakes. Luggage was stored in a secure area during the day after check-out.

Disliked: B&B building still tried to have a party hostel feel. We found that we were paying for the privilege of a rooftop bar, security guard at the front door, wristbands and homemade beer; if you just need somewhere to stay for a night that's close to the bus terminal we have found cheaper, closer and more comfortable. Wifi was intermittent even in the designated "strong" area.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location is good and the rooms clean, basic, and as promised. the staff was fairly helpful, the beds comfortable and warm enough, the hot water works. the free coffee and pancakes is a nice touch and the daily free beer was a treat at the end of a day of sightseeing. we didnt take advantage of the group activities/parties as they're geared more toward 20-something backpackers but it seems many people enjoyed them and they did not infringe on our experience in terms of noise or chaos!

Disliked: this is very minor but the wifi was unreliable.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jackson Ellis

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 January 2014 Jackson would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to escape the hectic pace of La Paz and meet some other travellers. The dorms are comfortable and spacious, the bars have a great atmosphere and the restaurant serves delicious hearty meals all day.

Disliked: Can be noisy with the bar downstairs going late into the night.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fairly standard large hostel. Clean, good value, lots of services available (eg. laundry, tours, etc). Social and easy to meet people.

Disliked: Staff are quite disorganised and got our booking wrong (as well as a few other people we met) so make sure you confirm with them. Breakfast is horrible.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Hannah Russell

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 January 2014 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: Good vibe, comfy beds, the rooftop bar was a great spot for New Years :) Walking distance to most of the main spots in the city. Staff spoke English and were helpful. There's a tour booking company on site which is useful. Very close to the bus station.

Disliked: Bathroom wasn't cleaned in our dorm in days -- the communal bathroom was a lot cleaner. It says you get a free beer every night you stay - I tried to claim mine but the bar wasn't open and I was told I had to go to the other hostel (b&b). I asked if I could have it the next day instead and they said no problem. When I tried to claim the next day they said it had to be on the night you stay! I stayed 2 nights and had 2 beers on my account -- they wouldn't cancel them out or let me claim the beers on the day I checked out. A bit rigid, not the biggest deal, but kind of disappointing.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 January 2014

Liked: Big building. Beds are perfect. Dorm (8 person) is spacious enough. Huge lockers. Private room is really spacious. Free beer every night.

Disliked: Cold breakfast (including coffee). When we asked for new coffee they suggested to put it in the microwave. After a few days, something else than pancakes would be really nice. No fruits. We made a booking for a private booking around NYE (30 dec - 2 jan) but arrived more early. They only had a dorm left for these days before 30 dec, but when we wanted to move to our private room, they lost our booking in the system and everything was full that day. The girl that was working that afternoon was really unhelpful and said that she couldn't do anything since we were not in the system (we saw our names in the system a few days before). We insisted that she called her boss to let him / her solve the issure, but without result and we were not allowed to speak with him / her on the phone. Later we asked a guy who worked that night for help and he was really helpful, but since everything was fully booked, a dorm was the only option for that night (we got 10% discount (12 bolivianos) for that night). It looks like they work with two separate systems that are not connected to Hostelbookers directly, since when we arrived early it was marked full on HB, but the dorm was half empty in reality and they said they had beds available. All with all, we experienced it as a really unorganized hostel and nobody of the staff really understood what was going on.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 January 2014

Liked: Security guard, free beer. Close to bus terminal

Disliked: Our room was very smelly, like a sewer. Cold pancakes for breakfast? Common area tiny; Wifi only working at 5am (rest of the day ultra-slow). Staff a bit unfriendly

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good beds. Good breakfast if you like unlimited pancakes. A free beer per day. Fairly quiet if you want to sleep. Early checkin if you get off a plane or night bus.

Disliked: Rooms very dark (no windows). Our private bathroom did not get cleaned once in the 3 nights I was there (and more according to my roommate). I even had to ask twice for the toilet paper bin to be emptied, never mind them actually doing a proper clean. Communal bathrooms seemed better.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Rhiannon Finn

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2013 Rhiannon would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is very secure with a 24 hour doorman, and when we left our bags before check in they were labelled and stored safely. The rooftop bar is nice but a bit dead during the day and they seem to have odd opening hours. The free beer every night is good. It's only a 5 minute walk from the main bus terminal.

Disliked: The rooms at the front are noisy because of the main road and rooms at the back face a brick wall. It's a 20 minute walk from the centre with a very busy dangerous main road right outside.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good nights sleep Female dorm available Beer andfood good

Disliked: Bar not open all tme and have share facilities with b nd b Limited out door area Breakfast poor with pancakes every day?? Nonjuice

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location.

Disliked: Computers were a bit dodgy, but wifi was fine and accessible from the bedroom. Able to recharge as well.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fabianne Furman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 October 2013 Fabianne would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful, friendly staff. Fun environment but not too crazy.

Disliked: Fabianne left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice atmosphere, almost always something happening everyday of the week, very close to bus terminal, reasonably priced food menu

Disliked: some of the reception staff not very informed, also some bar staff (which are fellow backpacker travellers), not very attentive behind the bar (the Spanish-speaking ones acted as if you were doing them a favour), playing only the type of music they liked, not accustoming to other people's needs

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, good atmosphere and excellent value for money.

Disliked: Let down by a mix-up with bookings - after the initial night we booked two more, and on the third night we had to move rooms. This would have been no problem, only we returned from a day trip riding the Death Road with various injuries to find we didn´t have a room. After much messing about we were put in a triple room which was spare, Shame because everything else about the hostel was great.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

04 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place is great both to be social and meet people (at their bar next door) and to get a good nights sleep at the quieter B and B. The rooms are basic but clean. The place is secure and there is a security guard on duty. The B and B is next to the hostel which has a bar, pool table and ping pong table. They have a couple computers that you can use for free and wifi. I would gladly stay here again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anna Schultheis

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 June 2013 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel very close to the bus station and the shopping area. Nice room (number 1.1) with wooden floor, very quiet. Internet worked well in all areas.

Disliked: Although they offer all-you-can-it pancakes for breakfast, the pancakes didn't taste very good.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Corey Callahan

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

25 April 2013 Corey would recommend this property

Liked: A classy backpackers offering a nice middle ground between the travelers that require partying and those requiring adrenalin pumping day tours.

Disliked: Only downside is tht many of the things they advertise internally are a little untruthfull (ie hot water bottles). I dont know if it was just that the staff wasnt educated on the facilities offered by the hostel or if they just stopped offering them.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Gallagher

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2013 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Its a great place to base yourself in La Paz. Its the second time we have stayed in Adventure Brew.

Disliked: Nothing.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Decent size rooms. Pancake breakfast was good, coffee was usually cold but there is a microwave provided.

Disliked: We decided to stay an additional night in La Paz and so asked the woman on reception if this was possible and were told this was fine. Later that evening we had to ask about something else in reception and were told that the room was not actually available. No one had bothered to come and tell us and it was only by chance we found out. We were doing the death road the next day and it would have been pretty bad to come back and find out we had no room. Also when we went to pay we noticed the price was wrong. When the woman at reception checked it we saw that we were being charged wrongly for a breakfast we had ( bigger breakfast + juice we didn't have). The woman would not accept that we didn't have it, refusing to check with her colleague had he mixed us up with someone else that morning and forcing us to pay the extra. Very annoying.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Mandy Chhoker

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 March 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: everything, rooms were depressing and bathrooms smelt bad. Poor wifi

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

femke waanders

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 March 2013 femke would recommend this property

Liked: They have two nice bar areas (one roof top terrace and one basement bar on the two locations) and you get a free beer every night! The breakfast with pancakes was good. The wifi is functioning very good most of the times.

Disliked: The bathroom was a bit smelly and the coffee at breakfast was not warm two times.

The property's response is...


See all La Paz hostels