HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Wombats City Hostel Vienna - The Lounge Vienna Hostel

Mariahilfer Strasse 137, Vienna, Austria

Atmosphere 89%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 87%

Location 91%

Safety 94%

Staff 87%

Value 88%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 4.74USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Vienna?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 89%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 87%

Location 91%

Safety 94%

Staff 87%

Value 88%

Showing 1-10 of 31 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating


31 Mar 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: Really good value for Vienna. Couple of stops to the city but so close to the summer palace (walking distance).

Disliked: Nada

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: WiFi in the room

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very friendly staff!

Disliked: A little far from the city center.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa

Liked: Right from the tariff, to the check in , to the 6 bed dorm. Everything at wombats was really very organised and very good. Very good location, very neat rooms, toilets were very clean,facilities were really good. There were many people i met at the reception , all the staff were really really helpful with the transportation assistance and the local things to do. There were really big lockers for each person.The common room was really comfortable and a very good place to socialize. Overall a very much recommended property .

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Individual plugs on every bed as well individual lights. I think safety is a concern of the hostel. Access to the floors and bedrooms only with card. Also clean

Disliked: Being a bit picky . I think some lockers in the rooms should be replaced.

Customer would recommend this property

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 May 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: There are things to like. I just can't think of them...

Disliked: For a Top Rated and Award Winning hostel I think this place needs to do better. They do not provide plugs to charge your devices at any of the beds. So all 6 of us in a dorm had to use 3 sockets right at the door so it was either always being used or you had to leave your things there for long periods of time and I thought was a security issue. WiFi is good for your room shocking on the main floor, kitchen or bar areas. They don't offer free tea and coffee like every other great hostel I've been to instead 80 cents for a little tiny cup automatically brewed. Value for money definitely not the case.


The property's response is

Hi there! We are happy to offer you at any time our charge station behind our 24h reception. Even though we got a awesome coffe machine, witch grinds the coffe straight away and is not instant powder, you can use also your free welcome drink for coffe, beer, wine or some nice fresh juice. Anw thank you for your suggestions - so we can improve even more and see what is important for our guests. Greats your Wombat's Team

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Big bed, not squeaky, individual reading lights. Staff friendly

Disliked: Maybe needs a bigger sign outside, I walked right past it. Needs extra toilet in corridor in case en suite in dorm is full

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: I like the location, so close to Westbahnof and U-Bahn, there are some shops near the hostel.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Everything was perfect. Facilities and beds and breakfast. And location was also good, although it was far from downtown, you can reach downtown by metro. U bahn station, westbahnhof, is very close.

Disliked: Just one. Wifi was...nearly not working.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Oct 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I really liked this hostel! It was close to the station, staff was always very friendly and helpful. Every bed had its own lamp and power socket, there was great wifi everywhere and they had a cozy chill area downstairs. One of the best hostels I've been to!

Disliked: The only thing I disliked was that annoying school class next door that kept shouting and slamming doors until past midnight, but that's not the hostels fault =)

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability