HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Youth Hostel Nikolaus Glockenhaus

Hostel | Weiherburggasse 3, Innsbruck, Austria 6020

63.2% Overall Rating

525 out of 727 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/03/2014)

Ben Prout thinks…

"We had our room to ourselves and the hostel is right on the side of a mountain. You are only a few minutes walk from the Altstadt (downtown) area, which was very nice. The staff was nice and…"

Read all Youth Hostel Nikolaus Glockenhaus reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Reception is open from 9-11 a.m. and 5-10 p.m. no check in outside these hours!

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Innsbruck?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Innsbruck

AWA Innbrucke Hotel
50.39 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.4% 114 reviews
AWA Innbruck Hotel Tautermann
43.35 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.7% 22 reviews
Hotel Maximilian
75.98 USD

Hotel 4 star 85.7% 6 reviews
Hotel Central
86.34 USD

Hotel 4 star 94.3% 8 reviews
Hotel Goldene Krone
59.40 USD

Hotel 3 star 85.9% 39 reviews
Hotel Alt Pradl
46.97 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.6% 22 reviews
ARThotel BinderS
46.97 USD

Hotel 4 star 87.0% 99 reviews
Hostel Marmota
30.39 USD

Hostel 86.1% 15 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
63.2%

Overall Rating

525 out of 727 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Youth Hostel Nikolaus Glockenhaus'

Atmosphere
60.0%
Location
84.0%
Facilities
44.0%
Cleanliness
57.6%
Staff
78.4%
Value
60.0%
Safety
58.4%
Refine your results Showing 428 of 478 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 17 | 18   Next
Reset filter
28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Abishek K P

With a large group / tour

Relaxation/spa

30 March 2013

Liked: Not a good place to stay

Disliked: Beds are totally in bad shape

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

24 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: No kitchen, no breakfast, 1 shower for three rooms.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: The wifi service is limited at certain areas only and have to get to another block to get access to wifi. The lights are also a little dim .

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Jefferson Schwantes

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2013

Liked: Wifi for free.

Disliked: No lockouts. Small bathroom.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Mary McLean

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 February 2013 Mary would recommend this property

Liked: It's historical value and ccess to transport.

Disliked: No room lockers, no room door keys and no kitchen at all.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Antony Williams

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 January 2013 Antony would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere and the owner was extremely helpful.A little bit shabby but very clean.Great value for the money,would happily stay again.

Disliked: Antony left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Relatively close to Nordkettenbahn ski lift, good view on the city from top floor, even though it is not centrally located the place is del connected to city center (on foot or with bus J or others).

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Jennifer Mortimer

As a family with children

Family Holiday

27 December 2012 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: It is close to the centre of town. Walking distance to a free shuttle bus which will take you to the range of ski fields. We stayed over christmas and were surprised with a gift of chocolates on our return from the ski fields. Very quaint old building.

Disliked: No kitchen, although I was able to use my own frypan in the room. You need to go to the foyer (small) to use the internet.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Easy enough to find. Cheap.

Disliked: No lock on front door- no receptionist watching the door. No lockers in doms - also no lock on the door nothing is secure. Shower didn't drain, we asked to fix. Only one shower and toilet for the hostel - this was fine as we were the only ones there. No kitchen facilities to cook and no cutlery.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 December 2012

Liked: The location is quite good.

Disliked: It's a big (country) house converted to a hostel and it has a certain appeal but also it's a bit uncomfortable. The reception opening hours a hugely limited and the whole experience feels more like a home stay than a hostel.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is very close to the city, and the owner is very helpful, giving us tips on how to get to different places, calling taxis, and providing free wi-fi even though it was advertised at 2€!

Disliked: Some of the beds are not very comfortable, but I guess thats the downfalls of staying in hostels!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very kind and helpfull, the locatin was perfect, cosy and not to far from the center of Innsbruck.

Disliked: There were a lot of beams in the room + toilet, who are a bit too low for large people.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Decent location, very easy access to old town

Disliked: Beds were a little worn out

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Alessa Sierra

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

05 October 2012 Alessa would recommend this property

Liked: It is very calm

Disliked: It is kind of spooky, it is a house and it is opened all the time, they dont have to give you a key to the hostel or to your room

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jack Grange

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2012 Jack would recommend this property

Liked: Although other peoples comments are correct about there being no lock to the front door or rooms, we definitely didn't feel that we were in an unsafe area (we left our car directly in front of the hostel too, and didn't feel worried). The facilities are basic, the reception is closed off unless you ring the bell. However the hostel itself feels homely and hygienic - I would say that the people leaving negative comments have pretty high standards.

Disliked: We did feel safe, but they really should have locks on doors just for peace of mind.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 August 2012

Liked: Only a 5-10min walk to the old town

Disliked: very unsafe, anyone can walk in the hostel as the door is open and most of the day noone is atreception, no keys for the dorm rooms so anyone can walk in,no lockers available. Wifi has to be paid for, no kitchen and no common area

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great old building, good location for walking, zoo or the go into the centre

Disliked: old broken beds

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 August 2012

Liked: It was conveniently located to the historic part of the city.

Disliked: The bathroom was disgusting, the drain in the shower did not work, so you could only run the water for a few seconds before you we standing in lots of water. There was only one toilet, shower, and sink for many people, and the wait time was long. Check out was 9am, which was too early. There was no key to our room, nor to enter the building, nor lockers, so while our companions seemed trustworthy, it would have been too easy for someone from the street to enter or someone from within to take something. Overall, it was doable, but not worth the price they charge at all.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 July 2012

Liked: Although the location isn't in the centre, it is still in an ideal place. The owners were helpful and gave us lots of excellent help with the hiking we had planned to do.

Disliked: The amenities were few and very dirty. Our room needed a thorough clean to the extent that when I found a vacuum cleaner I used it myself to clean the room. Either the mattress or room itself was full of mites and I ended up covered in bad bug bites.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I think it was the cheapest place in Innsbruck, stayed in a double room with girlfriend, it was great. Would reccomend it. Pretty basic, no kitchen. Internet cost a bit, but we didnt have to pay for it. Definitly not a party hostel, but was great to relax in

Disliked: Just being a small place, doesn't have the same facilities of a bigger one

34.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2012

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Everything

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2012

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: There were no locks on the dorm doors so anyone could go into your room. There was only one tiny toilet and shower for the whole floor and the light above the sink didn't work. Check out was at 9 and the cleaning lady came in before 9 to look at which beds she had to clean so it felt like they were kicking us out. All in all it just didn't have a good feel to it.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty nice building and location is reachable without problem from centre.

Disliked: Showers were not so good and renivation is absolutely required. No lockers in the room. No key for the room so its just stays open all the time.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joel Selby

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 June 2012 Joel would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, not too crowded.

Disliked: Not the most helpful staff but not rude either. No common area, and no lockers.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

27 June 2012

Liked: netter service

Disliked: Mein Handtuch wurde geklaut