We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Vienna hostels
See all Vienna hotels

Reviews of Alibi Hostel Vienna

Hostel | Wilhelm Exner - Gasse 4, Vienna, Austria 1090

74.6% Overall Rating

126 out of 141 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/08/2015)

Gizem Erboz thinks…

"The perfect location on the value of your money. Me and my friend are really glad to stay there. We will definitely stay in next time on our journey to Vienna."

Read all Alibi Hostel Vienna reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Vienna?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Vienna

Hotel-Pension Bleckmann
34.64 USD

Hotel 3 star 85.7% 7 reviews
City Rooms
42.24 USD

Hostel 94.3% 3 reviews
Hostel Porzellaneum
26.47 USD

Hostel 78.9% 18 reviews
Hotel Arkadenhof
91.24 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Pension Lehrerhaus
30.41 USD

Hotel 2 star 86.4% 32 reviews
Hotel Geblergasse
19.53 USD

Hotel 3 star 85.6% 628 reviews
MEININGER Vienna Downtown Franz
13.52 USD

Hostel 80.3% 301 reviews
Apartment Ag
25.03 USD

Apartment 100.0% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
74.6%

Overall Rating

126 out of 141 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Alibi Hostel Vienna'

Atmosphere
65.6%
Location
72.8%
Facilities
73.6%
Cleanliness
80.0%
Staff
76.8%
Value
79.2%
Safety
74.4%
Refine your results Showing 98 of 118 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gizem Erboz

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2015 Gizem would recommend this property

Liked: The perfect location on the value of your money. Me and my friend are really glad to stay there. We will definitely stay in next time on our journey to Vienna.

Disliked: Gizem left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

David James

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2015 David would recommend this property

Liked: Size of rooms

Disliked: Nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Melissa dillon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 August 2015

Liked: The kitchen was well equit and had everything you could ask for.

Disliked: As a female traveller at that time of the month it is needed to have bins of some sort in bathrooms not just in the room where you sleep yuck!!! I also informed the staff that our drain was blocked in the shower as soon as you turned on the water it filled to a brown bath like constituency and I had to shower perched on the edge as not stand in the previous people's off runs. Wasn't very happy when the next day the drain was blocked still. Also the "common room" no one sits in because it smells of cigarettes and consists of a few couches and a TV I think (never went in there as it smelt real bad). People mostly sit in the computer area staring at their phones pretending no one else exists. There just wasn't much of a vibe there for a solo traveller.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Jitendra Keshri

With friends / other travellers

City break

15 August 2015 Jitendra would recommend this property

Liked: rooms and staff were good

Disliked: kitchen, wifi

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was very clean and close to public transport.

Disliked: No laundry and the key system made us feel a bit insecure. You have to give the reception your keys every time you leave the hostel and upon returning, the staff did not need ID or anything to check it was actually us.. Their explanation was that they would recognise us but considering we would get back to the hostel and there was a staff member we had never seen at reception, we don't think this system was very safe or sensible.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MelissA brett

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 August 2015 MelissA would recommend this property

Liked: Private rooms for good prices, relatively central and well connected by publics transport.

Disliked: Smoking area inside! Rooms could do with aircon or fan in summer.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Freddy Wamala

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2015 Freddy would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and wifi worked in the room. The staff is helpful. One girl asked if I wanted to keep my luggage before I even requested it. That was kind. There are some free PCs in the common room if you haven't one.

Disliked: A bit far from the city centre. You also have to leave the key at the reception when going out. No padlock protected lockers and the storage room isn't so safe. But hey, where do you find all good things in one place;-)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Deans

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 July 2015 David would recommend this property

Liked: This place is very good value for its location compared to other hostels in Vienna. It is clean and relatively new feeling. good kitchen facilities. The internet was mostly good, but slowed to a stop sometimes. Common room could be better set up to create atmosphere, but maybe this will happen in time.

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

21 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was bright, it was close to everything, I liked the atmosphere

Disliked: The wifi was rather useless

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Adem YILDIRIM

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2014

Liked: One good thing is linens are clean

Disliked: We choosed 3 people-mix room with my friend. When we arrived, different rooms were given to us. We didnt know this fact. If it is written on description of hostel, we never choose 3 people room because my friend was very ill ! Towels are not free, there is no soap or shampoo in bathroom and not locker. Location may not good. Kitchen was very dirty. Fortunately, linens were very clean.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location,kitchen facilities

Disliked: some guests do not clean their dishes.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jack Neuman

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2013 Jack would recommend this property

Liked: 3 single beds per room. converted school dorm. large room with private large bath with shower / hot water alwazs availble.. short walk to available large markets made food preparation easier. large kitchen with all necessarz cooking facilities. 2 refrigerators, one large freezer. more than eough tables and chairs nerver a problem using facilities. rapid response elevator. little or no street noise. pleasant large common room area with two coomputers and wifi. All things considered would be a 5 star location except for dislike comment.

Disliked: Computers frequently off line. Staff does attempt to correct when notified but, sometimes desk is understaffed and it takes a few minutes to correct problem. Management does not lock out usb ports and as result, some persons plaz with yzstem, leaving others to try to use a Ukranian stzle kezboard or down load malicious information to desktop and disturb operating system. Some persons are childish in their behavior. Insufficient computer use control bz management.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gareth Rodda

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2013 Gareth would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms and facilties were nice and clean and well maintained. It was close to the underground station with a few supermarket type shops within easy reach. You can walk into the city centre within 20min or get a tram or bus easily.

Disliked: To be honest the common room/computer room was very disappointing. In Austria they are well behind the rest of the developed world in banning smoking from indoor places. To that extent numerous people who seemed to either be living in the hostel or working in Vienna and staying in the hostel would come down into the common room to have a cigarette despite it being amazingly warm weather outside. The hostel management would do themselves a huge favour by banning smoking inside as I have noticed this is the subject of much of the negative reviews. I could also highly recommend investing in some new pillows as the ones that were there are crap. The internet connection also constantly drops out and is only available in the lobby/common room area with the dirty filthy smokers that polute everyones air.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a nice private three bed room which felt very safe. The kitchen had good facilities. And a towel could be purchased for a euro.

Disliked: The room was quite dirty. Floor was not swept. Linen had hair on and room was not cleaned during the stay. The room were so hot in the night as no air con or fan. Windows open wide however.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2013

Liked: Chao and pretty close to the center.

Disliked: It totally lacks of athmosphere because its a Student dorm in wintertime. Staff isn't really helpfull.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kubra Canaslan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2013 Kubra would recommend this property

Liked: Private bathrooms are the biggest adventage. Rooms are clean and daily cleaning is performed

Disliked: It is hard to find hostel in midnight :)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Gilliland

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: Really good value. Location near metro stop. Friendly staff, no curfew,24 hour reception,

Disliked: Common room smoky. Internet dodgy.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hesam Rahnama

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

22 July 2013 Hesam would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness and good treatment of the staff

Disliked: poor Internet connection !

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent resources available for youth

Disliked: Location

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super clean! Great value.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Not far from the center of Vienna and there is a u-bahn station 5 minutes away. Room was much nicer that we could have ever expected with a good shower. Very friendly staff too!

Disliked: Wifi only works on the ground floor and there isn't any washing facilities.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 September 2012

Liked: Free computers and internet use

Disliked: It is extremely smoky especially in the computer room. So bad that I couldn't spend more than 5 mins in there. Hallways and stairways are also smoky. The kitchen has fridges that you can't use you have to go 3 levels down to the fridge. Go figure!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is clean and well connected to public transportation. Shared room with private bathroom. Location is good if you'll use public transportation or stay for one or two nights, because it takes 15 min walking to arrive to the first point of interest.

Disliked: There was a cigarette smoke smell going out from the bathroom's air extractor. We had to keep the bathroom's door closed to avoid the smell. It was really unpleasant to use the bathroom with that smell.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break

25 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: private badrooms ensuite love the doorkey ratts!

Disliked: pitty that there is only one key for each room, so you can be looked out by your roommates!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ubicación.

Disliked: La atención. Me olvide la llave y tuve que esperar 20 mi unos a que alguien saliera del edificio y me dejara entrar. No hay recepcionista todo el dia. Solo cuando uno hace el check in or check out. La chica que estaba en la recepción cuando hicimos el check out nos trato muy mal y nos pidió que nos retiráramos porque estaban llegando nuevos huéspedes.


See all Vienna hostels
See all Vienna hotels