HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all La Paz hostels

Reviews of The Adventure Brew B&B

Guesthouse | Av. Montes 533, La Paz, Bolivia .

81.5% Overall Rating

293 out of 321 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/02/2014)

Angelica Mendoza thinks…

"A private room with ensuite in the B&B building was basic (bed, desk, chair, hanging space) and not especially clean but for one night this sufficed. Nice breakfast of pancakes. Luggage was stored in…"

Read all The Adventure Brew B&B reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to La Paz?

Contact us directly

See other properties in La Paz

Hostal Isidoro's
8.51 USD

Hostel 83.7% 28 reviews
hotel savoy
18.44 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Pirwa Hostel La Paz
6.38 USD

Hostel 68.6% 13 reviews
Hostal Sol Andino
13.90 USD

Guesthouse 85.4% 146 reviews
Hotel Las Brisas
18.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.4% 15 reviews
Hotel Fuentes
11.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.9% 155 reviews
Bacoo Hostel
5.67 USD

Hostel 81.7% 37 reviews
Hotel Milton
16.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 80.8% 51 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.5%

Overall Rating

293 out of 321 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Adventure Brew B&B'

Atmosphere
81.6%
Location
76.8%
Facilities
81.6%
Cleanliness
80.8%
Staff
74.4%
Value
83.2%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 248 of 252 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooftop bar had a great view!

Disliked: Staff weren't very helpful and we had to wait around for 2 hours to get a draft beer.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Joe murphy

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 October 2012 Joe would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, we are still here now actually as our onward journey has been delayed... booking another night or two has not been a problem at all. The staff are amazing, rooms are spacious... everything is great.

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Franziska Hollender

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 October 2012 Franziska would recommend this property

Liked: We, too, were put into the "Sewage Room" at first, and when I brought the awful smell to the staff member's attention he said they would fix it by the next day, but he only had a twin if we wanted to change rooms. I told him that I knew very well from the reviews that this was a more permanent problem and that we'd accept a twin but at a price reduction of course. I have to speak in favor of the staff: he did find us another room, one that had a double and two single beds and an ensuite bath. It was clean and cosy and the water was always hot. Towels cost extra, but there was plenty of toilet paper. The breakfast was always cold and when we asked the staff to make a new pot of coffee, she just took the cold coffee and heated it up in a pot..... So you need to microwave everything. The breakfast that you could order was good, but the kitchen is in the other location, so eat there - by the time they bring the plates over, the food is also cold. The free beer was pretty good. Don't believe them when they tell you there are no restaurants near, there are plenty of excellent street food stalls down the main street and good restaurants around Plaza San Francisco.

Disliked: Many people reported that one room smells like sewage and it does. They do not seem to be keen on fixing the problem. Cold breakfast is a shame.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Sneddon

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

07 October 2012 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay, in fact we stayed here 4 different times while travelling Bolivia. Good food, activities. Very handy for the bus station.

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fernando Augusto Franco Sacramento

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

04 October 2012 Fernando Augusto would recommend this property

Liked: Its a good place to stay for a one night stand. Theres 1 free glass of beer per person for day. Good breakfast

Disliked: Slow internet, and the good areas are in the 4th floor

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great bar with a view of the city. The food on offer from the restaurant is really good (and affordable). The pancake breakfast is fantastic and so is the beer! The rooms are are small but clean and the showers are hot.

Disliked: The beds are a bit small if you are travelling as a couple - but other than that there are no problems with the hostel.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

barry jones

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 August 2012 barry would recommend this property

Liked: showers are always hot. Breakfast is good pancakes. V close to the bus station. Free beer.

Disliked: barry left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really nice and helpful staff room was nice and clean pancakes for breakfast

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Reasonably quiet apart from the traffic, free beer

Disliked: Traffic noise, cold room with no heating. Had to go to the sister hostel for free beer. Staff were rarely in the sky bar. Computers were terribly slow. Smoking inside both bars.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

20 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Adventure Brew is clean and quiet at night. The beds are comfy and they have really hot showers. The rooms are secure and there are lockers for passports etc. We arrived in La Paz at 5am after a really long bus journey and we were so pleased that they had our room ready for us and we could check in immediately. The pancake breakfast is brilliant, although sometimes the coffee is cold or non existant... but they`ll bring out a fresh pot if you ask.

Disliked: Our first room smelled really strongly of sewage, so much so that we asked if we could change rooms. However, the staff were really helpful and gave us a new room immediately and even knocked a bit off the price of the stay. Not really much of a problem in the end.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Lewin Schmitt

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 July 2012 Lewin would recommend this property

Liked: Nice rooms with comfortable beds, good staff

Disliked: Terribly old PC's, noisy if room to the street, hot shower dificult to adjust

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Showers were awesome!! Also decided to stay an extra couple of nights, reception was no trouble and changed it easily.

Disliked: If you are staying at the B&B part, the free beer is down the road at the hostel part.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free beer every night.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very easy to find and felt very secure.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Shields

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 June 2012

Liked: A big, but brilliant hostel. We stayed on the second floor of the second building in the 8 bed dorm. They've thought of everything, from the good wifi on all of the three floors to the comfy warm beds and decent sized lockers. Plus the extras like the substantial & delicious free breakfast, free pool table, free beer, hot showers and sensibly placed powerpoints and bed lamps, a good deal.

Disliked: There was some road noise and was a bit drafty, so dress warm for bed

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

03 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: ok

Disliked: ok

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 April 2012

Liked: both rooftop bars were nice but often no staff (or very useless staff) the one free beer a night was good

Disliked: very unhelpful and rude staff - couldnt even get off facebook for half a second to provide us with a map. seemed very disorganised between the b&b and hostel. bed in b&b was king single at best - not big enough for 2 normal sized humans. room smelt of sewage masked with heavy bleach smell. awful shower.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: central, quiet, hot shower, good breakfast

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Regina Verbaarschot

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 April 2012 Regina would recommend this property

Liked: beds, staff, breakfast

Disliked: location

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joel Fitzgerald

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2012 Joel would recommend this property

Liked: Top notch hostel, lots of friendly, english speaking staff who are super helpful. Rooms are big and clean. Overall the hostel offers free and cheap beers, good food, and so many extra things you don't expect from a hostel...all for a good price.

Disliked: Nothing...People who complain about noise or a 15min walk downtown are lazy people who are yet to realise that big citiies and travelling means noise. Put in some ear plugs if a noisy street bothers you.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff (especially Ted at the bar) were excellent. Good atmosphere and location (less than 2mins walk from main bus station and an easy downhill walk into town). Free pancakes for breakfast (as many as you can eat). Free beer every night.

Disliked: No communal kitchen and lack of options for food (one set dinner each evening).

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 December 2011

Liked: Convieniant location 15 mins walk to main attractions. The main hostel looks a lot nicer, but this is reviewed from the new annex.

Disliked: It was cold, draughty and unwelcoming. The breakfast pancakes were always cold, with only butter to put on them. No common areas (aside from the bar/breakfast room) so difficult to meet people. If you want to stay at Adventure Brew, make sure you get in the main building.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

31 October 2011

Liked: ok for meeting people over a free beer

Disliked: loud, right on a main road which never stops Located too far out of the centre of La Paz Having to walk between hostels for facilities, bar, tour agency This is a dated hostel.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: tha atmosphere

Disliked: the security

65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adilson Rodegheri Peçanha

With a large group / tour

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 September 2011

Liked: Location and ambient.

Disliked: We arrived at 3:00 a.m. (30 persons) and the receptionist insisted in scan in computer all the 30 passports. I was in a private room and I went out for lunch (about 2 hours) and when I returned my cell phone was disappeared after the room cleaning. I communicate to the reception and nothing happened.


See all La Paz hostels