HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hostel Ruthensteiner Vienna Vienna

Hostel

Robert Hamerling Gasse 24, 1150 Vienna, Vienna, Austria

Atmosphere 97%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 90%

Location 86%

Safety 90%

Staff 96%

Value 92%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cafe
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 3.50EUR
  • Towel 1.00EUR

Important Information

Sorry, no groups please - We accept a maximum of 8 persons per booking.

Customers can cancel their reservation free of charge up to 2 days before arrival (local time). The first night will be charged in full and the other nights cancelled.

"Please note: for Christmas, New Year and Easter cancellations (1 week cancellation!), we may have to charge you for the duration of your booking, especially if you've held a room or rooms for months in advance. Thanks!"

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Vienna?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 97%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 90%

Location 86%

Safety 90%

Staff 96%

Value 92%

Showing 1-10 of 192 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jan 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:

Liked: Huge information board is really helpful. Free tea, cheap coffee, great breakfast, excellent location off westhaptbahnhof. Great common areas to relax in with bar and communal instruments to play. Bathrooms were good, showers hot and powerful. This Hostel really is a top class Hostel.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:

Liked: Is really near to great amenities and beautiful

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: I had a very nice stay at this place. all peoples were really friendly and the place is just perfect for getting to the city!

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Really nice atmosphere - often people sitting in the common room eating/drinking/ playing instruments that you can unhook from the walls and borrow - easy to meet other travellers.Really friendly staff, very knowledgeable - good for getting good restaurant/ bar/ eating/ activity tips from

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great atmosphere with the bar in the hostel. Also the place has a unique style that is fun

Disliked: You do have to take public transportation to get to the city center

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Where do i start! This is the BEST HOSTEL I've stayed at in Europe! And thats no small feat. The atmosphere is lively, the rooms are big, the washrooms are clean and large enough for the occupants, the BAR IS AN OUTSTANDING PLACE, its 7 minutes from the WestBahnHauf, and there are tons of places to eat nearby. I made more friends here than my entire time in Central Europe. The staff are your friends and the breakfast is good enough to get you going for the rest of the day (Vienna IS expensive).The location makes it very close to the tram stops, the metro AND the Train station. So, any place you want to go - day trip, sightseeing or the next town - is easily reached.I WILL be back next year.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: We had an absolutely amazing time at Hostel Ruthensteiner this weekend. The staff were lovely and astonishingly knowledgeable, the rooms were clean and comfortable and the lovely common areas allowed us to mingle with fellow guests. The hostel was situated handily near a large station (Westbanhof) and we were given lots of help and suggestions with getting the most out of Vienna - only wish we'd had longer to do everything! Also, very important... Ultra-strong fair-trade coffee with unlimited refills was available at reception all morning for one euro :)

Disliked: Although Vienna isn't for the most part a noisy city here were some problems with noise in the hostel, which I suppose is only to be expected but was still a bit irritating when we had an early start in the morning. Also, this is a very social hostel so if you just want to be left alone to do your own thing maybe it isn't for you.If you're looking for something in the dead centre of the city keep in mind this hostel is about a twenty minute walk away or five minutes on the U-bahn. We stayed in a twin bed room which was quite small (although perfectly adequate) but I don't know what the dorms were like. We paid the majority of our fees in cash on arrival, which is the rule, so just be prepared for that.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very clean!

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The hostel went out of it's way to provide everything you could possibly need for a good stay in Vienna. The rooms were clean and well-equipped and the bar area was a great social space to meet other travellers in the evenings. The hostel staff were very friendly and helpful if you had any questions about places to visit or about getting around the city.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for taking the time to review us, we really appreciate it! We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The rooms were pretty big and the inside really beautiful i had a room with the theme of sigmund freud so it was cool staff was very helpful and niceBy now i visited about 5 hostels during my trip and this one is easly the best

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

The Freud Room is great, isn't it? All the art in the Freud Room, as well as the Egon Schiele Room, was done by hostel employee and artist in residence Sonja Stangl - come back sometime and check out some of her other projects! Until then, all the best!

Check Availability