We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Vienna hostels
See all Vienna hotels

Reviews of A&O Wien Hauptbahnhof

Hostel | Sonnwendgasse 11, Vienna, Austria 1100

81.3% Overall Rating

81 out of 104 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/09/2014)

Liza Dymek thinks…

"The staff was very helpful and friendly, they even speak Polish (->Monika)! Hostel is situated very close to Belvedere and two stops from the Ring. Great for people travelling by PolskiBus - it's…"

Read all A&O Wien Hauptbahnhof reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Late check-out
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 7.59
  • Linen USD 3.80
  • Towel USD 1.27

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Important Information

Bed linen for Dorms: 3,- € | (from 01.07.2014: 3,50 €) Breakfast: 6,- € | (from 01.07.2014: 7,- €) Credit card fee( for final costs under 200,- €) : 2,95 € Late Check Out: 7,50 €

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Vienna?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Vienna

MEININGER Vienna Central Station
15.18 USD

Hostel 89.6% 1041 reviews
Birg-Cyrus
21.94 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.0% 210 reviews
Vienna City Hostel
17.20 USD

Hostel 81.4% 472 reviews
Hostel 4
24.04 USD

Hostel 83.8% 49 reviews
A&T Holiday Hostel
20.24 USD

Hostel 83.4% 90 reviews
AllYouNeed Hotel Vienna4***
632.51 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Carlton Opera
44.28 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.0% 31 reviews
Wombats City Hostel at The Naschmarkt
16.45 USD

Hostel 94.1% 628 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.3%

Overall Rating

81 out of 104 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'A&O Wien Hauptbahnhof'

Atmosphere
76.8%
Location
73.6%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
77.6%
Value
83.2%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 61 of 100 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Liza Dymek

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2014 Liza would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very helpful and friendly, they even speak Polish (->Monika)! Hostel is situated very close to Belvedere and two stops from the Ring. Great for people travelling by PolskiBus - it's near the stop. The free luggage storage and the bar are also pros. Hostel is clean and very new, 4 people rooms look like hotel, not hostel rooms. There is private bathroom with big shower and even hairdryer.

Disliked: The hostel is huge and everyone can enter it without being checked. The kitchen closes at 10pm, it's dirty and poorly equipped (there aren't even mugs or a kettle). Using computers with internet is very expensive.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jakob Burkhardt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2014

Liked: Basic rate per night is good value for money.

Disliked: Lack of charm and character, staff was lacking in responsiveness and friendliness, extra charges on nearly everything.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mary Noble

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2014 Mary would recommend this property

Liked: Spotlessly clean, really helpful front desk staff. Great roof top bar with friendly bar staff and quality bikes to rent at cheap prices.

Disliked: Mary left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

31 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel looks clean and new. Friendly staff. Near central station

Disliked: Way to the hostel was diffrent from the discription in hostelbookers. No locker for items in my room. A lot of extra fees . Also ask first for 2,95 Euro payment fee!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

12 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is very nice! I like it so much!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carlos Alberto Nonato

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2014 Carlos Alberto would recommend this property

Liked: Muito barato, bem limpo o hostel, com cozinha, banheiros privados nos quartos com armários para guardar as mochilas e mesmo não estando no Centro é bem rápido de se chegar ao Centro com uma caminhada de no máximo 30 minutos, tem também um mercado ao lado do hostel, estação de metro bem próxima.

Disliked: O atendimento de alguns funcionários da recepção não foi o melhor, mas não são todos, alguns foram bem simpáticos e pacientes para nos dar todas as informações que queríamos. O wifi não é tão rápido, mas conseguir utilizar de forma bem tranqüila, na parte da recepção é mais rápido.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

YIIKOH SUKAH

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2014 YIIKOH would recommend this property

Liked: It was neat

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carolina Garibaldi

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2014 Carolina would recommend this property

Liked: La limpieza, espacios amplios de la habitacion y espacios compartidos, personal amable, cerca al metro lo que te permite movilizarte muy rapido al centro y en general a cualquier lugar, pueden guardar tus cosas gratis despues del check out. Lo recomiendo!

Disliked: Cobran aparte las sabanas (deberia estar incluido) y por pagar con tarjeta, deberia haber señalizacion del metro al Hostel esta un poco escondida la calle.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, comfortable and we enjoyed breakfast.

Disliked: The receptionists weren't very helpful and a bit ignorant.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to subway station

Disliked: no wifi in rooms, sheets are not free

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ana-Maria Radu

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2014 Ana-Maria would recommend this property

Liked: The things I liked most about it are the cleanness, the atmosphere and the location.

Disliked: I did not like the noise of the teenagers... But... it was OK. I would happily come again!! :)

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

15 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Is relatively cheap and... uhmm... its ok to sleep. Nearby, there is a street with restaurants and a shopping center. Its ok to sleep, probably not more.

Disliked: The bed sheets are not included in the room price, but that is advertised on the website. As some other people has already said, it is really big, so it does not feel like a hostel (which is not necessarily bad, unless you are young and are looking to party). If you are unlucky, you may share a bed with a stranger..

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Murillo

With friends / other travellers

City break

08 July 2014 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Is the best hostel Ive ever been !!! It is really really good, I totally recommend it! It is clean, secure, has too many facilities, everything looks new, it has a bar, big living room with several TVs, etc.. Rooms are really good, bathroom is clean and it has very good instalations. Just perfect!!!

Disliked: The only "bad" thing is that it is 45 min walking from city centre but really that doesnt matter !

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jeff Wheeler

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 June 2014 Jeff would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms were large, WC was clean and pleasant, and check-in/out was super easy

Disliked: Directions were difficult to follow to find hostel, and saturday night it was rather loud in the lobby

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lauren Patterson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 June 2014 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable beds and great blankets. They also provide towls.

Disliked: You had to pay extra for sheets

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Danijela Grubisic

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

21 June 2014 Danijela would recommend this property

Liked: Really good location; close to public transportation.

Disliked: Current construction work in the neighborhood are making lot of noise..

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lucy Gouvin

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2014 Lucy would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are really helpful, and it's close enough to the city center to walk in. The free wifi in common areas is really helpful. The common areas themselves are actually fun, with food and tvs and a nice atmosphere. The room and bathroom were really clean, and I felt secure and safe the whole time.

Disliked: Nothing

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Gregory Marshall

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2014

Liked: Not much.

Disliked: Long walk to TPT. Poor signage in terms of finding property. Staff are NOT friendly. Place is suited more for sports teams and school groups on trips, not adults or families.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Andrea Klug

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 March 2014 Andrea would recommend this property

Liked: Its good

Disliked: No

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Aleksandra Szymanska

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

23 January 2014 Aleksandra would recommend this property

Liked: First of all it's really accessable from Karlsplatz. We didn't find any difficulties with finding it. It's also near to the Bus Station where we had our bus back to Warsaw :) The price is very good as for that kind of facility. We paid 10e for the first and 11e for the second night. Two nights before we spent in different hostel in Vienna but we didn't like literally nothing there. The second day we booked we got different room wich we didn't like. Sorry to tell but it smelled like old people and as we are young travellers we wanted to join some funny youth room. I asked for change at reception desk. A really nice guy said it's not a problem, he asked of course why we want to change and my answer was sufficient for him :) That was really nice :)

Disliked: Well some things just weren't OK. I'm working at a hostel in Warsaw myself and I know that everyone can be tired after some time of working with moany customers and picky travelleres but if you don't have enough patience to solve your customer's problems and you roll your eyes just because someone asked you a question that means maybe working at reception desk isn't a job for you. Girls who worked at reception were simply rude during every activity - beginning from answering questions about payment (btw. CHARGING FOR POSSIBILITY TO PAY BY CARD? Is it a bad joke?! You want me to pay so I can pay for my stay? WTF?) and menu, finishing on lack of ability to give any advices. Really I would say that the hostel is superclean, there's no doubt about it, very comfy and modern. But it lacks some personality mainly because of the stuff (Guys were nice and one of them who checked us in for the first night even laught at my bad joke abut invisible friend. That's cool).

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

04 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was friendly,helpful and polite! Lots of travellers to interact with or keep your stay private...

Disliked: It does not have parking, but you can find some nearby. WiFi is only in lobby or you have to pay...

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 December 2013

Liked: Easy to find space during Christmas season.

Disliked: Wifi in lobby only and was not working too well. Lots of kids running around so not your typical hostel, kids under a certain age are free so lots of bigger families. Staff was not too concerned with cleaning rooms to be ready when checking arrived. Very bland atmosphere not hostel like to talk to people.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tolmasbek Boltayev

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

09 December 2013 Tolmasbek would recommend this property

Liked: It has fresh and new facilities. It is between hostel and hotel. More than hostel

Disliked: At the beginning it was difficult to find place because it is located in the back side of the street. But once u know the place it is very convinient to use local Ubahn.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Place was obviosly new, rooms were clean, so were common areas. Everything was functional, sanitaries were nice, common lobby was good. Even prices in lobby bar were quite good, depending on location of hotel

Disliked: For the time stayin, no faulty points.


See all Vienna hostels
See all Vienna hotels