We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Vienna hostels
See all Vienna hotels

Reviews of Hostel Ruthensteiner

Hostel | Robert Hamerlinggasse 24, Vienna, Austria 1150

95.9% Overall Rating

1802 out of 1858 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/11/2014)

Marta Czaban thinks…

"The stuff was really kind and helpful. Everything was clean and tidy. Location is 30 minutes by walk or 5-10 min by tram to main attractions of the city. They have a great garden, nice bar where you…"

Read all Hostel Ruthensteiner reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 4.43
  • Towel USD 1.27

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Sorry, no groups please - We accept a maximum of 8 persons per booking. Customers can cancel their reservation free of charge up to 2 days before arrival (local time). The first night will be charged in full and the other nights cancelled. "Please note: for Christmas, New Year and Easter cancellations (1 week cancellation!), we may have to charge you for the duration of your booking, especially if you've held a room or rooms for months in advance. Thanks!"

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Vienna?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Vienna

Tourotel Mariahilf
61.99 USD

Hotel 4 star 84.8% 6 reviews
Wombats City Hostel - The Lounge
18.98 USD

Hostel 88.9% 600 reviews
Do Step Inn
22.52 USD

Hostel 84.1% 905 reviews
Wombats City Hostel - The Base
11.39 USD

Hostel 82.2% 1092 reviews
Happy Hostel
24.04 USD

Hostel 78.5% 735 reviews
Gally Apartments Vienna
36.69 USD

Apartment 89.5% 115 reviews
Pension Stadthalle
37.32 USD

Hotel 2 star 84.2% 121 reviews
Strawberry Youth Hostel Vienna
26.57 USD

Hostel 81.0% 530 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.9%

Overall Rating

1802 out of 1858 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Ruthensteiner'

Atmosphere
99.2%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
96.0%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
97.6%
Value
94.4%
Safety
97.6%
Refine your results Showing 1396 of 1520 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 55 | 56   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marta Czaban

As a family with children

City break
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 November 2014 Marta would recommend this property

Liked: The stuff was really kind and helpful. Everything was clean and tidy. Location is 30 minutes by walk or 5-10 min by tram to main attractions of the city. They have a great garden, nice bar where you can meet a lot of people during evening. The atmosphere of this place let you feel like you really at home.

Disliked: Marta left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joe Sanders Wilde

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 November 2014 Joe would recommend this property

Liked: There was a piano so I could finally play! The character is really pleasant and the staff were really friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Joe left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Molly York

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 October 2014 Molly would recommend this property

Liked: An amazing atmosphere, ended up having a makeshift dinner party! Always buzzing and there's always something going on that you can join in with, really friendly people all with the same mindset.

Disliked: Nothing!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Davide Marzano

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

08 October 2014 Davide would recommend this property

Liked: Very lovely staff, good mood in the hostel, there is a small pub where you can drink local wine or beer, and meet other travelers. If you play music there are 2 guitars, one ukulele and a piano that u can play. Wifi works very good, and the rooms are very clean and comfortable. In the morning you can have a good breakfast from just 2,90€. If u like to cook there's a kitchen that u can use for free. I will return of course here. One of the best hostels that I've seen. All in a central position in the city. When you do the checkout if u want u can put ur lugagge in a storage for free.

Disliked: Was all good

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

GRAEME BUCHANAN

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 September 2014 GRAEME would recommend this property

Liked: nice bar area that was busy every night I was there. clean and comfy rooms/beds

Disliked: GRAEME left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tania Hurtado

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 September 2014 Tania would recommend this property

Liked: Facilities are very good

Disliked: Reception is located on a different building from dorms.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly atmosphere and staff - good facilities, nice communal area

Disliked: I'm not a fan of the showers, I don't like the timed water allowance, but it still works and overall is saving water so not really a complaint!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: On walking through the door, we were greeted by friendly staff, and a lively atmosphere. The staff told us everything we need to know about the hostel and our stay, and gave us maps of Vienna, the sights and the metro system. The reception has plenty of information- especially useful were very clear and simple printed instructions of how to get to key places around Vienna, including tourist attractions, transport links and supermarkets, that you could pick up when you needed. The room was spacious and clean, with big lockers - enough to fit a suitcase and a rucksack into! Our 6-bed dorm had a table and chairs, and stools by each bunk. Every bed has a reading lamp which is very useful in dormitories. The shower and toilet areas are also kept very clean, and there are sufficient that queues were rare and short. The communal areas of the hostel are extremely welcoming and well maintained, including two lovely courtyards/gardens. There is plenty to do just in the hostel, and it's very easy to meet new people at any time of day. The kitchen is very well equipped: lots of shelf and fridge space to store your own food, and plenty of cutlery, crockery and cooking equipment that is all remarkably clean! Most people are efficient and diligent with their washing up, but the hostel staff also do an exceptional job of polishing up the kitchen every morning, and cleaning out abandoned food every week. The kitchen gets a bit crowded at 9am as everyone makes breakfast, but it's big enough for quite a few groups to be in there at once. We appreciated the signs in corridors asking for quiet between 10pm and 9am - unlike other hostels, this actually worked and made for a peaceful night's sleep! The hostel is very well located - off the main road, so easily accessible but also quiet. 2 minutes walk to the nearest supermarket. 5 minutes to the Westbahnhof station, from where it's less than 10 minutes on the metro into the centre of town, and where you can catch the airport bus to Vienna airport. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and would without doubt be staying here again if we return to Vienna. The hostel itself is fantastic, and excellent value for money, but the staff deserve a special mention for making the place so welcoming and our stay go so smoothly.

Disliked: Our room had two windows looking out directly over the hostel entrance. As it was quite warm when we were there, the open windows unfortunately meant groups collecting at the entrance in the late evenings, about to head out for the night into town, were quite noisy and also any smoke from the smokers below found its way into our room. This is not a criticism of the hostel, but perhaps if you want a quiet early night, try and stay in one of the many rooms towards the back of the hostel.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sean Purtell

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 September 2014 Sean would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, short walk from the train station, great vibe

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lizzian Nishioka

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

06 September 2014 Lizzian would recommend this property

Liked: Private room was very nice, good breakfast, near from train station, and have a bar inside!

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Phillip Boyack

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2014 Phillip would recommend this property

Liked: Where do I start? For example, the kitchen has a free spice rack - this isn't something they advertise, that sort of thing is what these guys consider stock standard, it's from there that they make an effort.

Disliked: Just disappointed I was too tired to take advantage of the great atmosphere in the common rooms.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Bagshaw

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 August 2014 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel I've stayed in! Fantastic atmosphere; we made friends upon walking into our room. Nice bar area and terrace too with very friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: The beds were unsafe as the top bunks had no rails or stairs!

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff, very good location near Westbahnhof but a metro ticket is advised for travel around the city.

Disliked: Push-button shower is very annoying as it turns off after less than a minute. Bunk beds were strange with top bunk much lower than usual so no ladder and not much head room if on bottom bunk.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

rebecca rendell

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 August 2014 rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Really modern. More like a hotel. Great bar. V helpful staff. Free lockers. Amazing

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Aaron Blanc

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2014 Aaron would recommend this property

Liked: Close to train station and subway stations. Nice little bar area too. Friendly staff.

Disliked: Not centrally located to much activity type stuff.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. The hostels facilities were the best i have seen. Great bar, cute gardens for eating, fantastic kitchen and washroom facilities. Very secure as they provided lockers big enough to fit big travellers bags. The location is great- half way between the old town and the main palace and very close to a big tube station. The staff were great and run a 24hour service!! overall was a perfect hostel.

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel was very cute and colourfull. They had great staff. They also had great innovation: they had directions to frequently asked places such as airport, printed on small paperpieces. So you could just take it with you so you won't forget how to get there. Room was tiny (but it was enough for 2, we had private room with shared bathroom). We also had showers next to our room and we didn't wake up in the morning to any shower-noise. So sound-proofing is good (except noise from the street woke us up). Common room / Bar was great, amazing atmosphere, nice people (both staff and quests), enought places to sit and enjoy drinks (colourfull tasty drinks and happy hours <3). Nice garden and decent kitchen. They also have laundry room if you need to wash your clothes. Hostel also has free lockers, so when you check out, you can leave your stuff there. Great!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I've stayed here many times over the last ten years and would still rate it one of the best hostels in the world.

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Muhammad Ishaq

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 August 2014 Muhammad would recommend this property

Liked: An Excellent place to feel yourself cool and calm

Disliked: Muhammad left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

07 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness, friendly people, helpful staff, bright space

Disliked: Bar closed kind of early, not many other resources in the area later at night, closed kitchen access after midnight, shower was small

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly people and atmosphere. Close to train station. Good common areas.

Disliked: Dorm rooms were in a separate building across the road. Not a big problem but definitely annoying when raining. No breakfast included.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Had a great atmosphere, & really kind and helpful staff. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and would really recommend this hostel to others!

Disliked: Nothing!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, quite good location in between the main places of interest and close to the westbahnhof, clean rooms (i was in 6 bed dorm), a place for those who enjoy music since instruments are available in common areas!!!

Disliked: Breakfast not included!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Ryan Bergin

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2014 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: We enjoyed the hostel because it was quite and it had a real homely feel. The common room and kitchen felt like a family home, and all the guests sat comfortably and enjoyed the atmosphere. Additionally the non smoking rule inside the hostel was also a plus.

Disliked: It was extremely hot inside our room and when we opened the windows cigarette from outside filled our room. Additionally, the bathrooms were slightly unclean (but not too bad, just a little).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is awesome!!! The location is very central, close to the Westbahnhof train station, so it was easy to reach. The staff are super helpful and there is a nice chillout/bar area downstairs where you can meet other travellers. It's relatively cheap as well with great facilities, including a kitchen and free internet. Awesome hostel and I will definitely stay here again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...


See all Vienna hostels
See all Vienna hotels