HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Sydney, Australia

96.2%
3 reviews Book Now 
1

Cronulla Beach YHA

Hostel
Level 1, 40-42 Kingsway, Cronulla, Sydney, Australia 2230

3 out of 3 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Cronulla Beach YHA

Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 86% Cleanliness - 86% Value - 100%
shangying yang
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Relaxation/spa, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
shangying would recommend this property 07 February 2013

The receptionists are very nice and warm and helpful, and offer vey useful information. The roommates are also nice.

Fausto Palazzi
Alone
Work / volunteering
97.1%
Fausto would recommend this property 02 February 2012

Everything: the most friendly staff i have ever met in a hostel, the best rooms (with wardrobe!!! not only lockers), huge shared bathrooms and a nice courtyard. It is the best hostel where i have ever been!

93.8%
1187 reviews Book Now 
2

Wake Up Hostel

Hostel
509 Pitt Street, Sydney, Australia 2000

1104 out of 1187 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Wake Up Hostel

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 97% Facilities - 90% Safety - 97%
Location - 94% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 91%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 24 August 2014

Location is very good and is kept clean very well. Staff is always happy to help. Very little noise, so could easily sleep well.

suleyman erbek
With my spouse / partner
Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
suleyman would recommend this property 15 August 2014

Great location and always had something good goin on great food and cheap drink what else could you ask for :)

93.3%
266 reviews Book Now 
3

Bounce Sydney

Hostel
28 Chalmers Street, Sydney, Australia 2000

259 out of 266 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Bounce Sydney

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 93% Facilities - 90% Safety - 96%
Location - 93% Cleanliness - 96% Value - 88%
Aniket Deshpande
Alone
Beach / sunbathing, Business / conference, Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Aniket would recommend this property 27 August 2014

Excellent location. The room are huge and clean. Staff is very friendly and often join in the fun. Great place to meet other travellers. Toilets are clean and plenty.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 19 August 2014

Bounce Sydney was clean and appealing with a nice roof-top lounge. The staff was friendly and helpful, helping me to determine the best route to take to the airport so that I did not miss my early flight. The room (I stayed in an all-girl 8 person room) was spacious and had a full-sized wall mirror and hooks to hang your towel or jacket on. The bathrooms also has a few hooks which were helpful to hang your stuff on while getting ready in the morning. The central location made it easy to access the train (station is right across the street) as well as restaurants near by. You can literally walk pretty much straight up the street and after about an hour and a half arrive at the Opera House and Harbour Bridge or take the more scenic route and walk through the parks and Botanical Garden on the way there.

90.7%
402 reviews Book Now 
4

Blue Parrot Backpackers

Hostel
87 Macleay St, Sydney, Australia NSW 2011

366 out of 402 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Blue Parrot Backpackers

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 97% Facilities - 86% Safety - 92%
Location - 89% Cleanliness - 91% Value - 85%
Patrick Kelly
Alone
Business / conference, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Patrick would recommend this property 25 August 2014

I really enjoyed staying here. It was not for very long, as it was just an extended holiday after a work event, and I was not in the hostel much more than for sleeping as I toured the city as much as I could. That said, Sasha was great at making sure I had enough to do. They were very helpful in making sure I could check out early (flight was early the next morning before the registration desk opened), and that I had transportation to the airport. It seemed like a great community, and everyone seemed very respectful and willing to make friends.

Thomas Marston
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Thomas would recommend this property 20 August 2014

A really friendly, clean hostel... Great location and staff made a super welcoming experience to Sydney, thankyou :)

89.7%
152 reviews Book Now 
5

Sydney Harbour YHA

Hostel
110 Cumberland St, Sydney, Australia 2000

149 out of 152 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Sydney Harbour YHA

Atmosphere - 82% Staff - 87% Facilities - 90% Safety - 94%
Location - 98% Cleanliness - 91% Value - 84%
Thomas Donnelly
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Thomas would recommend this property 25 July 2014

The hostel was big, friendly and had lots of excellent extras such as a free food shelf with things people had left behind. The staff were helpful and the rooftop terrace offered amazing views of the city. I recommens taking a bottle up there for a cheap and peaceful sydney evening.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
80.0%
Customer would recommend this property 16 June 2014

The view from the rooftop is incredible, and having the open-air space to enjoy dinner or a glass of wine was awesome. Rooms were clean and showers had good pressure and temperature. The secure lockers had electrical outlets inside so you can recharge your devices without having to leave them out; there was also an outlet beside each bed and others easily accessible around the room. Reception was 24 hours and convenient, and the location can't be beat for accessing the quay and city centre shops.

88.3%
252 reviews Book Now 
6

Sydney Central YHA

Hostel
11 Rawson Place, (Cnr Pitt St and Rawson Pl), Sydney, Australia 2000

235 out of 252 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Sydney Central YHA

Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 86% Facilities - 87% Safety - 94%
Location - 94% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 82%
Lindsay Cash
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
97.1%
Lindsay would recommend this property 25 February 2014

Close to everything and the station. Liked the big kitchen with loads of cool tops and the cinema room

Sara wyn Williams
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
91.4%
Sara wyn would recommend this property 20 February 2014

Rooms were spacious, had lockers (remember to bring your own lock), very clean, massive kitchen. Plenty of places to chill. Scuba night club right outside. Noise does not carry to the rooms. Shops not far,

88.2%
7 reviews Book Now 
7

G'day Backpackers

Hostel
153 Forbes street, Kings Cross, Sydney, Australia 2011

7 out of 7 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend G'day Backpackers

Atmosphere - 88% Staff - 97% Facilities - 91% Safety - 91%
Location - 82% Cleanliness - 68% Value - 97%
Rachel Rowell
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
91.4%
Rachel would recommend this property 01 September 2014

Lovely, friendly atmosphere. Everyone made an effort with eachother, great community spirit, like a little family. Lots of nice small touches like breakfast and wifi included, always have something organized on an evening and BBQ on sat night.

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 21 August 2014

A lovely friendly hostel, where everyone makes you feel welcome! Comfy beds had a lovely nights sleep!

87.1%
147 reviews Book Now 
8

BIG Hostel

Hostel
212 Elizabeth st, Surry Hills, Sydney, Australia 2010

130 out of 147 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend BIG Hostel

Atmosphere - 82% Staff - 92% Facilities - 83% Safety - 91%
Location - 91% Cleanliness - 88% Value - 81%
Chris Davies
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
88.6%
Chris would recommend this property 31 July 2014

Well located, loads of local area info, clean, secure and staff were ruddy helpful!

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Family Holiday
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 30 July 2014

Friendly and helpful staff, good location very near central station, nice atmosphere, clean and safe. They provide lockers before check-in and after check out time which is good if you want to make the most of your time in there. Worthy!

86.6%
42 reviews Book Now 
9

Railway Square YHA

Hostel
8-10 Lee Street, Sydney, Australia 2000

39 out of 42 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Railway Square YHA

Atmosphere - 83% Staff - 78% Facilities - 87% Safety - 91%
Location - 95% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 78%
Hannah Lomas
Alone
Business / conference
100.0%
Hannah would recommend this property 04 April 2014

One of the highlights for me was how clean and comfortable the hostel is - very comfortable beds and I had two great nights' sleep! The staff were very helpful and friendly. I liked that the 8-bed dorm had an ensuite bathroom. The breakfast was very reasonable and the facilities at the hostel (kitchen size & equipment etc) were excellent. This hostel is also very well located, at Central train station.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
51.4%
10 February 2014

Fantastic location for most things. Good if you just want to sleep there one night with no luggage and leave first thing in the morning. They had cheap food one night.

86.3%
725 reviews Book Now 
10

The Original Backpackers Hostel

Hostel
160-162 Victoria Street, Kings Cross, Sydney, Australia 2011

636 out of 725 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend The Original Backpackers Hostel

Atmosphere - 84% Staff - 92% Facilities - 83% Safety - 85%
Location - 93% Cleanliness - 83% Value - 80%
Brandon Schultz
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Work / volunteering
100.0%
Brandon would recommend this property 03 February 2014

I enjoy my visit at originals backpackers the people who work here are very nice and easy going. I've been in Sydney for 4 months and by far for the price and living environment its one of my favourite hostels to live in if you our ever in Sydney come to originals. Everyone here is like a family makes me feel like I'm back home.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
62.9%
07 January 2014

Perfect located in kings cross, close to food, grocery, public transport and clubs

Sydney

95 Hostels from 8.40 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Sydney hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Sydney. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.

No booking fees

The only major hostel booking site that doesn't charge a booking fee.

Guide to Sydney

Guide to Find our best travel tips, advice and inspiration on what to do and where to stay in our guide to Sydney. Discover how to travel on a budget and don’t forget to check the weather before you go!

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Monthly Newsletter

 
Please enter valid email address
Check out this month's newsletter