HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Doug's Mountain Getaway

Guesthouse | 12 Muhlwiese, Fulpmes, Innsbruck, Austria 6166

97.5% Overall Rating

49 out of 50 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/07/2014)

Ryan Meader thinks…

"I’ve been traveling for over 5 months and Doug’s Mountain Getaway is hands down the best place I’ve stayed. Be warned, it’s pretty far out from Innsbruck and a 20 minute bus ride is what it takes to…"

Read all Doug's Mountain Getaway reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Hot tub / jacuzzi
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room
  • Sofa

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Innsbruck?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Innsbruck

Bärenwirth – Hotel & Restaurant
57.61 USD

Hotel 3 star 91.2% 45 reviews
ALP ART HOTEL
69.67 USD

Hotel 3 star 96.2% 35 reviews
Gruberhof Igls
43.54 USD

Hostel 97.7% 5 reviews
Hotel Goldene Krone
50.91 USD

Hotel 3 star 85.9% 39 reviews
Hotel Maximilian
73.69 USD

Hotel 4 star 85.7% 6 reviews
Hotel Central
83.74 USD

Hotel 4 star 94.3% 8 reviews
AWA Innbrucke Hotel
48.87 USD

Hotel 2 star 80.1% 116 reviews
AWA Innbruck Hotel Tautermann
42.04 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.7% 22 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
97.5%

Overall Rating

49 out of 50 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Doug's Mountain Getaway'

Atmosphere
99.2%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
99.2%
Cleanliness
95.2%
Staff
97.6%
Value
98.4%
Safety
97.6%
Refine your results Showing 45 of 50 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ryan Meader

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 July 2014 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: I’ve been traveling for over 5 months and Doug’s Mountain Getaway is hands down the best place I’ve stayed. Be warned, it’s pretty far out from Innsbruck and a 20 minute bus ride is what it takes to get into the city, but if you like the outdoors and fresh mountain air, then this is your place and you’ll forget ever wanting to go into Innsbruck. There’s hiking and biking right out of the front door, a grocery store two minutes away, and a ton of other affordable things to do in the area. I stayed for four days and didn’t hit a quarter of it. What makes Doug’s place the best is the atmosphere. The owners are down-to-earth friendly and live in the place with you – if you have any needs, they’re right there to help you out or point you in the right direction. Even if you don’t want to head outdoors, there’s plenty to keep you entertained in the house, from board games, big screen TV, and ping pong to a Jacuzzi and hot tub. There are stashes of ice cold beer in the communal areas for your convenience, honor system in place. If you’re in your twenties or thirties and traveling solo or as a couple, you’re going to love this place.

Disliked: Ryan left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 July 2014

Liked: Lots to do

Disliked: Na

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There was nothing not to like about this hostel. very clean, great facilities (full kitchen, sauna, hot tub, and more). Location is nestled right in the Alps with more things to do than you can count. No hidden fees.

Disliked: There was nothing to dislike.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adrian Bowler

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 June 2014 Adrian would recommend this property

Liked: Quite possible the best Hostel we've stayed in. The facilities of the hostel are better than anything i've seen elsewhere, and made better that they are inclusive of the price! Being such a small hostel it has a very homely and incredibly relaxed feel and is the most social place we stayed, every night all the guests are welcome to gather around the main table and play board games/drinking games/ both. Fresh made bread daily is a nice touch and adds to the luxuries such as a Hot Tub and Sauna which I'm not used to whilst backpacking. Also, a lot of information about activities in the area, recommendations from the staff and even the possibility of going on a hike as a group.

Disliked: Just being nit picky here but the pillows weren't the best - Don't let that put you off though!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexander Nelson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 June 2014 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: Doug's Mountain Getaway was absolutely the highlight of my trip to Europe. There was so much to do I could have spent two weeks hiking, paragliding, skiing, bungee jumping, and much more! Amazing hiking trails are only a few hundred meters away, offering many miles of picturesque mountain paths. I could rave about the staff, but for the sake of being concise I will say that they were not only friendly and helpful, but were downright fun to hang out with! Although I was traveling alone, I felt as if I had rented the chalet with some of my best friends. Absolutely excellent experience. The hostel itself has more than anybody could desire, with everything from a sauna and hot tub to poker table and dart board! Doug's was perhaps the best place I have stayed on the four continents I have travelled. If you like to have non-stop fun, or just simply want a place to relax for a few days during a long trip Doug's has everything you could possibly want. Thank you so much Monica and Jamie!

Disliked: Alexander left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael O'Sullivan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 September 2013 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: The people (staff and guests), the beds, the fresh bread, the hot tub, the sauna, the poker table... where do I stop? The staff gave me brilliant ideas and directions on things to do (countless), had a day of snowboarding in the alps for 50EUR (travel, gear, lift pass and food included). Went out for a night of Austrian style bowling with everyone and they looked after me when sick. They also helped us to stream the Australian football final to their home cinema system. I really can't fault anything! Thank you so much!

Disliked: Can't really pick anything out!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lindsay Hofer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 July 2013 Lindsay would recommend this property

Liked: Stay here!! It is awesome, yes it is outside of Innsbruck, which worried me at first. But Fulpmes is way better than Innsbruck. There is so many activities to do right around the hostel.... if you are into outdoorsy stuff. The Hostel itself is worth going to just to hang out, chill, and have fun! Doug and Jamie are great, and I met some of the best travellers there. You will love it! Yes it is a bit more expensive than other hostels... but definitely worth the money!

Disliked: Lindsay left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Estelle Filiatrault-Bégin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2013 Estelle would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, amazing location. Doug is a helpful and friendly host! I would go back to his house if I go back to Innsbruck!

Disliked: Estelle left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alison Rubalcava

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break

09 April 2013 Alison would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was great! It was more comfortable then my own house! My boyfriend and I are doing a tour of Europe and we are hitting a lot of major cities, so this stop was our getaway from the city. We didn't leave the property very much because of the beautiful surroundings and all the things to do at the hostel! This was a guesthouse more then a hotel, no real rules. We could come and go as we pleased and could use the kitchen and other parts of the house at anytime of the day. We played pool, table tennis, darts, watched movies on the big screen, cooked, used sauna, hot tub, oh and there is a bar so you don't even have to leave the house. Doug is great and he had two backpackers that helped maintain the house, they were also great company!

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Morgan Dainow-Hawkins

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 April 2013 Morgan would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel I've ever stayed in, certainly didn't feel like a hostel! It is more like a chalet in the mountains... that you share with others. Easy to get to and from Innsbruck and on your doorstep you have many adventure activities. Cinema system with projection and surround sound, hundreds of films, x box with games and guitar hero. Secret bar, sauna and hot tub...!

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Marshall

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 March 2013 John would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely loved our stay at Doug's Mountain Getaway, didn't want to leave! Doug is super friendly and makes you feel right at home. The fire, comfy couches, board games,bar, pool, table tennis etc keep you entertained for hours, not to mention the spa and sauna - pure bliss! There is so much to do in the area too from skiing and boarding to ice hockey, curling, bobsledding, hiking, sledding etc. We will definitely be back.

Disliked: John left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Monica Newman

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 December 2012 Monica would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, this place is amazing!!! the staff are so friendly, helpful, and good looking. The facilities are great, just like living in your own house, but cooler, I mean a spa and sauna at a hostel... There is heaps to do for all types of people and weather, from a killer collection of board games and movies to skiing, snowboarding, hiking, climbing, paragliding etc. Not to mention the outings they run every now and then. It's abit out of Innsbruck which is great to get out of a city for a while, but still close enough to make it easy to travel to. Definitely make a stop here on your travels, you'll never want to leave!!!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Drew Gassaway

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 November 2012 Drew would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel I've been to. Great spot, fantastic hosts, good company. Has everything you want or need as a traveler.

Disliked: Drew left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mathew Delaney

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 October 2012 Mathew would recommend this property

Liked: An awesome place to stay. Felt like you were at home. Loads of stuff to do inside and out. Would definitely stay here again

Disliked: Mathew left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: make-yourself-at-home vibe

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jack Stapleton

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 September 2012 Jack would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! So homely, great atmosphere , loads of things to do both in and out of the house, Doug made you feel like part of the family! Definitely recommend it to all! :)

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Felt right at home

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Wai Leng low

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 September 2012 Wai Leng would recommend this property

Liked: Doug and colleagues made my staff comfortable. He made useful recommendations on what to do and stuff, and his place is really comfy and cosy.

Disliked: Wai Leng left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome stay at Fulpmes, one of the greatest hostel i've been in, great atmoshpere, great rooms, great homemade bread ! I can't wait to go back there at winter !

Disliked: nothing !

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sean Brown

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 July 2012 Sean would recommend this property

Liked: The owners are very nice, helpful and welcoming. The property is right up close to mountains so there was plenty to do on our 4 night stay. Staying at this hostel is like staying at a vacation home. It is so comfortable and relaxed.

Disliked: Nothing!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Philippe G Provost

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2012 Philippe would recommend this property

Liked: We just felt like at home. We had access to so many things in the house (sauna, games, bar, poker table, darts, guitars, x-box, movies....) Owner is eco-friendly by encouraging to recycle.

Disliked: A little bit far from Innsbruck, you have to pay 10 euros per trip/per person to get there.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

kirsty rollings

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 July 2012 kirsty would recommend this property

Liked: Our stay here was brilliant - great value for money, exactly as described on the advert. Dough and all other staff were so helpful and friendly. Dough set up our paraglyde for the next day. This is a great place if you want to socialise, as facilitated by the staff also. Loads of really quirky stuff in the hostel, ensuring that it is difficult to get bored, for example, a tennis table, pool table, loads of board games etc PLacce was clean and tidy and just generally a great atmosphere.

Disliked: Nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kay Fitzpatrick

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 July 2012 Kay would recommend this property

Liked: Staying at Doug's mountain getaway gives you the facilities of a resort (giant comfy sofas, freshly baked bread in the morning, loads of games, a fitness suite, free use of computer) and the atmosphere of a house. The staff are so friendly and genuinely just want you to have a great time. I put a lower score for 'safe and secure' mainly because there's no lockers, but to be honest I never felt concerned about leaving my stuff in my room. Such was the respect we all had for the place that I doubt anyone would want to spoil it by thieving! The location is also incredible. The bus from Innsbruck main station takes about 30minutes and costs 5 euros (just ask at the information point in the stationif you're not sure). In Winter I imagine it to be fabulous for all things ski. We were there in the summer and you could bungee jump, white water raft, paraglide, hike, swim in the lake, go up the mountain and snowball fight even though it was 30 degrees at the hostel.... a truly brilliant stay that I wouldn't miss if you get the chance!

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Morgan Jangula

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa

16 July 2012 Morgan would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, Doug had a chill entourage around all the time and this was by far the most amenity rich place I've stayed. It really feels more like you're staying in someone's chill mountain cottage than a hostel.

Disliked: The chili grinder in the kitchen didn't work very well...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Plesk

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 July 2012 James would recommend this property

Liked: Staying at Doug's is a travel highlight in itself. The people who welcomed us were charming and helpful, and English speaking. It's more of a homestay experience than simple accomodation, and we got talking to many other travellers staying there. It would be great for a "holiday from your holiday" experience, because it had many rooms to chill out, relax, watch movies or socialise. The setting is in a beautiful valley lined with high peaks.

Disliked: Parking was a little tricky (small laneways).