We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Vienna hostels
See all Vienna hotels

Reviews of Hostel Ruthensteiner

Hostel | Robert Hamerlinggasse 24, Vienna, Austria 1150

93.8% Overall Rating

1827 out of 1884 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/05/2015)

"Very good location, close to all major attractions such as the castle, old town square, Charles bridge as well as the shopping centre. The rooms, common area and bathrooms are clean and the staff are friendly and…"

Read all Hostel Ruthensteiner reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 3.82
  • Towel USD 1.09

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Sorry, no groups please - We accept a maximum of 8 persons per booking. Customers can cancel their reservation free of charge up to 2 days before arrival (local time). The first night will be charged in full and the other nights cancelled. "Please note: for Christmas, New Year and Easter cancellations (1 week cancellation!), we may have to charge you for the duration of your booking, especially if you've held a room or rooms for months in advance. Thanks!"

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Vienna?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Vienna

Tourotel Mariahilf
86.24 USD

Hotel 4 star 84.8% 6 reviews
Wombats City Hostel - The Lounge
20.74 USD

Hostel 88.3% 605 reviews
Do Step Inn
15.07 USD

Hostel 86.1% 922 reviews
Happy Hostel
20.74 USD

Hostel 75.7% 737 reviews
Gally Apartments Vienna
28.38 USD

Apartment 90.1% 118 reviews
Pension Stadthalle
32.21 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.4% 122 reviews
Strawberry Youth Hostel Vienna
22.93 USD

Hostel 81.0% 530 reviews
Westend City Hostel
17.36 USD

Hostel 81.0% 1149 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.8%

Overall Rating

1827 out of 1884 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Ruthensteiner'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
92.8%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
96.0%
Value
92.0%
Safety
98.4%
Refine your results Showing 1414 of 1546 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 56 | 57   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ilya Kogan

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals

26 May 2015 Ilya would recommend this property

Liked: The best hostel I've been to so far. Friendly, safe, quiet and fun.

Disliked: Everything was perfect

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

25 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, easy to meet people

Disliked: Nothing.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, close to all major attractions such as the castle, old town square, Charles bridge as well as the shopping centre. The rooms, common area and bathrooms are clean and the staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms come with a massive storage drawer for each bed that can fit your entire rucksack and more.

Disliked: Did not really encourage socialising

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It had a very relaxed atmosphere. Everybody wanted to meet and talk to each other and the hostel provided a great space(the garden and the common areas) to do that.

Disliked: It was a bit far from the central areas

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

PALANIAPPAN ALAGAPPAN

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2015 PALANIAPPAN would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Not very spacious

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location. Women-only shower and sink. area

Disliked: It's a little too big, so you have to walk longer in the building.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, friendly staff, nice bar, piano, guitars and accordeon available to play (for free), clean, nice room, close to train station, self-service laundry facilities (fair price), large kitchen with a dish washer, garden, book exchange... I really enjoyed my stay there and out of all of the hostels I've stayed at so far (about 10), this is by far my favorite one! Great job!

Disliked: Nothing. :)

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jennifer Lancaster

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2015 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet, reasonable sized private room. Remarkably clean toilets and bathrooms, you wouldn't realise anyone else was using them. Good value breakfast and plenty of communal space. Bet the garden is lovely in the summer!

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pedro Sanchez

Alone

Business / conference
City break

09 March 2015 Pedro would recommend this property

Liked: One feels very welcome and can find both company and entertainment or calm rest. I stayed in a 10-bed room and could sleep outstandlingly well! Staff if absoutely helpful and nice.

Disliked: Pedro left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Heike Tobaben

Alone

City break

06 March 2015 Heike would recommend this property

Liked: Very comfortable, lots of young people, very clean, everything you need is offered

Disliked: Heike left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Loli Cummings

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2015 Loli would recommend this property

Liked: This was a charming and well located hostel, just five minutes walk from Westbahnhopf station. The hostel itself was clean and the kitchen was nice, and the gardens would be great in the summer. There was a nice social area with different musical instruments, and a bar in the evenings, and also hot drinks offered for a small price throughout the day; while I was staying they were offering hot spiced apple tea but I'm not sure if this is normal, or if it was just due to the bad weather. The staff were friendly and knowledgable and always keen to help. The hostel had a great atmosphere - not too crazy and full of parties, but busy enough to meet a lot of people and have a casual beer or head out to a bar at night. Rooms were a reasonable size, bottom bunks not very tall but I've definitely stayed in worse. Would recommend if visiting Vienna.

Disliked: Loli left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Visiting friends or family

08 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: its cosy

Disliked: you can hear everything from one room to another (people talking, when using water in bathroom). that the light in the bathroom is on sensor. beds are bleeping.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luke chapman

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 January 2015 Luke would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed staying here, all the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. They had cheap breakfast available, there was musical instruments around to use at your own will. The hostel was close to public transport so it was easy to get everywhere. The bathrooms were big and the kitchen was one of the best I've been in at the hostels. Highly recommendable!

Disliked: The shower water cuts out every five minutes to try and save water/energy but after a bit you get use to it .

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, very friendly and eays to meet other travellers. Music instruments in the common room is a nice touch. Helpful staff.

Disliked: Shower where you have to push every few seconds to keep the water going, gets a bit tedious, but a very minor concern.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Catherine Dee

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2015 Catherine would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were very nice, bathrooms excellent and the book exchange is great.

Disliked: The dryer in the laundry is not very good.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good wifi. Friendly and cosy common area.

Disliked: Dorm room and shower wasnt that clean.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gary Collings

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 January 2015 Gary would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels i have stayed in. Fantastic staff, great location, cheap bar and a great atmosphere. This hostel is laid out in such a way that is it very easy for the solo traveller to meet new people. They also have instruments in the common room so that people can entertain others with music, brilliant! Also they do not charge to print if it is for a ticket, which is very thoughtful and nice of them. beds are clean and comfy, and the showers are brilliant. This is a very good to excellent hostel and i would not hestitate to book again once i return to Vienna.

Disliked: Nothing really, a small comment would be that it would be nicer if the bar was open a bit earlier in the day, but that is only really a minor gripe as i should be out seeing the city.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Hayley Mascali

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 December 2014 Hayley would recommend this property

Liked: Close to station. Good kitchen. Busy hostel with lots of young travellers.

Disliked: Do not stay in room 1 if you plan on a good nights sleep. After 3 nights I was sleep deprived. The room is directly next to the bar/kitchen and communal toilets. The kitchen is suppose to close at 11 and the bar at 12, the stsff on my first night did not enforce this rule at all. people were cooking and playing piano way after 2am. The second night they stopped the noise at midnight but it was still annoying waiting till then because I had to get up early. I went to a room upstairs and it was great!!! I recommend this hostel as long as it's not room number 1.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marta Czaban

As a family with children

City break
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 November 2014 Marta would recommend this property

Liked: The stuff was really kind and helpful. Everything was clean and tidy. Location is 30 minutes by walk or 5-10 min by tram to main attractions of the city. They have a great garden, nice bar where you can meet a lot of people during evening. The atmosphere of this place let you feel like you really at home.

Disliked: Marta left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joe Sanders Wilde

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 November 2014 Joe would recommend this property

Liked: There was a piano so I could finally play! The character is really pleasant and the staff were really friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Joe left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Molly York

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 October 2014 Molly would recommend this property

Liked: An amazing atmosphere, ended up having a makeshift dinner party! Always buzzing and there's always something going on that you can join in with, really friendly people all with the same mindset.

Disliked: Nothing!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Davide Marzano

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

08 October 2014 Davide would recommend this property

Liked: Very lovely staff, good mood in the hostel, there is a small pub where you can drink local wine or beer, and meet other travelers. If you play music there are 2 guitars, one ukulele and a piano that u can play. Wifi works very good, and the rooms are very clean and comfortable. In the morning you can have a good breakfast from just 2,90€. If u like to cook there's a kitchen that u can use for free. I will return of course here. One of the best hostels that I've seen. All in a central position in the city. When you do the checkout if u want u can put ur lugagge in a storage for free.

Disliked: Was all good

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

GRAEME BUCHANAN

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 September 2014 GRAEME would recommend this property

Liked: nice bar area that was busy every night I was there. clean and comfy rooms/beds

Disliked: GRAEME left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tania Hurtado

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 September 2014 Tania would recommend this property

Liked: Facilities are very good

Disliked: Reception is located on a different building from dorms.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly atmosphere and staff - good facilities, nice communal area

Disliked: I'm not a fan of the showers, I don't like the timed water allowance, but it still works and overall is saving water so not really a complaint!


See all Vienna hostels
See all Vienna hotels