HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Bruges hostels
See all Bruges hotels

Reviews of Snuffel Backpacker Hostel

Hostel | Ezelstraat 47-49, Brugge, Flanders B-8000, Bruges, Belgium B-8000

80.9% Overall Rating

421 out of 488 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/07/2014)

"Snuffle was a great place to stay! I really enjoyed the free walking tour that left at 3 from the hostel. It was an excellent way to see the city immediately upon arriving. Breakfast was nice and stayed open till 10. It…"

Read all Snuffel Backpacker Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.34

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that once your booking is made, you will need to contact the property to inform them of your nationality. You will find their contact details on your booking confirmation. Reception is open from 8am till 12pm.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bruges?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bruges

Hotel Europ
46.68 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Floris Karos
117.54 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
BRUGES INN CENTER
33.58 USD

Hostel 66.7% 31 reviews
Hotel Bryghia
67.17 USD

Hotel 3 star 80.0% 8 reviews
Hostel and Gran Kaffee De Passage
33.58 USD

Hostel 77.6% 898 reviews
Lybeers Travellers' Hostel
32.24 USD

Hostel 85.0% 818 reviews
Jacobs Hotel
48.09 USD

Hotel 3 star 88.3% 47 reviews
Hotel Flats Leopold
51.05 USD

Hotel 2 star 91.0% 258 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.9%

Overall Rating

421 out of 488 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Snuffel Backpacker Hostel'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
70.4%
Cleanliness
75.2%
Staff
88.8%
Value
81.6%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 346 of 398 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

David Brown

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2014 David would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful, location was good, great atmosphere.

Disliked: Nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Alexander Cowen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2014 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere in the bar and kitchen and all facilities needed.

Disliked: A bit annoying that the showers are in a separate room which you have to walk through the bar and kitchen to get to.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Snuffle was a great place to stay! I really enjoyed the free walking tour that left at 3 from the hostel. It was an excellent way to see the city immediately upon arriving. Breakfast was nice and stayed open till 10. It was an easy walk to the city center. Great atmosphere in the bar/dining area.

Disliked: There weren't lockers for our bags but we felt fine about our stuff. Wifi only worked downstairs and was in and out at times. Our room smelled kind of, but I think that was mostly from people's shoes .

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good kitchen.

Disliked: Shower room need walk pass pub.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2014

Liked: it was waterproof

Disliked: i've been travelling for over 7 months and this hostel was very run down. staff not overly helpful. asked if they could recommend somewhere for dinner... response was 'if you head into town you'll start seeing restaurants'... at over priced prices.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Rachael Gordon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 June 2014 Rachael would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast and location.

Disliked: Toilet didnt flush upstairs

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed this hostel! I'll be honest, I first chose it for the name, it's just cute. The hostel was great. The room was up some pretty windy steep stairs and the beds were a bit old, but it was cosy. The kitchen and bathrooms were clean. The showers were not good. I was only here for one night so I skipped that experience. The main room was nice and the bar was cool. Locals were allowed in too which I liked, so I could get to know some locals and ask questions. There was a very cheap happy hour and heaps of Belgian beers that I got to try! The receptionist/bar tender was very nice and friendly. Since I was travelling on my own it was nice to have a staff member be friendly and introduce me to some locals to chat with. It's a good location as well, only a minute or two from the main part of town

Disliked: The only thing I disliked was the look of the showers. Some people may not like the fact that the Hostel Bar is public or lively every night.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the happy hour and the bar area. The atmosphere is awesome to know people, and staff are nice

Disliked: the bathroom has to pass through all the way of the bar, that is impossible if i want to take a shower but in the peak hour of the bar, means in the night time. The shower is not handy, have to keep pulling the chain so that the water comes, but difficult to take a shower with one hand occupied, and there is no door, just curtains, and not gender separated

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Laid-back hostel with friendly staff. The common area is a great place to kick back and have a beer with fellow travellers. The free breakfast is pretty decent, too. The property is a bit run down/old but still pretty clean. I stayed three nights in the 16bed mixed dorm in March, and had the room practically to myself. Make sure to pick up the free city guides at reception!

Disliked: god-awful pilows & sketchy wifi.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leanna Dann

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 February 2014 Leanna would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed the atmosphere inside the hostel. It had a very cozy and alternative environment. The hostel had a variety of boardgames to choose from, which was perfect for travelers to get to know one another and sip on a 1euro happy hour beer!

Disliked: Stairs to the 2nd floor did not seem very sturdy.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, friendly staff

Disliked: kitchen

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Erin Ireland

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 January 2014 Erin would recommend this property

Liked: I absolutely loved staying here. I loved the laid back vibe from not only the workers but the people staying in the hostel as well. I met many new friends because of the bar attached and enjoyed the tours , maps and breakfast the hostel had to offered. Thanks so much Snuffel!

Disliked: The kitchen is right next to the bar so it can get noisy cooking dinner at 9, however, happy hour beers are only one euro so I'll take the noise level for being able to have a euro beer while I cook.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is quirky and if it works for you is a great base for exploring Bruges, particularly thanks to it's location!

Disliked: Sharing one toilet with no sink with approx. 20 people is not ideal. The dorm rooms are very cramped.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bruno Phillip Alves da Silva

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

27 December 2013 Bruno Phillip would recommend this property

Liked: It was one of the best hostel that I ever had. The staff are very frindly and helpful. We could enjoy one live show at night inside of hostel and also they have "happy hour" where u can buy beer for €1 and socialise with others visitors.It is really very good hostel ;)

Disliked: Bruno Phillip left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 December 2013

Liked: Awesome staff, great location, super cool atmosphere with locals frequenting the bar as well as travellers. Everyone friendly, free breakky and wifi. I'd 100% recommend except for one thing. See below...

Disliked: THE SHOWERS!!!! Walking through the bar and garden is annoying, but I get that, you can't change the location. What you can change is privacy, hot water, and the stupid pull chains!! Girls do NOT WANT a curtain that flaps open with boys walking in. Please get some doors. We also don't want cool water in the Belgium winter or pulling a chain with 1 hand trying to 1 handed wash shampoo out of our hair. With cold water. While boys walk by and the curtain flaps open. It's not acceptable. Please do something about the showers. Otherwise your hostel is great.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 November 2013

Liked: Location -- near the market place in Bruges.

Disliked: I've stayed at hostels throughout Europe, and really disliked this property; I changed hostels for my second night in Bruges. The property itself is in poor repair (I felt very unsafe on the stairs -- treacherous if you have a suitcase with you!) One WC per floor that is very gross and not cleaned very well. To get to the shower you must walk through the bar and outside - very inconvenient. I slept very poorly since the noise from the bar downstairs is very loud. Would not recommend, since for the same price of a stay you can be in a nicer, cleaner place.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

15 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean in the room

Disliked: share bathrooms

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location; friendliness of check-in; breakfast included

Disliked: to get to the showers from your room you have to go through the bar and outside to the building out the back - not great to do when the bar is raging; no locker facilities in room; minimal powerpoints available

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location (only 10 minutes from the centre), cheap beer, friendly atmosphere. Staff was helpful at giving advice and helping people with a variety of travel-related questions, from restaurant recommendations to finding specific trains. You have to go to the building behind the main building for the showers but that was fine. Included a decent breakfast, which is good when you have an early start to the morning!

Disliked: You have a bed assigned to you instead of being able to choose one, which is fine, just a little annoying when you're the first person to arrive in a dorm and you get stuck on the top bunk! Otherwise, a very nice hostel.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zoltan Attila Toth

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2013 Zoltan Attila would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly

Disliked: Zoltan Attila left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Erik Andersson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2013 Erik would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere is superb. It feels Belgian and not like the big hostel chains without personality.

Disliked: No lockers in the rooms and the shower on the other side of the building.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chris McDonald

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2013 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: The bar was awesome, very friendly staff, one night he took us out with his local friends which was cool. Actually really liked the pull chain showers, it was quirky and different, much like the feel of the hostel.

Disliked: The scary creaky stair up to the room :O

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Phantira Waranukrohchok

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 August 2013

Liked: The staff was very nice and I loved the free walking tour.

Disliked: The bar downstairs was so loud. I could not get any sleep and the room was packed. I felt claustrophobic. There was no shower on the floor so i had to climb downstairs walking through the bar to take a shower. The breakfast was good.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place and atmosphere

Disliked: Some rooms have no direct access to the corridor, so you have to pass through other people's room

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2013

Liked: the stuff

Disliked: not safe, not comfortable


See all Bruges hostels
See all Bruges hotels