HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Youth Hostel Nikolaus Glockenhaus

Hostel | Weiherburggasse 3, Innsbruck, Austria 6020

63.2% Overall Rating

525 out of 727 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/03/2014)

Ben Prout thinks…

"We had our room to ourselves and the hostel is right on the side of a mountain. You are only a few minutes walk from the Altstadt (downtown) area, which was very nice. The staff was nice and…"

Read all Youth Hostel Nikolaus Glockenhaus reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Reception is open from 9-11 a.m. and 5-10 p.m. no check in outside these hours!

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Innsbruck?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Innsbruck

AWA Innbrucke Hotel
50.36 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.4% 114 reviews
AWA Innbruck Hotel Tautermann
43.32 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.7% 22 reviews
Hotel Maximilian
75.92 USD

Hotel 4 star 85.7% 6 reviews
Hotel Central
86.28 USD

Hotel 4 star 94.3% 8 reviews
Hotel Goldene Krone
59.36 USD

Hotel 3 star 85.9% 39 reviews
Hotel Alt Pradl
46.94 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.6% 22 reviews
ARThotel BinderS
46.94 USD

Hotel 4 star 87.0% 99 reviews
Hostel Marmota
30.37 USD

Hostel 86.1% 15 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
63.2%

Overall Rating

525 out of 727 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Youth Hostel Nikolaus Glockenhaus'

Atmosphere
60.0%
Location
84.0%
Facilities
44.0%
Cleanliness
57.6%
Staff
78.4%
Value
60.0%
Safety
58.4%
Refine your results Showing 428 of 478 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 17 | 18   Next
Reset filter
60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

maria lahdenranta

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2014 maria would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice old house not too far of the town center.

Disliked: No lockers in the room, the bathroom had an unclean appearance and my mattress felt uncomfortable - but for a single night stay this wasn't really a problem.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Ben Prout

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2014 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: We had our room to ourselves and the hostel is right on the side of a mountain. You are only a few minutes walk from the Altstadt (downtown) area, which was very nice. The staff was nice and approachable.

Disliked: No Wi-Fi, or breakfast.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 March 2014

Liked: The lady was very friendly when I arrived and the hostel really is only 10 minutes from town in a nice quiet area. WiFi now works in dormitory.

Disliked: Booked in for 13 nights and left after 8. I wanted to like this hostel so I went in thinking "I'll get what I've paid for, which is very little" but the bathroom was filthy with a broken shower door that meant water sprayed all over your clothes. Nothing was done about fixing this whilst I was there. With no common room there was absolutely no atmosphere. Not worth it unless you're literally just passing through the area. Kettle is provided with no cups or mugs which is just pointless. Mattress was lumpy and uneven and gave me a bad back that's really not ideal for skiing. Had to keep my skis in the bedroom and the lack of security meant taking my tablet out everywhere I went. You can't lock anything.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Maeve Beglin

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 March 2014 Maeve would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was friendly and accommodating, and the rooms were cleaned daily. Good location too, only 10 minutes from the centre of Innsbruck.

Disliked: The toilet facilities were a bit old and unclean. Security is minimal - there are no lockers available, and the front door is open through the day, and no key on the room doors.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Jaroslav Stolicny

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 March 2014 Jaroslav would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: Jaroslav left no negative feedback.

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

tanaka anna

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2014

Liked: I could use the internet in my room

Disliked: All facilities were very very poor The reception, theiy were so rude and they were noisy even in the night No private place there is no rocker an no key for each rooms

31.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

28 February 2014

Liked: the hostel hall was nice

Disliked: the offered services were bad

31.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

25 February 2014

Liked: It feels like a time travel to the 20th century.

Disliked: I strongly unrecomend this hostel to any traveller. No security measures are available (no lockers, staff not willing to keep valuable things inside the private areas), very little space for heavy luggage, extremely noisy water system, very cold in the night, internet only available in the reception - which actually is in a different building.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great and the staff are friendly and helpful

Disliked: The bathrooms could be a bit cleaner

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location and the view

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 December 2013

Liked: The bathroom's tap water

Disliked: The bathroom

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was friendly and welcoming, and as described on the website.

Disliked: The hostel did not have kitchen facilities, so I would not find it suitable for a longer stay.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Victoria Rhee

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 October 2013 Victoria would recommend this property

Liked: Honestly one of the best hostels I've been to. It has a cabin like atmosphere inside and we had a two person room. The room was really spacious with a good size hallways lined with cabinet drawers and we even had a small living space with a corner booth with table. The room also came with a tv. The beds were firm but soft and comfortable with really warm comforters. The bathroom was also spacious with closet. Honestly it was a great price for so much and it's about a 7 minute walk from old town. The receptionist was also really friendly and gave us great advice on where to go and what to do. She spoke English very well.

Disliked: The shower (really a bathtub) was under a slanted roof so it was a little awkward for a shower but the accomodations was so nice it didn't really detract from a really great stay.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Stephanie Hiltz

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

09 October 2013 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff! Very keen to help :)

Disliked: There is a bus that goes to the hostel but it doesnt run after 7:30pm and you need to take a cab. we came from the hauptbahnhof- worst part- the cab driver charged us €15 and then the lovely staff told us after we came inside that it should never be over €8... cabbie screwed us!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I decided to review this hostel because it had not been represented fairly on hostel bookers, i was expecting far less when i arrived here and it was more than adequate! Rooms were clean, as were the toilets & showers. The woman at reception was very kind and the place was very nice, i really enjoyed my stay here and would recommend anyone to stay! It is a small hostel and has a very nice family, relaxing quite atmosphere

Disliked: Couldn't print out my train ticket or boarding pass, no washing machine but there is a laundromat down the road, to be very picky the showers were a little small. Overall it was great

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

25 September 2013

Liked: Good location, quiet area, comfy beds

Disliked: Building work going on until 9pm knocking down walls in the room above (and only stopped then because I asked them to), shower broken for 24hrs as water was instead pouring through the ceiling - owner didn't even come to help with buckets or offer discount or anything, unfriendly and unhelpful owner/manager, no locks on bathroom (or dorm room) doors, no hooks in shower/bathroom to even hang a towel on, one bathroom and toilet for 12 people, WiFi only works in the small hallway

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 September 2013

Liked: The hostel was located not too far from the centre and the staff were friendly.

Disliked: The hostel rooms did not have any locks on them, and there were no lockers available. The area did not feel like a dangerous one so it wasn't too much of an issue but it was a bit strange! There were also not many toilets and showers for everyone. There are also several churches nearby, all of which have bells that go off regularly, so make sure to be prepared for that!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good lucation,nice and helpful owner

Disliked: Dormitury room and showers

48.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Hitomi Taniguchi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2013 Hitomi would recommend this property

Liked: Its cheap price.

Disliked: Non security

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Peaceful and tranquil yet convenient location. Hostel has many endearing qualities and holds lots of character, we got a real feel for Innsbruck while staying here. Staff were as helpful as could be.

Disliked: Would have been nice to have had breakfast included in price.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Puskar Naha

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2013 Puskar would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel manager was incredibly nice and stayed up for us since our train was massively delayed (~12hrs) due to the floods. She was willing to not charge us if we couldn't make it. She even gave us our own multibed dorm room since there was space. The hostel is a pretty cool historic building in a quiet area of Innsbruck, just up the hill from a bunch of bars, cafes and restaurants.

Disliked: It was a little confusing to get to at night, so make sure to follow the signs for the Alpine Zoo from St. Nick church. There's also a 50eur min for credit cards.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

hannie Hindersson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 June 2013 hannie would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet and peaceful place just outside the down town. Nothing extraordinary; clean facilities and comfortable beds.

Disliked: There was no place to cook or storage your food nor any common-room for meeting other travelers.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Pablo Mato

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 May 2013 Pablo would recommend this property

Liked: It was a warm place. Confortable.

Disliked: No breakfast. No kitchen. Seems like the beds were unclean.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

04 April 2013

Liked: Good environment .

Disliked: No kettle, far away from airport and hard to reach.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 April 2013

Liked: The only "positive" thing about the property is that it's location is not bad. It's a reasonable distance to the city center and all the shops. So it doesn't take long to get to whatever you need. This is important because the property offers you no services at all.

Disliked: The WIFI information provided was false and doesn't work. Owner was apathetic and didn't care to fix the problem. She was condescending and rude in her responses. Bathrooms were poorly maintained and broken down. Shower head hung loose with nowhere to put it. Shower stall was broken and would remain open. Very few electrical outlets available. Extremely basic conditions. All you pay for is a bed and toilet under 1 roof. Very minimal. Not recommended except as last resort.