We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Vienna hostels
See all Vienna hotels

Reviews of Apartments in Vienna

Apartment | Grosse Schiffgasse 20, Backside Door, (Business Address: Im Werd 5) Vienna, Austria 1020

84.5% Overall Rating

602 out of 664 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/01/2014)

"Lovely little place to stay with everything we needed. Pretty close to the centre and transport links. Really cute and well thought out."

Read all Apartments in Vienna reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Washing machines
  • High chair

Purchasable Extras

  • Linen USD 3.48
  • Towel USD 1.27

Important Information

NOW please QUICKLY EMAIL us your TIME OF ARRIVAL; provide your valid email address AND phone number for TEXTMESSAGE-RECEIPT, so we can send you instructions on HOW TO GET IN. "Guided arrivals": Tue, Wed, Thurs:15pm-19pm/ Fri, Sat, Sun, Mon:09am-19pm (subject to changes) "Self entries”: Everyday: 17pm-4am No reception desk & no staff. Contact via phone is not possible, except for SMS! ********************* Charges per person: Towels 1€. Bed-linen 2.75€ ********************* CANCELLATIONS policy: Cancellations must be made 1 week prior to arrival. Cancellations of bookings over New Years or Easter must be made 1 month prior to arrival. Cancellations must be made via EMAIL to the hostel. ********************* ADRESS: GROSSE SCHIFFGASSE 20. UNDERGROUND U2 or U4 to Station SCHOTTENRING. Get off at Schottenring. Leave the station with the elevator to Herminengasse. This exit is at the smaller end of U2 station. If you have arrived with U4 make sure to walk trough U2 station till its end to find Herminengasse. Walk trough Herminengasse turn right into Franz-Hochedlinger-Gasse walk till GROSSE SCHIFFGASSE, our entry is at GROSSE SCHIFFGASSE 20. Walking time 3 minutes. Durations in minutes: from: Westbahnhof: 25. Ostbahnhof/Südbahnhof: 45. Bahnhof Wien Meidling: 30. Praterstern: 15. VIENNA AIRPORT: Bus "OBB" to Morzinplatz. Walk left to Salztorbrücke (the bridge on your left) cross over the bridge turn left into Obere Donaustraße, take the 1st to the right: GROSSE SCHIFFGASSE. Walking time 8 minutes. Total: 1 hour.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Vienna?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Vienna

AllYouNeed Hotel-Vienna2***
632.51 USD

Hotel 3 star 85.7% 6 reviews
MEININGER Vienna Downtown Sissi
22.77 USD

Hostel 90.2% 12 reviews
VOX Design Hotel
20.24 USD

Apartment 81.7% 10 reviews
MEININGER Vienna Downtown Franz
13.92 USD

Hostel 87.5% 242 reviews
Apartment Ag
28.11 USD

Apartment 100.0% 3 reviews
Hostel Porzellaneum
29.73 USD

Hostel 77.9% 16 reviews
Hotel-Pension Bleckmann
35.74 USD

Hotel 3 star 94.3% 5 reviews
Hotel Carlton Opera
44.28 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.0% 31 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.5%

Overall Rating

602 out of 664 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Apartments in Vienna'

Atmosphere
82.4%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
76.8%
Value
89.6%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 449 of 540 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 17 | 18   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SITI KHADIJAH BINTI ABD RAJAK

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2014 SITI KHADIJAH BINTI would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great. And the value.

Disliked: SITI KHADIJAH BINTI left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely little place to stay with everything we needed. Pretty close to the centre and transport links. Really cute and well thought out.

Disliked: A little trouble with the door to the building

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice clean apartment with very good facilities (dishes, cutlery, maps, guides, microwave, etc.). Heated apartment with comfortable beds, a kitchenette and a nice private bathroom with shower. Quiet and peaceful location, friendly service (speaks also Polish). Close location to the metro station, market place, grocery stores and downtown. I heartily recommend (attractive price for accommodation).

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property was based around a nice courtyard and was within short walking distance of the centre of town - to the extent that it was probably faster to walk to Stephansplatz than to use public transport. The rooms were spacious and light and quite attractively laid out.

Disliked: Some of the furniture was a little broken and there was no kettle in the little kitchen (although there was a coffee maker which neither of us knew how to work)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kamila M

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

30 November 2013 Kamila would recommend this property

Liked: It was actually an apartment, and it was huge! Spacious, clean, nicely furnished, and well-equipped. The location is good, there are metro stations located a few minutes from there. The owner was very friendly. We were delighted!!

Disliked: Nothing, it was perfect.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is very large and comfortable, contains all gear that an independent traveller would need (e.g. cooking facilities). Also it is safe and quiet.

Disliked: I have nothing to say here.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The quietness, cleanliness, size and the equipment of the apartment.

Disliked: The receptionist did not speak English, but nothing to worry about:).

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Raimundo Machado

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2013 Raimundo would recommend this property

Liked: Accomodations in very good condition in a very nice location. Value for price is excelent.

Disliked: The Ikea convertible sofa/bed was assembled in reverse. Cannot be used as bed until fixed.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joanna Madrawska

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2013 Joanna would recommend this property

Liked: Everything !! It was clean, spacious, friendly. We have a lot of facilities - even a washing machinę we didnt expect for such a wonderful price ! It was amazing and i highly recommend it to everyone !!

Disliked: Joanna left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: spacious there is everything for cooking in the kitchen the price is super low for what it provides

Disliked: one staff is really rude that I wanted to change my accommodation immediately at the very beginning but the owner, the house keeper is super sweet

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a good sized apartment with a fully equipped kitchen. Every room was very clean. It was basic but good value for money considering it didn't take long to get to the main sights.

Disliked: We tried to use the expensive washing machine (8 euros) but our money got swallowed by the machine, with our clothes locked inside. We sent 2 emails and a text to the owner, who failed to get in touch at all (we still haven't received a reply). Thankfully the cleaning lady was around the next day and was very helpful, although luckily we have a fair level of German which enabled us to communicate with her. People who would like someone available to answer queries in English probably wouldn't find this a good experience.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The appartement was a lot bigger than we'd expected, lots of space for only two. Nice kitchen with everything that you need, even a mini dishwasher. Location was walkable from the center. Very calm residential neighbourhood.

Disliked: Woman that owned it was not particularly friendly, just wanted us to pay and that was about it. Didn't feel like she was available for any information about the city. Neighbourhood and building maybe a bit too quiet but if you're looking for peace and quiet, this is definitely perfect.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

23 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its value for money. Staff does not speak english, but they were friendly and willing to help, when needed. Its clean, very safe, everything within reach. Terrific location!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

21 July 2013

Liked: It was vclean

Disliked: There was no welcome, we were let in by the cleaner who had very little english. There was no receipt for our payment. Several items broke during normal use: the kithchen forcet came off, the blind broke, the washing machine locked up with our clothing inside, coat hangers were cracked. There were not enought chairs for our family to eat together at the tiny table. There were no bowls etc etc. The bathroom was completely inadequate - no more than a large shower with a basin attached to one wall. The written notices form the owners about check out etc were threatening and rude and we could not find anyone to discuss our difficulties along the way. We were very disappointed. This was by far the worst accomodation experience of our whole 6 week hioliday.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrey Kalinin

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

12 July 2013 Andrey would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the center of Vienna and to the nearest undeground station is 3 minutes walk, supermarket is also very close. All kitchen items are perfect clean and everyone can find everything they need, even dish washing machine!! Perfect appartments for perfect price! Our stay there was GREAT!! Thank you!

Disliked: Everything was perfect!

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Near to the centre.

Disliked: The main problem is that there is not a reception and the owners don't speak english. The appartment where is stayeed was quite old. We had to pay for the sheets that were also old and used. On the whole for the prices of Vienna it's ok.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a good bed and i liked the location it was near to the center

Disliked: The wifi didnt work well...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very quiet neighborhood

Disliked: checking in was a little difficult but in the end was resolved

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Had a spacious apartment for two of us, close to town and quiet

Disliked: We were in a very hot attic room the first night however we were given a discount

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Mina Jovanovi?-Kalezi?

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

22 June 2013 Mina would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was in nice neighborhood and I had peace

Disliked: Mina left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its close to city center (10 min walk), to U bahn (3min walk), its very quiet around, a lot of space in the room.

Disliked: Maybe a little bit cleaner.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

31 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quietness, location, safety, cleanliness.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location close to the city center (5 min. to metro) quiet as appartments towards a courtyard safe, we left our expensive bikes in courtyard with good feeling nice house and atmosphere, we felt right at home very good value for money, definitely recommend this place

Disliked: Nothing!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

13 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing value! The apartment was really nice and spacious, and we had everything we needed. We made some of our own meals in the kitchenette instead of dining out all the time (we found 2 grocery stores nearby). We had trouble with the burner and the staff were very helpful and came by to sort it out that day while we were out. The apartment was very private and secure, and the courtyard was beautiful. The location is great - it's a quiet neighbourhood and you can walk to downtown in less than 15 minutes and to the subway in less than 10.

Disliked: The wifi signal was weak - we had to go out into the courtyard to use it, which isn't so convenient if it's cold or dark...but you're there to see Vienna, not surf the web! :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sherwin Mapanoo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2013 Sherwin would recommend this property

Liked: I booked a private apartment in the attic and it was really nice. I had my own bathroom, cooking utensils (pots, stove, etc.), and even a coffee maker. Good location and good value for money.

Disliked: There's no wifi in my room. I had to go down to the lower floors to connect to the internet.


See all Vienna hostels
See all Vienna hotels