HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Youth Hostel Nikolaus Glockenhaus

Hostel | Weiherburggasse 3, Innsbruck, Austria 6020

63.2% Overall Rating

525 out of 727 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/03/2014)

Ben Prout thinks…

"We had our room to ourselves and the hostel is right on the side of a mountain. You are only a few minutes walk from the Altstadt (downtown) area, which was very nice. The staff was nice and…"

Read all Youth Hostel Nikolaus Glockenhaus reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Reception is open from 9-11 a.m. and 5-10 p.m. no check in outside these hours!

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Innsbruck?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Innsbruck

AWA Innbrucke Hotel
50.42 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.4% 114 reviews
AWA Innbruck Hotel Tautermann
43.37 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.7% 22 reviews
Hotel Maximilian
76.02 USD

Hotel 4 star 85.7% 6 reviews
Hotel Central
86.39 USD

Hotel 4 star 94.3% 8 reviews
Hotel Goldene Krone
46.99 USD

Hotel 3 star 85.9% 39 reviews
Hotel Alt Pradl
46.99 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.6% 22 reviews
ARThotel BinderS
46.99 USD

Hotel 4 star 87.0% 99 reviews
Hostel Marmota
30.41 USD

Hostel 86.1% 15 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
63.2%

Overall Rating

525 out of 727 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Youth Hostel Nikolaus Glockenhaus'

Atmosphere
60.0%
Location
84.0%
Facilities
44.0%
Cleanliness
57.6%
Staff
78.4%
Value
60.0%
Safety
58.4%
Refine your results Showing 428 of 478 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 17 | 18   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 December 2010

Liked: It is in a pretty good location - not too far from the Altstadt. The woman at the front desk is very friendly and nice. The room and bathroom was clean, and the shower was warm and large.

Disliked: There is no luggage storage room. We were allowed to keep our bags in a "hidden" corner of the entrance hallway. It would also be nice if towels were included in the price.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Simão Arouca

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 December 2010 Simão would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness

Disliked: Nothing in particular

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 December 2010

Liked: nothing much, friendly staff

Disliked: wifi super expensive!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: wonderful character and views!

Disliked: little far out of tow, worth the walk though

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

22 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly staff and no curfew, so you can come and go as you like!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2010

Liked: The property, as described, is an old building from the sixteenth century. It is relatively safe, but doors remain open all the time, and relatively clean.

Disliked: However, the man in charge of running operations is a bit too curious about traveller´s personal property; he began to search through my shopping, inspecting purchases, as I made my way out of the hostel. When I brought it to his attention, he impolitely pointed to the door and loudly yelled something with a heavy Tirolean accent, without calling me a taxicab. He couldn´t stop making noises the night before and was a bit rowdy. His wife, on the other hand, was kind and nice and actually took the time to phone a cab after her gentle welcome a few days before.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

03 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beds were comfortable and the person at the desk was very helpful in showing us on the map where to go

Disliked: shower was very cramped

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

31 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheap

Disliked: it is not clean !

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very close to the Alpenzoo, which we very much were looking forward to seeing (didn't disappoint) and it was literally a 15 minute walk to the Altstadt, the best place we went in Innsbruck. The bed in the hostel was also very comfortable.

Disliked: Um...there was a chainsaw, a bowsaw, and a handsaw outside our door. Within 5 feet of our room. It reminded me of a bad movie.. Also the tub felt like a coffin, and the lights were acceptable at best. We were a little unnerved, and felt it was best to sleep with the light on, just in case.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly staff

Disliked: lack of any communal or kitchen areas, no locks on any doors (front or room) with no lockers and no reception at front door (need to ring a doorbell otherwise free to come and go). Wi-fi was really expensive.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Georgy Bulatov

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 October 2010 Georgy would recommend this property

Liked: Very cosy, clean, home-made and friendly. Listen to the church bells nearby, see the stars, and feel yourself a tyroler!

Disliked: Nothing.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 October 2010

Liked: ...

Disliked: I was staying in 8 beds mix dorm, and it dont have the door lock for the room, because there were others people came in the mid night to confirm are there in the right room. Didnt feel secure, no lockers too. The bed, seems like a thin bed sheet but i think there wasnt. Really need another for hygen problems. No other facilities including a kettle or cup at alll.. No hot drink can be make in the cold weather. =( no common room.. so, cant meet friends and chit chat.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has a nice view and helpful staff. It was very caracteristic place to stay.

Disliked: It was a bit cold at night but warm planket saved us :D

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Backpacking / gap year

17 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: room was so clean,huge bath, plenty of room, also drawers to unpack your things.

Disliked: a small fridge would be handy.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Private rooms that were comfortable and clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

12 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner lady was nice she stayed up past 10 because we got a late start and could not check in until about 1030. Helpful with things to do. The shower was nice and hot. Close to town not a bad walk at all. Beds were pretty comfortable.

Disliked: Everything is pretty much open no keys to lock up your things. Cant have alcohol and no real place to lounge and meet people except for your roommates. There was only one plug for our entire room and 5 people in it with things needing to be charged. Good prices.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Marco Oreste Marelli

As a family with children

City break

02 October 2010 Marco Oreste would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the centre

Disliked: There'is no breakfast and room too small

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The dorm had a lot of carachter, kind of looked like a chatet. There was lovely people in there when I was there so was fun enough. No common area though to hang out in, just the room. Staff were okay, although there were quite a few rules about when to check in etc. This was one of the cheapest hostels in Innsbruck though so would recommend it if that is what you are after. Innsbruck is an amazing place!

Disliked: As above - no common area and certain check in and check out times etc

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

30 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Room is big enough

Disliked: Its location

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

emma rice

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 September 2010 emma would recommend this property

Liked: it is only about a 10 minute walk into the old town which is good, and there is a few food places not far down the road. not much to the place it is pretty much a bed and a shower, but there isnt a lot of choice in innbrucke. it was fine for a couple of nights.

Disliked: emma left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

rodrigo daud skeff

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 September 2010 rodrigo would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable bed

Disliked: I emailed the recepcionist saying that i would arrive later than the reception closing time because there was no other train to take. When i arrived, she was so furious. Was the worst welcoming treatment that i have ever had.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

JOSE VARELA FERNANDEZ

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2010 JOSE would recommend this property

Liked: You can go by food to the centre, only 8 minutes

Disliked: You have to park in the street and have to pay blue zone.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Melody Law

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 September 2010

Liked: Far from city centre. No common area.

Disliked: Inadequate washroom facilities.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

06 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: lovely old building out of the central part of town so nice and quiet. the staff were amazing and so friendly.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 September 2010

Liked: The location is very nice, just outside the city centre on a hill overlooking the alps.

Disliked: I've stayed in hostels and budget hotels all over europe, but I have to say that this was definitely my worst experience ever. I thought it was actually worse than described in the reviews. The hostel is generally run-down, unclean, and badly organized. A badly-lit entrance at night with a make-shift wooden entrance in the courtyard very easy to trip on (especially with luggage at night, when it is not lit). The walls of the whole place are basically crumbling, and I found the stairs and floors old and dirty. A ridiculous lack of facilities, and strange lay-out and very unclean rooms: dirty sheets with huge holes, and bed bugs!!! I woke up the next morning with over 150 bites all over my hands, feet, and back which I am still trying to clear up a week later. Generally a horrible experience I would have liked to avoid. The price is okay, but I personally would have preferred sleeping in the train station for free. I don't understand those other reviews that said that the place was generally very clean. (in fact that was what I was expecting, which is why I booked the place, but I definitely would not have if I had known before).