We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of Asylum Sydney

Hostel | 201-203 Brougham Street, Woolloomooloo, Sydney, Australia 2011

80.6% Overall Rating

279 out of 337 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/07/2014)

Charlotte Neal thinks…

"Asylum is the best hostel i have stayed in in australia. You are imediately welcomed into what seems like a close family. the facilities are clean and well loked after and the staff are the most…"

Read all Asylum Sydney reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 10.48
  • Towel USD 1.75

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

***Please note that there will be a surcharge of AUD$30 per person over the prices of accommodation on Christmas Eve and day and AUD$100 per person on new year eve and day if the increase in prices are not shown in the rates.*** ***Please also note the the hostel does not provide refunds once the stay has commenced even though you choose to check out early.*** SPECIAL CHRISTMAS AND NEW YEAR BOOKING CONDITIONS Asylum Sydney will charge your credit card the full amount of your stay for 10 nights on 1st December before your stay. As this is the busiest period, there will be no refund or cancellation allowed after this date for your Christmas and New Year bookings.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Jackaroo Hostel Kings Cross
26.20 USD

Hostel 84.1% 126 reviews
Backpackers HQ
24.45 USD

Hostel 85.7% 95 reviews
Summer House Backpackers
20.09 USD

Hostel 84.8% 12 reviews
The Original Backpackers Hostel
27.95 USD

Hostel 87.0% 726 reviews
Hump Backpackers
20.09 USD

Hostel 74.6% 54 reviews
Highfield Hotel
30.13 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Zing! Backpackers
23.58 USD

Hostel 80.0% 115 reviews
Springfield Lodge
52.84 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 81.1% 24 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.6%

Overall Rating

279 out of 337 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Asylum Sydney'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
72.0%
Cleanliness
70.4%
Staff
91.2%
Value
83.2%
Safety
80.0%
Refine your results Showing 226 of 238 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

MENG KUEN YONG

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2014 MENG KUEN would recommend this property

Liked: It's located strategically and I like the friendly staffs to guide me.

Disliked: cleanliness can be improved especially in the toilet

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Charlotte Neal

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2014 Charlotte would recommend this property

Liked: Asylum is the best hostel i have stayed in in australia. You are imediately welcomed into what seems like a close family. the facilities are clean and well loked after and the staff are the most friendly staff i have met yet. I would 100% go back again would recomend it to anyone going to sydney. It has the right mixtu of party casual drinks and you could have a full time job and live in the hostel too and it would be suitable!!!!

Disliked: Charlotte left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

24 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very helpful and they really do make you feel like family. I would stay here again.

Disliked: It could have been cleaner, but I've definitely stayed in much dirtier hostels.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

15 April 2014

Liked: Its centrality - handy to sights listed, on bus routes and near the supermarket, train station, restaurants, pubs etc i also liked the security measures at the front door.(i suppose these a re necessary when you're in the middle of a seedy red light district!) the manager is very friendly and accommodating clean bathrooms/toilets, and a free bbq dinner

Disliked: -grotty gross old carpets that were threadbare and dirty -uncomfortbale stained old mattresses ( could feel the springs, sag in the middle) , stained sheets, itchy woolen blankets that werent clean - youre expected to strip your bed on leaving and return all bedding downstairs - dirty walls, holey couches in common room - " free wifi" is only available in the common room on two dodgy old pcs -really noisy on a saturday night ( the noise from the main street)( ear plugs a must) - no lockers in rooms for your belongings -no drapes in room - for privacy or keeping out light at night - the free breakfast is incredibly crappy! cheepist possible products with little choice or selection. - no soap in the bathrooms to wash your hands with the day after leaving i developed a fungal skin infection - maybe a coincidence but i doubt it!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Vicky Ford

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2014 Vicky would recommend this property

Liked: Great party atmosphere, helpful and friendly staff - easy environment to relax and make new friends - great having free breakfast and internet - thanks for looking after us!

Disliked: Some areas would benefit from modernisation eg carpets and furniture :)

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2014

Liked: Location.

Disliked: Well for starters, the room stank of mold. When we looked in the bathroom we saw mold in the cealing, and after two days all of our clothes smelled exactly like the room. The kitchen was the worst we have seen, there were cockroaches running around in the entire room. Also, it was incredibly small for the amount of people staying there. We opened the fridge (once) and came across an awful smell, that fridge had not been cleaned for a very long time. Also, if you have a problem with dogs, dont bother to make a reservation, since they had a pet dog (quite big).

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Roger Zoepke-Sonntag

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

22 March 2014 Roger would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome hostel

Disliked: Roger left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

09 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff!! I recommend this hostel!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

leah costa

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Work / volunteering

22 September 2013 leah would recommend this property

Liked: Manager was great, very friendly, convenient location, suits everyone from party animals to the quiet traveller or working girl, I will definitely stay again

Disliked: leah left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Xiao Ma

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 September 2013 Xiao would recommend this property

Liked: very nice 8-bed female room. big, clean, with a fridge, a balcony and our own bathroom. great location, 10 minutes walk to hyde park, 30 minutes walk to sydney opera house.

Disliked: common room not big enough, no dinning room. gotta pay for wifi, and the signal is not consistent.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Fabrizio Fattore

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2013 Fabrizio would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is really helpful and friendly, also the room we stayed was great view of Sydney. And also the location is really convenience. I would recommend to my friends who need commendation in Sydney.

Disliked: Fabrizio left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Alessandra d Assumpcao

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

11 August 2013 Alessandra would recommend this property

Liked: I actually extended my stay, its so nice! Good location, cheap, good to meet people!

Disliked: There are no lockers in the room, but you can leave your stuff at the front desk. Its no the cleaniest, but its quite ok!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Marc Jamais

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

23 July 2013

Liked: No elevator

Disliked: So many stairs !

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

matthew rose

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

22 July 2013 matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Owner was a top guy, on top of everything.

Disliked: No Wifi and computers are pants.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JUANYING WANG

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2013 JUANYING would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, friendly staff, really value for the money.

Disliked: A bit noisy, and most people there are party lovers.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Maximilian Haeberle

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2013 Maximilian would recommend this property

Liked: - breakfast was included - two computers with free internet (wifi only 3$ a day) - comfortable beds, big rooms - helpful staff - good location next to kings cross, but quiet side road - free airport shuttle to hostel when you stay longer than 3 days - even free food (sauces, spices etc..) was provided - big tv and x box in common room - clean toilets and showers

Disliked: - not enough dishes in kitchen - insufficient bathrooms - backyard and kitchen were locked at 10pm

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

william baker

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2013 william would recommend this property

Liked: Well managed and friendly place with clean beds and regularly cleaned bathrooms. Nice atmosphere and free internet.

Disliked: There's a 10pm on outside areas but you'll find that in most places in the city.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Chris Balmforth

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 May 2013 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were helpful and we had an amazing view of the CBD. Free internet and TV room. Great showers and very clean

Disliked: Its very much a party hostel so wouldn't recommend if you are looking for a chill out hostel

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Dawid Kula

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2013 Dawid would recommend this property

Liked: Localization is really great. Fridge in a room

Disliked: There is no oven in kitchen. Dirty bathrooms.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Helene Lykke Egvang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

13 March 2013 Helene would recommend this property

Liked: Love the staff, friendly and helpful... Love the atmosphere and the people, its like a big family where everyone welcomes you with open arms...

Disliked: Nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff, free use of internet on the hostel computers, large TV in common room, location is Kings Cross, so close to everything.

Disliked: No lockers in room, carpet everywhere and therefore not quite clean.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Sam Fryer

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 February 2013

Liked: Social lounge area, tho most are staying long term in the hostel so as would expect certain groups have formed. Very helpful staff in reception, gave us a map of the city and directions for good places to go! In the middle of kings cross if that's what your looking for! Fridge in each dorm room.

Disliked: The hostel itself was quite run down and grubby, rooms were cleaned daily however that consisted of emptying the bin! Needed a good deep clean, our room smelt damp and the fan was incredibly loud especially at night, there was also no curtains so the room was very bright as soon as it was daylight which is even harder to sleep! We asked to stay an extra night for convenience however he wanted to charge us a higher rate so we found a place elsewhere for the rest of our stay!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

18 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very social, very centrally located

Disliked: room was very dirty, very load in the backyard in the evenings, no lockers in the room

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really nice and the atmosphere in the hostel very good! Easy to meet people and a good place to stay if you wanna make friends and like to go out in kings cross!

Disliked: The kitchen is really too small! The blankets a bit too thin if it get cooler. There are no lockers in the rooms, but you can give your stuff to the staff at the reception (if its not closed). There was no soap in the bathrooms.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Nadja Krenz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

29 January 2013 Nadja would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the friendly staff - they have been very helpful to me .

Disliked: It is a little bit old and small but thats all


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels