We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Vienna hostels
See all Vienna hotels

Reviews of A&O Wien Hauptbahnhof

Hostel | Sonnwendgasse 11, Vienna, Austria 1100

78.4% Overall Rating

114 out of 144 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/08/2015)

Shyam Gaurav Ramesh thinks…

"It was very clean and well managed hostel. I would recommend all my friends who are visiting vienna to stay at this particular hostel."

Read all A&O Wien Hauptbahnhof reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Late check-out
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.73
  • Linen USD 3.37
  • Towel USD 1.12

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Important Information

Bed linen for Dorms: 3,- € | (from 01.07.2014: 3,50 €) Breakfast: 6,- € | (from 01.07.2014: 7,- €) Credit card fee( for final costs under 200,- €) : 2,95 € Late Check Out: 7,50 €

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Vienna?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Vienna

MEININGER Vienna Central Station
14.58 USD

Hostel 88.6% 1066 reviews
Birg-Cyrus
18.51 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.3% 212 reviews
Vienna City Hostel
18.51 USD

Hostel 76.5% 494 reviews
Hostel 4
21.31 USD

Hostel 80.9% 57 reviews
A&T Holiday Hostel
19.07 USD

Hostel 84.2% 97 reviews
AllYouNeed Hotel Vienna4***
32.53 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Carlton Opera
39.26 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.0% 31 reviews
Hotel Drei Kronen Vienna City
58.90 USD

Hotel 3 star 85.7% 6 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.4%

Overall Rating

114 out of 144 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'A&O Wien Hauptbahnhof'

Atmosphere
71.2%
Location
79.2%
Facilities
81.6%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
68.8%
Value
84.0%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 93 of 141 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 August 2015

Liked: Sky bar

Disliked: No A/C Small rooms

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Shyam Gaurav Ramesh

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2015 Shyam Gaurav would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean and well managed hostel. I would recommend all my friends who are visiting vienna to stay at this particular hostel.

Disliked: In summer the rooms are really hot especially at night. The temperature in room should have maintained a little.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Wouter Radstake

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 August 2015

Liked: It is situated by 400 meters of the train station. Walking towards the city is 25-40 minutes. You can go by metro for 2,20 euro single trip.

Disliked: There is no Wifi in the room only downstairs. We were unfortunately on my stay that it was compleetly down. It was not really clean. Water was flowing in the shower about 10 cm. The staff were not very helpfull about the everything like were to go. I would not go here if you realy want to meet people. Large numbers of schoolchilderen (schooltrip).

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Jenny Doan

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 August 2015

Liked: The room was spacious and there were cabinets in the room to store luggage. Our room and bathroom were cleaned daily too.

Disliked: The building is extremely hot in the evening, our room was on the second level and it was warmer inside the room than outdoors. There was no air conditioning or a fan in the room so we were very uncomfortable and couldn't sleep very well.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms and bathrooms. Safe. Close to u-bahn and also walkable to city centre (couple km).

Disliked: Verrryyy big so it kind of lacks an atmosphere. You have to pay for bedding… but some people lie and say they have bedding already so a lot of people sleep on the pillows and bed without any covers which is kind of gross.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Marcin Wilk

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family

20 August 2015

Liked: Location - near by the train station.

Disliked: Problem with internet. Unmentioned charge for a linen.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2015

Liked: Near the metro station.

Disliked: so hot inside the room and hard to sleep at night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joanna Adamowicz

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2015 Joanna would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere, helpful staff and location.

Disliked: everything was great

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2015

Liked: -

Disliked: I didn't like the whole atmosphere. You had to pay for everything extra. There was a kitchen for backpackers, but it was the worst. The rooms had no aircondition and where really hot even at night. It was just no good value for money!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

14 August 2015

Liked: Bathroom in room, was clean. TV in room. Quite cheap for Vienna.

Disliked: So hot in rooms. Unbearable. In the lobby, it was the same. Would not stay here again in the summer. Need fans in the room and in the lobby. Sky bar closed early. Linen is an absolute rip off at €3.50 and because of that, people in our dorm weren't using it, sleeping directly on the (plastic covered) mattress - very unhygienic

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place was really clean. The location was perfect for interrailers, because it was so close to the main station.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to the train station

Disliked: bar should be open longer

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Dean Weir

With my spouse / partner

City break

13 August 2015 Dean would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were friendly and helpful. Close to public transport hub. Quiet area.

Disliked: Stayed 3 nights. Fire alarm sounded throughout hotel on 2 nights and hotel evacuated by fire brigade. Not nice walking from 5th floor at 3 am and 4 am in middle of night during heatwave. No air conditioning. bed pillow like a giant marshmallow.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent value for money near main train station easy to get to

Disliked: Only problem was not in centre but metro was fantastic and open 24hours

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

10 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Biliard and the dimension of the room

Disliked: Queue at the reception is sometimes too long

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

youssef beih

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2015 youssef would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms

Disliked: Nth

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alicia Grgurovic

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2015 Alicia would recommend this property

Liked: Room was was spacious, Bathroom Facilities such as Hand Wash and Soap were supplied which was great!

Disliked: Nothing, best Hostel to stay in yet!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Reza Matouri

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 August 2015 Reza would recommend this property

Liked: N/A

Disliked: Stuff unfriendliness

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a nice place to stay for the nights.

Disliked: The kitchen was not the best - no equipment, you had to leave a 20Euro deposit to use the equipment and bring it back 'clean', but there was no dishwashing liquid (!) The free wifi was also really slow

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place is really big with supposedly 1,050 beds, which means it doesn't have the cozy feel of a friendly hostel. The rooms are spacious with large lockers. It is super close to the train station. The hostel needs to update the directions online of how to get to it because that part was a little confusing. Wifi is free, there's a coffee machine and just about everything you can think of. Be prepared to pay for sheets, towels, an additional fee for not being a member and 2.95 euro if you plan to pay by card.

Disliked: There is a constant wait in the lobby for help from the staff. The staff members are unfriendly and not very helpful.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jordana Lewis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2015 Jordana would recommend this property

Liked: Great location near the main train line

Disliked: Jordana left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa

07 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: LOcation is very close to Wien Hbf,

Disliked: Was placed in a all female room by mistake and had to be moved to another room because of the check in personnel's problem.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break

22 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Near the railway station

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Mate Anticevic

With friends / other travellers

City break

04 May 2015 Mate would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanest hostel I've ever been in.

Disliked: Paying for linen is not very nice.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: near the central station and close to supermarket, good price

Disliked: When I arrived at my room I found piles of dust on the floor. The next day when the room service changed our bed linens they did not clean the dust until my roommate went down to reception and complained about it. The day I checked out, there were just one person at the reception who had to take care of everybody standing in line waiting to check out. When I asked to leave my baggage in the luggage room, the receptionist forgot to give me a number which serves as receipt to get into the luggage room. The service in this hostel during my stay period was quite clumsy I must say. Nevertheless, the personals are friendly.


See all Vienna hostels
See all Vienna hotels