HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Vienna hostels
See all Vienna hotels

Reviews of A&O Wien Hauptbahnhof

Hostel | Sonnwendgasse 11, Vienna, Austria 1100

76.9% Overall Rating

53 out of 71 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/01/2014)

Aleksandra Szymanska thinks…

"First of all it's really accessable from Karlsplatz. We didn't find any difficulties with finding it. It's also near to the Bus Station where we had our bus back to Warsaw :) The price is very good…"

Read all A&O Wien Hauptbahnhof reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Late check-out
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 8.29
  • Linen USD 4.15
  • Towel USD 1.38

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Vienna?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Vienna

MEININGER Vienna Central Station
22.11 USD

Hostel 92.1% 1005 reviews
Birg-Cyrus
25.11 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.9% 208 reviews
Vienna City Hostel
26.12 USD

Hostel 82.4% 461 reviews
Hostel 4
26.26 USD

Hostel 83.8% 49 reviews
A&T Holiday Hostel
31.79 USD

Hostel 81.7% 82 reviews
AllYouNeed Hotel Vienna4***
691.09 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Carlton Opera
48.38 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.7% 30 reviews
Hotel Drei Kronen Vienna City
72.56 USD

Hotel 3 star 94.3% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.9%

Overall Rating

53 out of 71 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'A&O Wien Hauptbahnhof'

Atmosphere
70.4%
Location
73.6%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
72.8%
Value
72.0%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 43 of 70 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Gregory Marshall

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2014

Liked: Not much.

Disliked: Long walk to TPT. Poor signage in terms of finding property. Staff are NOT friendly. Place is suited more for sports teams and school groups on trips, not adults or families.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Andrea Klug

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 March 2014 Andrea would recommend this property

Liked: Its good

Disliked: No

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Aleksandra Szymanska

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

23 January 2014 Aleksandra would recommend this property

Liked: First of all it's really accessable from Karlsplatz. We didn't find any difficulties with finding it. It's also near to the Bus Station where we had our bus back to Warsaw :) The price is very good as for that kind of facility. We paid 10e for the first and 11e for the second night. Two nights before we spent in different hostel in Vienna but we didn't like literally nothing there. The second day we booked we got different room wich we didn't like. Sorry to tell but it smelled like old people and as we are young travellers we wanted to join some funny youth room. I asked for change at reception desk. A really nice guy said it's not a problem, he asked of course why we want to change and my answer was sufficient for him :) That was really nice :)

Disliked: Well some things just weren't OK. I'm working at a hostel in Warsaw myself and I know that everyone can be tired after some time of working with moany customers and picky travelleres but if you don't have enough patience to solve your customer's problems and you roll your eyes just because someone asked you a question that means maybe working at reception desk isn't a job for you. Girls who worked at reception were simply rude during every activity - beginning from answering questions about payment (btw. CHARGING FOR POSSIBILITY TO PAY BY CARD? Is it a bad joke?! You want me to pay so I can pay for my stay? WTF?) and menu, finishing on lack of ability to give any advices. Really I would say that the hostel is superclean, there's no doubt about it, very comfy and modern. But it lacks some personality mainly because of the stuff (Guys were nice and one of them who checked us in for the first night even laught at my bad joke abut invisible friend. That's cool).

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

04 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was friendly,helpful and polite! Lots of travellers to interact with or keep your stay private...

Disliked: It does not have parking, but you can find some nearby. WiFi is only in lobby or you have to pay...

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 December 2013

Liked: Easy to find space during Christmas season.

Disliked: Wifi in lobby only and was not working too well. Lots of kids running around so not your typical hostel, kids under a certain age are free so lots of bigger families. Staff was not too concerned with cleaning rooms to be ready when checking arrived. Very bland atmosphere not hostel like to talk to people.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tolmasbek Boltayev

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

09 December 2013 Tolmasbek would recommend this property

Liked: It has fresh and new facilities. It is between hostel and hotel. More than hostel

Disliked: At the beginning it was difficult to find place because it is located in the back side of the street. But once u know the place it is very convinient to use local Ubahn.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Place was obviosly new, rooms were clean, so were common areas. Everything was functional, sanitaries were nice, common lobby was good. Even prices in lobby bar were quite good, depending on location of hotel

Disliked: For the time stayin, no faulty points.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2013

Liked: Very clean room and restrooms. Free wifi is fast enough as a free one. Close to the main metro, Line 1; you can get to Südtiroler Platz station and Keplerplatz station by 7-8 min. walking. A bank is close to Keplerplatz station, thus you can easily withdraw cash.

Disliked: Need to buy Linen and towel. charge EUR2.95 to each credit card transaction. Drink at a bar is really expensive.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Meredith Guigli

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2013 Meredith would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and the staff helped us find the sites we want to see. It is a nice place to stay including a bar in thel lobby. So convenient.

Disliked: I disliked that the WIFI is only free in the lobby, you have to pay for it to use it in your room.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Caglar Ekinci

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 September 2013 Caglar would recommend this property

Liked: Yerini bulmakta çok zorlandık ama ilk başta uzak gibi gelmesine rağmen metronun ve merkezin yakınında güzel bir yer.Ayrıca temizlik ve odaları çok iyi

Disliked: Çarşafı bile ayrıca parayla satıyorlar.Çok saçma uygulama. Otopark içinde ücretleri çok yüksek.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2013

Liked: Excellent price, friendly staff, good luggage storage, spacious rooms, good showers, clean space.

Disliked: large and impersonal, location made public transit necessary always, maps of the city were terrible and no walking tours. Good for budget stay, bad for backpacking fun. Directions to get there talk about a name for the train station that no longer applies.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - clean + proper - everything was new - close to station / city centre - on average good help at the frontdesk

Disliked: - a lot of youngsters - a lot of noise - only wifi downstairs - some staff couldn't help me very well - very big, kind of a campus

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 September 2013

Liked: Room tidy

Disliked: The room was a family room not a hostel dorm. It had two beds together as a double and a set of bunks. A bit weird with a couple in there with you. The staff were unhelpful, unfriendly and even when four staff members were working at the counter I had to wait 5 minutes to get a beer. At morning check out a staff member was more asleep than we were. He mumbled when answering questions and when challenged about not being able to understand his answers he brushed it off as being tired and continued mumbling.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Richard Zellers

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2013 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: not expensive

Disliked: NO KITCHEN, NO MICROWAVE; and if you want to boil water for tea or coffee....you have to RENT the kettle.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: # Everything was clean and in order. The moment you enter the hostel you can feel the comfort. And I guess it was because of the cultural discipline similar to that of Germany. # I extended my stay for one more night after I checked in the hostel. The price went up 3 more euros than my first night, for which I booked through hostelbookers 2 weeks in advance and was quite reasonable. But in spite of that i was worth it. # You can get a locker for 5 euros for the cabinet in the room you sleep. And if you return it in good condition, you'll get 5 euros back. The cabinet was quite big. My cabin baggage fitted in perfectly, and there was even some more room for other stuff too. # Hey ladies; You can request to be placed in a female dorm if you want. And they are really helpful about this situation, too. But I guess they need to be informed beforehand, via mail is okay. In fact, this was the reason for me to choose this hostel. # There is luggage room you can use. You just need to request the key from the reception!

Disliked: # The "Free wifi" was not available everywhere in the hostel and the signal was weak. But I guess there was also another network that you have to pay if you want to use. # And keep in mind; if you don't have your OWN linen for the bed you HAVE TO pay, I guess 3 euros or something. Extra days don't mean you have to pay again. # The drainage in the bathroom was not working properly! This was the most annoying part. >_< Other than that everything was great!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Daniel Ross

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2013

Liked: Proximity to the main railway station. The all you can eat breakfast was really really good. The conditions of the hostel were impeccable, one of the cleanest hostels I've stayed in.

Disliked: No wifi in the rooms is slightly annoying but understandable given the size of the place. The night we checked in we were told we could ask for things to be stored in a fridge (as there's no guest kitchen) then the next day after we had bought food ready for our long train journey, we asked for it to be stored in the fridge to be told that it's not permitted so the food we bought just had to go in the bed as it was more than 30 degrees outside and almost the same in the hostel.. The windows are locked so they don't open fully. This would normally be okay but it was ridiculously hot when we stayed so we asked if they could unlock our window around 11pm so we could sleep. We were told that that was okay so long as everyone in the room had signed a form. This was a problem as one of the other people in our room was out and had been out all day and the other two people who the man said were due to arrive, clearly weren't ever going to arrive as the beds weren't made up and it was getting close to midnight. I explained both of these things to the receptionist to try and get him to see that it was about 30 degrees inside the room, we wanted to sleep and there was no way we could get the signature of the other person (let alone the two people who were magically supposed to arrive in our room). He just gave a sly smile and said 'sorry it's against regulations'. Regulations are fair, and good but when there are such extreme circumstances you need to rethink this stuff. It got to 2am and there was still no sign of any of the other people in the room by which point we still had had no sleep and were sticking to the bed with sweat. We went downstairs to request that the windows be open and I think the guy could see how distressed we were so he eventually came up and opened the window for us. The general customer service we received on this occasion was absolutely shocking.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast might seem expensive at 6 Euro's, but it's a buffet with everything you could need and you can fill up properly in the morning. The place is clean, looks newly refurbished, the staff know what they're doing, it's close to the train and Sudtirolerplatz bus station. Rooms are spacious and well equipped.

Disliked: Just the lack of a kitchen, but you have to bare in mind that it's also a hotel. Sadly this means that breakfast is overpopulated by people with their screaming brat kids, but that's not the hostel's fault.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Batuhan TA?DÖVEN

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 July 2013 Batuhan would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was well-located and easy to find it. It was close to 2 metro stations and 1 main street. The rooms were clean. Since it was really big hostel comparing to others that I have stayed, it made me feel safe and secure.

Disliked: While I was staying, there was an internet problem. I don't know what was the reason but that became annoying. Last thing, you have to pay for almost all extra features, keep in mind that.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Annemette Rasmussen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2013

Liked: Plenty of space in the dorms

Disliked: Bad atmosphere. It was more a money-machine than a place to live. They'll charge you for everything extra (almost 3euros for paying with credit card!?)

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 July 2013

Liked: It was clean, and there were some lovely people in our room.

Disliked: We were put in a room right next to a building site that woke us up at 6am. Luckily we were only staying one night, but one couple told us they'd been there for five days and the same thing had happened every morning. We knew there were empty rooms further away from the building site and even just for our one stay this would have been so much nicer. For the couple, who were there for a full-on holiday, it would have made so much difference. Also, although the room was cheap, we had to pay for everything even remotely extra - I've never had to pay for clean bedding before and even the free stuff - like WiFi - was poor quality.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

George Donnison Layton

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 July 2013

Liked: The only good thing was that the hostel was quite quiet so me and my buddy had a 6 person room to ourselves everything else was poor!

Disliked: The staff, in particular one member of staff Julia who was very rude to me and my friends. She made our stay very unpleasant and the other staff were very unhelpful. Also the was not cheap anyway then they had the nerve to charge us for linen and towels which we thought was unacceptable!!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is actually a hotel with bigger rooms made into hostel with six beds. The bathrooms are wonderful. Sheets are clean and rooms have TVs. Cheap room price.

Disliked: First, there is no air conditioning so if the windows are not open, for any reasons, the room gets so hot that one will keep sweating and fail to fall asleep. The free wifi is hard to connect in the rooms. Second, the hostel is situated next to a construction site. The noise makes people shut the windows which in turn, creates a hot stuffy room. It was hard to find because the road number order is very strange.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Calvin Yeoh

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2013 Calvin would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness and the facilities

Disliked: Short of staff.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super clean, quite hostel with comfortable beds.

Disliked: A little bit hard to find in the night.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

ashur lamraoui

Alone

Events / festivals

30 June 2013

Liked: cleanness.

Disliked: unexperienced stuff. out of the city center. one receptionist for the whole hostel, which means that if u want to complain about the your cold coffee latte which you've just bought from the bartender who happened to be the same receptionist and only one! then you need to be in line until every guest is checked in, and then the responds will be like :" the only way to satisfy you is to put a hot water to your drink to make it hotter!!!!!" wow. well i don't know if the proprety doesn't care about the customer service ? or they just give the chance to young student to have some summer jobs?


See all Vienna hostels
See all Vienna hotels