We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Bruges hostels
See all Bruges hotels

Reviews of St Christopher's Inn-Bauhaus Hostel

Hostel | Langestraat 133-137, Bruges, Belgium 8000

86.2% Overall Rating

1219 out of 1384 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/05/2015)

Agratha Dinakaran thinks…

"Excellent location, close to the station, bars, and red light district. Staff was friendly, helpful, and efficient. Free breakfast in the morning is worth waking up for."

Read all St Christopher's Inn-Bauhaus Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Bicycle hire
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.67
  • Towel USD 2.22

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bruges?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bruges

St Christopher's Inn-Bauhaus Budget Hotel
1,110.12 USD

Hotel 1 star 84.6% 370 reviews
Hotel Rosenburg
99.91 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Charlie Rockets
23.31 USD

Hostel 71.7% 215 reviews
Hotel Bryghia
55.51 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.9% 9 reviews
Jacobs Hotel
35.30 USD

Hotel 3 star 88.3% 49 reviews
Hotel Europ
24.98 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.9% 6 reviews
Hotel Gasthof Groenhove
38.58 USD

Hotel 3 star 90.2% 27 reviews
Hotel Het Gheestelic Hof
51.81 USD

Hotel 3 star 86.7% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.2%

Overall Rating

1219 out of 1384 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'St Christopher's Inn-Bauhaus Hostel'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
80.8%
Staff
91.2%
Value
83.2%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 919 of 1129 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 36 | 37   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Agratha Dinakaran

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2015 Agratha would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, close to the station, bars, and red light district. Staff was friendly, helpful, and efficient. Free breakfast in the morning is worth waking up for.

Disliked: The bar can get *extremely* crowded over the weekends leading to drunken brawls often. Drinks are a little pricey.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lively youthful and freindly

Disliked: Too noisy for sleeping, and no hot water in shower

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location for the hostel, though not in the center, is actually perfect. It's only 10 minutes walking to the center (Markt Square) but far enough away that there are a few bars and grocery stores that haven't hiked up their prices for tourists. It's also a really pretty walk! The best part is the open atmosphere of all the people though, as a solo traveler it's great when all the backpackers are really open and friendly. I was in a pod dorm, and the beds were comfy and spacious- the curtains did block out a lot and the bathrooms were always clean.

Disliked: The staff weren't that great. If you asked them a question they acted annoyed that you had bothered them. It was really confusing trying to find the actual reception, because the address listed (number 145) is actually the luggage and night reception, and three doors down (outside) is the actual reception/common room. Two slightly annoying things are that you have re-activate your swipe card every day and sometimes the hallways smelled really bad.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, social and fun.

Disliked: The setup is clearly made to fit this old building, but it means the showers can be a hike from your room and getting around the building is a bit odd. Also the showers do not run water continually, you have to repeatedly press a button for water.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Prue Asmus

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2015 Prue would recommend this property

Liked: Location, communal areas, beds.

Disliked: Prue left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Yari Brugnoni

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 April 2015 Yari would recommend this property

Liked: I love the cheerful and young environment! I think that the style and atmosphere of the bar are amazing and a great opportunity to meet and know new people, which are 99% young travellers. Furthermore the we participated to the free tour around bruges (awesome) and we rented bicycles directly from the hostel !

Disliked: well, unfortunately while I was there there was not hot water

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked the laid back bar downstairs. The barkeeper is fabulous.

Disliked: Breakfast is included, so no right to complain, but some fruits in addition to toast would be just awesome.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Stefan Fritsch

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 March 2015 Stefan would recommend this property

Liked: The location

Disliked: The smell in the floor

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 March 2015

Liked: The beers

Disliked: It is not clean, the music is bad and very loud in the evening

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great value for money

Disliked: Nothing, though there was a strange smell that could have just been Brugge

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kelsey Dearing

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 February 2015 Kelsey would recommend this property

Liked: G

Disliked: K

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Allan Johnston

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 February 2015 Allan would recommend this property

Liked: The bar staff were genuinely nice

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were spacious and clean, the showers were also very good.

Disliked: The electricity port was very flimsy, therefore I couldn't charge my phone. The beds were rock hard!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Vicky Bertorelli

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 February 2015 Vicky would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, helpful staff, loved the dorms with all the space to store your stuff, a personal reading light and plug socket and little curtains to tuck yourself away

Disliked: Horrific smell going up the stairs to the dorm. Like a dead animal.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the bar as well as the bathrooms

Disliked: -

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere, very helpful staff. Clean room (shared twin)

Disliked: Not that many toilets/showers, could do with a few more but that being said, I didn't have to wait in a queue!

48.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 January 2015

Liked: It was nice that they had a social area downstairs.

Disliked: It was annoying to only have wi-fi in the bar, especially if you wanted to skype with anyone because the later it got, the more loud the bar got and it was impossible to be able to use skype. It would be nice to have internet in the rooms. There was just the one stall bathroom for the floor that I found and just one shower which was not clean enough. They also said that reception was open 24/7 like all HOSTELS, but when I went to check out at 5:45am there was no one to be found and the reception area was all locked up. I was unable to checkout and return the key to the room because I needed to get to my train on time and so I lost my key deposit money. I would not recommend this hostel.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JAVIER ROVIRA

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 January 2015 JAVIER would recommend this property

Liked: Tienen desayuno incluido en la tarifa, la instalación es limpia y no se escucha ruido exterior, ideal para descansar.

Disliked: El Internet no llega hasta la habitación, hay que bajar a la recepción. En las duchas no hay agua caliente y por lo menos en nuestra noche la calefacción no funcionó.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

27 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lots of character

Disliked: Shower drains

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Well located and good space in bar areas

Disliked: No wifi access in private rooms No toaster at breakfast

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Douglas Luiz de Oliveira

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 November 2014 Douglas would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is really friendly

Disliked: nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Julian Stengel

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 November 2014 Julian would recommend this property

Liked: Simple place all you need, bar has a vibe and good drinks

Disliked: Weird Smells

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Lihui Tan

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 October 2014 Lihui would recommend this property

Liked: Clean beds and sheets, spacious and lockers available to secure your valuables. Cool atmosphere at the bar/reception. Staff are very friendly. Simple breakfast of bread and cereals provided.

Disliked: Wifi only available at the bar

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Steven Reed

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 October 2014 Steven would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed my stay. The property was very clean, presented a great atmosphere and was located in a very nice area. They had a connected bar - which had a better beer selection than 95% of the bars in my city. Very cool atmosphere with helpful, hardworking staff. 5 min walk to main sights and bike rental at hostel. A+

Disliked: It didn't really matter to me, but someone in our room was sick and it did matter to her, they didn't have wifi in the room.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sripriya Gn

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 September 2014 Sripriya would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel had a fun character, clean place, great bar/ pub at the common area and free breakfast!

Disliked: -


See all Bruges hostels
See all Bruges hotels