HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Vienna hostels
See all Vienna hotels

Reviews of Wombats City Hostel - The Base

Hostel | Grangasse 6, Vienna, Austria 1150

83.2% Overall Rating

991 out of 1054 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/03/2014)

"가격대비 깨끗하고 스탭들도 친절한데 다만 찾기가 어렵고 역에서 좀 걸어야해서 지쳐서 돌아올때 조금 짜증나더라고요. 그리고 주방에서 요리가능한데 대신 식용유가 3일째 없음.. 첫날부터 없길래 프론트에 이야기했는데 계속 준비해주지 않음;;;"

Read all Wombats City Hostel - The Base reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 5.38

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Vienna?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Vienna

Tourotel Mariahilf
75.92 USD

Hotel 4 star 84.8% 6 reviews
Gally Apartments Vienna
35.89 USD

Apartment 89.5% 110 reviews
Do Step Inn
24.57 USD

Hostel 81.9% 860 reviews
Hostel Ruthensteiner
26.67 USD

Hostel 93.0% 1797 reviews
Pension Stadthalle
40.72 USD

Hotel 2 star 84.3% 120 reviews
Wombats City Hostel - The Lounge
27.61 USD

Hostel 89.4% 593 reviews
Guesthouse Arabella
34.51 USD

Guesthouse 82.2% 374 reviews
Happy Hostel
26.23 USD

Hostel 80.5% 724 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.2%

Overall Rating

991 out of 1054 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Wombats City Hostel - The Base'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
74.4%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
90.4%
Value
86.4%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 706 of 765 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 28 | 29   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: Bad location. Dodgy area

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and amenities

Disliked: N/a

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 가격대비 깨끗하고 스탭들도 친절한데 다만 찾기가 어렵고 역에서 좀 걸어야해서 지쳐서 돌아올때 조금 짜증나더라고요. 그리고 주방에서 요리가능한데 대신 식용유가 3일째 없음.. 첫날부터 없길래 프론트에 이야기했는데 계속 준비해주지 않음;;;

Disliked: 역에서 멈. 주방에 식용유가 없어서 이야길했는데 3일째 보충해주지 않으

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Secure lockers, comfortable beds, large kitchen.

Disliked: You can't use the kitchen until noon, and even then they ask you to sit in the bar area so they can clean. Also, this isn't the hostels fault, but our food was taken. With such a large hostel, they cater to more than just backpackers, and I think there was a lack of respect for other travelers.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Balint Kiss

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 December 2013 Balint would recommend this property

Liked: They offer a real buffet breakfast.

Disliked: Balint left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Cristian Piazetta

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 December 2013 Cristian would recommend this property

Liked: Well structured what facilitates the traveler life

Disliked: Cristian left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

HIROKI OHASHI

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 December 2013 HIROKI would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was so helpful and bedroom and bathroom was clean.

Disliked: We cannot use kitchen in morning time because there were breakfast buffet with extra charge. Location was about 30 minutes walk from central.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kathryn Jer

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 December 2013 Kathryn would recommend this property

Liked: great and friendly staff. gave good tips on where to eat/what to do

Disliked: a bit scatty at times. put a male in a female dorm. they immediately fixed it - but the guy only checked into the room bout 2am!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

28 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really nice, it was clean, had a good kitchen. It had basically everything I needed

Disliked: We had to pay for the internet, and the bar closed a little bit to early

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 November 2013

Liked: Friendly staff , equipment kitchen.

Disliked: Location.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved everything about this property. From the staff to the atmosphere. Was worth the money for sure. It and associated Wombats Hostels will be the only place I stay in Vienna and anywhere else they have a hostel.

Disliked: The fact I had to leave this wonderful hostel was what i disliked the most. I almost didn't leave.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfy beds friendly staff

Disliked: Not enough cooking equipment

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

04 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Relaxed and exciting bar area. Friendly staff.

Disliked: Check out time was a little on the early side. Seems a little extreme considering there is a bar downstairs that is promoting nightlife. A minor dislike though.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

David Bunch

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 September 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: Party Hostel but not very social. Good bar, Good amenities.

Disliked: Location was a little out of the way. Close to train station but still a half mile walk and not really close to a tram stop. A bit of a pain lugging around luggage. Not enough outlets, a 6 person room had 2 outlets and 1 was in the bathroom. Not really any activities to get anyone engaged and big size (250+) led to little interaction. Wouldn't recommend for a solo traveller looking to meet others. Looked like there were tons of German middleschoolers.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Hayley Steele

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 September 2013

Liked: Not a horrible or dingy place.

Disliked: Directions are terrible and hostel is very difficult to find. Took me ages after walking up all the wrong streets, met 2 other people that took 2.5hrs and ended up catching a taxi! Make your own bed. Not the worst thing but its pretty horrible when u get to see the ratty old stained mattress you get to sleep on. Staff sent me off to a walking tour meeting 2 trains away at the other hostel, once again terrible directions and when I finally made it I was advised there is not walking tour on a Sunday. I only had 1 day in Vienna and just had half of it wasted sent on a wild goose chase! I didn't know there was more than 1 wombats hostel and the main one where the walking tour meets seems so much nicer! I wouldn't be against them, but I would NOT recommend "the place"... When I got back and told the staff that there is no walking tour on Sunday they didn't seem to care, and made up excuses for why they sent me...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap food and drinkt (we enjoyed happy hour), the athmosphere was very laid back.

Disliked: There was some noise until quite late at night, which kept us from sleeping.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were so friendly and helpful, there was a really great atmosphere to the place, which makes me really want to stay here again.

Disliked: I think that perhaps the wombar could have done some mixing events to get everyone talking? I noticed a few people on the sidelines who didn't seem confident enough to strike up a conversation on their own

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gyunal Sabriev

Alone

Business / conference

11 July 2013 Gyunal would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was excellent etc.

Disliked: Gyunal left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jonathas Moreira

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2013 Jonathas would recommend this property

Liked: Os funcionários te atendem muito bem e o café da manhã é bem justo, além do hostel ter um ótimo custo-benefício. A rede Wombats é a melhor rede de hostels da Europa a meu ver.

Disliked: A localização da nova unidade em vienna é boa mas a da primeira unidade é melhor, portanto caso voce va para vienna fique no wombats antigo.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Christine Lehmann

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 May 2013 Christine would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, pretty close to the Westbahnhof.

Disliked: People checking in late and the ensuite bathroom.Every night has been noisy. Little offers from the hostel ( free walking tours start from another wombats),little informations about what to do in Vienna.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amy Bradley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 May 2013 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliest helpful staff, the man at reception even called his friend from his own phone to find out the name of a resturant for me!!!

Disliked: Amy left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adi Shemesh

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

14 May 2013 Adi would recommend this property

Liked: Facilities & Location

Disliked: Most Guests are very young

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chung Yan LEUNG

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 May 2013 Chung Yan would recommend this property

Liked: The room was clean The staff was friendly

Disliked: They dont have wifi in the room

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2013

Liked: I slept fairly well. The maps they gave out were also really cool.

Disliked: 3 outlets in a 6 bed dorm? Also, I didn't like that they charged to use computers and then blocked hostelworld and hostelbookers. Also, I didn't like that there was only wifi in the common room and there was no cell phone service there, esp bc I needed both at the same time.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 April 2013

Liked: Cheap for vienna, clean

Disliked: No wifi except ground floor which is quite awkward; extraordinarily noisy in the evenings (but also because of construction nearby); inconvenient location


See all Vienna hostels
See all Vienna hotels