We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/01/2016
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/01/2016
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Sydney, Australia

96.2%
3 reviews Book Now 
1

Cronulla Beach YHA

Hostel
Level 1, 40-42 Kingsway, Cronulla, Sydney, Australia 2230

3 out of 3 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Cronulla Beach YHA

Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 86% Cleanliness - 86% Value - 100%
shangying yang
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Relaxation/spa, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
shangying would recommend this property 07 February 2013

The receptionists are very nice and warm and helpful, and offer vey useful information. The roommates are also nice.

Fausto Palazzi
Alone
Work / volunteering
97.1%
Fausto would recommend this property 02 February 2012

Everything: the most friendly staff i have ever met in a hostel, the best rooms (with wardrobe!!! not only lockers), huge shared bathrooms and a nice courtyard. It is the best hostel where i have ever been!

95.0%
275 reviews Book Now 
2

Bounce Sydney

Hostel
28 Chalmers Street, Sydney, Australia 2000

268 out of 275 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Bounce Sydney

Atmosphere - 93% Staff - 95% Facilities - 92% Safety - 99%
Location - 97% Cleanliness - 96% Value - 90%
Lauren Sullivan
With friends / other travellers
Beach / sunbathing, Events / festivals
100.0%
Lauren would recommend this property 17 January 2015

The location of the hostel is so close to central, the people that work there are lovely and so helpful!

Wendy Vercautrin
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Wendy would recommend this property 01 October 2014

The hostel is not to big, not to small. A great view from the rooftop! Where it's really cool to take your meal or just hang out with people. It's really a good place to stay, if few word: Clean, friendly and good staff.

92.6%
1209 reviews Book Now 
3

Wake Up Hostel

Hostel
509 Pitt Street, Sydney, Australia 2000

1126 out of 1209 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Wake Up Hostel

Atmosphere - 96% Staff - 94% Facilities - 91% Safety - 96%
Location - 97% Cleanliness - 91% Value - 80%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Beach / sunbathing, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 26 January 2015

The staff always helpful and have a smile on their faces,the location is excellent near Central station & pretty easy to get around on foot around Sydney

Derek Proto
Alone
Partying / nightlife
97.1%
Derek would recommend this property 13 January 2015

Location was amazing Staff was helpful and approachable Best kitchen I've ever seen Spacious and inviting A place I wish i could spend more time at!

90.9%
403 reviews Book Now 
4

Blue Parrot Backpackers

Hostel
87 Macleay St, Sydney, Australia NSW 2011

367 out of 403 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Blue Parrot Backpackers

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 96% Facilities - 87% Safety - 92%
Location - 90% Cleanliness - 91% Value - 85%
Michael Nordstrom
Alone
City break, Sightseeing & culture
85.7%
Michael would recommend this property 01 November 2014

Everyone was very helpful and friendly. Hostel was clean and location was great. Definitely recommended.

Patrick Kelly
Alone
Business / conference, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Patrick would recommend this property 25 August 2014

I really enjoyed staying here. It was not for very long, as it was just an extended holiday after a work event, and I was not in the hostel much more than for sleeping as I toured the city as much as I could. That said, Sasha was great at making sure I had enough to do. They were very helpful in making sure I could check out early (flight was early the next morning before the registration desk opened), and that I had transportation to the airport. It seemed like a great community, and everyone seemed very respectful and willing to make friends.

89.8%
153 reviews Book Now 
5

Sydney Harbour YHA

Hostel
110 Cumberland St, Sydney, Australia 2000

150 out of 153 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Sydney Harbour YHA

Atmosphere - 83% Staff - 87% Facilities - 90% Safety - 94%
Location - 98% Cleanliness - 91% Value - 84%
Thomas Donnelly
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Thomas would recommend this property 25 July 2014

The hostel was big, friendly and had lots of excellent extras such as a free food shelf with things people had left behind. The staff were helpful and the rooftop terrace offered amazing views of the city. I recommens taking a bottle up there for a cheap and peaceful sydney evening.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
80.0%
Customer would recommend this property 16 June 2014

The view from the rooftop is incredible, and having the open-air space to enjoy dinner or a glass of wine was awesome. Rooms were clean and showers had good pressure and temperature. The secure lockers had electrical outlets inside so you can recharge your devices without having to leave them out; there was also an outlet beside each bed and others easily accessible around the room. Reception was 24 hours and convenient, and the location can't be beat for accessing the quay and city centre shops.

88.6%
5 reviews Book Now 
6

St Marks Lodge

Guesthouse
37 Rae Street, Randwick, Sydney, Australia 2031

5 out of 5 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend St Marks Lodge

Atmosphere - 88% Staff - 92% Facilities - 80% Safety - 88%
Location - 92% Cleanliness - 88% Value - 92%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Family Holiday
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 07 October 2014

Really great place to stay! Perfect location and the rooms are really nice and clean. Staff were great! Will stay again next time I am in Sydney :):) thank you!

Vicky Ford
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
97.1%
Vicky would recommend this property 03 April 2014

The room was clean an fully equipped with everything you need to self cater and you can use an addition kitchen, plus there's soap, shampoo, conditioner an super helpful staff.

87.7%
257 reviews Book Now 
7

Sydney Central YHA

Hostel
11 Rawson Place, (Cnr Pitt St and Rawson Pl), Sydney, Australia 2000

240 out of 257 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Sydney Central YHA

Atmosphere - 78% Staff - 85% Facilities - 87% Safety - 93%
Location - 92% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 83%
Lindsay Cash
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
97.1%
Lindsay would recommend this property 25 February 2014

Close to everything and the station. Liked the big kitchen with loads of cool tops and the cinema room

Sara wyn Williams
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
91.4%
Sara wyn would recommend this property 20 February 2014

Rooms were spacious, had lockers (remember to bring your own lock), very clean, massive kitchen. Plenty of places to chill. Scuba night club right outside. Noise does not carry to the rooms. Shops not far,

87.2%
98 reviews Book Now 
8

Backpackers HQ

Hostel
172-174 Victoria St, Kings Cross, Sydney, Australia NSW 2011

94 out of 98 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Backpackers HQ

Atmosphere - 88% Staff - 88% Facilities - 84% Safety - 96%
Location - 87% Cleanliness - 78% Value - 88%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Work / volunteering
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 10 January 2015

Great atmosphere, really sociable, great location, clean, free breakfast and wifi! Best hostel I've stayed in Sydney. The owners are super friendly and give you good tips about where to go to book trips.

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 13 July 2014

Possibly one of the best hostels in Sydney, maybe even Oz. We've stayed in Sydney three times and this was by far our favourite hostel. The rooms are big and have lots of light, and a locker is provided for everyone (bring a lock) so your stuff doesn't have to stay on the floor. Breakfast is excellent, lots of variety not just the usual cornflakes. Wifi is really good too, is always fast. Overall the place is very cleans and homely and impecably decorated.

86.6%
42 reviews Book Now 
9

Railway Square YHA

Hostel
8-10 Lee Street, Sydney, Australia 2000

39 out of 42 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Railway Square YHA

Atmosphere - 83% Staff - 78% Facilities - 87% Safety - 91%
Location - 95% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 78%
Hannah Lomas
Alone
Business / conference
100.0%
Hannah would recommend this property 04 April 2014

One of the highlights for me was how clean and comfortable the hostel is - very comfortable beds and I had two great nights' sleep! The staff were very helpful and friendly. I liked that the 8-bed dorm had an ensuite bathroom. The breakfast was very reasonable and the facilities at the hostel (kitchen size & equipment etc) were excellent. This hostel is also very well located, at Central train station.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
51.4%
10 February 2014

Fantastic location for most things. Good if you just want to sleep there one night with no luggage and leave first thing in the morning. They had cheap food one night.

85.4%
9 reviews Book Now 
10

Glenferrie Lodge

Guesthouse
12a Carabella Street, Kirribilli, Sydney, Australia 2061

8 out of 9 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Glenferrie Lodge

Atmosphere - 86% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 86%
Location - 91% Cleanliness - 84% Value - 88%
Richard Cutayar
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
97.1%
Richard would recommend this property 08 August 2014

Front of house/Reception have been very friendly and helpful with any requests. It's been very quiet and peaceful. The huge pictures of the surrounding areas are just amazing and really adds that extra touch to the rooms. GREAT value for money.

Kerrie Friend
With friends / other travellers
Events / festivals
94.3%
Kerrie would recommend this property 25 May 2014

clean, neat, tidy and comfortable. Great location - certainly basic accommodation but ticks all the boxes and really reasonable rates for eth location - especially with breakfast thrown in

Sydney

91 Hostels from 15.72 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Sydney hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Sydney. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.

No booking fees

The only major hostel booking site that doesn't charge a booking fee.

Guide to Sydney

Guide to Find our best travel tips, advice and inspiration on what to do and where to stay in our guide to Sydney. Discover how to travel on a budget and don’t forget to check the weather before you go!

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Monthly Newsletter

 
Please enter valid email address
Check out this month's newsletter