HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Sydney, Australia

96.2%
3 reviews Book Now 
1

Cronulla Beach YHA

Hostel
Level 1, 40-42 Kingsway, Cronulla, Sydney, Australia 2230

3 out of 3 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Cronulla Beach YHA

Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 86% Cleanliness - 86% Value - 100%
shangying yang
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Relaxation/spa, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
shangying would recommend this property 07 February 2013

The receptionists are very nice and warm and helpful, and offer vey useful information. The roommates are also nice.

Fausto Palazzi
Alone
Work / volunteering
97.1%
Fausto would recommend this property 02 February 2012

Everything: the most friendly staff i have ever met in a hostel, the best rooms (with wardrobe!!! not only lockers), huge shared bathrooms and a nice courtyard. It is the best hostel where i have ever been!

93.3%
144 reviews Book Now 
2

Sydney Harbour YHA

Hostel
110 Cumberland St, Sydney, Australia 2000

141 out of 144 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Sydney Harbour YHA

Atmosphere - 88% Staff - 93% Facilities - 95% Safety - 98%
Location - 97% Cleanliness - 93% Value - 86%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 14 April 2014

The location is amazing overlooking the harbour. It was also really close to all the main attractions. We were in a dorm which had lockers so our stuff was safe but even better there was plugs in the lockers so we could charge things safely. The bathroom was cleaned every day and the staff were all really helpful.

Customer review
Alone
City break, Events / festivals, Relaxation/spa
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 13 April 2014

This property is without doubt one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in. The rooms are wonderfully spacious and safe. The location is perfect and the views from the room are picturesque. The staff are wonderfully accommodating (even when my breakfast was taken from the communal fridge, it was replace by the staff using their own products). the age range of guests is diverse and everyone seems friendly and warm. It is hard to describe this location as a hostel as it really does exceed the definition. Wonderful!

90.6%
250 reviews Book Now 
3

Bounce Sydney

Hostel
28 Chalmers Street, Sydney, Australia 2000

244 out of 250 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Bounce Sydney

Atmosphere - 86% Staff - 93% Facilities - 89% Safety - 95%
Location - 89% Cleanliness - 94% Value - 85%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 28 February 2014

Clean, fresh and modern. The staff are friendly and it is a great place to meet people. The only place I would stay in Sydney.

Amber Guest
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife
100.0%
Amber would recommend this property 12 January 2014

this place is absolutely fantastic for solo backpackers, I travelled here alone and since being here i havent been alone once. i have extended my stay here for an extra two weeks.

90.5%
395 reviews Book Now 
4

Blue Parrot Backpackers

Hostel
87 Macleay St, Sydney, Australia NSW 2011

359 out of 395 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Blue Parrot Backpackers

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 97% Facilities - 86% Safety - 92%
Location - 88% Cleanliness - 90% Value - 85%
Rey Nijhove
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
82.9%
Rey would recommend this property 02 February 2014

Friendly and helpful staff, garden with hammock, relaxed atmosphere, relatively, quiet, free wifi, central location outside the CBD, but with everything you need within walking distance. They are a bit heavy on the rules, but most of it improves the hostel quality.

Benjamin Dexant
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break
88.6%
Benjamin would recommend this property 15 November 2013

The staff is very friendly and comply, and the rooms are clean, comfortable, with individual lockers. the common parts are also well. Good situation for hang out at king cross or with the free bus for downtown. I recommend this hostel, I meet there some kind people :)

88.0%
1156 reviews Book Now 
5

Wake Up Hostel

Hostel
509 Pitt Street, Sydney, Australia 2000

1073 out of 1156 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Wake Up Hostel

Atmosphere - 88% Staff - 86% Facilities - 87% Safety - 92%
Location - 94% Cleanliness - 84% Value - 83%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
82.9%
15 April 2014

Kitchen facilities Thy off something to do every night and that's such a good way to make friends

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 08 April 2014

It was exactly what we wanted. Clean, fun and very central. The cafe served an amazing breakfast!

87.3%
246 reviews Book Now 
6

Sydney Central YHA

Hostel
11 Rawson Place, (Cnr Pitt St and Rawson Pl), Sydney, Australia 2000

229 out of 246 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Sydney Central YHA

Atmosphere - 82% Staff - 86% Facilities - 88% Safety - 88%
Location - 92% Cleanliness - 91% Value - 82%
Lindsay Cash
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
97.1%
Lindsay would recommend this property 25 February 2014

Close to everything and the station. Liked the big kitchen with loads of cool tops and the cinema room

Sara wyn Williams
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
91.4%
Sara wyn would recommend this property 20 February 2014

Rooms were spacious, had lockers (remember to bring your own lock), very clean, massive kitchen. Plenty of places to chill. Scuba night club right outside. Noise does not carry to the rooms. Shops not far,

86.6%
42 reviews Book Now 
7

Railway Square YHA

Hostel
8-10 Lee Street, Sydney, Australia 2000

39 out of 42 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Railway Square YHA

Atmosphere - 83% Staff - 78% Facilities - 87% Safety - 91%
Location - 95% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 78%
Hannah Lomas
Alone
Business / conference
100.0%
Hannah would recommend this property 04 April 2014

One of the highlights for me was how clean and comfortable the hostel is - very comfortable beds and I had two great nights' sleep! The staff were very helpful and friendly. I liked that the 8-bed dorm had an ensuite bathroom. The breakfast was very reasonable and the facilities at the hostel (kitchen size & equipment etc) were excellent. This hostel is also very well located, at Central train station.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
51.4%
10 February 2014

Fantastic location for most things. Good if you just want to sleep there one night with no luggage and leave first thing in the morning. They had cheap food one night.

85.7%
4 reviews Book Now 
8

St Marks Lodge

Guesthouse
37 Rae Street, Randwick, Sydney, Australia 2031

4 out of 4 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend St Marks Lodge

Atmosphere - 85% Staff - 90% Facilities - 75% Safety - 85%
Location - 90% Cleanliness - 85% Value - 90%
Vicky Ford
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
97.1%
Vicky would recommend this property 03 April 2014

The room was clean an fully equipped with everything you need to self cater and you can use an addition kitchen, plus there's soap, shampoo, conditioner an super helpful staff.

Customer review
As a family with children
Family Holiday
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 15 April 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by this property - it offered everything we needed at a very reasonable price

85.7%
80 reviews Book Now 
9

Backpackers HQ

Hostel
172-174 Victoria St, Kings Cross, Sydney, Australia NSW 2011

78 out of 80 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Backpackers HQ

Atmosphere - 84% Staff - 88% Facilities - 83% Safety - 89%
Location - 88% Cleanliness - 82% Value - 84%
Ross Whale
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing
100.0%
Ross would recommend this property 08 April 2014

Great hostel in a great location. Supermarket at the top of the road, train station 50 yards up the road as well. Good balance in the hostel of people going for a booze up but then if you do need sleep after a long flight then you can do that as well. If you are in Australia to actually see stuff then this hostel is ideal,much cleaner then others in the CBD. Met so many people staying at this hostel as well, very sociable! Totally recommend staying here if you're in Sydney.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 16 January 2014

Very friendly and welcoming. TV room is great. BBQ on Wednesdays is even better - by far the best free BBQ put on by a hostel. Bread rolls, steak, sausage, array of salads! Perfect! Breakfast is also good. The courtyard is maintained brilliantly and a great place to socialise. The staff are all fantastic! I've stayed at this hostel a couple of times and I loved it each time!

84.6%
716 reviews Book Now 
10

The Original Backpackers Hostel

Hostel
160-162 Victoria Street, Kings Cross, Sydney, Australia 2011

628 out of 716 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend The Original Backpackers Hostel

Atmosphere - 84% Staff - 89% Facilities - 81% Safety - 82%
Location - 93% Cleanliness - 79% Value - 80%
Brandon Schultz
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Work / volunteering
100.0%
Brandon would recommend this property 03 February 2014

I enjoy my visit at originals backpackers the people who work here are very nice and easy going. I've been in Sydney for 4 months and by far for the price and living environment its one of my favourite hostels to live in if you our ever in Sydney come to originals. Everyone here is like a family makes me feel like I'm back home.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
62.9%
07 January 2014

Perfect located in kings cross, close to food, grocery, public transport and clubs

Sydney

93 Hostels from 9.33 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Sydney hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Sydney. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.

No booking fees

The only major hostel booking site that doesn't charge a booking fee.

Guide to Sydney

Guide to Find our best travel tips, advice and inspiration on what to do and where to stay in our guide to Sydney. Discover how to travel on a budget and don’t forget to check the weather before you go!

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Monthly Newsletter

 
Please enter valid email address
Check out this month's newsletter