We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Warrnambool Beach Backpackers

Hostel | 17 Stanley St, Warrnambool, Australia 3280

83.8% Overall Rating

137 out of 148 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/01/2014)

Richard Woolcock thinks…

"Close to the beach. The people running the hostel are fairly friendly considering the number of people that come through everyday."

Read all Warrnambool Beach Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Warrnambool?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Warrnambool

The Cally Hotel
17.47 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Victoria Hotel
21.83 USD

Hotel 69.5% 3 reviews
Southern Right Motor Inn
21.69 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.8%

Overall Rating

137 out of 148 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Warrnambool Beach Backpackers'

Atmosphere
81.6%
Location
84.0%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
83.2%
Value
84.0%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 103 of 116 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gareth Walker

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 January 2012 Gareth would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic welcome and very friendly staff throughout my stay.

Disliked: Didn't seem many toilets or showers for the number of people who could potentially be staying there

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Englund

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 January 2012 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: The pub was great! The staff was god and helpfull.

Disliked: No readinglights in the rooms! Far from a supermarket

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The common area was cool, loads to keep you entertained. The room we stayed in was a good size. The bathrooms were clean.

Disliked: Our room had an odd smell, like cats. The kitchen was too small. The staff was rather interested. The price seems a little bit expensive.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

30 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very welcoming. Onsite parking. Large room. Tea & Coffee making, bar in evening.

Disliked: n/a

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

27 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: No comments.

Disliked: Like most backpackers, a tiny kitchen

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Large lounge area with internal bar, comfortable, clean, big TV

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rashim Kamra

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

15 November 2011 Rashim would recommend this property

Liked: The place was awesome, home away from home! Greg & all the other staff was very co-operative. I would recommend this place to anyone going to w'bool... Cheers! lovely place, lovely location!

Disliked: Internet should be free, its paid :(

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There was a big common area where you could chill out and the place was clean, tidy and quiet.

Disliked: Without a car, it's a fair hike into the town centre.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

15 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and great location

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Valeria Mandakovic

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2011 Valeria would recommend this property

Liked: it was near the beach and the city. The staff is very helpful.

Disliked: messy roomates

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very large common area. Can chill out after the day trip.

Disliked: Should provide more toilet.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Denise Morrow

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 April 2011 Denise would recommend this property

Liked: beach location, common area

Disliked: prices for double room - could have stayed in a hotel for the same price

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Andrew Dye

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 March 2011 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Lounge area was very large and provided options for both watching TV and sitting and chatting

Disliked: It's a bit far from the town centre - whilst they do offer station pick-up, a clearer timetable in / out of town would be a more complete service.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Erik Leitch

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

17 March 2011 Erik would recommend this property

Liked: Availability of private rooms, outside access to rooms (didn't have to go through the rest of the hostel to get to them), availability of parking. Room was clean and spacious.

Disliked: I think what I didn't like boils down to the level of dedication of the hired staff. The common rooms weren't terribly clean, and the kitchen in particular was not well kept; seems like the staff rely too much on people cleaning up after themselves, and we all know how well that works. And the staff in general weren't very friendly or available -- just kind of there. You had to dig them out of the 'staff rooms' every time you wanted something (like to check in, check out, etc).

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

31 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The guests and staff were friendly

Disliked: The hostel was a bit grotty and the bedding provided was old and tatty. The rooms were lockable however no one at the hostel seemed bothered to lock the doors, this made me feel uncomfortable about my belongings. The staff were friendly, but it was difficult to tell who worked there and who was a guest.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Elizabeth Crowley

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife

11 January 2011 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean, friendly and the staff were helpful. Parking was easy. It was easy to find. Quick to check in.

Disliked: We paid for an ensuite room with bathroom. I wish they had more towel rails or hooks in the bath room. Also a cake of soap would be a nice touch.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Just a great friendly place, that was easy to get to and get around from.

Disliked: Nothing.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hosts

Disliked: Rooms weren't very clean

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

trent collins

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

31 December 2010 trent would recommend this property

Liked: open, airy, good common area to see who was about.

Disliked: bit far from the centre of town.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Helga Rothkegel

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

31 October 2010 Helga would recommend this property

Liked: The people working there were friendly and helpful

Disliked: Helga left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

24 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: small place, friendly, clean but far from everything...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Liam McGinley

14 June 2010

Liked: This place is ok for a night or too, but nothing special. When I was there the staff seemed to have a lot of their friends/relatives around too. Kitchen is small and not useful to cook in. Expensive bar, but plenty of room to relax. Bathroom is clean, but room was out dated and a bit dirty.

Disliked: Liam left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

29 May 2010

Liked: We booked a 6 bed and were put in a 16 bed dorm. Kitchen facilities are terrible. Otherwise not a bad place!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

24 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hospitality, the friendliness of the staff :) and the cleanliness of the bathroom facilities, dorms. Super :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

26 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good value for your money

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.