We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all La Paz hostels

Reviews of The Adventure Brew B&B

Hostel | Av. Montes 533, La Paz, Bolivia .

79.9% Overall Rating

296 out of 327 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/08/2014)

"Short walk to main tourist attractions and you can easily sign up for any of the day/night activities. Security is good, with a guard on the door 24/7 and wristbands for all those staying at the B&B."

Read all The Adventure Brew B&B reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Sofa

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 13.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to La Paz?

Contact us directly

See other properties in La Paz

Hostal Isidoro's
8.50 USD

Hostel 76.8% 43 reviews
hotel savoy
18.41 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Pirwa Hostel La Paz
6.94 USD

Hostel 71.7% 19 reviews
Hostal Sol Andino
13.88 USD

Guesthouse 85.8% 159 reviews
Hotel Las Brisas
18.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.8% 16 reviews
Hotel Fuentes
11.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.9% 155 reviews
Bacoo Hostel
5.66 USD

Hostel 81.7% 37 reviews
Hotel Milton
11.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 80.8% 52 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.9%

Overall Rating

296 out of 327 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Adventure Brew B&B'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
79.2%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
71.2%
Value
80.8%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 252 of 258 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 December 2011

Liked: Convieniant location 15 mins walk to main attractions. The main hostel looks a lot nicer, but this is reviewed from the new annex.

Disliked: It was cold, draughty and unwelcoming. The breakfast pancakes were always cold, with only butter to put on them. No common areas (aside from the bar/breakfast room) so difficult to meet people. If you want to stay at Adventure Brew, make sure you get in the main building.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

31 October 2011

Liked: ok for meeting people over a free beer

Disliked: loud, right on a main road which never stops Located too far out of the centre of La Paz Having to walk between hostels for facilities, bar, tour agency This is a dated hostel.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: tha atmosphere

Disliked: the security

65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adilson Rodegheri Peçanha

With a large group / tour

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 September 2011

Liked: Location and ambient.

Disliked: We arrived at 3:00 a.m. (30 persons) and the receptionist insisted in scan in computer all the 30 passports. I was in a private room and I went out for lunch (about 2 hours) and when I returned my cell phone was disappeared after the room cleaning. I communicate to the reception and nothing happened.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

16 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was amazing! They helped with all of our needs, which were a lot since we had 40 people staying there!

Disliked: They were finishing construction on the top floors of their new location which took away from the atmosphere, but it was not loud or dirty.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Josephine Dakar

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 September 2011 Josephine would recommend this property

Liked: It is very near to the bus station which is great if you are only staying a night or two and have a lot of luggage. The bar is a great place to spend an evening if you don't want to go into town, and the free beer is a nice touch. It's a good place to meet and talk with other travellers. The staff are friendly and helpful. If you want to use wifi in your room then ask to be on the top floor.

Disliked: Unfortunately the location is great for the bus station but a pain if you want to go into town, we changed hostels after a couple of nights as we were tired of the slightly too-long walk into town and back when we wanted to eat or shop or go to a travel agency. We stayed in a twin room and the beds were very uncomfortable and the rooms cold and a bit damp. The shower is hot but difficult to keep it at a constant temperature. Pancake breakfast alright for a day but is not appealing for more than a couple of nights.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sam kitching

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 September 2011 sam would recommend this property

Liked: we stayed in the adventure brew too, its just 30 seconds up the street. the beds in the dorm were comfy and pretty quiet. the pancake breakfast is really good. theres loads to eat. free beer every night, cant go wrong. staff are really friendly. good hostel

Disliked: they didnt refill the bog roll too often. there was 500 dvds to choose from, all of them were pretty crap. its a bit cold in the building that is brew 2. but you do get plenty of blankets so its warm in bed.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great bar, breakfast and beds and close to the bus station

Disliked: Cold, lack of privacy in the bathrooms, slightly out of the way

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Christopher Hogg

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2011 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Goiod place to meet people

Disliked: Breakfast is a free for all, its all you can eat pancakes. They prepare in the smallest and dirtiest of kitchens and the plates run out within about 10 minutes. After that its a cue up for pancakes and another cue to wash plates in a tiny little sink which means you´ll probably end up with dirty plates, a long wait in the cue and no seat.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was amazingly clean and the bar is a great place to sit and chill and hang out with people as everybody makes their way up there (huffing and puffing) at the end of the day for the free pint (which is a brilliant perk by the way.) Pancake breakfast is great for one or two days but it gets a bit old after that which is why they offer to cook you (almost literally) whatever you want...you need only ask. They put up drink specials and they have hostel-organized events. Wi-fi is some of the fastest I have experienced in S. America. Overall a fantastic experience.

Disliked: The mattress I slept on was a little worn and I could feel the slats underneath.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 August 2011

Liked: Free beer and pancakes. Fun atmosphere at night.

Disliked: We were not told we would be in a separate building, and had to walk for any services like breakfast. The building is under construction meaning loud, dusty, and frequent water inavailability.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its located near the busstation, a few min walk of the center. Top is that you get a free beer every night at the bar. Its a nice place to sit, good food too and not as partylike the other hostels. The bar gives also view over the city. And you get pancakes in the morning!

Disliked: There is not a lot of information hanging around, but there are enough agencies in la paz who sell tours

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice free beer. Comfortable beds.

Disliked: Nada

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicola Weaver

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 July 2011 Nicola would recommend this property

Liked: Pancakes and beer, lovely. Clean rooms, if a little cold sometimes, it is cold in La Paz though so hey ho. A booking mistake was fixed professionally by the staff, reassuring. The bar has an amazing view. The hostel is fun and sociable without being OTT!

Disliked: Nada really, rooms a little cold.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent, hotel quality double room for good value. Great bar. Free pancakes.

Disliked: Need a bit more space for reakfast- free pancakes is a bit of a scrum!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free pancake breakfast, hot showers and really sociable vibe with activities every night on at the bar (only problem was it was on the 4th floor which took all your breath away!!)

Disliked: Our room was freezing with only 1 blanket and when i asked for another oe they didn't have any, so had to sleep with all my new llama wool clothes on. Wifi is only available in the bar on 4th floor, which is a pain. Computers here run on weird opertaing system and are pretty much useless.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: If your idea of travelling is party, party and hanging around with young English speaking crowd that's a place for you (unfortunately it's not mine). The location is perfect and the rooms are nice. There is a bar on the top where you can get 1 free beer per night.

Disliked: Really noisy street plus noisy party goers coming back in the middle of the night. Another issue is cold water in the showers in the evening. Wifi works only in the bar (I guess it's on purpose) so if you want to use your computer you have to inhale smoke as it smoking free zone.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

andreas wittwer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2011 andreas would recommend this property

Liked: the staff is amazing. great location, a 5 min. walk from the busterminal. cool bar at the 4th level. delicious and reasonable dinners.

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Magnhild Berre

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 May 2011 Magnhild would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice and clean hostel. Free breakfast all you can eat pancakes! The bar on the top floor is really good and a nice place to get drunk and meet other backpackers with a excellent view of La Paz. Laundry service, daily cleaning of rooms, good beds, good book exchange, a lot of activities to offer.

Disliked: The staff is very busy at times, the service could have been better at times.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice to be in dorms again- really friendly place- great bar, great breakfast, good dinners and beer. Comfy bed and helpful staff.

Disliked: Internet slow and difficult to connect. Location a bit far from centre

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff, great bar upstairs with excellent food, great help with excursions and bookings. Good location just up the hill (5 - 10 mins walk)from main centre of action. Free beer a bonus! Would be happy to recommend to friends.

Disliked: Wi-fi only works in the bar and is very unreliable. Gets very cold in the rooms at night-time.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Callum McLean

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 April 2011 Callum would recommend this property

Liked: IF YOU'RE STAYING HERE SOON there's a great offer to sleep in their new building just round the block, it's 46Bs for a 12 bed dorm but TWO FOR THE PRICE OF ONE, so essentially 23/night for access to everything that people paying 60Bs+ are paying next door. GREAT value. Just turn up and reserve. Fantastic place, the staff are if anything TOO friendly and helpful, the pancake breakfast is the bomb (and they once gave me some breakfast half an hour before due time as I was in a hurry - legends). Comfortable beds and a great hostel layout, big but not huge, a communal seating area on every floor and a great bar - fantastic views of El Alto and La Paz, reasonably priced PINTS of microbrew, and most importantly lively enough but in no way the dreaded party hostel bar. I turned up one night not knowing anyone and within five minutes I'd been essentially coerced into a tournament of shithead and introduced to a bunch of people. Also if you fancy paying the obscene fee for Gravity's death road tour you can book it here, but even if not it's handy to be able to ask about the general concept of the tour and other companies etc. Book exchange nice and big.

Disliked: a bit pricey, hopefully the prices for the new building dorms will stay low-ish, but personally for me even the 60Bs is a price worth paying to avoid some of the more notorious party hostels around and the atmosphere and facilities make up for the price difference.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean. helpful staff. free beer everyday. beds and blankets. services on offer. dinners.

Disliked: nothing to dislike really

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sarah Gledhill

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2011 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: The roof top bar was amazing and had ace views of the city. The dorms were spacious and comfortable as well as safe. The atmosphere was much more laid back and less intense yet just as fun as Loki hostel which we also stayed in. The food was really good, as were the free beers! The hostel is in a good location regarding the bus station as we arrived really early in the morning and so only had to walk for 5 min. The free pancake breakfast is an added bonus too! We miss you adventure brew!!!!!!!!

Disliked: Nada

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great atmosphere, free beer & nightly meals are a great way to meet people

Disliked: Not enough lockers in the dorm rooms for the number of beds.


See all La Paz hostels