We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Vienna hostels
See all Vienna hotels

Reviews of Hostel Ruthensteiner

Hostel | Robert Hamerlinggasse 24, Vienna, Austria 1150

94.4% Overall Rating

1820 out of 1877 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/03/2015)

"Great atmosphere, friendly staff, nice bar, piano, guitars and accordeon available to play (for free), clean, nice room, close to train station, self-service laundry facilities (fair price), large kitchen with a dish…"

Read all Hostel Ruthensteiner reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 3.78
  • Towel USD 1.08

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Sorry, no groups please - We accept a maximum of 8 persons per booking. Customers can cancel their reservation free of charge up to 2 days before arrival (local time). The first night will be charged in full and the other nights cancelled. "Please note: for Christmas, New Year and Easter cancellations (1 week cancellation!), we may have to charge you for the duration of your booking, especially if you've held a room or rooms for months in advance. Thanks!"

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Vienna?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Vienna

Tourotel Mariahilf
63.73 USD

Hotel 4 star 84.8% 6 reviews
Wombats City Hostel - The Lounge
18.36 USD

Hostel 90.2% 603 reviews
Do Step Inn
15.12 USD

Hostel 85.1% 915 reviews
Happy Hostel
20.52 USD

Hostel 75.7% 737 reviews
Gally Apartments Vienna
28.08 USD

Apartment 89.8% 117 reviews
Pension Stadthalle
31.86 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.4% 122 reviews
Strawberry Youth Hostel Vienna
22.68 USD

Hostel 81.0% 530 reviews
Westend City Hostel
17.17 USD

Hostel 80.1% 1146 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.4%

Overall Rating

1820 out of 1877 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Ruthensteiner'

Atmosphere
95.2%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
94.4%
Cleanliness
95.2%
Staff
95.2%
Value
90.4%
Safety
98.4%
Refine your results Showing 1409 of 1539 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 56 | 57   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location. Women-only shower and sink. area

Disliked: It's a little too big, so you have to walk longer in the building.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, friendly staff, nice bar, piano, guitars and accordeon available to play (for free), clean, nice room, close to train station, self-service laundry facilities (fair price), large kitchen with a dish washer, garden, book exchange... I really enjoyed my stay there and out of all of the hostels I've stayed at so far (about 10), this is by far my favorite one! Great job!

Disliked: Nothing. :)

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jennifer Lancaster

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2015 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet, reasonable sized private room. Remarkably clean toilets and bathrooms, you wouldn't realise anyone else was using them. Good value breakfast and plenty of communal space. Bet the garden is lovely in the summer!

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pedro Sanchez

Alone

Business / conference
City break

09 March 2015 Pedro would recommend this property

Liked: One feels very welcome and can find both company and entertainment or calm rest. I stayed in a 10-bed room and could sleep outstandlingly well! Staff if absoutely helpful and nice.

Disliked: Pedro left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Heike Tobaben

Alone

City break

06 March 2015 Heike would recommend this property

Liked: Very comfortable, lots of young people, very clean, everything you need is offered

Disliked: Heike left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Loli Cummings

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2015 Loli would recommend this property

Liked: This was a charming and well located hostel, just five minutes walk from Westbahnhopf station. The hostel itself was clean and the kitchen was nice, and the gardens would be great in the summer. There was a nice social area with different musical instruments, and a bar in the evenings, and also hot drinks offered for a small price throughout the day; while I was staying they were offering hot spiced apple tea but I'm not sure if this is normal, or if it was just due to the bad weather. The staff were friendly and knowledgable and always keen to help. The hostel had a great atmosphere - not too crazy and full of parties, but busy enough to meet a lot of people and have a casual beer or head out to a bar at night. Rooms were a reasonable size, bottom bunks not very tall but I've definitely stayed in worse. Would recommend if visiting Vienna.

Disliked: Loli left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Visiting friends or family

08 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: its cosy

Disliked: you can hear everything from one room to another (people talking, when using water in bathroom). that the light in the bathroom is on sensor. beds are bleeping.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luke chapman

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 January 2015 Luke would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed staying here, all the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. They had cheap breakfast available, there was musical instruments around to use at your own will. The hostel was close to public transport so it was easy to get everywhere. The bathrooms were big and the kitchen was one of the best I've been in at the hostels. Highly recommendable!

Disliked: The shower water cuts out every five minutes to try and save water/energy but after a bit you get use to it .

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, very friendly and eays to meet other travellers. Music instruments in the common room is a nice touch. Helpful staff.

Disliked: Shower where you have to push every few seconds to keep the water going, gets a bit tedious, but a very minor concern.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Catherine Dee

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2015 Catherine would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were very nice, bathrooms excellent and the book exchange is great.

Disliked: The dryer in the laundry is not very good.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good wifi. Friendly and cosy common area.

Disliked: Dorm room and shower wasnt that clean.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gary Collings

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 January 2015 Gary would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels i have stayed in. Fantastic staff, great location, cheap bar and a great atmosphere. This hostel is laid out in such a way that is it very easy for the solo traveller to meet new people. They also have instruments in the common room so that people can entertain others with music, brilliant! Also they do not charge to print if it is for a ticket, which is very thoughtful and nice of them. beds are clean and comfy, and the showers are brilliant. This is a very good to excellent hostel and i would not hestitate to book again once i return to Vienna.

Disliked: Nothing really, a small comment would be that it would be nicer if the bar was open a bit earlier in the day, but that is only really a minor gripe as i should be out seeing the city.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Hayley Mascali

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 December 2014 Hayley would recommend this property

Liked: Close to station. Good kitchen. Busy hostel with lots of young travellers.

Disliked: Do not stay in room 1 if you plan on a good nights sleep. After 3 nights I was sleep deprived. The room is directly next to the bar/kitchen and communal toilets. The kitchen is suppose to close at 11 and the bar at 12, the stsff on my first night did not enforce this rule at all. people were cooking and playing piano way after 2am. The second night they stopped the noise at midnight but it was still annoying waiting till then because I had to get up early. I went to a room upstairs and it was great!!! I recommend this hostel as long as it's not room number 1.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marta Czaban

As a family with children

City break
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 November 2014 Marta would recommend this property

Liked: The stuff was really kind and helpful. Everything was clean and tidy. Location is 30 minutes by walk or 5-10 min by tram to main attractions of the city. They have a great garden, nice bar where you can meet a lot of people during evening. The atmosphere of this place let you feel like you really at home.

Disliked: Marta left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joe Sanders Wilde

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 November 2014 Joe would recommend this property

Liked: There was a piano so I could finally play! The character is really pleasant and the staff were really friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Joe left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Molly York

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 October 2014 Molly would recommend this property

Liked: An amazing atmosphere, ended up having a makeshift dinner party! Always buzzing and there's always something going on that you can join in with, really friendly people all with the same mindset.

Disliked: Nothing!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Davide Marzano

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

08 October 2014 Davide would recommend this property

Liked: Very lovely staff, good mood in the hostel, there is a small pub where you can drink local wine or beer, and meet other travelers. If you play music there are 2 guitars, one ukulele and a piano that u can play. Wifi works very good, and the rooms are very clean and comfortable. In the morning you can have a good breakfast from just 2,90€. If u like to cook there's a kitchen that u can use for free. I will return of course here. One of the best hostels that I've seen. All in a central position in the city. When you do the checkout if u want u can put ur lugagge in a storage for free.

Disliked: Was all good

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

GRAEME BUCHANAN

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 September 2014 GRAEME would recommend this property

Liked: nice bar area that was busy every night I was there. clean and comfy rooms/beds

Disliked: GRAEME left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tania Hurtado

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 September 2014 Tania would recommend this property

Liked: Facilities are very good

Disliked: Reception is located on a different building from dorms.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly atmosphere and staff - good facilities, nice communal area

Disliked: I'm not a fan of the showers, I don't like the timed water allowance, but it still works and overall is saving water so not really a complaint!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: On walking through the door, we were greeted by friendly staff, and a lively atmosphere. The staff told us everything we need to know about the hostel and our stay, and gave us maps of Vienna, the sights and the metro system. The reception has plenty of information- especially useful were very clear and simple printed instructions of how to get to key places around Vienna, including tourist attractions, transport links and supermarkets, that you could pick up when you needed. The room was spacious and clean, with big lockers - enough to fit a suitcase and a rucksack into! Our 6-bed dorm had a table and chairs, and stools by each bunk. Every bed has a reading lamp which is very useful in dormitories. The shower and toilet areas are also kept very clean, and there are sufficient that queues were rare and short. The communal areas of the hostel are extremely welcoming and well maintained, including two lovely courtyards/gardens. There is plenty to do just in the hostel, and it's very easy to meet new people at any time of day. The kitchen is very well equipped: lots of shelf and fridge space to store your own food, and plenty of cutlery, crockery and cooking equipment that is all remarkably clean! Most people are efficient and diligent with their washing up, but the hostel staff also do an exceptional job of polishing up the kitchen every morning, and cleaning out abandoned food every week. The kitchen gets a bit crowded at 9am as everyone makes breakfast, but it's big enough for quite a few groups to be in there at once. We appreciated the signs in corridors asking for quiet between 10pm and 9am - unlike other hostels, this actually worked and made for a peaceful night's sleep! The hostel is very well located - off the main road, so easily accessible but also quiet. 2 minutes walk to the nearest supermarket. 5 minutes to the Westbahnhof station, from where it's less than 10 minutes on the metro into the centre of town, and where you can catch the airport bus to Vienna airport. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and would without doubt be staying here again if we return to Vienna. The hostel itself is fantastic, and excellent value for money, but the staff deserve a special mention for making the place so welcoming and our stay go so smoothly.

Disliked: Our room had two windows looking out directly over the hostel entrance. As it was quite warm when we were there, the open windows unfortunately meant groups collecting at the entrance in the late evenings, about to head out for the night into town, were quite noisy and also any smoke from the smokers below found its way into our room. This is not a criticism of the hostel, but perhaps if you want a quiet early night, try and stay in one of the many rooms towards the back of the hostel.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sean Purtell

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 September 2014 Sean would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, short walk from the train station, great vibe

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lizzian Nishioka

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

06 September 2014 Lizzian would recommend this property

Liked: Private room was very nice, good breakfast, near from train station, and have a bar inside!

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Phillip Boyack

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2014 Phillip would recommend this property

Liked: Where do I start? For example, the kitchen has a free spice rack - this isn't something they advertise, that sort of thing is what these guys consider stock standard, it's from there that they make an effort.

Disliked: Just disappointed I was too tired to take advantage of the great atmosphere in the common rooms.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Bagshaw

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 August 2014 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel I've stayed in! Fantastic atmosphere; we made friends upon walking into our room. Nice bar area and terrace too with very friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: The beds were unsafe as the top bunks had no rails or stairs!

The property's response is...


See all Vienna hostels
See all Vienna hotels