HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Bruges hostels
See all Bruges hotels

Reviews of Lybeers Travellers' Hostel

Hostel | Korte Vuldersstraat 31, Bruges, Belgium 8000

85.0% Overall Rating

742 out of 818 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/07/2014)

"Beautiful hostel on a quiet street but close to one of the main roads. They offer a free tour and organize happy hours. The hostel was recently updated. Unfortunately they could not add in a lift."

Read all Lybeers Travellers' Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Communal kitchen

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bruges?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bruges

Hostel and Gran Kaffee De Passage
33.58 USD

Hostel 77.6% 898 reviews
Hotel Flats Leopold
51.05 USD

Hotel 2 star 91.0% 258 reviews
BRUGES INN CENTER
33.58 USD

Hostel 66.7% 31 reviews
Hotel t'Zand
73.89 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel De Goezeput
53.73 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.9% 3 reviews
Hotel Het Gheestelic Hof
60.45 USD

Hotel 3 star 86.7% 3 reviews
Floris Karos
117.54 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Snuffel Backpacker Hostel
22.84 USD

Hostel 80.9% 488 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.0%

Overall Rating

742 out of 818 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Lybeers Travellers' Hostel'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
76.0%
Value
86.4%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 559 of 598 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 22 | 23   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful hostel on a quiet street but close to one of the main roads. They offer a free tour and organize happy hours. The hostel was recently updated. Unfortunately they could not add in a lift.

Disliked: No lift. And honestly our 6 bed dorm room should not have had 6 beds in it. There was not enough room for 2 people to walk between beds. There should have only been 4 in that room. There aren't enough showers or toilets for the amount of beds/people

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Deniz Berk Bekar

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2014 Deniz Berk would recommend this property

Liked: Good place to meet people

Disliked: They didn't have proper lockers

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Josh Marsden

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

17 July 2014 Josh would recommend this property

Liked: Great location nice rooms, cheap beer. The building is nice. Good shower.

Disliked: I spoke to two staff members who were both a quite rude. There were cables hanging out of the walls in the room looked like they were about to have some lamps installed but hadnt yet. There were no curtains in the room for some reason. The handrail of the staircase needs repairing as its broken and possibly dangerous. No toiletroll in toilet.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

15 July 2014

Liked: In heart of historic centre, 15 min walk from train station, wifi in room worked well, kitchen facilities available but only 1 smaill table for everyone in hostel to eat at, plus kitchen area doesn't open till 8:30 - 9 am

Disliked: Staff suck -- rude, unhelpful. Plus they seem obsessed with people not eating/storing food/drinks in rooms -- signs everywhere warning of penalty fines -- which is cool if the kitchen was actually open & available early in the morning for breakfast AND had enough space for people to actually eat at. Construction was going on directly next to my room so avoided staying ithere till they left after 7 pm. Not sure the construction will ever be completed given the fact that the workers spent the vast majority of time smoking cigarettes on the balcony looking into the window of my room -- so much for privacy. Also my room had no curtains or blinds so there was no way of keeping the workers from looking in or blocking the street lights at night. Also no hooks in the room for hanging clothes/towels -- wtf? Overall felt very unwelcome at this hostel as if my being there was an inconvenience to them. Other guests I spoke with felt the same way so it's not just me.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was very good with a short walk to the Markt and Burg. Staff was friendly, bar was nice with super cheap beers. The entire place was clean and relatively quiet (for a hostel). Renovation works been going on so it's nice to see people respect the customers by not feeling too complacent.

Disliked: Nothing to say

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Toby Pearson

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2014 Toby would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and although under construction, it was quiet and I didn't find myself needing anything they didn't provide. It will be fantastic when the construction is done... I wish I could be around to see it

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aldo De Benedetis

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

04 June 2014 Aldo would recommend this property

Liked: Absolut perfect

Disliked: Perfect

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jack Hine

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 June 2014 Jack would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice looking place, within an easy walk of everything, very clean, good showers (a rarity)

Disliked: No lockers in the room

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, clean modern showers, good atmosphere

Disliked: No lift, no lockers in rooms

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2014

Liked: It is extremely well located. The lounge area is also quite nice. The bathrooms are also very nice and clean.

Disliked: The staff were poor - not once when I went to reception was someone available. They were either not at reception or having a cigarette and I would have to stand and wait while they finished. Only one staff member (I think he was English) who was very helpful and friendly. The hostel is very pokey, so rooms are therefore roasting hot. There were no towels available as promised. My biggest issue was that there was no security box either at reception or in the room. There had been robberies the day before and therefore I had to carry all of valuables around with me. Having safety deposit boxes is a pretty standard requirement for a hostel. All in not the best hostel I have stayed in.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

narong sinlapascran

Alone

City break

24 May 2014 narong would recommend this property

Liked: affordable single room price in great location midway between train station and market square.

Disliked: Staff start to work at 8.30 am. If you want to contact out of service hour,you cannot contact them at all. I see someone in emergency condition cannot contact anyone by using 2 telephone numbers they post at reception. So if there is really serious emergency,nobody can't help you at all.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Patricia Brandao

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2014 Patricia would recommend this property

Liked: very good location; good conditions as it has been renovated recently.

Disliked: not enough showers/WC for busy times; dodgy stairs; lack of kitchen area.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lisa Bickley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 May 2014 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: Nice dorms and bathrooms. Very clean! Nice common room.

Disliked: There was no lockers under the bunks to store your bags but other than that I can't fault anything about the hostel. It will be perfect once the kitchen and free breakfast is back up and running!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christine Popowich

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 May 2014 Christine would recommend this property

Liked: Staff kind and helpful, free coffee and tea all day. Rooms clean and good size. Good showers and toilets. Overall would 100% recommend! Bruges is an amazing city - stay here!

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed 2 nights. Was easy to find and rooms were clean and comfortable. Stayed in a 4 bed and 12 bed. Worth paying a little more for the 4 bed with ensuite. Guy on the front counter was pleasant enough. Bathrooms were clean. Pretty much everything you need for a short stay.

Disliked: Had to scan a copy of there maps, which were a little difficult to read, not a big deal but this was a little strange seeing how organised and good the hostel set up was.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

David Petterson

With friends / other travellers

City break

29 April 2014

Liked: Location

Disliked: Upon doing a charity bike ride from Calais to Amsterdam we thought we'd stop off in the beautiful city of Bruges and chose this hostel because of it's location, private room and the fact it was advertised as newly decorated and furnished. I have traveled the world and always used hostels due to their friendly atmosphere and I can honestly say that this hostel had the most unfriendly staff I have yet to encounter. Upon arrival we were met by a number sitting outside smoking. No harm in itself, however they never identified themselves until we were shouted at to open the door carefully otherwise we would be paying for damages! Bearing in mind there was no hello, we were tired from our cycle and we weren't near a door this had taken us by surprise. They appeared extremely cocky and unwelcoming. Next they demanded a deposit for the key and said in an unfriendly tone that we would not be getting it back if we lost it. The newly furnished private room that we booked had a horrible smell that can only be described as damp mixed with something that had died. There are passive aggressive signs everywhere warning you that calling any staff after hours will land you in trouble ( again adding to this whole unfriendly atmosphere) Be warned the stairs are very steep if you have a large bag or any trouble walking. In addition the common room was very dirty as was the kitchen. In conclusion good luck if you want to stay here and only do so as a last resort Oh and not even a bie as we left :(

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Bugs

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Larissa Hodgkins

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2014 Larissa would recommend this property

Liked: Overall it was a great experience. Good room size and very clean. The common room was warm, inviting a d full of atmosphere. Bathrooms were again a good size and very good quality.

Disliked: My only dislike was the buildimg work going on during our stay. But this wasn't too bad, and when finished the hostel will pretty much be perfect.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Catherine Haenlein

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

31 March 2014 Catherine would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent hostel. Very comfy beds, good bedding, clean rooms and showers, very helpful staff, excellent location, highly recommended.

Disliked: Nothing, everything was great.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The girl at the reception was really friendly and helpful. The room, the showers and the toilets are all very clean.

Disliked: We lived in the third floor but there was no lift

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location is near the center of the town. the hostel is newly renovated and still is for some parts, coz all the rooms and floors are new and very cozy.

Disliked: Not sure if the kitchen was down due to the renovation or simply there hasn't, we have to dine out the wifi is only working on the ground floor

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chris Wilkinson

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

26 February 2014 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: The recently renovated rooms were brilliant!

Disliked: Not the whole build had finished its renovation.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Muhammad Fathullah Bin Mohamed Harun

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 February 2014 Muhammad Fathullah would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel has been newly renovated (though some parts are still under renovation), so its interior is beautiful and some facilities are new. The location is pretty good and the staff are generally friendly.

Disliked: When we were there, the internet was really patchy - only the first level had connection and even then it wasnt available all the time

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location and staff were great, we had a great time in the hostel

Disliked: The number of showers is limited still due to construction work

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Viktoriia Fofanova

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 November 2013 Viktoriia would recommend this property

Liked: Everything: location, staff, rooms

Disliked: Steep stairs


See all Bruges hostels
See all Bruges hotels