We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/06/2016
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/06/2016
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Sydney, Australia

97.1%
4 reviews Book Now 
1

Cronulla Beach YHA

Hostel
Level 1, 40-42 Kingsway, Cronulla, Sydney, Australia 2230

4 out of 4 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Cronulla Beach YHA

Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 90% Cleanliness - 90% Value - 100%
shangying yang
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Relaxation/spa, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
shangying would recommend this property 07 February 2013

The receptionists are very nice and warm and helpful, and offer vey useful information. The roommates are also nice.

Fausto Palazzi
Alone
Work / volunteering
97.1%
Fausto would recommend this property 02 February 2012

Everything: the most friendly staff i have ever met in a hostel, the best rooms (with wardrobe!!! not only lockers), huge shared bathrooms and a nice courtyard. It is the best hostel where i have ever been!

93.8%
285 reviews Book Now 
2

Bounce Sydney

Hostel
28 Chalmers Street, Sydney, Australia 2000

278 out of 285 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Bounce Sydney

Atmosphere - 91% Staff - 92% Facilities - 91% Safety - 100%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 97% Value - 88%
Neda Puskarica-Stojanovic
With friends / other travellers
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
97.1%
Neda would recommend this property 07 April 2015

Perfect location, clean & modern rooms, awesome rooftop balcony with great city views

Janice Gordan
Alone
Events / festivals, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Janice would recommend this property 30 March 2015

Huge lockers with power sockets inside. Central station across the road making it easy to get to the main sights. I was in Sydney to see a show at the Opera house and it took just 5 mins to Circular Quay by train.

89.6%
405 reviews Book Now 
3

Blue Parrot Backpackers

Hostel
87 Macleay St, Sydney, Australia NSW 2011

369 out of 405 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Blue Parrot Backpackers

Atmosphere - 90% Staff - 95% Facilities - 85% Safety - 91%
Location - 89% Cleanliness - 90% Value - 84%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
62.9%
Customer would recommend this property 02 March 2015

Good location - not far from Woolworths/Coles and the Sydney Opera House. Clean and great TV room with a nice selection of films.

Michael Nordstrom
Alone
City break, Sightseeing & culture
85.7%
Michael would recommend this property 01 November 2014

Everyone was very helpful and friendly. Hostel was clean and location was great. Definitely recommended.

89.5%
158 reviews Book Now 
4

Sydney Harbour YHA

Hostel
110 Cumberland St, Sydney, Australia 2000

155 out of 158 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Sydney Harbour YHA

Atmosphere - 84% Staff - 87% Facilities - 88% Safety - 94%
Location - 98% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 81%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
91.4%
Customer would recommend this property 27 April 2015

Really amazing hostel. Has so much information available on what to do in and around the area, where to eat, walks to go on, tourist attractions, etc. The facilities are all extremely clean and great laundry room and lockers. Overall though, it is an awesome hostel.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
91.4%
Customer would recommend this property 10 March 2015

Perfect location, nice travelers of all ages, nice and helpful staff, good chill-out area

88.8%
263 reviews Book Now 
5

Sydney Central YHA

Hostel
11 Rawson Place, (Cnr Pitt St and Rawson Pl), Sydney, Australia 2000

246 out of 263 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Sydney Central YHA

Atmosphere - 79% Staff - 88% Facilities - 87% Safety - 94%
Location - 92% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 87%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 12 April 2015

Staff were very helpful and polite and handled any problem with ease. When we arrived we had an issue with an online booking which the receptionist resolved, making sure my partner and I got a room together. We then were given a dorm with a balcony which is a bonus. Rooms were spotless and very spacious. The kitchen had every pot pan and utensil needed to cook any desired meal. The dining area is bright and very well set out making it easy to relax and enjoy your food, or communicate. A huge bonus was FREE wifi, was very happy with this. Floor one also has a games room and computers to use. If you go up to the 9th floor there is a rooftop with BBQ, perfect for sunset beers and there is a sauna and swimming pool. First hostel I've seen with such facilities. After a few horrible places we have stayed this was a breath of fresh air. Would definitely recommend staying here and will be returning in the near future.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
91.4%
Customer would recommend this property 24 February 2015

It's was clean. And air conditioning. The theater and pool are a Osiris. And the 24 hour kitchen

88.0%
1237 reviews Book Now 
6

Wake Up Hostel

Hostel
509 Pitt Street, Sydney, Australia 2000

1152 out of 1237 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Wake Up Hostel

Atmosphere - 88% Staff - 94% Facilities - 85% Safety - 89%
Location - 92% Cleanliness - 89% Value - 76%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break
80.0%
15 May 2015

It has a good location, right next to Central station, good for transport (train, bus, greyhound bus etc), good perks for booking through hostel bookers, really friendly staff on the reception, relatively quiet, nice decor and modern design.

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Visiting friends or family
85.7%
Customer would recommend this property 29 April 2015

Very clean! The building is huge so you didn't feel like you could hear your neighbours too much. The coffee in the attached cafe is really good.

86.2%
44 reviews Book Now 
7

Railway Square YHA

Hostel
8-10 Lee Street, Sydney, Australia 2000

41 out of 44 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Railway Square YHA

Atmosphere - 82% Staff - 80% Facilities - 87% Safety - 89%
Location - 94% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 76%
Customer review
Alone
Work / volunteering
85.7%
Customer would recommend this property 08 March 2015

Good inner city location in a heritage building combined with a modern feel; average cleanliness; friendly staff

Hannah Lomas
Alone
Business / conference
100.0%
Hannah would recommend this property 04 April 2014

One of the highlights for me was how clean and comfortable the hostel is - very comfortable beds and I had two great nights' sleep! The staff were very helpful and friendly. I liked that the 8-bed dorm had an ensuite bathroom. The breakfast was very reasonable and the facilities at the hostel (kitchen size & equipment etc) were excellent. This hostel is also very well located, at Central train station.

85.9%
734 reviews Book Now 
8

The Original Backpackers Hostel

Hostel
160-162 Victoria Street, Kings Cross, Sydney, Australia 2011

643 out of 734 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend The Original Backpackers Hostel

Atmosphere - 82% Staff - 93% Facilities - 81% Safety - 83%
Location - 93% Cleanliness - 83% Value - 84%
William Watts
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
77.1%
19 May 2015

The bathroom and the common areas like the kitchen and garden are cleaned regularly. I liked the spacious toilets (including shower).

Brandon Schultz
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Work / volunteering
100.0%
Brandon would recommend this property 03 February 2014

I enjoy my visit at originals backpackers the people who work here are very nice and easy going. I've been in Sydney for 4 months and by far for the price and living environment its one of my favourite hostels to live in if you our ever in Sydney come to originals. Everyone here is like a family makes me feel like I'm back home.

85.4%
9 reviews Book Now 
9

Glenferrie Lodge

Guesthouse
12a Carabella Street, Kirribilli, Sydney, Australia 2061

8 out of 9 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Glenferrie Lodge

Atmosphere - 86% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 86%
Location - 91% Cleanliness - 84% Value - 88%
Richard Cutayar
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
97.1%
Richard would recommend this property 08 August 2014

Front of house/Reception have been very friendly and helpful with any requests. It's been very quiet and peaceful. The huge pictures of the surrounding areas are just amazing and really adds that extra touch to the rooms. GREAT value for money.

Kerrie Friend
With friends / other travellers
Events / festivals
94.3%
Kerrie would recommend this property 25 May 2014

clean, neat, tidy and comfortable. Great location - certainly basic accommodation but ticks all the boxes and really reasonable rates for eth location - especially with breakfast thrown in

85.0%
281 reviews Book Now 
10

World Square Hostel

Hostel
640 George Street, Cnr Liverpool and Goerge, Entrance on Liverpool, Sydney, Australia 2000

219 out of 281 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend World Square Hostel

Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 91% Facilities - 78% Safety - 88%
Location - 97% Cleanliness - 77% Value - 82%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 17 May 2015

Friendly and helpful staff, amazing location, clean, comfortable beds and all facilities at disposition .

Russell Withers
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Russell would recommend this property 07 May 2015

Seriously great location, close to the walking tours and free shuttle and all the good stuff in Sydney. The staff were all really nice and offered up heaps of advice on what to see and do around town. The hostel has a bar downstairs which was seriously fun over the weekend! I'll definitely be back :)

Sydney

81 Hostels from 11.45 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Sydney hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Sydney. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.

No booking fees

The only major hostel booking site that doesn't charge a booking fee.

Guide to Sydney

Guide to Find our best travel tips, advice and inspiration on what to do and where to stay in our guide to Sydney. Discover how to travel on a budget and don’t forget to check the weather before you go!

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Monthly Newsletter

 
Please enter valid email address
Check out this month's newsletter