HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all La Paz hostels

Reviews of The Adventure Brew B&B

Guesthouse | Av. Montes 533, La Paz, Bolivia .

79.9% Overall Rating

296 out of 327 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/08/2014)

"Short walk to main tourist attractions and you can easily sign up for any of the day/night activities. Security is good, with a guard on the door 24/7 and wristbands for all those staying at the B&B."

Read all The Adventure Brew B&B reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Sofa

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 13.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to La Paz?

Contact us directly

See other properties in La Paz

Hostal Isidoro's
8.50 USD

Hostel 76.5% 42 reviews
hotel savoy
18.42 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Pirwa Hostel La Paz
6.94 USD

Hostel 71.7% 19 reviews
Hostal Sol Andino
13.89 USD

Guesthouse 85.8% 156 reviews
Hotel Las Brisas
18.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.8% 16 reviews
Hotel Fuentes
11.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.9% 155 reviews
Bacoo Hostel
5.67 USD

Hostel 81.7% 37 reviews
Hotel Milton
16.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 80.8% 52 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.9%

Overall Rating

296 out of 327 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Adventure Brew B&B'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
79.2%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
71.2%
Value
80.8%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 252 of 258 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The reception staff were AWESOME!! so helpful and friendly! free beer every day, free internet+wifi, great pancake breakfast! What I also loved were the lockers in the dorms and in reception.

Disliked: A bit far out from the other hostels

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Possibility for dinner

Disliked: nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nico common area with beautiful view over the city from the roof top terrace.

Disliked: Located right on big and noisy mainstreet. windows however well isolated, so shouldn't disturb too much while sleeping. hostel a bit outside of centre.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are spotless. the cleaning staff work very hard all of the time and are ALWAYS smiley and happy.

Disliked: Not very central, but handy for the bus station. The bar manager was rude about other members of staff- guests don't need to hear staff's views on their colleagues.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the Bus Terminal, which was great after our overnight trip from Sucre. The staff were very helpful, and there are a lot of services on offer, which is almost dangerous as you can spend a lot of time in just the hostel alone! There was opportunity to meet others in the bar upstairs, and on St Patty´s day was seriously going hard, though despite this the noise didn´t bother us in the dorms underneath. Very clean, and our beds were even made for us! The all you can eat pancake breakfast was fantastic, just remember if you´re having coffee to add water, it´s strong stuff

Disliked: Wasn´t as close as other hostels to the central part of La Paz, but the short walk didn´t bother us

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

sam hicks

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 March 2011 sam would recommend this property

Liked: stuff

Disliked: oter stuff

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Visited for the third time in four months and it keeps getting better. Good value for money, easy walk from the bus station, good breakfast, good beer, excellent staff (remembered us from four months prior and always willing to help).

Disliked: Possibly a bit of a walk from La Paz nightlife, if that is your thing. However, there is a bar on site with plenty of people to talk to.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff a fantastic. alfi, will give you his time and so much more.

Disliked: if you want a party hostel this is not one. which is exactly what is so good about it.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 March 2011

Liked: Hot showers, Safe hostel, friendly staff

Disliked: The location wasn't very central, and I was mugged outside. The bathrooms weren't cleaned during my stay. The room was cold, damp and smelt of mould. The locker was impossible to open. The taxi that they ordered didn't show up.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jon Whittlestone

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 March 2011 Jon would recommend this property

Liked: Bar

Disliked: Location

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We loved to hostel bar, it was a real good place to meet new faces. Our room got cleaned every day and the beds were comfy. The dishes from the hostel kitchen were very tasty.

Disliked: It has actually two adresses, one of the Adventure Brew hostels is a bit further down the road. We were lucky to stay in the upper one, cause the guests of the other one had to come up for breakfast every morning aswell as for the hostel bar. Another negative point would be that a lot of dorms face a big, very noisy street (whilst having thin windows).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alex Hughes

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 March 2011 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: lockers big enough to fit your ruckracks in! good hot showers. good pancake breakfast include, they also have other breakfasts on offer at a small charge. good bar area overlooking the city with a free beer everynight. good dvd collection with a couple of tvs available. big book exchange.

Disliked: .

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Dominik Stadelmann

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 March 2011 Dominik would recommend this property

Liked: Staff really helpful The free beer Nice Place and nice beer

Disliked: To less Computers for Internet

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 February 2011

Liked: The rooftop bar is a nice escape from the city

Disliked: Hot showers were advertised, however showers were only at best a warm trickle, after the girl from reception spent 5mins trying to adjust it. Private ensuite room had mould on walls/ceiling. If you undertake any of the activities heavily promoted by the hostel you will miss out on the free breakfast as hours aren't flexible, however The pancakes aren't really worth sticking round for anyway. Although a few individual staff members are quite nice and helpful, staffing generally seems to be quite disorganized and chaotic.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 January 2011

Liked: separate girls and boys bathrooms were good. the pancakes were delicious. the reception staff was nice.

Disliked: it´s very nosy between people coming and going, the reception phone, the door bell and what not. hardly slept. after i was told that i could store my stuff when i checked out and grab a cab the next day, the security staff tried to charge me an extra night which i was really not happy about. i spoke to 3 people at reception who told me it was fine and then i was given a hard time about it. also, i was told the taxi to the airport was 50 bolivianos by 2 of the reception ladies and the lonely planet and the security guy insisted it was 60. it really left a bad taste in my mouth with the whole stay there. the other difficult thing is there is nowhere to change in the bathroom with the shower and toilets, especially since the dorms are mixed beds. and my bed was super uncomfortable and concave.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - The pancake breakfast - The privated rooms are clean, big and really nice (like a hotel) - It is really close to the busstation - Beautiful view at the restaurant - Free beer every day

Disliked: - The showers are cold/really hot/good/cold/really hot/good.. If the shower is good its really nice but the next moment it is cold again or really hot. - Internet is the same... sometimes it is really fast but the other moment is really slow and not good at all. - The staff don't look like the like their jobs.. they are not really enthusiatic nor happy. - You can not cook between 5 pm and 7.30 pm because they use the kitchen for the restaurant. (meals are 35 bs by the way). In the end, it is still a good hostel. Just shower for 5 minutes, internet is always working but you must be patient and if you don't want to eat at the restaurant just go out for dinner (it is cheaper) or cook before 5 pm or after 7.30 pm.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Relaxed atmosphere, good staff, easy to book trips from here as Kanoo Tours onsite. Good beer!

Disliked: Don´t expect a quiet night´s rest; this is very much a hostel.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Christopher Marshall

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2011 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: the rooms were clean and comfortable, and a free beer every day cant be too bad!

Disliked: some of the staff are particularly unhelpful, making the slightest request into a massive deal, and god forbid if you ask to switch your bed to another EMPTY bed in the same dorm room

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Felt safe

Disliked: The computers were really slow. The kitchen was not free to use at all hours because of the restaurant staff.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Natalie Zara

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 December 2010 Natalie would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean. Great bar with a very hospitable barman (David). Excellent pancakes for breakfast and good food available to buy nightly thanks to the excellent chefs. The hostel is well equipped with games, travel agency, DVDs etc and it is a fantastic place to meet people without being on overly party hostel.

Disliked: Xmas dinner was a joke. Originally we paid 40BS for a nice sounding menu, then on Christmas eve they changed it to a really boring menu and made us pay 50BS more each! Even though the chefs slaved away all day they were still selling tickets up until the last minute so there was not enough food and the promised desserts never arrived. In all is was incrediubly poorly managed and ruined Xmas a bit. Also, we tried to change dollars at the US dollar exchange they claim to have but in 4 days they never had any change so there is no point advertising it.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice big rooms, friendly and helpful staff, social bar to meet people. FREE BEER!

Disliked: computers not that great, internet slow and only 2 of 3 computers worked at any one time

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Gareth Pearson

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

01 December 2010 Gareth would recommend this property

Liked: FREE BEER - plus very social, helpful and great breakfast

Disliked: Nada

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

layton craig

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

17 November 2010 layton would recommend this property

Liked: A great atmosphere and the staff go out of there way to help. We modified our booking part way though and it was not a problem. Sky bar is very cool and the pancakes a meal!

Disliked: The showers in our room are very difficult to get working properly...... but thats just a small thing. Over all northing was bad about this place!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kieran Geraghty

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 November 2010 Kieran would recommend this property

Liked: Great bar with nice view. Decent rooms and wifi.

Disliked: Pricey but worth it for the pancakes! No complaints.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

18 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly staff, great bar, relaxed environment. Even though I was on the floor right below the bar, it was amazingly quiet. Rooms were clean and spacious. All you can eat pancakes in the morning and pretty good meals for purchase at the bar were also nice.

Disliked: The wifi was a bit temperamental. Otherwise, no complaints.


See all La Paz hostels