We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Vienna hostels
See all Vienna hotels

Reviews of Happy Hostel

Hostel | Kurzgasse 2, Vienna, Austria A-1060

73.5% Overall Rating

669 out of 741 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/04/2015)

Laura rowe thinks…

"It was nice to be in what seemed like a house, and all of the facilities of a home. Close to Vienna Westbanhof so connections were very easy (Vienna has great public transportation) Better place to…"

Read all Happy Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 4.52

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note the following information: 1) The estimated arrival time must be notified to us (24 hours system. Example: 11:00am = 23:00pm) 2) If the actual arrival time will be more then five hours later, it is requested to call or to inform us by e-mail, otherwise the room becomes available for other guests. 4) If you pay by credit or debit card we charge 2% of the booking value for the service

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Vienna?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Vienna

Strawberry Youth Hostel Vienna
18.07 USD

Hostel 81.4% 536 reviews
Westend City Hostel
17.96 USD

Hostel 81.5% 1162 reviews
Wombats City Hostel - The Lounge
21.46 USD

Hostel 88.3% 605 reviews
Hostel Ruthensteiner
14.68 USD

Hostel 94.4% 1899 reviews
Hotel Cryston
29.38 USD

Hotel 3 star 88.4% 23 reviews
Tourotel Mariahilf
60.98 USD

Hotel 4 star 84.8% 6 reviews
Do Step Inn
15.81 USD

Hostel 91.8% 944 reviews
Pension Stadthalle
33.31 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.4% 122 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
73.5%

Overall Rating

669 out of 741 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Happy Hostel'

Atmosphere
64.0%
Location
80.8%
Facilities
70.4%
Cleanliness
68.0%
Staff
78.4%
Value
73.6%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 475 of 542 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 18 | 19   Next
Reset filter
34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 August 2015

Liked: near station

Disliked: workers staying on the cheap

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Angélica Casillas Sollano

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2015 Angélica would recommend this property

Liked: It is very neat and quite organized, very clean and friendly

Disliked: Angélica left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was good.

Disliked: Could use a bit of updating. Shower was falling apart, rugs seemed a bit dirty.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location near to the westbahnhof.

Disliked: It was a bit far from the old city center. We came to the Westbahnhof and there the location was good. We walked to the city. If you are ready to use public transport, the location is not a problem. Hostel was quite big and we didn´t talk with anybody. We had reserved beds in a dormitory, but they were full and we got a room for two. It was of course more peaceful but we didn´t see other travellers. It wasn´t dirty but there were a wet smell and the room hadn´t been cleaned very well, there were e.g. nails on the carbet.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Laura rowe

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2015

Liked: It was nice to be in what seemed like a house, and all of the facilities of a home. Close to Vienna Westbanhof so connections were very easy (Vienna has great public transportation) Better place to book a whole room for a group.

Disliked: The people who tended to be there were people living in the hostels. They were a bit more shady and there are a lot of people who don't pay and sleep there (these kind of people)..

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Polly Pearson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 August 2014 Polly would recommend this property

Liked: Had a kitchen and a clean bathroom

Disliked: Staff

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Lisa Gabel

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2014

Liked: Not much.

Disliked: The showers was falling apart, the toilet smelt awful and made the kitchen and rooms smell. They were not cleaned for the duration of our stay. The wifi was really slow and cut out a lot. There was a weird vibe and the place didn't feel clean. I actually had to use the shared shower for our stay because the other one fell apart constantly, and was dirty. There was no air con, and although we had booked a twin room we were given a 4 bed room with not much space due to the extra furniture.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Frank

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2014 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: It was quiet and comfortable and near to local sights.

Disliked: We liked everything.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

frank langenhoff

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2014 frank would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the genuine staff, especially Franz/Bruno nothing too much trouble to support and make the stay fantastic; well beyond normal support.. Would recommend, clean, comfortable, friendly and good location, hopefully I may return one day to this wonderfull city and hostel.

Disliked: nil

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Siulaati Kosi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 June 2014 Siulaati would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Hard to connect with other travellers.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nikola Buci?

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

28 April 2014 Nikola would recommend this property

Liked: location, location, location

Disliked: nothing special

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Is more a pension rather than a hostel. Therefore the atmosphere was no the travelling people one. Just a place to sleep and maybe to cook. Could be a bit cheaper.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 April 2014

Liked: Big locker, room is basically a self contained flat. Close to big transport hub

Disliked: Most I've paid for a hostel on my trip so far and easily the worst. Bed was very uncomfortable, lots of springs poking me in my back. Many middle aged strange people staying here by the looks of it long term, I could be wrong. Not nice people anyway so atmosphere is terrible. Very expensive for a very basic hostel.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Ana Louro

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2014 Ana would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was very well located, just 20/25 min walk from the city center, and near a subway station. We stayed in a apartment for 4 people, which had a lot of privacy, and had a lot of space. Its good for families or groups of friends.

Disliked: It's an old hostel, so the decoration is not very appealing. Also, the staff was not always at the reception and we had to wait for them to come back, more than once.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wilko Schröter

Alone

Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 April 2014 Wilko would recommend this property

Liked: It is a family business.

Disliked: Nothing.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Michael Holler

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2014 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Well located and clean. Was given a room upgrade when I arrived. Staff were very kind.

Disliked: I don't believe there was a bar on sites and there wasn't really anywhere for travelers to mingle.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Family Holiday

26 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, fairly clean, good value, particularly if other guests don't book apartments in the suite you have a whole apartment to yourself.

Disliked: Not really a hostel, actually a basic hotel. Common kitchen was directly off rooms, which could lead to problems if you get inconsiderate suitemates.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Bogdan Cotirta

With my spouse / partner

City break

14 October 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: No heat on the rooms and the place looks shabby

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's in a quiet street, and located close to Westabhnhof station, metro, trams shops, bank machine.

Disliked: Inadequate crockery and kitchen cutlery, and broken shower holder.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Hannah Winterbottom

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2013

Liked: Only the humour of the irony

Disliked: Pretty much everything.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

chengming tan

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2013 chengming would recommend this property

Liked: spacious room, landlord is kind and humorous.

Disliked: no

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Caitlin Reid

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Caitlin would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and quiet, as nice as a hotel and a great location.

Disliked: Some of the staff were more helpful than others. The internet does not work very well, even on their own computers.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: actually it was closer to appartment than to a hostel room with a kitchen with fridge, oven room and dining room, bath and wc attached to every two dormitory rooms.

Disliked: n/a

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Bojana Markovic

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

24 June 2013 Bojana would recommend this property

Liked: Location and price

Disliked: Bojana left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

OSMAN ERDOGAN

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2013 OSMAN would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness, location

Disliked: nothing


See all Vienna hostels
See all Vienna hotels