HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Vienna hostels
See all Vienna hotels

Reviews of Hostel Ruthensteiner

Hostel | Robert Hamerlinggasse 24, Vienna, Austria 1150

94.3% Overall Rating

1775 out of 1831 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/07/2014)

Ryan Bergin thinks…

"We enjoyed the hostel because it was quite and it had a real homely feel. The common room and kitchen felt like a family home, and all the guests sat comfortably and enjoyed the atmosphere.…"

Read all Hostel Ruthensteiner reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 4.70
  • Towel USD 1.34

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Sorry, no groups please - We accept a maximum of 8 persons per booking. Customers can cancel their reservation free of charge up to 2 days before arrival (local time). The first night will be charged in full and the other nights cancelled. "Please note: for Christmas, New Year and Easter cancellations (1 week cancellation!), we may have to charge you for the duration of your booking, especially if you've held a room or rooms for months in advance. Thanks!"

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Vienna?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Vienna

Tourotel Mariahilf
79.26 USD

Hotel 4 star 84.8% 6 reviews
Wombats City Hostel - The Lounge
32.24 USD

Hostel 88.9% 596 reviews
Do Step Inn
19.88 USD

Hostel 83.2% 887 reviews
Wombats City Hostel - The Base
21.49 USD

Hostel 85.3% 1071 reviews
Happy Hostel
25.52 USD

Hostel 80.5% 732 reviews
Gally Apartments Vienna
30.90 USD

Apartment 89.5% 115 reviews
Pension Stadthalle
39.63 USD

Hotel 2 star 84.2% 121 reviews
Strawberry Youth Hostel Vienna
24.18 USD

Hostel 78.9% 523 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.3%

Overall Rating

1775 out of 1831 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Ruthensteiner'

Atmosphere
96.8%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
92.8%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
97.6%
Value
93.6%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 1373 of 1493 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 54 | 55   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Ryan Bergin

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2014 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: We enjoyed the hostel because it was quite and it had a real homely feel. The common room and kitchen felt like a family home, and all the guests sat comfortably and enjoyed the atmosphere. Additionally the non smoking rule inside the hostel was also a plus.

Disliked: It was extremely hot inside our room and when we opened the windows cigarette from outside filled our room. Additionally, the bathrooms were slightly unclean (but not too bad, just a little).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is awesome!!! The location is very central, close to the Westbahnhof train station, so it was easy to reach. The staff are super helpful and there is a nice chillout/bar area downstairs where you can meet other travellers. It's relatively cheap as well with great facilities, including a kitchen and free internet. Awesome hostel and I will definitely stay here again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

I. C. Turner

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 July 2014 I. C. would recommend this property

Liked: I've really stayed in a lot of hostels and this is right up there with the best of them. There is a great atmosphere, with a people playing different instruments &c. The layout is really good because there are a number of semi-separate communal spaces all linked together, including a bar. The dorms are very nice and at least some of them are connected by a sort of walkway balcony around the courtyard. The bathrooms are fresh and clean. The multilingual staff absolutely bend over backwards to help in any way, with particular name checks for Juan, Vitor and Branka. I wish I'd had the chance to stay longer.

Disliked: It's not really 100% for location, but not many hostels in Vienna seem to be and it has excellent transport connections. It deserves to get 100% overall. Also not worth deducting any points is that the shower stall was rather cramped compared to the pretty spacious bathroom, and they definitely should amend the lights annoyingly going off automatically every few minutes while you're in the shower.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joma Maydhor

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2014 Joma would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are super friendly, even offer to help me to. solve my tablet problem after his long shift. The garden is wonderful and cozy. Kitchen is clean with full facilities. Location is also good.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexandra Brodie

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2014 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: It has such a homey feel to it! Everyone is very friendly and there is a very nice atmosphere. Whether it's relaxing in the bar or playing games outside, we had a lovely time!

Disliked: Our only concern was that our private room has two separate beds facing away from Each other and as we are a couple and usually share a bed, it was a bit unfortunate that our beds were apart. Our room faced the street and it was very warm in our room so we had the window open. At night there were often people yelling and being a bit crazy and every morning at 7 a garbage truck would wake us up. We were fine getting up that early to go explore but it wasn't the nicest way to wake up

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Helen Davies

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2014 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: Superb in every way. Very helpful staff keen to guide us clearly on what to do , where to go, how to get there. A lovely hostel, great facilities(kitchen bar, cheap breakfast and coffee). It is a place I would happily take and elderly relative to ( provided they were agile enough to climb a flight of stairs.)

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quirky and funky

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff at this hostel were by far the best I've encountered so far! I loved this hostel - it has a wonderful, friendly atmosphere and I love that they provide instruments to play. Fantastic garden and kitchen too. Highly recommended!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Aimee Moon

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2014 Aimee would recommend this property

Liked: Close to train station. Clean, comfortable rooms. Bar downstairs mnade it really easy to meet people.

Disliked: Bit of a walk into the old town from the hostel.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Richard Gilman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2014 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: This is a great hostel! Friendly, helpful staff. Clean rooms. Pleasant, shady, outdoor garden, bar with happy hour. Self service laundry, kitchen, rental bikes. I've traveled a lot, and this is one of my favorite hostels ever. The place is very social, but not a drunken party hostel. People of all ages were comfortable in the environment, though the majority of the guests are young backpackers.

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Juliana Suzano

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2014 Juliana would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is good and the staffs are friendly ... It is 1,5km far from the centrum, but is near to the one of the main train station.

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ann abay

Alone

Visiting friends or family

07 June 2014 ann would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are great , kitchen and garden

Disliked: ann left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the friendliness of the staff. It was very quaint and had a homey feel.

Disliked: I did not like how small the rooms are.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff and great amenities!

Disliked: It was a little far from the city center.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We got upgraded to an apartment and it is a great space for 3 people. The hostel provides all and is so convenient to transportation and food.

Disliked: Cannot thonk of anything

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ponpen Tongpark

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 May 2014 Ponpen would recommend this property

Liked: Nice to have guitar and ukulele and piano to play!

Disliked: Ponpen left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samuel Thomson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 May 2014 Samuel would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly atmosphere, staff really happy to help

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Juan Pablo Valli

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2014 Juan Pablo would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is lovely, they are always happy to help you and provide you info. Very clean and nice areas.

Disliked: They should include breakfast.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! Great atmosphere, great common areas (a BBQ and garden!!), clean, big dorms.

Disliked: Internet did not always work, washing machines cost money.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Such a lovely place! I liked basically everything.

Disliked: There wasn't anything to dry your hands with at the sinks (no paper towel/hand cloth/dryer). That was the only issue I had, really.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had a hard time sleeping because a girl in my 6 person room was snoring. I went down to the front desk at 2 am and they gave me a single so I could get a good night's sleep!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sonam Lodhi

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2014 Sonam would recommend this property

Liked: This was my first experience in a hostel. Stayed in a 6 bed female dormitory for two days and the experience was wonderful! The staff is extremely helpful and make you feel really comfortable. Loved everything!

Disliked: Nothing!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Wise

Alone

Visiting friends or family

29 April 2014 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are friendly, welcoming and helpful, and it has plenty of facilities which makes it value for money. This is the second time I have stayed here and the next time I go to Vienna I would make the same choice.

Disliked: Nothing.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Donna-Marie Fry

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2014 Donna-Marie would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely building, excellent location, friendly staff and super dorms!

Disliked: Nothing


See all Vienna hostels
See all Vienna hotels