We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Ecolodge Copacabana

Guesthouse | Av. Illampu 734, Copacabana, Bolivia ----

88.9% Overall Rating

29 out of 30 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/08/2014)

"Very clean & spacious. Cute cabins with lovely view of Lake Titicaca. The solar powered showers left us a bit concerned, however, we shouldn't have worried - after a long day of sunshine the water was nice and hot."

Read all Ecolodge Copacabana reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Copacabana?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.9%

Overall Rating

29 out of 30 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ecolodge Copacabana'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
76.8%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
97.6%
Staff
89.6%
Value
86.4%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 25 of 29 reviews
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean & spacious. Cute cabins with lovely view of Lake Titicaca. The solar powered showers left us a bit concerned, however, we shouldn't have worried - after a long day of sunshine the water was nice and hot.

Disliked: It is really quite far from the main town area. At night it is very dark and a taxi is essential; we did walk in one afternoon and it took around half an hour. If you're looking for something very quiet and out of the way then it's perfect. The staff were mostly helpful but since the owner wasn't there, we were a little unsure of answers/confirmation of answers to questions...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

04 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good Value for your money. This hotel is a little out of the way but the manager offered to take us to town and pick us up any time. He was very hopitable!

Disliked: Shower didn't work well.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

22 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: this is one of the most unique places you will find in South America and is a great place to stay, particularly if you are looking to get away from it all. if you just want to relax, and not do much at all, this is the place to be. it is located at the furthest end from town, and is peaceful. at night you can see a sky full of stars. It is well designed. the cottages are an eco version of traditional architecture. the cottages are well insulated so that it is warm in the room at night without needing a heater. there is so much potential for this place to become a desired place to stay, but there are a few shortcomings.

Disliked: it is located quite far from town, so if you need anything in town, you need to walk quite far, about 25 minutes, sse yo be prepared to have what you need to avoid making several trips into town. otherwise you will need to take a taxi for 20 Bs each time. most taxi drivers won´t come here for less than that. the wifi is abysmally slow, but that´s Copacabana in general and not much can be done about it. I think the staff need to improve in customer service. most places in latin america have quite good customer service; it´s lacking here. if you do decide to walk back at night, it is very safe, but very dark, so unless you eat a lot of carrots, you may need a headlamp or a torch.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: In eleven months of travelling (and three of those being in South America), this is easily one of our favourite hostels. It is 1.5 kms along the beach (20 minutes walk from town), which is perfect for peace and quiet. Our cabin was clean, the showers were hot and powerful, there was maid service everyday, the breakfast was again one of the best we´ve experienced, and the owner Emilio was very helpful and friendly (as were the other staff). Free wi-fi near the communal areas, or two good PCs in the reception area.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing (and I normally find something to whine about).

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nathan Odgers

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 October 2012 Nathan would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to relax and recharge the batteries, staff very friendly and helpful and the location on the lake a little way from the town was good.

Disliked: Nathan left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Angus McFarlane

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2012 Angus would recommend this property

Liked: Beds were great

Disliked: The owner tried to over charge us by three nights and then tried to alter the rate we had orgasnised on hostel bookers.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A fantastic contrast to the touristy hustle and bustle of copacabana, ecolodge sits a pleasant walk away from the main town centre along the beach. The lodges are beautiful buildings with brilliant views of the lake itself - especially at sunset. The whole place had a friendly and helpful atmosphere, we were even picked up from our bus and driven to the hostel for free. Breakfast is lovely, with more than you expect the standard hostel to offer. We really enjoyed our time at Ecolodge, and would reccomend it, especially to anyone looking for something a little different to the usual town hostel or hotel.

Disliked: Nothing!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

01 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel is gorgeous and in a really nice location, but it is quite out of the way of the town, so we needed to get taxis with our backpacks. But it was really nice for what we wanted which was a break after La Paz. The staff were really helpful and friendly and the breakfast was delicious!

Disliked: There is no restaurant on the premises though, so they ordered food from a place in town for us when we arrived which was not nice at all, youre better off just going back into the town to get something yourself!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is INSANE. The owners are the friendliest people we have come across in bolivia. Based on the edge of lake titicaca, secluded from the rush of the town, with all good services such as hot water, amazing breakfast, amazing menu for dinner, the rooms are so clean and cosy, the bedrooms genuinely look like hotel room and there are lots of chill out areas, that overlook the lake and are great to sit down at with ur friends with a glass of wine. Best hostel i have stayed in south america.

Disliked: NOTHING. everything is amazing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Katie Collins

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 March 2012 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic views of the lake. Good breakfast.

Disliked: I booked the hostel on a english speaking site, I recieved a english email from the hostel but none of the staff speak one word of english. Very fustrating.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maria Patricio

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2012 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: very new and safe and clean accomodation, romantic lodges, helpfull stuff

Disliked: a bit far from town located

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly. The location was quiet and beautiful. Beware that you may get dropped off in a bus at another hotel and they will try to convice you this place does not exist so that you will stay there instead. This happened to us at Hotel Mirador.

Disliked: Nothing.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

27 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are very sweet and helpful though they don't speak English. The rooms are very cute - little lodges with exposed brick, domed ceilings. All clean and nicely decorated. Lovely location a short walk up the beach from the town - very peaceful and a lovely patio to sit in the sun and look at the lake.

Disliked: Has the potential to be somewhere very special. The garden needs tidying and there is an unfinished building which blocked our view of the lake. The light fittings were hanging out of the wall and the shower was temperamental...hot / cold / again! But these are all little things and this is still a lovely place to stay. My advice to the owners is to iron out these things and this would be very special place indeed!!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is a very cute place to stay, with your own lodge and all. The staff are lovely and ever so willing to help. The breakfast is excellent and the information they have about things to do is good. They do have 2 dogs, one small and yappy and a slightly larger but more friendly one. The beds are very comfy and they supply plenty of blankets for the chilly nights. Thewy even arranged a free collection from our bus drop point. All in all it was a very nice place to stay especially if you want a bit of peace and quiet.

Disliked: There isn't a great deal of atmosphere, but there wasn't that many guests when we arrived. There is hardly any communal space inside, though there is a huge garden with plenty of seating (at night maybe not so good). It is a good 15 minute walk to town down a fairly dark road at night so Taxi is a must, and they lock the gates at 11-11:30 so not realy a party hostel. You also need to make them aware that you have paid a deposit as they didn't realise when I came to check out, but they did amend the bill.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

david enzor

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

20 October 2011 david would recommend this property

Liked: The property is slightly out of town and is reached by a five minute taxi ride from the main square. You travel down a tree lined avenue along the shore of the beach which was stunning. The grounds of the lodge are slightly rambling and the accomdation we stayed in was gorgeous. We were lucky enough to stay there during our honeymoon and Ruth and Carlos couldn't do enough for us (helped book buses, recommendations for dinner, concern that we knew about the festival going on in town and how we must take care late at night during that time). The room we had was like a small cottage, very clean with a very modern bathroom. The room itself was sparse but this added to the character of the place. We had a fantastic view down to the lake and a very peaceful nights sleep.

Disliked: Nothing - clean, quiet, very friendly. Perfect for our honeymoon. we wished we could have stayed longer.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

ben wilderink

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 October 2011 ben would recommend this property

Liked: Very peaceful place. It is located about 15mins walk from town, but that is a benefit because it is so nice and quiet (perfect if you want to chill out after staying in hectic La Paz). Taxi´s cost about 10-15 BOB to town, and the hostel will call them for you. The owner speaks good english and is really helpful. You can book ferry tickets to Isla del sol from the hostel. Has takeaway menu if your lazy and don´t want to go into town.

Disliked: Nada

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very nice location directlz at the sea with so friendly and helpfull staff! GREAT!!!

Disliked: nothing!!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Hans-Juergen Zemke

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 September 2011 Hans-Juergen would recommend this property

Liked: Nice accomodation, helpful friendly staff, good breakfast, nice dog Luna.

Disliked: Unsafe walk at night to hostal, taxi necessary

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

charlotte hawkins

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday

04 September 2011 charlotte would recommend this property

Liked: this is a really lovely place, and made our stay in copacabana. it is about a 20 min walk from town, but thats what makes it special beacause it is very peaceful and right on the lake :-) Ruth and Carlos who manage the property are a lovely couple, and will do anything to help you with your stay. the breakfast was really good too.

Disliked: there was a big dip in the double bed!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

CAROLE BENOIST

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 August 2011 CAROLE would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice accomodations, quiet, peaceful and a very beautyful view on the Titicaca Lake. One on my favorite breakfasts of my trip around South America. The staff is very helpful and very friendly. We enjoyed so much the place that we have booked for one more night !

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent rooms. More like a self-catering appartment, Massive bathrooms, hot showers, great beds, a kitchen lounge area. Staff were excellent. They run to the taxi to meet you everytime you arrive, carry bags, breakfast was brilliant. No complaints whatsoever, would highly recommend

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marcos Nam

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 August 2011 Marcos would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, hot water and a amazing contact with the nature

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff; on-site restaurant that brings food from the Copacabana; private cabin-style rooms; beautiful site; nice lake views

Disliked: Difficult to get to at night as a taxi is required and may be difficult to find; some ant infestation in the rooms; shower water temperature issues

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hannah Black

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 July 2011 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: A beautiful place to unwind. Ruth and Carlos were exceptionally helpful and very friendly. The hosts even organised horse-riding with friends for us! I would recommend this place to anyone!

Disliked: No lounge area to relax and watch a DVD. Tepid water in one room before being moved. it would have been even better if the bicycles were up and running.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a beautiful retreat in a stunning location. Staff are incredibly welcoming nd breakfast was delicious. The accommodation was fantastic. Cannot recommend this place enough!

Disliked: Nothing