HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of Hyde Park Backpackers

Hostel | 90 Wentworth Ave, Sydney, Australia 2000

81.1% Overall Rating

20 out of 28 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/03/2014)

Rodrigo Guerrero thinks…

"Very nice quiet hostel. Especial if you just want to have some rest after a day at work or a long walk through the city. Good location, close to everything. The kitchen is always available (they…"

Read all Hyde Park Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Late check-out
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Central Station Hotel
46.38 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 76.4% 19 reviews
BIG Hostel
28.01 USD

Hostel 87.1% 147 reviews
Home Backpackers
21.48 USD

Hostel 61.5% 48 reviews
Oasis Backpacker
17.74 USD

Hostel 58.7% 26 reviews
Sydney Central Inn
22.18 USD

Hostel 69.2% 13 reviews
Y Hotel Hyde Park
33.62 USD

Hostel 79.8% 146 reviews
Strattons Hostel
21.48 USD

Hostel 66.2% 29 reviews
Mountbatten Hotel
24.28 USD

Hostel 65.9% 395 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.1%

Overall Rating

20 out of 28 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hyde Park Backpackers'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
76.0%
Cleanliness
68.0%
Staff
84.8%
Value
80.0%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 24 of 26 reviews
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rodrigo Guerrero

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

20 March 2014 Rodrigo would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice quiet hostel. Especial if you just want to have some rest after a day at work or a long walk through the city. Good location, close to everything. The kitchen is always available (they don't close it at night like in other places), and you have free wifi (even in the dorms)

Disliked: A few computers would have been nice and the wifi signal was weak pretty much everywhere in the hostel. The speed wasn't great either, but having stayed in at least 6 different hostels in Sydney, I can tell you, you won't find anything better for free.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

19 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a really good place. The toiletts/ showers are clean. Kitchen is pretty good too they've all the appliances that we needed. Its not a party place, good for people who wanna work a lot. And it's really close to central station, just 5 min walk.

Disliked: I can't complain.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

11 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and tidy and well appointed with all the necessary extras.

Disliked: Nothing.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

10 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its nicely situated - everything is within reach by an easy walk. For an inner city accomodation its much more quiet than suspected - almost no disturbing noise while sleeping. It was quiet an insuring feeling to have a separate locker for some personal stuff while i was out.

Disliked: It was not very clean!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, comfortable beds and lockers.

Disliked: Unclean kitchen and bathrooms. A bit messy everywhere.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

rebecca cass

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 March 2014 rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly staff. In a great location 5 mins from central station. I stayed in a private room which was very spacious. The cleanest hostel I have stayed in in Sydney.

Disliked: rebecca left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

26 February 2014

Liked: Easy come , easy go ,

Disliked: Laundry was very messy and needs cleaning up . No remote controls in bedrooms ,

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Edelyn Tabing

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2014

Liked: location

Disliked: dirty, sheets doesn't seem to be new when we arrived, pic of room is different from actual

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location very much. Danny, the manager, was very helpful and nice. Internet works well in the common areas and it's free. They have laundry there although I didn't use it. The private room I got has TV, minibar and fan.

Disliked: Could be cleaner. Guests were very organized during my stay there, but the bathrooms sinks and showers didn't look to be cleaned from one day to the other. There is no reception desk so if you arrive and the manager for some reason is not there you've got to call him, what could be a problem if you struggle with the english language.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 December 2013

Liked: The people I met and location.

Disliked: Everything else.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

07 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free wifi was great and the location was great

Disliked: It was very noisy from the road outside

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

francesco viccaro

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

26 November 2013 francesco would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is clean and in a great position, close to everything, train station is only 5 minutes walk, bar and restaurant are just down the stairs.

Disliked: One of the best hostel I've seen in Sydney.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Diana Neyra

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 November 2013 Diana would recommend this property

Liked: I originally booked for 3 nights but I liked it so much I ended up staying longer. I really liked its location, the friendly staff and the environment of the hostel. It has a comunal kitchen and also a laundry and dryer machine which is so convenient. The internet is free for everyone to use. The showers are cleaned daily.

Disliked: Diana left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Noreen Everett-Wing

As a family with children

Family Holiday

21 November 2013 Noreen would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone was friendly and considerate, the shared areas were always clean and tidy. Danny the manager was helpful and entertaining. It is located very close to the train station and only a 15 minute walk and you were in the heart of the city.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

florencia renda

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 November 2013 florencia would recommend this property

Liked: It's a very comfortable and clean hostel, i truly recommend it!! Danny is great very nice people and plays the guitar for you good location, quiet, good bedrooms and matresses, and downstairs you have obe of the best sushi restos ib town

Disliked: florencia left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Ellen Davis

Alone

Business / conference

18 November 2013 Ellen would recommend this property

Liked: It was close to everything, the room was great and the manager Danny was friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Ellen left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hallak Bassam

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 April 2013 Hallak would recommend this property

Liked: We were looking to spend a weekend in Sydney to visit Queen Victoria building and Sydney Harbour. We booked a double room for two nights, the room was well furnished, clean and it was comfortable. It also had free wireless in the room which was handy. For what we got the price was excellent.

Disliked: Hallak left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Edoardo Pelle

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

12 April 2013 Edoardo would recommend this property

Liked: My friend and I booked a twin room with a private bathroom. The beds were very comfortable, the room was clean and the facilities were good. We also enjoyed having wireless internet in the room. The management was also helpful with providing useful information. We read the previous reviews and some of them appear to not be true. I've stayed in a number of hostels during my travels in Australia and would highly recommend this place to anyone who comes to Sydney.

Disliked: Edoardo left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Lew

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

01 April 2013 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Homely atmosphere and it's a great central location

Disliked: Andrew left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

11 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed a few nights, and it was great. Rooms were clean, bathrooms were clean, the staff were friendly and willing to help in any way possible. I've stayed in many places in Sydney, and this is by far the nicest one.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Michael Cawe

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 March 2013 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the homely atmosphere and the friendliness of the people I met

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Simon Kocbek

Alone

Business / conference

05 March 2013

Liked: Location.

Disliked: Almost everything except the location. I booked this hostel in last minute, due to my flight problems. I was visiting a conference and most of other hotels/hostels were fully booked. The hostel had some good reviews on the internet, so I decided to book it. I ended up paying 240 AUD for two nights for a "warm, clean and secure" Hyde Park Backpackers "ensuite". When I checked in, there was no one at the reception and there was only a phone number to call. When I finally reached the owner, he told me to look for a guy named Orlando who takes care of keys, etc. Orlando did not know anything about my reservation. He also said that there are no rooms available. I asked if he can call the owner, but he said he does not have any money on his phone, so I (!) had to ask another guest (!) to borrow a phone. Orlando and the owner talked through the phone and I could just hear "How much money does he have to pay?" I had to pay for two nights up front, plus 50 AUD deposit for the key. Room was terrible. I was afraid to touch anything in the room. TV had stains all over it, who knows what it was. There were long female hair on my sheets and the toilet floor. The toilet sink had toothpaste left overs all over it. The mirror had stains. The dust was on obvious places and it was clear that the room was not properly cleaned for a long time. The floor had crumbs all over it. I asked Orlando for at least new sheets, but he could not give them to me because as he said: “I only take money and give keys”. The hostel is not secure, since guests and staff from next door use the toilet in the hostel and basically anyone can enter the property. In addition, the window in the bathroom had no curtains or anything else to cover it. There was just a piece of those packing air bubbles glued on a part of the window. There is a high building next door and people can see right inside your room, especially when you take showers in the evening and you turn on your light. The next morning I managed to meet the owner and asked him to check out. However, he was not ready to refund me one night. Since I was already paying 240 AUD for two nights, I decided to stay one more night. I have uploaded some images from the hostel here: http://imgur.com/a/zUT5p#0 I have not seen anyone in the hostel smiling or laughing during my stay, so I was also disappointed with the character. Bottom line: There are several other, much better (and cheaper) options in same or even better locations. In two nights I managed to sleep for 4 hours altogether, since I was so disgusted with the place. In addition, walls are pretty thin, so you are often woken up with noise from outside the room. I have stayed in hostels and hotels (for less than 100 AUD/night!) all over Sydney and this was the worst experience. I beg you to stay away from Hyde Park Backpackers.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Natalie Gutierrez

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2013

Liked: Location and price

Disliked: Natalie left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

25 February 2013

Liked: Location.

Disliked: Noisy. Linens provided were extemely limited (fitted sheet only, no sheet or pillow case. Small unclean bathrooms.


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels