We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of Oasis Backpacker

Hostel | 141 Commonwealth Street, (Opposite of 57 Reservoir St), Sydney, Australia NSW 2010

59.0% Overall Rating

11 out of 27 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/09/2014)

TRAVIS COOPER thinks…

"It was by far the cheapest hostel in Sydney & being so close to the city was awesome. I thought the staff were very friendly & felt very safe. It had free wifi, laundry & car parking so that was very…"

Read all Oasis Backpacker reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Hyde Park Backpackers
33.19 USD

Hostel 81.1% 28 reviews
Home Backpackers
27.07 USD

Hostel 61.5% 48 reviews
Central Station Hotel
47.60 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 76.4% 19 reviews
BIG Hostel
27.66 USD

Hostel 85.1% 149 reviews
Y Hotel Hyde Park
29.69 USD

Hostel 79.8% 146 reviews
Sydney Central Inn
26.20 USD

Hostel 69.2% 13 reviews
Sydney Central YHA
34.93 USD

Hostel 88.3% 252 reviews
Bounce Sydney
26.20 USD

Hostel 94.2% 272 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
59.0%

Overall Rating

11 out of 27 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Oasis Backpacker'

Atmosphere
52.8%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
50.4%
Cleanliness
40.8%
Staff
66.4%
Value
57.6%
Safety
56.8%
Refine your results Showing 21 of 24 reviews
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

TRAVIS COOPER

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 September 2014 TRAVIS would recommend this property

Liked: It was by far the cheapest hostel in Sydney & being so close to the city was awesome. I thought the staff were very friendly & felt very safe. It had free wifi, laundry & car parking so that was very handy. The facilities were awesome, it had a good kitchen, lockers, clean bathroom & toilets. I went out with a few backpackers I met here & had so much fun. I recommend this place highly to any traveler who's on a budget.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Romantic getaway

14 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it's good place for travellers !! Thank you for your kind ~

Disliked: .......uhm..

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2014

Liked: It was cheap. But I'd rather pay 3 dollars more and have a nicer place to stay. Free wi-fi was good, free washing of clothes.

Disliked: They didn't even supply toiletpaper, no blanket no nothing to sleep with. pillow case and one sheet that's all! I mean yes it is cheap 20 dollars, but in my opinion they acted like it was 10 dollars. 20 dollars is still Money and I didn't feel like I got anything for my Money - except for a Cold, dirty room to sleep in.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location. good price.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

31 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheap price. near location from central station . friendly staff. comfortable room.

Disliked: nope

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 March 2014

Liked: Free Wifi and washing machine

Disliked: Filthy and cockroach infested. You can stay in a far better place for a few $ more, and I recommend doing so. Kitchen facilities were rubbish and within 30secs of putting food down there were cockroachs on it!!

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

25 March 2014

Liked: Cheap

Disliked: It's dirty There is no cutlery in the kitchen

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

CLIFFORD DICKINSON

Alone

City break

03 March 2014

Liked: Needed a place to stay for Mardi Gras Weekend (everywhere else was booked it) this was nice and Close to Oxford St and the City.

Disliked: Dirty, Run By Koreans who dont speak english that well, stuffy, smelly, no blankets or toilet paper provided. Mattrices are very old.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Paul Dillon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

01 March 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Dirty/smells/cockroaches/no toilet paper/no cups or cutlery/expensive deposit for key

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Tim Winterflood

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

12 January 2014 Tim would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, good price and adequate facilities

Disliked: The building and facilities are quite dated and damaged here and there but it made no difference to the stay.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, lounge area is nice with large tv and sky. Overall not a bad place to stay for a couple days

Disliked: Not particularly clean in our room or the kitchen but you get what you pay for.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

05 December 2013

Liked: Friendly staff, good location, lowest price in Sydney, big screen TV

Disliked: Old building, smelly rooms, no bathroom tissue, no cups and glasses in the kitchen, bad wifi connection, limited time storage use

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

30 September 2013

Liked: - unlimited, easy excess WiFi with good connection - TV is on 24/7

Disliked: - very, very dirty! (cockroaches, mould, etc.) - unorganized - no toilet paper - no soap to wash hands - almost not equipped kitchen - some of the staff speak very little English

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

24 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was close to everything

Disliked: Lack of cleanliness

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Ilaria Capra

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 July 2013

Liked: nothing

Disliked: - dirty - full of cockroaches - dirty kitchen - dirty bathroooms, broken, falling apart - internet not unable and not very good connection - people unfriendly, not saying hello

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

roberta rossini

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 June 2013 roberta would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is clean as you expect from a cheap-budget hostel, but the position and atmosphere is absolutly great!! room of 6 people got everything you need. the only note of improvement is about the poor kitchen equipments! about cockroaches, you'll find everywhere in sydney!! in the streets, courtyards ,hostels and even hotels!! the staff is friendly and the laundry and the parking is freee!! i'll come back here once my travel around Aussie will come to an end!! :)

Disliked: roberta left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Catherine Renton

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2013

Liked: Free washing machine and wifi

Disliked: It was dirty, full of strange people, there was no toilet paper in the toilets ever, the showers are dirty, the hot water on the top floor showers doesn't work, the kitchen is dirty and full of bugs and cockroaches and doesn't have cutlery or bowls, the washing lines are set up next to the smoking area so a lot of my clothes smelt like cigarettes after being washed. The hallways smelt like sour milk. the staff couldn't speak english nor did they take card payments - cash only. The beds are 100 years old and squick with the slightest movement. Don't stay here unless you are desperate.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Yuanyuan WANG

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2013 Yuanyuan would recommend this property

Liked: Airport pickup cheap Location Free Wifi Helpful staff

Disliked: Toilets should be renovated

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

hoi ki chan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2013

Liked: just friendly staff

Disliked: very dirty about that, have cockroach

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Eddie Knowlton

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 April 2013

Liked: nothing

Disliked: dirty kitchen, dirty rooms, bugs everywhere - terrible hostel

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 April 2013

Liked: free wifi - it worked in the room contrary to what i was told

Disliked: where do i start? firstly the building doesn't have a sign indicating it's the hostel, so it's very easy to miss. the building is dirty, very run-down and in need of a lot of maintenance. there are a lot of insects in the rooms. the kitchen is closed monday 2pm-3pm for "pest control purposes"; says it all. there are no cutlery, cups etc available, either because they don't have any or people take them back to their room with no thoughts for others. the bathrooms are a state: there is no toilet roll/soap/towels, the floor tiles in the showers are loose or broken...and the list goes on and on. it is a cheap place so i wasn't expecting any luxury, but i wasn't expecting anything that bad either


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels