HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Bruges hostels
See all Bruges hotels

Reviews of Charlie Rockets

Hostel | Hoogstraat 19, West-Vlaanderen, Bruges, Belgium 8000

68.7% Overall Rating

155 out of 212 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/01/2014)

Carolina Sanches thinks…

"The atmosphere is great! The first floor of the hostel is like a pub. The location couldn't be better."

Read all Charlie Rockets reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 3.96
  • Towel USD 1.32

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bruges?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bruges

Hotel Bryghia
65.96 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.9% 9 reviews
Jacobs Hotel
44.59 USD

Hotel 3 star 88.3% 47 reviews
Hotel Europ
45.84 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.0% 3 reviews
Hotel Rosenburg
118.73 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Hotel Het Gheestelic Hof
59.37 USD

Hotel 3 star 86.7% 3 reviews
St Christopher's Inn-Bauhaus Hostel
22.43 USD

Hostel 81.1% 1340 reviews
St Christopher's Inn-Bauhaus Budget Hotel
42.22 USD

Hotel 1 star 84.6% 370 reviews
Hotel De Goezeput
65.96 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.9% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
68.7%

Overall Rating

155 out of 212 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Charlie Rockets'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
57.6%
Cleanliness
58.4%
Staff
72.0%
Value
63.2%
Safety
62.4%
Refine your results Showing 118 of 143 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Carolina Sanches

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2014 Carolina would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere is great! The first floor of the hostel is like a pub. The location couldn't be better.

Disliked: The security was a big problem. My key never opened the door of my room. Always that I left the hostel I had had to let my room opened. Fortunately, I hadn't no problems.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 December 2013

Liked: excellent location.

Disliked: one really helpful staff member. under the beds was old food and wrappers so rooms obviously hadn't been cleaned thoroughly for awhile. shared bathrooms nowhere to really hang clothes. wastebins in bathrooms overflowed. and if you came out of room in the middle of the night no lights were on in hall. in the middle of the hall part way down was a raised step for a few metres, but with no lights on, you tripped over it.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Bar downstairs is a great place to meet. The staff is really nice. You should definitely do the Free tour offered at the Hostel it's great.

Disliked: The fact that there is a Bar downstairs that serves as a common room does also mean that there is no "normal" common room where you could eat your own food and drink your own drinks.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

maria gheggi

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2012 maria would recommend this property

Liked: La calidad del personal, el chico de ojos azules!. El bar esta bien decorado y es barato. Las camas eran comodas, con acolchados suaves. La ubicacion mejor imposible, a dos cuadras de la zona central.

Disliked: maria left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday

04 August 2012

Liked: Great location

Disliked: There are no fridges so you cannot stay here on much of a budget. The hostel has a vibe that encourages money to be spent there. The rooms are just above the bar, the sound reflects off the building across the road and goes straight into the room. I stayed there for 4 nights and there was not one night where I had a good night sleep, the noise was just horrendous.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Lisa Buckmaster

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2012 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: Beds are really comfortable and the location is great. I was a bit hesitant to stay here after reading dome of the negative reviews, but it was fine.

Disliked: The stairs are fine, but I would have preferred a hand rail. The motion-sensing light in the hallway doesn't always come on. They say that they don't accommodate kids but there were several large groups of children staying there. The noise from the bar can be disruptive if you are a light sleeper.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Mohit Bhatia

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 June 2012 Mohit would recommend this property

Liked: Room was nice.Location was good.Corridor could have been better. I had nice roommates too.so no safety worries

Disliked: Mohit left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Jane Phillips

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals

03 January 2012 Jane would recommend this property

Liked: Good Location, central.

Disliked: No lockers in the rooms. No way of turning the heating down.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 November 2011

Liked: The bar was decent, which was basically the only thing. I would never recommend this as a place to spend the night.

Disliked: We found bed bugs in our room!!! The room looked like it hadn't been cleaned in i don't know how long.. We told the 'staff' and he gave us new sheets and didn't offer to change our room... needless to say we woke up with bites on us. The showers were the worst I've experienced in all of Europe, mould and poor ventilation, and a very bad timed push button that would only stay on for a few seconds. The staff were not friendly, spent most of the time behind the bar texting while guests waited for service. Do not stay here!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Rasell

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2011 James would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent atmosphere and bar which makes this a great place to meet other travelers. The rooms are comfortable and the showers are pretty decent. I would defiantly recommend this hostel to anyone visiting Bruges.

Disliked: Nothing.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Stallone Valadares

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 September 2011 Stallone would recommend this property

Liked: Nice vibe.. The bar is a great place to hangout.

Disliked: The shower, not very clean. but not bad

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Julia Mewes

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2011 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice atmosphere, nice pub downstairs.

Disliked: We had to sleep with in a room with 2 homeless people. Reception was unable to do anything about it. Very disgusting smell!!!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Fabrianna Natasha Pudjiadi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2011 Fabrianna Natasha would recommend this property

Liked: very young spirit and very good location, very good for backpackers, the bed was good

Disliked: bathroom was a bit dirty

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2011

Liked: no

Disliked: the checking woman was not friendly totally. the shower system is terrible. the room are very bad design. dead air if u close the window. the pub is very noisy. the street are super noisy.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and very helpful staff. Dorm rooms are comfy and quiet too.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, helpful staff, bar right in the common room, clean rooms.

Disliked: The only bad thing was that even though they had a wireless network, they didn't have an actual computer to use. This is a tiny picky point, I know, but I needed to call the states via skype and the skype mobile app sucks. Other than that, top rate place.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Milosz Chojnacki

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2011 Milosz would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: nothing

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2011

Liked: N/A

Disliked: BED BUGS!!! I left the hostel with all these itchy red marks on my arms and back...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is adjoint to a really nice bar! also, they upgraded our room from a 6-person dorm to a 4-person dorm without extra charge :)

Disliked: for the showers, you have to continually press on the knob for water to flow -- but it wasn't too bad

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the bar.

Disliked: The shower was incredibly hot and you could not adjust the temperature.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Louise Fitzgerald

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2011 Louise would recommend this property

Liked: walking distance to everything.

Disliked: Very noisy at night. Only 1 key given per room. My sister slept on a bed that was broken the first night - fixed the next day but suspect it may have been broken for some time. Broken part propped up by a box of serviettes.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

daniela arpon

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2011 daniela would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: shower and restroom werent nice, they were dirty

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2011

Liked: the location and the bar downstairs.

Disliked: the staff is working the bar so they take a long time to help you with your check in. even though I said the bar is good, it´s also bad if you need to get up early. We left the hostel at 5 am and the door to leave the hostel was locked, (wich to me is a safety hazard) and we spent a lot of time searching the hostel for another exit because there weren´t any signs.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great place great atmosphere

Disliked: Don't know the breakfast included or not..

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Erika Hernandez

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 February 2011

Liked: The location and the fees.

Disliked: It was so noisy at night because of the bar downstairs, and the door didn`t lock. The room was really dirty when I got there but the next day was good,perfectly clean.


See all Bruges hostels
See all Bruges hotels