We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Vienna hostels
See all Vienna hotels

Reviews of Vienna City Hostel

Hostel | Dampfgasse 8, Vienna, Austria 1100

80.6% Overall Rating

419 out of 470 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/07/2014)

Beverley Newing thinks…

"The hostel is on the U1 underground line and it is very close to the Inner City. It is a well decorated and colourful hostel and the rooms were spacious. I met some lovely people at this hostel. The…"

Read all Vienna City Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.34
  • Towel USD 4.53

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Paying is possible in cash (or over 25 EUR also by Visa and MasterCard) on arrival! I m p o r t a n t: Customers can cancel their reservation free of charge up to 2 days before arrival. After this date, charges will be applied up to the full cost of the reservation.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Vienna?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Vienna

Birg-Cyrus
21.36 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.0% 210 reviews
MEININGER Vienna Central Station
15.54 USD

Hostel 87.3% 1036 reviews
Hostel 4
24.60 USD

Hostel 83.8% 49 reviews
A&O Wien Hauptbahnhof
21.40 USD

Hostel 80.0% 103 reviews
A&T Holiday Hostel
20.71 USD

Hostel 83.4% 90 reviews
AllYouNeed Hotel Vienna4***
35.60 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Carlton Opera
45.31 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.0% 31 reviews
Wombats City Hostel at The Naschmarkt
20.71 USD

Hostel 94.6% 623 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.6%

Overall Rating

419 out of 470 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Vienna City Hostel'

Atmosphere
78.4%
Location
75.2%
Facilities
76.0%
Cleanliness
83.2%
Staff
84.8%
Value
84.0%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 301 of 392 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert West

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2014 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were clean and the bedding was nice.

Disliked: I didn't dislike much. the location at some hostels is better but the metro is only two blocks away and four stops from the center of the action.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Beverley Newing

Alone

Business / conference

30 July 2014 Beverley would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is on the U1 underground line and it is very close to the Inner City. It is a well decorated and colourful hostel and the rooms were spacious. I met some lovely people at this hostel. The facilities were good and clean and there were card keys for the doors.

Disliked: One member of staff would cut across my attempts to talk in German with him in English which knocked my confidence with the language a lot (I am studying German at uni) but the other members of staff were absolutely lovely and friendly and I couldn't have asked for lovelier people to have been there!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Lauren Williams

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2014

Liked: At first glance it didn't seem terrible. The staff were friendly enough, and breakfast was pretty good. The internet worked well in the common areas, but didn't always reach the rooms.

Disliked: The hostel isn't in the best neighborhood. I was harassed multiple times, especially by a mentally ill man who stood outside the front door most days. The hostel seemed to be catering more to older travelers and families than backpackers, hosting a lot of people who seemed to have friends in the area. The mattresses, pillows, and duvets were full of dust, and the grout in the bathroom was growing mold. I couldn't breath when I closed the windows at night, but opening the windows meant flies the size of my thumbnail.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 June 2014

Liked: Close to train station and Ubahn but very suburban area.

Disliked: They allow large groups of school children and Uni groups to stay here. They are very noisy and it makes the atmosphere of the hostel really bad!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff that work there are very friendly and helpful

Disliked: it's a little out of the way, although using the u-bahn makes it very convenient,. still, it would be nicer if it was closer to the main downtown area

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Paul Ngalap Ayu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2014 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: The room and amenities are as decribed and east access to the town center via the underground.

Disliked: It pretty far from the town center and the wifi is only available at the lobby.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

16 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfast (on charge), clean and helful staff. Comfortable common spaces

Disliked: Very small room.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Xu Han

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2014 Xu would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, clean. We added one person just 1-2 days before our stay and the staff is kindly and efficient enough to help us

Disliked: Not enough toilet. Room a bit small

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Zuzana Baronova

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 April 2014 Zuzana would recommend this property

Liked: I liked i could took a shower and left the luggage in luggage room after the day (even i was not a guest) becasue i was running Vienna marathon.

Disliked: I had to pay for a lockers. They should be already there.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

chahat bhatia

Alone

City break

30 March 2014 chahat would recommend this property

Liked: clean

Disliked: loacation

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, cheap, near metro station...

Disliked: No towels, no soap, in 4 beds room there is a lot of wasted space, only one table and no chairs.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Katerina Prochazkova

With friends / other travellers

City break

08 March 2014 Katerina would recommend this property

Liked: It was really very clean.

Disliked: The Hostel was noisy - maybe because there is only very limited common space to have fun after 10 p.m. There is almost no place to eat, drink, hang out around the hostel.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Robson Felipe Hang

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 January 2014 Robson would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness. It is well organized. Also, the guy who was in charge during the night was really friendly and helpful when I needed some information or help.

Disliked: The old guy in charge during the morning was completely the contrary from the guy in charge during the night. He was quite rude. The location is not so good and the rooms are unconfortable and small. Besides, you have to pay for everithing there, even for using the computer and it is not cheap, like 1 euro per each 15 minutes. I guess it is an absurd for a hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anna Reding

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2014 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: I highly recommend this accomodation. The vienna hostel is two minutes away from the "kepler station", which is located on a shopping street, where you can find everything. If this is not enough, you have a direct connectionat the "kepler station" to the famous "stephansplatz". The personal is very friendly and gives you great advice concerning shopping possibilitys, restaurants and night life. Furthermore, they fix broken things in your room immediately and without hesitation. The price for a room is totally human and you get even a breakfast buffet for 3.50 Euro. I had a great time at the vienna hostel

Disliked: Anna left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast, location

Disliked: Noise

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the breakfast and the little area with hot water for tea or coffee if you wanted it. The lobby was nice and the free wi-fi was a good option.

Disliked: I wished that the wi-fi was in the rooms too and not just the lobby. Nothing was provided: soap, shampoo or anything that I would normally expect.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Mohammad Qasem

With friends / other travellers

City break

31 December 2013

Liked: The staff is really friendly, the common room is great and nice to hang out in.

Disliked: The lack of services, internetin rooms, and the small size of rooms. All of which would have been acceptable if the price was less.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 December 2013

Liked: Not much. It was clean and didn't have problems with other guests. Was easy to find getting off the Ubahn

Disliked: At arrival we were given sheets to put on the beds ourselves and then had to take them off at the end of our stay and carry them downstairs with all the other luggage we had. Was a big hassle. There was no wifi in bedroom only on the ground floor. Breakfast wasn't worth 3 Euro. There was no hand soap in the to wash hands after using the toilet. Wasn't close to city center

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hilario Alberto

Alone

Relaxation/spa

26 December 2013 Hilario would recommend this property

Liked: The Room and Breakfast

Disliked: Hilario left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I am pretty satisfied as I decided to stay in this property caz it has friendly and helpful staffs and also it is well-located and quite close to the city centre where you can have fun and find whatever you want and it was a good experience to stay in here.

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Visiting friends or family

22 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway

14 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, near U-bahn, value for money.

Disliked: no free wifi

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nikola Buci?

With friends / other travellers

City break

09 December 2013 Nikola would recommend this property

Liked: It's full of youngs

Disliked: I had to change linen for myself, staff from hostel don't do it

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

08 December 2013

Liked: Beds where decent and sheets where clean

Disliked: Very very very bad breakfast. Wha should be cold was warm, what should be warm was cold.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013

Liked: It was clean

Disliked: The staff was not helpfull and it was expensive


See all Vienna hostels
See all Vienna hotels