HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hostel Ruthensteiner Vienna Vienna Hostel

Robert Hamerling Gasse 24, 1150 Vienna, Vienna, Austria

Atmosphere 98%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 90%

Location 89%

Safety 89%

Staff 98%

Value 91%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cafe
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 3.50EUR
  • Towel 1.00EUR

Important Information

Sorry, no groups please - We accept a maximum of 8 persons per booking.

Customers can cancel their reservation free of charge up to 2 days before arrival (local time). The first night will be charged in full and the other nights cancelled.

"Please note: for Christmas, New Year and Easter cancellations (1 week cancellation!), we may have to charge you for the duration of your booking, especially if you've held a room or rooms for months in advance. Thanks!"

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Vienna?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 98%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 90%

Location 89%

Safety 89%

Staff 98%

Value 91%

Showing 1-10 of 168 reviews

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 May 2016

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Friendly stuff, beautiful garden, fully equiped kitchen. The room I slept was large and luminous, with private bathroom.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: They have some musical instruments such as guitar and piano, so there was music in the hostel. I loved it.

Disliked: The height of the below bed was too low. I couldnt even stretch my back straight when i sat on the bed. I disliked the shower system. There was a button that you could use water for 30 secs by pushing it, but i thought it is very inefficient and uncomfortable.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Feb 2016

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: It is just a great place, everything is perfect!

Disliked: Nothing, really.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jan 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Liked: Huge information board is really helpful. Free tea, cheap coffee, great breakfast, excellent location off westhaptbahnhof. Great common areas to relax in with bar and communal instruments to play. Bathrooms were good, showers hot and powerful. This Hostel really is a top class Hostel.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Wow, thank you for this great review! Powerful showers are VERY important for a comfortable hostel stay - I'm glad we could provide! Do come back & visit us again soon - until then, happy travelling!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Liked: Is really near to great amenities and beautiful

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: I had a very nice stay at this place. all peoples were really friendly and the place is just perfect for getting to the city!

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Really nice atmosphere - often people sitting in the common room eating/drinking/ playing instruments that you can unhook from the walls and borrow - easy to meet other travellers.Really friendly staff, very knowledgeable - good for getting good restaurant/ bar/ eating/ activity tips from

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great atmosphere with the bar in the hostel. Also the place has a unique style that is fun

Disliked: You do have to take public transportation to get to the city center

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Where do i start! This is the BEST HOSTEL I've stayed at in Europe! And thats no small feat. The atmosphere is lively, the rooms are big, the washrooms are clean and large enough for the occupants, the BAR IS AN OUTSTANDING PLACE, its 7 minutes from the WestBahnHauf, and there are tons of places to eat nearby. I made more friends here than my entire time in Central Europe. The staff are your friends and the breakfast is good enough to get you going for the rest of the day (Vienna IS expensive).The location makes it very close to the tram stops, the metro AND the Train station. So, any place you want to go - day trip, sightseeing or the next town - is easily reached.I WILL be back next year.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: We had an absolutely amazing time at Hostel Ruthensteiner this weekend. The staff were lovely and astonishingly knowledgeable, the rooms were clean and comfortable and the lovely common areas allowed us to mingle with fellow guests. The hostel was situated handily near a large station (Westbanhof) and we were given lots of help and suggestions with getting the most out of Vienna - only wish we'd had longer to do everything! Also, very important... Ultra-strong fair-trade coffee with unlimited refills was available at reception all morning for one euro :)

Disliked: Although Vienna isn't for the most part a noisy city here were some problems with noise in the hostel, which I suppose is only to be expected but was still a bit irritating when we had an early start in the morning. Also, this is a very social hostel so if you just want to be left alone to do your own thing maybe it isn't for you.If you're looking for something in the dead centre of the city keep in mind this hostel is about a twenty minute walk away or five minutes on the U-bahn. We stayed in a twin bed room which was quite small (although perfectly adequate) but I don't know what the dorms were like. We paid the majority of our fees in cash on arrival, which is the rule, so just be prepared for that.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability