HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Civic Guest House Backpackers Hostel

Hostel | 262 Walker Street, Townsville, Australia 4810

88.2% Overall Rating

181 out of 186 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/08/2014)

"We´re positive surprised of the atmosphere. We booked originally a 8-bedroom with community bathroom, but we received a 4-bedroom with privat bathroom. There is everything what a Backpacker need, like lockers and a…"

Read all Civic Guest House Backpackers Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Townsville?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Townsville

Orchid Guest House
26.11 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Foreign Exchange Accommodation - Beachside
18.65 USD

Hostel 93.9% 90 reviews
Reeflodge
21.45 USD

Hostel 91.4% 3 reviews
Adventurers Resort
20.51 USD

Hostel 66.3% 124 reviews
Foreign Exchange Accommodation - The Avenue
21.45 USD

Hostel 83.4% 62 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.2%

Overall Rating

181 out of 186 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Civic Guest House Backpackers Hostel'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
80.8%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
96.0%
Value
93.6%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 151 of 180 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We´re positive surprised of the atmosphere. We booked originally a 8-bedroom with community bathroom, but we received a 4-bedroom with privat bathroom. There is everything what a Backpacker need, like lockers and a fridge in the room. The stuff is very friendly and the location is central. Highly recommendend!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and secure

Disliked: Not as much character and design as other hostels I experienced

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kate Anderson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2014 Kate would recommend this property

Liked: Kitchen was great, rooms were clean and well presented and staff incredibly helpful

Disliked: The fan was a bit loud and the wifi is only available in the common area by the reception, not even in the kitchen!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Did the job. Well stocked kitchen and central location. Good value for money. Free wifi was nice.

Disliked: The room was quite basic. The pillow was so thin we had to prop it up with towels and the guesthouse was a bit worn around the edges.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Oscar Wallner

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 May 2014 Oscar would recommend this property

Liked: It was quiet and very clean! Nice kitchen!

Disliked: Wifi wasn't everywhere available. No good lockers in the rooms.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a great hostel and one of the best I've stayed in in Australia. Spacious kitchen with plenty of equipment, well cleaned and tidy. Staff are very friendly and helpful. There are plenty of bathrooms and these are all kept very very clean. Reasonably priced too. The place has a really nice, cosy atmosphere. I'd recommend staying there.

Disliked: There were no barriers on the top bunk beds so you sleep in fear of tumbling out onto the floor which isn't great. It's always a little disappointing when there are no storage lockers in the room to lock away your valuables but this seems to be a common omission in hostels these days.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Glenn Nel

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2014 Glenn would recommend this property

Liked: Good location near town centre. Clean rooms and common areas. Free coffee/tea. Reasonably quiet for such a downtown location. Lots of open space - decks, patios, etc.

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Allan Woo

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

05 May 2014 Allan would recommend this property

Liked: The two owners of this place have good spirits and positive attitude. They were exceptionally accommodating, especially in our last minute requests! They go out of their way to help out their guests. I wish them the best in their new endevour.

Disliked: Not sure how it wasn't a problem for a packed house, but there seems to be few bathrooms and showers.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chris Kirtley

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

22 April 2014 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly management. Central location

Disliked: Chris left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the owners are really friendly, (they offered some chocolate to the guests for Easter!) and all the facilities are cleaned every day.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Melanie Schwarz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 April 2014 Melanie would recommend this property

Liked: one of the best hostels ever.. very clean, very nice staff and good location. they pick you up and drop you off at the greyhound bus station for free and the wifi is pretty good. I recommend this hostel to every backpacker. its awesome.

Disliked: nothing at all. perfect as it is.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: was very clean and the rooms were a good size

Disliked: quite far away from the ferry terminal (therefore the bus terminal too) and there is only 2 shuttles to there a day one at 10 and the other at 11. These do not wait for people to get off the greyhound bus to take them back to the hostel they just drop you off and go.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The management were very friendly. The communal area was very clean a d spacious. Overall it was lovely and I would defiantly recommend it to other travellers that want to escape dingy hostels

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanest hostel ever! Staff is so friendly! Very fast en free wifi. Free shuttle service. We think one of The best hostels we stayed. Thank You!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

16 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff. There are quite a lot of rules (which is a good thing!) which means this hostel is not a party place, and cleanliness is something which Civic values greatly.

Disliked: I have no criticism of this hostel. However, I would advise travellers against going out alone at night as there are some locals who might follow you and try to take your money (my experience).

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Claire Fooks

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 March 2014 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice clean bright rooms. Good facilites in the kitchen. Very friendly staff.

Disliked: The fan in the room was noisy, but that is all

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chen-An Lin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 March 2014 Chen-An would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, nice atmosphere =)

Disliked: Chen-An left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Takahiro Tomura

Alone

City break

17 February 2014 Takahiro would recommend this property

Liked: We like travellers can gether there and change very important imformation to play with. If you are looking for clues or keys to travell and enjoy Australia, this hostel will useful for you!

Disliked: Price is not affordable for me!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

andrew vaughan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 February 2014 andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Loverly people run there hostel . well run helpful one of the best hostels I have stayed in

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean and the staff were very helpful. It was also quiet and the bed was comfortable so got a good night's sleep

Disliked: there were no curtains or blinds on the windows to shut out the light for sleeping

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dominick Painter

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 January 2014 Dominick would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel. The owner cares so much for each person who stays. She made us feel very welcome and made everything a lot easier for us during our stay. I wish that we could have stayed longer we liked it that much!

Disliked: Dominick left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpfull personal. Good facilities, clean. Nice clean kitchen abd spacious dining area wirh tables both inside and outside.

Disliked: Bathrooms on the top floor were not the cleanest better to use ones downstairs.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Orla Ipsen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 January 2014 Orla would recommend this property

Liked: God location

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place to stay there a few days.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: By far the best hostel I stayed at in Australia! Super clean. The staff is so friendly and helpful. Nice guests.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.