HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Doug's Mountain Getaway Innsbruck Hostel

Muehlwiese 12, Innsbruck, Austria

Atmosphere 100%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 100%

Location 97%

Safety 96%

Staff 98%

Value 98%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Fitness Centre"
  • Foosball
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Hot Tub
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wii

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Pet Friendly"
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Innsbruck?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 100%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 100%

Location 97%

Safety 96%

Staff 98%

Value 98%

Showing 1-10 of 12 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: DMG isn't just a hostel, it's something more. It's a bit like staying at a friend's house or something. Doug and the others are extremely helpful and everything seems to be possible. I very much like the way they're taking care of us, asking what we're going to do the next day, giving advice etc.

Disliked: Someone always takes bottle openers with them. A solid , "built-in" opener by the beer fridge might be a good idea. ;-)

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 May 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: We loved this place. Stayed here for 3 nights, there was plenty to do and we met loads of great people. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the facilities were excellent. It feels very comfortable and homely and there's a great atmosphere. There's so much to do at the hostel even if you don't go out and do the activities. Would definitely recommend.

Disliked: It was difficult to check in as the staff were quite busy so there wasn't always someone on site.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Awesome place. Feels like home.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: beautiful place and friendly people!

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: A great hostel feels like you are at home. Doug is very welcoming & shared 2 great meals with the other guests

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Such a relaxed atmosphere, it feels like you are home.So much stuff to do- mountain biking, climbing, hiking I could have happily spent an entire month there.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Lots to do

Disliked: Na

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: There was nothing not to like about this hostel. very clean, great facilities (full kitchen, sauna, hot tub, and more). Location is nestled right in the Alps with more things to do than you can count. No hidden fees.

Disliked: There was nothing to dislike.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: I’ve been traveling for over 5 months and Doug’s Mountain Getaway is hands down the best place I’ve stayed. Be warned, it’s pretty far out from Innsbruck and a 20 minute bus ride is what it takes to get into the city, but if you like the outdoors and fresh mountain air, then this is your place and you’ll forget ever wanting to go into Innsbruck. There’s hiking and biking right out of the front door, a grocery store two minutes away, and a ton of other affordable things to do in the area. I stayed for four days and didn’t hit a quarter of it. What makes Doug’s place the best is the atmosphere. The owners are down-to-earth friendly and live in the place with you – if you have any needs, they’re right there to help you out or point you in the right direction. Even if you don’t want to head outdoors, there’s plenty to keep you entertained in the house, from board games, big screen TV, and ping pong to a Jacuzzi and hot tub. There are stashes of ice cold beer in the communal areas for your convenience, honor system in place. If you’re in your twenties or thirties and traveling solo or as a couple, you’re going to love this place.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Relaxation / spa, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Doug's Mountain Getaway was absolutely the highlight of my trip to Europe. There was so much to do I could have spent two weeks hiking, paragliding, skiing, bungee jumping, and much more! Amazing hiking trails are only a few hundred meters away, offering many miles of picturesque mountain paths. I could rave about the staff, but for the sake of being concise I will say that they were not only friendly and helpful, but were downright fun to hang out with! Although I was traveling alone, I felt as if I had rented the chalet with some of my best friends. Absolutely excellent experience. The hostel itself has more than anybody could desire, with everything from a sauna and hot tub to poker table and dart board! Doug's was perhaps the best place I have stayed on the four continents I have travelled. If you like to have non-stop fun, or just simply want a place to relax for a few days during a long trip Doug's has everything you could possibly want. Thank you so much Monica and Jamie!

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability