HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Pedro's Inn Backpacker Hostel

Guesthouse | Seagrape Drive, San Pedro, Belize 00000

69.8% Overall Rating

13 out of 18 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/04/2014)

Heidi Moore thinks…

"Very clean and nice atmosphere with lounge chairs and shaded tables by the 2 pools. Our room was pretty good - enough space, ceiling fan, outlet. The bar is fun!"

Read all Pedro's Inn Backpacker Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

If cancelled 31 days before arrival is free of charge. A month before your expected arrival date the Hostel will book the full amount to guaranty the booking. So if you cancel during the 30 days before arrival, the penalty is equal to the total amount. If the hostel will be able to re sell your pre-booked room, they will refund you the penalty charged.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Pedro?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
69.8%

Overall Rating

13 out of 18 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Pedro's Inn Backpacker Hostel'

Atmosphere
72.2%
Location
63.3%
Facilities
72.2%
Cleanliness
65.6%
Staff
72.2%
Value
65.6%
Safety
77.8%
Refine your results Showing 16 of 16 reviews
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Heidi Moore

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 April 2014 Heidi would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and nice atmosphere with lounge chairs and shaded tables by the 2 pools. Our room was pretty good - enough space, ceiling fan, outlet. The bar is fun!

Disliked: Could use shelves in the rooms. Would be nice to have a community kitchen or at least a fridge.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The two pools, the ease of booking tours and ordering food and drinks on a tab that could be paid be credit card or cash in the end.

Disliked: a little far from the main strip

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2013

Liked: The staff (minus the owner himself) were really kind and helpful for the most part. It was great to have a bar on-site and the pools seemed clean and were great for a swim. They also had golf carts to rent, and the pizza was not bad.

Disliked: Let me first say that my group ended up checking out after the first night here. We knew about the airport when we signed up - so that was no big deal. The whole property was also under construction - again no big deal - but they started this construction very early (before 9). We also had someone on the staff barge into our room at 8:30 in the morning to ask if we were checking out. This was after yelling at the knocker "no! Please go away!" She came in anyway. I felt that my privacy was hugely violated. The showers were cold. I also had a problem with the fact that there are no doorknobs and the doors open out, so if you close the door and don't have the key, you have to jam your fingers between the door and the frame to get it open again. Frustrating. The owner was rude to his staff and rude about Americans (some offhand comments about them, no flag included in the 20 or so hung in the bar). I would not stay here again, as there were comparable places for the price that were closer to the main area with friendlier owners - I know, because I moved after the first night!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great place to meet people, very friendly staff, 10 minute walk to san pedro town, though there's plenty of stuff just nearby. I highly recommend it.

Disliked: cold showers. The pizza is below average.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Visiting friends or family

26 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice layout, able to help book dive packages and make recommendations around town. Trivia and sports on at night and a lively atmosphere made for a great stay.

Disliked: Had some issues in check out with total payment, but worked it out very smoothly with Peter and looking forward to returning again.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and had lots of good facilities like the pool and bar. The bar food was also very good

Disliked: The big problem at this hostel is the owner! He is self-opinionated, a bigot, and racist. His first words to me when he found out where I was from were: "I hate the Scots..." Over our stay here he insulted other guests too - it was no wonder that the bar, beind which he Lorded, wasempty - all the previously insulted guests went into town. In the 10 months of traveling this is the first time I have come across such haughty ,rude behaviour - and it had to be from a British person. He needs to learn the meaning of humility and keep his opinions to himself.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Laurence Bruce

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 April 2012 Laurence would recommend this property

Liked: great place to meet others, amazing pool and bar areas!!! staff friendly and very approachable...the dog hates everyone, dont take it personal!!! :P many tours to choose from although in US dollars and not belizean which can make them pretty costly, however there really isnt any cheap tours on this island. Bike hire is a must do to get around.

Disliked: Toilet areas could be cleaned every few hours or so in peak times rather than once a day, can get a bit smelly and feral. I believe everything should be quoted in Belizean currency, not US also. If we wanted the US currency, id go there! Airport directly behind hostel - TAKE EARPLUGS!!! No electrical outlets in rooms so need to trust in people and leave at reception or bar to charge up any batteries

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 January 2012

Liked: Bike rentals available.

Disliked: No towels. No soap. No hot water Horrible pillows Loud guests

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 January 2012

Liked: The bar is very social and you get to meet lots of people.

Disliked: The rooms are about 5m2 The mattresses are uncomfortable Our bedroom ceiling was dripping The bathrooms are disgusting The hostel doesn't have a curfew and is located on top of the bar (which plays live music sometimes until 1 a.m. or people stay outside smoking and drinking - you can hear them very clearly from your room) The proximity to the airport and to planes that take off at 6.30 a.m.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 December 2011

Liked: Nice pool, the cleaning staff were awesome and really friendly

Disliked: Rude owner, cold showers, next to the airport, sulphur smells, no kitchen, no common room

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

01 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Swimming pool,cable TV,dogs..huge bed,nice quiet air-con. Book selection. Helpfull friendly staff.

Disliked: I was charged the full amount a month before my booking,so felt obligated to stay.I'm not happy that they used my card details to take ALL of the fee in advance.They also wanted my card details when I arrived.. As soon as i return to UK i will have to cancel my bank card at my inconvience as i feel as though my card could be used again without my prior knowledge.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

crystal godwin

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

26 March 2011 crystal would recommend this property

Liked: The owners are great; helpful about anything and everything!! The rooms are very basic, but you won't spend much time there anyway! It is a 5 minute walk to the beach. It really is the cheapest place to stay in San Pedro!!! I highly recommend it!!!

Disliked: Would be nice to have an electrical outlet in every room...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pool, decent beds (not bunks).

Disliked: Toilets could be cleaner. Noise from the airport runway (located right next to the property).

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Arjeta Morina

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 December 2010 Arjeta would recommend this property

Liked: From the reviews on this and other sites I was expecting something amazing, Pedro hostel was ok overall. The pool area was great for chillin, decent bar downstairs and good tour office. I didnt think location was that great, no plugs in the tiny rooms.

Disliked: Rooms at far end of hostel are right next to airport runway

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

27 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The pool was really nice and clean, the bar was great, the pizza was also great, the rooms are super basic though- the hotel might be worth checking out. Drinks are cheap at the bar. There was a really nice security guard watching the premises all night every night.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

17 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: la piscina kOOl! el bar agradable y el clima bueniiiisimo! =)Como sugerencia si podrian limpiar la habitación a diario. Gracias

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.