HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Vienna hostels
See all Vienna hotels

Reviews of Hostel Ruthensteiner

Hostel | Robert Hamerlinggasse 24, Vienna, Austria 1150

94.7% Overall Rating

1790 out of 1846 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/08/2014)

Emily Bagshaw thinks…

"Best hostel I've stayed in! Fantastic atmosphere; we made friends upon walking into our room. Nice bar area and terrace too with very friendly and helpful staff."

Read all Hostel Ruthensteiner reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 4.60
  • Towel USD 1.31

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Sorry, no groups please - We accept a maximum of 8 persons per booking. Customers can cancel their reservation free of charge up to 2 days before arrival (local time). The first night will be charged in full and the other nights cancelled. "Please note: for Christmas, New Year and Easter cancellations (1 week cancellation!), we may have to charge you for the duration of your booking, especially if you've held a room or rooms for months in advance. Thanks!"

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Vienna?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Vienna

Tourotel Mariahilf
72.23 USD

Hotel 4 star 84.8% 6 reviews
Wombats City Hostel - The Lounge
24.95 USD

Hostel 88.9% 597 reviews
Do Step Inn
18.12 USD

Hostel 85.1% 899 reviews
Wombats City Hostel - The Base
17.07 USD

Hostel 82.6% 1082 reviews
Happy Hostel
24.95 USD

Hostel 78.5% 735 reviews
Gally Apartments Vienna
38.08 USD

Apartment 89.5% 115 reviews
Pension Stadthalle
45.31 USD

Hotel 2 star 84.2% 121 reviews
Strawberry Youth Hostel Vienna
18.38 USD

Hostel 79.4% 526 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.7%

Overall Rating

1790 out of 1846 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Ruthensteiner'

Atmosphere
98.4%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
93.6%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
98.4%
Value
91.2%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 1385 of 1507 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 55 | 56   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Bagshaw

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 August 2014 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel I've stayed in! Fantastic atmosphere; we made friends upon walking into our room. Nice bar area and terrace too with very friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: The beds were unsafe as the top bunks had no rails or stairs!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff, very good location near Westbahnhof but a metro ticket is advised for travel around the city.

Disliked: Push-button shower is very annoying as it turns off after less than a minute. Bunk beds were strange with top bunk much lower than usual so no ladder and not much head room if on bottom bunk.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

rebecca rendell

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 August 2014 rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Really modern. More like a hotel. Great bar. V helpful staff. Free lockers. Amazing

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Aaron Blanc

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2014 Aaron would recommend this property

Liked: Close to train station and subway stations. Nice little bar area too. Friendly staff.

Disliked: Not centrally located to much activity type stuff.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. The hostels facilities were the best i have seen. Great bar, cute gardens for eating, fantastic kitchen and washroom facilities. Very secure as they provided lockers big enough to fit big travellers bags. The location is great- half way between the old town and the main palace and very close to a big tube station. The staff were great and run a 24hour service!! overall was a perfect hostel.

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel was very cute and colourfull. They had great staff. They also had great innovation: they had directions to frequently asked places such as airport, printed on small paperpieces. So you could just take it with you so you won't forget how to get there. Room was tiny (but it was enough for 2, we had private room with shared bathroom). We also had showers next to our room and we didn't wake up in the morning to any shower-noise. So sound-proofing is good (except noise from the street woke us up). Common room / Bar was great, amazing atmosphere, nice people (both staff and quests), enought places to sit and enjoy drinks (colourfull tasty drinks and happy hours <3). Nice garden and decent kitchen. They also have laundry room if you need to wash your clothes. Hostel also has free lockers, so when you check out, you can leave your stuff there. Great!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I've stayed here many times over the last ten years and would still rate it one of the best hostels in the world.

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Muhammad Ishaq

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 August 2014 Muhammad would recommend this property

Liked: An Excellent place to feel yourself cool and calm

Disliked: Muhammad left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

07 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness, friendly people, helpful staff, bright space

Disliked: Bar closed kind of early, not many other resources in the area later at night, closed kitchen access after midnight, shower was small

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly people and atmosphere. Close to train station. Good common areas.

Disliked: Dorm rooms were in a separate building across the road. Not a big problem but definitely annoying when raining. No breakfast included.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Had a great atmosphere, & really kind and helpful staff. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and would really recommend this hostel to others!

Disliked: Nothing!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, quite good location in between the main places of interest and close to the westbahnhof, clean rooms (i was in 6 bed dorm), a place for those who enjoy music since instruments are available in common areas!!!

Disliked: Breakfast not included!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Ryan Bergin

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2014 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: We enjoyed the hostel because it was quite and it had a real homely feel. The common room and kitchen felt like a family home, and all the guests sat comfortably and enjoyed the atmosphere. Additionally the non smoking rule inside the hostel was also a plus.

Disliked: It was extremely hot inside our room and when we opened the windows cigarette from outside filled our room. Additionally, the bathrooms were slightly unclean (but not too bad, just a little).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is awesome!!! The location is very central, close to the Westbahnhof train station, so it was easy to reach. The staff are super helpful and there is a nice chillout/bar area downstairs where you can meet other travellers. It's relatively cheap as well with great facilities, including a kitchen and free internet. Awesome hostel and I will definitely stay here again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

I. C. Turner

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 July 2014 I. C. would recommend this property

Liked: I've really stayed in a lot of hostels and this is right up there with the best of them. There is a great atmosphere, with a people playing different instruments &c. The layout is really good because there are a number of semi-separate communal spaces all linked together, including a bar. The dorms are very nice and at least some of them are connected by a sort of walkway balcony around the courtyard. The bathrooms are fresh and clean. The multilingual staff absolutely bend over backwards to help in any way, with particular name checks for Juan, Vitor and Branka. I wish I'd had the chance to stay longer.

Disliked: It's not really 100% for location, but not many hostels in Vienna seem to be and it has excellent transport connections. It deserves to get 100% overall. Also not worth deducting any points is that the shower stall was rather cramped compared to the pretty spacious bathroom, and they definitely should amend the lights annoyingly going off automatically every few minutes while you're in the shower.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joma Maydhor

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2014 Joma would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are super friendly, even offer to help me to. solve my tablet problem after his long shift. The garden is wonderful and cozy. Kitchen is clean with full facilities. Location is also good.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexandra Brodie

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2014 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: It has such a homey feel to it! Everyone is very friendly and there is a very nice atmosphere. Whether it's relaxing in the bar or playing games outside, we had a lovely time!

Disliked: Our only concern was that our private room has two separate beds facing away from Each other and as we are a couple and usually share a bed, it was a bit unfortunate that our beds were apart. Our room faced the street and it was very warm in our room so we had the window open. At night there were often people yelling and being a bit crazy and every morning at 7 a garbage truck would wake us up. We were fine getting up that early to go explore but it wasn't the nicest way to wake up

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Helen Davies

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2014 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: Superb in every way. Very helpful staff keen to guide us clearly on what to do , where to go, how to get there. A lovely hostel, great facilities(kitchen bar, cheap breakfast and coffee). It is a place I would happily take and elderly relative to ( provided they were agile enough to climb a flight of stairs.)

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quirky and funky

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff at this hostel were by far the best I've encountered so far! I loved this hostel - it has a wonderful, friendly atmosphere and I love that they provide instruments to play. Fantastic garden and kitchen too. Highly recommended!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Aimee Moon

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2014 Aimee would recommend this property

Liked: Close to train station. Clean, comfortable rooms. Bar downstairs mnade it really easy to meet people.

Disliked: Bit of a walk into the old town from the hostel.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Richard Gilman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2014 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: This is a great hostel! Friendly, helpful staff. Clean rooms. Pleasant, shady, outdoor garden, bar with happy hour. Self service laundry, kitchen, rental bikes. I've traveled a lot, and this is one of my favorite hostels ever. The place is very social, but not a drunken party hostel. People of all ages were comfortable in the environment, though the majority of the guests are young backpackers.

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Juliana Suzano

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2014 Juliana would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is good and the staffs are friendly ... It is 1,5km far from the centrum, but is near to the one of the main train station.

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ann abay

Alone

Visiting friends or family

07 June 2014 ann would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are great , kitchen and garden

Disliked: ann left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the friendliness of the staff. It was very quaint and had a homey feel.

Disliked: I did not like how small the rooms are.


See all Vienna hostels
See all Vienna hotels