We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Vienna hostels
See all Vienna hotels

Reviews of Wombats City Hostel - The Lounge

Hostel | Mariahilferstraße137, Vienna, Austria 1150

88.3% Overall Rating

585 out of 605 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/04/2015)

Anita Bernatek thinks…

"I like the location, so close to Westbahnof and U-Bahn, there are some shops near the hostel."

Read all Wombats City Hostel - The Lounge reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 4.28

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Vienna?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Vienna

Hostel Ruthensteiner
14.27 USD

Hostel 93.7% 1894 reviews
Tourotel Mariahilf
60.36 USD

Hotel 4 star 84.8% 6 reviews
Happy Hostel
20.85 USD

Hostel 75.4% 739 reviews
Do Step Inn
15.36 USD

Hostel 90.1% 932 reviews
Strawberry Youth Hostel Vienna
19.75 USD

Hostel 80.9% 531 reviews
Westend City Hostel
18.55 USD

Hostel 81.9% 1159 reviews
Pension Stadthalle
26.89 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.4% 122 reviews
Gally Apartments Vienna
31.83 USD

Apartment 91.3% 119 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.3%

Overall Rating

585 out of 605 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Wombats City Hostel - The Lounge'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
85.6%
Value
83.2%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 476 of 514 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Carissa Pickering

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2015

Liked: There are things to like. I just can't think of them...

Disliked: For a Top Rated and Award Winning hostel I think this place needs to do better. They do not provide plugs to charge your devices at any of the beds. So all 6 of us in a dorm had to use 3 sockets right at the door so it was either always being used or you had to leave your things there for long periods of time and I thought was a security issue. WiFi is good for your room shocking on the main floor, kitchen or bar areas. They don't offer free tea and coffee like every other great hostel I've been to instead 80 cents for a little tiny cup automatically brewed. Value for money definitely not the case.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big bed, not squeaky, individual reading lights. Staff friendly

Disliked: Maybe needs a bigger sign outside, I walked right past it. Needs extra toilet in corridor in case en suite in dorm is full

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anita Bernatek

Alone

Business / conference

18 April 2015 Anita would recommend this property

Liked: I like the location, so close to Westbahnof and U-Bahn, there are some shops near the hostel.

Disliked: Anita left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was perfect. Facilities and beds and breakfast. And location was also good, although it was far from downtown, you can reach downtown by metro. U bahn station, westbahnhof, is very close.

Disliked: Just one. Wifi was...nearly not working.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 November 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 좋아요 역시..

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Franzen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 October 2014 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked this hostel! It was close to the station, staff was always very friendly and helpful. Every bed had its own lamp and power socket, there was great wifi everywhere and they had a cozy chill area downstairs. One of the best hostels I've been to!

Disliked: The only thing I disliked was that annoying school class next door that kept shouting and slamming doors until past midnight, but that's not the hostels fault =)

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very very friendly. They have a pretty cool bar downstairs where you can purchase drinks for a cheap price. On top, you get a voucher for a free drink the day you arrive. The breakfast is quite nice and has a large offer. Although I think that 3,90€ is a bit too expensive. But still, great hostel! I would come back at anytime! The rooms were quite big and everybody had an own locker. It was easy to get to know your roommates :)

Disliked: Besides the little overpriced breakfast, nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

28 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything was brilliant could not fault it

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was at a good location where most attraction is about a 20 min walk away

Disliked: I stay in room 111 and it was really hot in there for some reason.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location as it is very near to the station staff knowledgeable. And helpful. Very self contained u can have everything convenient

Disliked: Can be more clean

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ronnie Murray

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 April 2014 Ronnie would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. Great location next to westbanhoff metro station which takes you into centre of vienna. Very clean hostel & dorms. Staff are very helpful. Couldn't have felt more welcome, safe & secure. €3.90 for breakfast in hostel which is great & offers good selection of food & fruits. Free towels too.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anna Cheng

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 November 2013 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel offered a great bang for its bucks in Vienna- many are much for expensive. Wombat hostel is a very established hostel in Vienna and other parts of Europe. In Vienna alone, they have three locations. This one in particular was very convenient for its location. It was right near the West Bahnhof stop that allowed easy access to the metro and trains. Our room of 8 female dorm was very clean and the lockers they provided allowed me to feel safe about my personal belongings. The map that Wombat created was also very helpful throughout my stay in Vienna.

Disliked: Anna left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was great, staff was friendly and helpful, and the girl checking us in even switched our friend from the other wombat hostel in vienna to ours.

Disliked: The wifi was TERRIBLE. This was the most expensive hostel I have stayed in and the price would have been worth the stay if I could get any wifi service but there was none and as a student abroad, I need to do my homework during me weekend trips and I could not even get on to google.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: had a kitchen, bar was cheap, there was also quite a few cheap places to eat arround the area and it was not far to walk to main attractions. Awesome aussie bar very close to.

Disliked: Was such a big hostel that it didnt have the same vibe as some smaller more cosy ones. Breakfast was not free. Also they had old flyers for tours so I ended up missing out as I went to an old meeting place location the next day was raining and then I was leaving was very very dissapointed I wasted a whole morning

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

03 October 2013

Liked: Very close to transition.

Disliked: It is a big hostel, so it is not so cozy.some stuff is really helpful , some is not.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Kerstin Kent

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

03 October 2013 Kerstin would recommend this property

Liked: The location is good, right by the metro. There are grocery stores close and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Towels and sheets were provided, the lockers were secure (once you figured out how to use them, haha). There was free wifi, it was very good in the lobby but sometimes cut out in the rooms.

Disliked: It was really quite large, so it was a little hard to make friends and get to know the other people because there are so many people. There wasn't much fresh air in the hallways, but overall nothing huge to complain about.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

rebecca mcintosh

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2013 rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and helpful, right next to the station very easy to get around the city.

Disliked: rebecca left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

EUNJOO KIM

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 September 2013 EUNJOO would recommend this property

Liked: good location and breakfast!! also clean room.

Disliked: EUNJOO left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Hinchcliffe

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 August 2013 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stop...friendly staff and a very sociable hostel. Would stop here again!

Disliked: Nothing!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

leah ha

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2013

Liked: 호스텔 자체는 깨끗한 편입니다. 서역근처에 있어서 관광지는 조금 멀었지만 짐을 가지고 이동하기에 좋았습니다.

Disliked: 빈에 갔을 때 정말 더웠는데 에어컨이 없어 힘들었습니다.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rebecca Long

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2013 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Great location - right next to Westbahnhof station and awesome atmosphere - the staff were so lovely and let us shower when we first arrived after a night train, safe place to store luggage and great atmosphere. Rooms are simple but have everything you need. Would definitely recommend. Good lockers and felt safe.

Disliked: The toilet and shower are in the same room which means we were waiting for the toilet/shower in the mornings but this is a minor thing!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Andrew Thompson

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2013 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Location near Westbahnhof.

Disliked: Noisy in bar area

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - Close to the train station and public transportation (subway and bus) - Friendly and helpful staff - It was very clean!

Disliked: - Far from the airport - 25-30 minute walk to the main city center (down the main shopping strip though, so that was good) - No A/C!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Thanh Hoa Pham

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 June 2013 Thanh Hoa would recommend this property

Liked: Good service, clean, good location.

Disliked: Mostly nothing. I was there for just one day. Quite satiafied. Internet might be a little slow and lagged sometimes.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

ALVIN GOH

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2013

Liked: Allows early check in

Disliked: Drunkards everywhere. Staff did not stop them from making noises late at night


See all Vienna hostels
See all Vienna hotels