HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Bruges hostels
See all Bruges hotels

Reviews of St Christopher's Inn-Bauhaus Hostel

Hostel | Langestraat 133-137, Bruges, Belgium 8000

84.8% Overall Rating

1134 out of 1284 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/04/2014)

"awesome place to know new friends in Brugge, nice bar and breakfast, cool night events!"

Read all St Christopher's Inn-Bauhaus Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 2.07
  • Towel USD 2.76

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bruges?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bruges

St Christopher's Inn-Bauhaus Budget Hotel
37.31 USD

Hotel 1 star 84.6% 370 reviews
Hotel Rosenburg
124.38 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Charlie Rockets
29.02 USD

Hostel 69.0% 210 reviews
Hotel Bryghia
58.04 USD

Hotel 3 star 80.0% 8 reviews
Jacobs Hotel
46.71 USD

Hotel 3 star 88.9% 44 reviews
Hotel Gasthof Groenhove
48.02 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.8% 25 reviews
Hotel Notre Dame
47.68 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.2% 178 reviews
De Castillion Hotel Bruges
124.38 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.8%

Overall Rating

1134 out of 1284 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'St Christopher's Inn-Bauhaus Hostel'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
81.6%
Cleanliness
80.0%
Staff
85.6%
Value
85.6%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 857 of 1029 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 34 | 35   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 April 2014

Liked: awesome place to know new friends in Brugge, nice bar and breakfast, cool night events!

Disliked: sometimes the card cannot work at the entrance of building

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: curtains for the beds. friendly staff. nice decor in the bar

Disliked: having to go to a separate building for my room. staircases smelled unpleasant

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Elisabeth Norberg

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 April 2014

Liked: Decent breakfast, fairly friendly staff, cheap. Nice lounge/bar area.

Disliked: It's worn down and my room/bed was pretty awful. Apart from the reception area which is lovely, the place feels like a bunker. With 10 beds cramed into a small room you were pretty much sleeping face to face with strangers. Uni-sex showers are a pretty bad idea too if you ask me...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Krysta Bruynson

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

14 April 2014 Krysta would recommend this property

Liked: It was safe and secure. The environment seemed like a lot of fun, but I didn't get to enjoy it as I was only there one night and spent my time outside of the hostel or in my room. The place was nice and clean.

Disliked: All of the showers on our floor weren't working, which was a bit of an inconvenience (but most likely outside of their control). Tying in with that, I thought it was a bit price to rent one towel for one night for 2 euros!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Brett Loats

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2014

Liked: Atmosphere, bar area

Disliked: Lack of power points especially in rooms Not enough toilets

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Sathish Suresh

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2014 Sathish would recommend this property

Liked: Good place for two nights.

Disliked: Beds were not comfortable. They seemed worn out and tired. I woke up with back aches both nights. The staff can be more hospitable as well.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Anastasia Guseva

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

11 April 2014 Anastasia would recommend this property

Liked: Everything is ok:)

Disliked: Nothing

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Kathryn Ezra

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2014

Liked: Breakfast was muesli, cereal, milk, rolls, various spreads, tea, & coffee. Good wifi in the lobby.

Disliked: Too few toilets and the bathrooms were not clean (lots of shredded toilet paper and sticky floors, toilets without sinks for hand washing). Most of the showers didn't seem to be working. I wasn't looking to get drunk so I felt excluded from the atmosphere.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

07 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap. Good vibe and atmosphere.

Disliked: Noisy. Bar is right below rooms. If you want to have a good night's sleep, stay somewhere else.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location: only fifteen minutes amble from the main square (Markt) along the canals. Great value: useful to have breakfast (muesli/cornflakes, bread rolls, tea/coffee, juice) included within the price. Good facilities within the hostel: quirky, well-stocked, average value bar with wi-fi and plenty of space to relax during the day; abundant bathroom/washroom facilities; useful 'pod' beds with curtains and individual lights, power sockets and lockers (bring your own padlock); luggage room. Good facilities nearby: launderette and supermarket both within five minute walk of the hostel.

Disliked: As with any hostel: the decor wasn't pristine, there were smelly areas (notably the stairs) and it was, at times, noisy ... but some of those points relate to fellow guests, not just the hostel! Also, it would be nice if wi-fi was available throughout the whole hostel, not just in the bar, but it's no huge hardship to sit in the bar during the day (when it's quieter) and have a beer or two whilst catching up with online activities!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

PABLO COLANGELO

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway

01 April 2014 PABLO would recommend this property

Liked: Has a good atmosphere. As all the hostels of this chain the facilities are very clean, specially the toilets and showers. The bar is nice and you can't hear its noise from the rooms.

Disliked: A little bit far away from the main attractions. Brugge is small but you need to walk 15 minutes. The staff told me the check out was at 11 am. So I went to have breakfast and went back to the room at 10:30. I found out that actually the check out was at 10 am and the guy who changed the sheets throwed all my stuff to the floor. Not nice, you could have started with other beds. There were many complaining about the same thing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samuel Macias

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 March 2014 Samuel would recommend this property

Liked: The ambience and the staff are very friendly !! The location was also really good, safe and the price for what you get is so worth it !!! 100% recommended

Disliked: Mmmm can't think of anything really

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sara Hall

With friends / other travellers

City break

16 March 2014 Sara would recommend this property

Liked: Location, staff was amazing. Pod beds were also helpful in creating a private atmosphere.

Disliked: Only two showers per hallway. Was not a problem for this trip, but could be during busy summer months.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Margaret Lloyd

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 March 2014 Margaret would recommend this property

Liked: The pod beds are great for a bit of privacy. The hostel is in a great location.

Disliked: The room did not need a key, it was unlocked all the time. There's no wifi in the room. I wouldn't mind except that the only common room is the bar, and it's hard to make Skype calls when the bar is pumping.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kayla Brown

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2014 Kayla would recommend this property

Liked: I liked how they really encouraged the people staying at the hostel to have fun and do things together. I made some great friends there that I'm still in contact with all because of the free walking tour and the bar crawl. This was by far the best, most fun hostel I've stayed in.

Disliked: There was nothing I disliked about this property.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The downstairs area was great and very comfortable! and great location!

Disliked: no complaints!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: free wi-fi, beds with individual lights and curtains, large room, bar and free breakfast

Disliked: room key card, first it was difficult to open the room with it, next day it stopped opening the room at all, if i was travelling alone, it would be a problem, cause you cannot enter the room other way and need to stand in the corridor waiting for someone to go out. other guys from our room also could not open the door with their card, so maybe it was general problem with the door. Showers and toilets are in the same separate room and no deviation between men and women showers, which can be a bit awkward too.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Fernando Marinho

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 February 2014 Fernando would recommend this property

Liked: nice place in general

Disliked: no kitchen

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great bar/common room downstairs. All staff friendly and helpful. Beds with curtains.

Disliked: The whole building next to the bar/reception (where my room was) smelled of old toilets. Especially the stairs. It was clean everywhere. Somehow just smells. But if you are out drinking till late and need a place to crash for a few hours, it's not a big problem.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Schuyler Laparle

Alone

City break

17 January 2014 Schuyler would recommend this property

Liked: Not only was this a great hostel, the reception are also happens to be the best bar in town. The hostel is located within the center of Brugge, but about a 15 minute walk from the 'real' center, with all the shopping and sight-seeing. Not being too much to do in Brugge, I had a great time walking around in the day and hanging out in the downstairs bar for most of the night. Great bar, great atmosphere, great people. Oh, and very comfy beds.

Disliked: The only negative bit I could possibly say about this hostel was its lack of a kitchen for guests. I ate out during my stay, but it could be inconvenient for some travelers.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

13 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a twin room which was alright, but nothing special with a sink inside. Really enjoyed the bar downstairs with a great atmosphere and a nice selection of beers. Just lovely. Also a nice free breakfast. Overall it was nice and will look for the same brand in other cities.

Disliked: Very small toilet cubicles. Also they could be cleaner.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mariana Díaz Bustamante

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 January 2014 Mariana would recommend this property

Liked: Excepto la parte que no tiene cocina, lo demás excelente.

Disliked: Sumaria una cocina para que los huéspedes puedan cocinar su propia comida.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: helpful and friendly staff, cool building & bar (where the reception is). the environment is encouraging for meeting new people.

Disliked: 1. hair dryer is chained in the room, no hair dryer in the bathroom. can't use it when others are sleeping. 2. Wifi only available at the ground floor(also a bar), but on the other hand, create more chance to meet new friends. 3. no lift!!! stairs are narrow and long.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

eric wijnacker

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

02 January 2014 eric would recommend this property

Liked: Just good, great bar downstairs. Probably best bar to party in bruges. Dont go to bruges to party though

Disliked: Dnnd

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

SOFIA ALEJANDRA GARCIA PEREA

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 December 2013 SOFIA ALEJANDRA would recommend this property

Liked: I Really enjoy the time here, the rooms are clean and also the beds... Are modern have own light for each bed so you don't disturb other people and have your own connectors for devices.. Is near from the centre and good places to go out... The people here are mostly gentle (not all the staff but most of them are very kind!) the bar is good and the breakfast is pretty good also

Disliked: The showers are sometimes dirty... The staff I think they only clean one time per day so at the end of the day are pretty bad /: they doesn't have wire connectors in common areas ... Sometimes the wifi doesn't work (there's only wifi in the reception and bar)

The property's response is...


See all Bruges hostels
See all Bruges hotels