We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Vienna hostels
See all Vienna hotels

Reviews of Hostel Ruthensteiner

Hostel | Robert Hamerlinggasse 24, Vienna, Austria 1150

94.4% Overall Rating

1842 out of 1899 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/08/2015)

Leonid Nabutovsky thinks…

"The rooms were pretty big and the inside really beautiful i had a room with the theme of sigmund freud so it was cool staff was very helpful and nice By now i visited about 5 hostels during my trip…"

Read all Hostel Ruthensteiner reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 3.91
  • Towel USD 1.12

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Sorry, no groups please - We accept a maximum of 8 persons per booking. Customers can cancel their reservation free of charge up to 2 days before arrival (local time). The first night will be charged in full and the other nights cancelled. "Please note: for Christmas, New Year and Easter cancellations (1 week cancellation!), we may have to charge you for the duration of your booking, especially if you've held a room or rooms for months in advance. Thanks!"

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Vienna?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Vienna

Tourotel Mariahilf
60.38 USD

Hotel 4 star 84.8% 6 reviews
Wombats City Hostel - The Lounge
21.24 USD

Hostel 88.3% 605 reviews
Do Step Inn
15.65 USD

Hostel 89.9% 945 reviews
Happy Hostel
21.24 USD

Hostel 73.5% 741 reviews
Gally Apartments Vienna
32.42 USD

Apartment 91.3% 119 reviews
Pension Stadthalle
32.98 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.4% 122 reviews
Strawberry Youth Hostel Vienna
17.89 USD

Hostel 81.4% 536 reviews
Westend City Hostel
15.54 USD

Hostel 81.5% 1162 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.4%

Overall Rating

1842 out of 1899 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Ruthensteiner'

Atmosphere
94.4%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
93.6%
Cleanliness
95.2%
Staff
97.6%
Value
93.6%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 1428 of 1562 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 57 | 58   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leonid Nabutovsky

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2015 Leonid would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were pretty big and the inside really beautiful i had a room with the theme of sigmund freud so it was cool staff was very helpful and nice By now i visited about 5 hostels during my trip and this one is easly the best

Disliked: Leonid left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly and helpful staff good value breakfast clean room great location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chris Jackson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 August 2015 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were friendly and always able and eager to answer questions. The hotel was very clean and the showers were good. There is a large common area/bar/garden so it was fairly easy to mingle and meet people. They had guitars and a piano for people to play also!

Disliked: The only issue was whilst I was on a top bunk the fan only circulated around the bottom bunks. It was a very warm night!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Anne Esmee van der Tol

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2015 Anne Esmee would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was friendly, travellers were nice, relaxt armosphere, good facilities, there metenmisic instruments we could play, what made the atmospheren even better (piano, guitar etc)

Disliked: you need to take the subway to the citycenter what takes you about 15 min in total

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location - less than 10mins on the UBahn into town or to Schloss Schoenbrunnen, a beautiful schloss nearby. Loads of local info provided by friendly hostel staff. Amazing garden and well stocked kitchen. Nice vibe. Fans in room very much appreciated!

Disliked: Key system meant you had to rely on your dorm mates to lock the door on coming in and out - doors didn't lock automatically. Breakfast was offered but you would have got better value cooking or buying your own from the nearby supermarket.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ZHEN XUAN YEW

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 August 2015 ZHEN XUAN would recommend this property

Liked: Strategic location. Fully equipped with cooking utensils.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff - incredibly helpful and friendly people, who understand the traveller. Rooms are well decorated, large and secure.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

guy shachar

Alone

Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

25 June 2015 guy would recommend this property

Liked: Home feeling, design, calm

Disliked: guy left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

ian lovatt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2015 ian would recommend this property

Liked: gardens and friendliness of STAFF

Disliked: ian left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anoushka Azad

Alone

City break

19 June 2015 Anoushka would recommend this property

Liked: I arrived late at night, but the staff on duty were extremely friendly and chirpy :) They explained everything I needed to know for my onward travel the next morning, threw in a free towel and didn't mind when I retuned a few minutes later to request a lower bunk. I had to leave first thing the next day, but everything was spotless and from what i could see the facilities looked great. They even have a beautiful garden setting where you can sit outside and relax. Would certainly recommend.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Patawee Ruksuthee

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 June 2015 Patawee would recommend this property

Liked: The common room is cozy and clan

Disliked: The dorm floor was sticky. It would have been better if there's a carpet or set the rule that every guest should take there shoes off.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

14 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice room and bathroom. Very kind and helpful staff. Very nice terrace in the middle of the building for hanging and eating.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The musical instruments, the reasonable priced bar, the friendly hostel staff, the computers free to use.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good facilities, quiet and clean. Liked that instruments and game available in the common room

Disliked: No complaints.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Eng. - Good/safe place to stay. Very welcoming, easy to meet people and lots of areas to hang out (launges, cool bar, garden, Internet room) staff are always helpful and friendly and give great tips. Great location close to the palace (15 min walk) and metro. Love this place! Btw: you can get cheaper groceries in the "penny" store near the metro. PL - bardzo fajne/bezpieczne miejsce. Łatwo poznać nowych ludzi (jest dużo rożnych pokoi np. Bar, ogródek (nawet 2!), salon z rożnymi grami i instrumentami), wszyscy są bardzo mili i gotowi udzielić rady. Super miejsce w fajnej okolicy, blisko pałacu (15min na nogach) i metro. PS: w sklepie "penny" (blisko metra) można kupić tańsze jedzenie na śniadanie lub obiad.

Disliked: Nothing/Nic.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ilya Kogan

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals

26 May 2015 Ilya would recommend this property

Liked: The best hostel I've been to so far. Friendly, safe, quiet and fun.

Disliked: Everything was perfect

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

25 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, easy to meet people

Disliked: Nothing.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It had a very relaxed atmosphere. Everybody wanted to meet and talk to each other and the hostel provided a great space(the garden and the common areas) to do that.

Disliked: It was a bit far from the central areas

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

PALANIAPPAN ALAGAPPAN

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2015 PALANIAPPAN would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Not very spacious

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location. Women-only shower and sink. area

Disliked: It's a little too big, so you have to walk longer in the building.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, friendly staff, nice bar, piano, guitars and accordeon available to play (for free), clean, nice room, close to train station, self-service laundry facilities (fair price), large kitchen with a dish washer, garden, book exchange... I really enjoyed my stay there and out of all of the hostels I've stayed at so far (about 10), this is by far my favorite one! Great job!

Disliked: Nothing. :)

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jennifer Lancaster

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2015 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet, reasonable sized private room. Remarkably clean toilets and bathrooms, you wouldn't realise anyone else was using them. Good value breakfast and plenty of communal space. Bet the garden is lovely in the summer!

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pedro Sanchez

Alone

Business / conference
City break

09 March 2015 Pedro would recommend this property

Liked: One feels very welcome and can find both company and entertainment or calm rest. I stayed in a 10-bed room and could sleep outstandlingly well! Staff if absoutely helpful and nice.

Disliked: Pedro left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Heike Tobaben

Alone

City break

06 March 2015 Heike would recommend this property

Liked: Very comfortable, lots of young people, very clean, everything you need is offered

Disliked: Heike left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Loli Cummings

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2015 Loli would recommend this property

Liked: This was a charming and well located hostel, just five minutes walk from Westbahnhopf station. The hostel itself was clean and the kitchen was nice, and the gardens would be great in the summer. There was a nice social area with different musical instruments, and a bar in the evenings, and also hot drinks offered for a small price throughout the day; while I was staying they were offering hot spiced apple tea but I'm not sure if this is normal, or if it was just due to the bad weather. The staff were friendly and knowledgable and always keen to help. The hostel had a great atmosphere - not too crazy and full of parties, but busy enough to meet a lot of people and have a casual beer or head out to a bar at night. Rooms were a reasonable size, bottom bunks not very tall but I've definitely stayed in worse. Would recommend if visiting Vienna.

Disliked: Loli left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...


See all Vienna hostels
See all Vienna hotels