We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2016
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2016
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Sydney, Australia

96.2%
3 reviews Book Now 
1

Cronulla Beach YHA

Hostel
Level 1, 40-42 Kingsway, Cronulla, Sydney, Australia 2230

3 out of 3 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Cronulla Beach YHA

Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 86% Cleanliness - 86% Value - 100%
shangying yang
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Relaxation/spa, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
shangying would recommend this property 07 February 2013

The receptionists are very nice and warm and helpful, and offer vey useful information. The roommates are also nice.

Fausto Palazzi
Alone
Work / volunteering
97.1%
Fausto would recommend this property 02 February 2012

Everything: the most friendly staff i have ever met in a hostel, the best rooms (with wardrobe!!! not only lockers), huge shared bathrooms and a nice courtyard. It is the best hostel where i have ever been!

94.6%
283 reviews Book Now 
2

Bounce Sydney

Hostel
28 Chalmers Street, Sydney, Australia 2000

276 out of 283 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Bounce Sydney

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 93% Facilities - 91% Safety - 100%
Location - 98% Cleanliness - 97% Value - 89%
Neda Puskarica-Stojanovic
With friends / other travellers
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
97.1%
Neda would recommend this property 07 April 2015

Perfect location, clean & modern rooms, awesome rooftop balcony with great city views

Janice Gordan
Alone
Events / festivals, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Janice would recommend this property 30 March 2015

Huge lockers with power sockets inside. Central station across the road making it easy to get to the main sights. I was in Sydney to see a show at the Opera house and it took just 5 mins to Circular Quay by train.

89.7%
1230 reviews Book Now 
3

Wake Up Hostel

Hostel
509 Pitt Street, Sydney, Australia 2000

1146 out of 1230 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Wake Up Hostel

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 94% Facilities - 88% Safety - 91%
Location - 92% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 77%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
88.6%
Customer would recommend this property 11 April 2015

The travel desk is really handy to book trips and the cafe downstairs does really nice food at a fair price.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 11 April 2015

Friendly atmosphere, great people and very easy to feel at home. Was in a good location too. A very professionally run hostel.

89.6%
405 reviews Book Now 
4

Blue Parrot Backpackers

Hostel
87 Macleay St, Sydney, Australia NSW 2011

369 out of 405 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Blue Parrot Backpackers

Atmosphere - 90% Staff - 95% Facilities - 85% Safety - 91%
Location - 89% Cleanliness - 90% Value - 84%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
62.9%
Customer would recommend this property 02 March 2015

Good location - not far from Woolworths/Coles and the Sydney Opera House. Clean and great TV room with a nice selection of films.

Michael Nordstrom
Alone
City break, Sightseeing & culture
85.7%
Michael would recommend this property 01 November 2014

Everyone was very helpful and friendly. Hostel was clean and location was great. Definitely recommended.

89.3%
155 reviews Book Now 
5

Sydney Harbour YHA

Hostel
110 Cumberland St, Sydney, Australia 2000

152 out of 155 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Sydney Harbour YHA

Atmosphere - 84% Staff - 86% Facilities - 89% Safety - 94%
Location - 98% Cleanliness - 88% Value - 83%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
91.4%
Customer would recommend this property 10 March 2015

Perfect location, nice travelers of all ages, nice and helpful staff, good chill-out area

Thomas Donnelly
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Thomas would recommend this property 25 July 2014

The hostel was big, friendly and had lots of excellent extras such as a free food shelf with things people had left behind. The staff were helpful and the rooftop terrace offered amazing views of the city. I recommens taking a bottle up there for a cheap and peaceful sydney evening.

87.9%
261 reviews Book Now 
6

Sydney Central YHA

Hostel
11 Rawson Place, (Cnr Pitt St and Rawson Pl), Sydney, Australia 2000

244 out of 261 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Sydney Central YHA

Atmosphere - 77% Staff - 85% Facilities - 88% Safety - 94%
Location - 92% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 84%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 12 April 2015

Staff were very helpful and polite and handled any problem with ease. When we arrived we had an issue with an online booking which the receptionist resolved, making sure my partner and I got a room together. We then were given a dorm with a balcony which is a bonus. Rooms were spotless and very spacious. The kitchen had every pot pan and utensil needed to cook any desired meal. The dining area is bright and very well set out making it easy to relax and enjoy your food, or communicate. A huge bonus was FREE wifi, was very happy with this. Floor one also has a games room and computers to use. If you go up to the 9th floor there is a rooftop with BBQ, perfect for sunset beers and there is a sauna and swimming pool. First hostel I've seen with such facilities. After a few horrible places we have stayed this was a breath of fresh air. Would definitely recommend staying here and will be returning in the near future.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
91.4%
Customer would recommend this property 24 February 2015

It's was clean. And air conditioning. The theater and pool are a Osiris. And the 24 hour kitchen

86.9%
728 reviews Book Now 
7

The Original Backpackers Hostel

Hostel
160-162 Victoria Street, Kings Cross, Sydney, Australia 2011

639 out of 728 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend The Original Backpackers Hostel

Atmosphere - 84% Staff - 93% Facilities - 84% Safety - 86%
Location - 94% Cleanliness - 85% Value - 80%
Brandon Schultz
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Work / volunteering
100.0%
Brandon would recommend this property 03 February 2014

I enjoy my visit at originals backpackers the people who work here are very nice and easy going. I've been in Sydney for 4 months and by far for the price and living environment its one of my favourite hostels to live in if you our ever in Sydney come to originals. Everyone here is like a family makes me feel like I'm back home.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
62.9%
07 January 2014

Perfect located in kings cross, close to food, grocery, public transport and clubs

86.2%
44 reviews Book Now 
8

Railway Square YHA

Hostel
8-10 Lee Street, Sydney, Australia 2000

41 out of 44 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Railway Square YHA

Atmosphere - 82% Staff - 80% Facilities - 87% Safety - 89%
Location - 94% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 76%
Customer review
Alone
Work / volunteering
85.7%
Customer would recommend this property 08 March 2015

Good inner city location in a heritage building combined with a modern feel; average cleanliness; friendly staff

Hannah Lomas
Alone
Business / conference
100.0%
Hannah would recommend this property 04 April 2014

One of the highlights for me was how clean and comfortable the hostel is - very comfortable beds and I had two great nights' sleep! The staff were very helpful and friendly. I liked that the 8-bed dorm had an ensuite bathroom. The breakfast was very reasonable and the facilities at the hostel (kitchen size & equipment etc) were excellent. This hostel is also very well located, at Central train station.

85.4%
9 reviews Book Now 
9

Glenferrie Lodge

Guesthouse
12a Carabella Street, Kirribilli, Sydney, Australia 2061

8 out of 9 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Glenferrie Lodge

Atmosphere - 86% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 86%
Location - 91% Cleanliness - 84% Value - 88%
Richard Cutayar
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
97.1%
Richard would recommend this property 08 August 2014

Front of house/Reception have been very friendly and helpful with any requests. It's been very quiet and peaceful. The huge pictures of the surrounding areas are just amazing and really adds that extra touch to the rooms. GREAT value for money.

Kerrie Friend
With friends / other travellers
Events / festivals
94.3%
Kerrie would recommend this property 25 May 2014

clean, neat, tidy and comfortable. Great location - certainly basic accommodation but ticks all the boxes and really reasonable rates for eth location - especially with breakfast thrown in

83.8%
6 reviews Book Now 
10

Billabong Gardens

Hostel
5-11 Egan Street, Newtown, Sydney, Australia 2042

5 out of 6 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Billabong Gardens

Atmosphere - 86% Staff - 80% Facilities - 83% Safety - 86%
Location - 83% Cleanliness - 83% Value - 83%
Brooks Smith
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering
94.3%
Brooks would recommend this property 25 February 2015

If you're looking to get out of the hussle of the CBD and the college-age nightlife of Kings Cross, go here. The prices are low, the place is clean (it's the only hostel I've been in where you can feel comfortable walking around common areas barefoot), and you've got good cheap food and drinks around. It's not a party hostel - an 11pm quiet time on the property is pretty enforced (though you can return later) - but if you're working or looking for a more relaxed environment, this is the place to go.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
34.3%
15 January 2015

the other guests were interesting enough bathroom was clean and spacious free towel and soap

Sydney

81 Hostels from 13.99 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Sydney hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Sydney. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.

No booking fees

The only major hostel booking site that doesn't charge a booking fee.

Guide to Sydney

Guide to Find our best travel tips, advice and inspiration on what to do and where to stay in our guide to Sydney. Discover how to travel on a budget and don’t forget to check the weather before you go!

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Monthly Newsletter

 
Please enter valid email address
Check out this month's newsletter