HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Sydney, Australia

96.2%
3 reviews Book Now 
1

Cronulla Beach YHA

Hostel
Level 1, 40-42 Kingsway, Cronulla, Sydney, Australia 2230

3 out of 3 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Cronulla Beach YHA

Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 86% Cleanliness - 86% Value - 100%
shangying yang
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Relaxation/spa, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
shangying would recommend this property 07 February 2013

The receptionists are very nice and warm and helpful, and offer vey useful information. The roommates are also nice.

Fausto Palazzi
Alone
Work / volunteering
97.1%
Fausto would recommend this property 02 February 2012

Everything: the most friendly staff i have ever met in a hostel, the best rooms (with wardrobe!!! not only lockers), huge shared bathrooms and a nice courtyard. It is the best hostel where i have ever been!

93.0%
1179 reviews Book Now 
2

Wake Up Hostel

Hostel
509 Pitt Street, Sydney, Australia 2000

1096 out of 1179 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Wake Up Hostel

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 95% Facilities - 91% Safety - 97%
Location - 93% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 89%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Visiting friends or family
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 23 July 2014

the common facilities were clean and spacious, and the key card worked the whole time i was there. also front desk was very helpful with luggage storage during check-out

Christopher Folwell
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Visiting friends or family
100.0%
Christopher would recommend this property 21 July 2014

I had never started in a hostel before so I didn't really know what to expect. Wake Up was brilliant and would recommend it to anyone staying in Sydney. Everyone I spoke to though it was the best hostel they'd ever stayed in.

92.2%
257 reviews Book Now 
3

Bounce Sydney

Hostel
28 Chalmers Street, Sydney, Australia 2000

250 out of 257 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Bounce Sydney

Atmosphere - 90% Staff - 93% Facilities - 90% Safety - 95%
Location - 92% Cleanliness - 96% Value - 88%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 16 July 2014

Location was great and friendly staff. Clean and fun atmosphere, would highly recommend.

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 17 May 2014

The hostel is in an excellent location, it has a great atmosphere and the rooms and bathrooms are very clean. The night shift receptionists, were very friendly and assisted us well with future bookings. We planned to stay 1 night, but ended up staying 8 nights! The organised nights out each evening were good fun, we especially liked the Tuesday night. Costa was great fun and made sure everyone had a great night! The kitchen area is always clean and they have good social areas in the hostel.

91.2%
399 reviews Book Now 
4

Blue Parrot Backpackers

Hostel
87 Macleay St, Sydney, Australia NSW 2011

363 out of 399 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Blue Parrot Backpackers

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 97% Facilities - 86% Safety - 92%
Location - 89% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 87%
Simon Heller
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Simon would recommend this property 27 June 2014

Very helpful staff. They always had a smile on their faces and made an effort to know people staying there. The kitchen is well supplied and was kept tidy and clean.

Lloyd Manvill
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Lloyd would recommend this property 13 May 2014

If you were thinking of staying somewhere else in Sydney stop thinking because you should stay here! It feels more like a 'living community' and every night everyone in the hostel goes out together so it's a great place to meet people if you're travelling alone. I started to travel up the coast but came back to the Blue Parrot after a few days because I had such a fun time and met cool people there!

91.2%
148 reviews Book Now 
5

Sydney Harbour YHA

Hostel
110 Cumberland St, Sydney, Australia 2000

145 out of 148 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Sydney Harbour YHA

Atmosphere - 85% Staff - 90% Facilities - 92% Safety - 96%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 91% Value - 85%
Thomas Donnelly
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Thomas would recommend this property 25 July 2014

The hostel was big, friendly and had lots of excellent extras such as a free food shelf with things people had left behind. The staff were helpful and the rooftop terrace offered amazing views of the city. I recommens taking a bottle up there for a cheap and peaceful sydney evening.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
80.0%
Customer would recommend this property 16 June 2014

The view from the rooftop is incredible, and having the open-air space to enjoy dinner or a glass of wine was awesome. Rooms were clean and showers had good pressure and temperature. The secure lockers had electrical outlets inside so you can recharge your devices without having to leave them out; there was also an outlet beside each bed and others easily accessible around the room. Reception was 24 hours and convenient, and the location can't be beat for accessing the quay and city centre shops.

88.3%
252 reviews Book Now 
6

Sydney Central YHA

Hostel
11 Rawson Place, (Cnr Pitt St and Rawson Pl), Sydney, Australia 2000

235 out of 252 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Sydney Central YHA

Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 86% Facilities - 87% Safety - 94%
Location - 94% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 82%
Lindsay Cash
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
97.1%
Lindsay would recommend this property 25 February 2014

Close to everything and the station. Liked the big kitchen with loads of cool tops and the cinema room

Sara wyn Williams
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
91.4%
Sara wyn would recommend this property 20 February 2014

Rooms were spacious, had lockers (remember to bring your own lock), very clean, massive kitchen. Plenty of places to chill. Scuba night club right outside. Noise does not carry to the rooms. Shops not far,

88.2%
143 reviews Book Now 
7

BIG Hostel

Hostel
212 Elizabeth st, Surry Hills, Sydney, Australia 2010

127 out of 143 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend BIG Hostel

Atmosphere - 84% Staff - 92% Facilities - 84% Safety - 92%
Location - 90% Cleanliness - 88% Value - 83%
Michael Oravec
Alone
Visiting friends or family
80.0%
Michael would recommend this property 28 July 2014

Decent price. Included breakfast is a great thing! Good location between Central Station & the commercial area around Pitt St & Darling Harbour. Fairly clean overall. Shared bathroom on each floor. Secure entrance after dark. Big size lockers in the rooms. Good big common lounge area and kitchen.

Irina Lebedeva
Alone
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
97.1%
Irina would recommend this property 06 June 2014

Very nice and friendly. The location is great. Everything I needed was walking distance.

86.6%
42 reviews Book Now 
8

Railway Square YHA

Hostel
8-10 Lee Street, Sydney, Australia 2000

39 out of 42 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Railway Square YHA

Atmosphere - 83% Staff - 78% Facilities - 87% Safety - 91%
Location - 95% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 78%
Hannah Lomas
Alone
Business / conference
100.0%
Hannah would recommend this property 04 April 2014

One of the highlights for me was how clean and comfortable the hostel is - very comfortable beds and I had two great nights' sleep! The staff were very helpful and friendly. I liked that the 8-bed dorm had an ensuite bathroom. The breakfast was very reasonable and the facilities at the hostel (kitchen size & equipment etc) were excellent. This hostel is also very well located, at Central train station.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
51.4%
10 February 2014

Fantastic location for most things. Good if you just want to sleep there one night with no luggage and leave first thing in the morning. They had cheap food one night.

85.7%
4 reviews Book Now 
9

St Marks Lodge

Guesthouse
37 Rae Street, Randwick, Sydney, Australia 2031

4 out of 4 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend St Marks Lodge

Atmosphere - 85% Staff - 90% Facilities - 75% Safety - 85%
Location - 90% Cleanliness - 85% Value - 90%
Vicky Ford
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
97.1%
Vicky would recommend this property 03 April 2014

The room was clean an fully equipped with everything you need to self cater and you can use an addition kitchen, plus there's soap, shampoo, conditioner an super helpful staff.

Customer review
As a family with children
Family Holiday
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 15 April 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by this property - it offered everything we needed at a very reasonable price

85.0%
93 reviews Book Now 
10

Backpackers HQ

Hostel
172-174 Victoria St, Kings Cross, Sydney, Australia NSW 2011

90 out of 93 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Backpackers HQ

Atmosphere - 84% Staff - 85% Facilities - 80% Safety - 92%
Location - 88% Cleanliness - 76% Value - 86%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 13 July 2014

Possibly one of the best hostels in Sydney, maybe even Oz. We've stayed in Sydney three times and this was by far our favourite hostel. The rooms are big and have lots of light, and a locker is provided for everyone (bring a lock) so your stuff doesn't have to stay on the floor. Breakfast is excellent, lots of variety not just the usual cornflakes. Wifi is really good too, is always fast. Overall the place is very cleans and homely and impecably decorated.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Work / volunteering
80.0%
Customer would recommend this property 25 June 2014

Location is excelent,1 minute walking distance from train and buses. The common areas are really good. Big kitchen

Sydney

92 Hostels from 9.40 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Sydney hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Sydney. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.

No booking fees

The only major hostel booking site that doesn't charge a booking fee.

Guide to Sydney

Guide to Find our best travel tips, advice and inspiration on what to do and where to stay in our guide to Sydney. Discover how to travel on a budget and don’t forget to check the weather before you go!

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Monthly Newsletter

 
Please enter valid email address
Check out this month's newsletter