We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of Hyde Park Backpackers

Hostel | 90 Wentworth Ave, Sydney, Australia 2000

69.1% Overall Rating

25 out of 37 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/02/2015)

"Danny is a good guy. No frills place but not noisy at night and great location. Good aircon. Q"

Read all Hyde Park Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Late check-out
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Central Station Hotel
45.76 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 77.4% 21 reviews
BIG Hostel
24.35 USD

Hostel 85.4% 157 reviews
Home Backpackers
20.76 USD

Hostel 63.5% 49 reviews
Oasis Backpacker
14.61 USD

Hostel 57.5% 34 reviews
Sydney Central Inn
18.26 USD

Hostel 71.0% 15 reviews
Y Hotel Hyde Park
15.96 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 80.6% 147 reviews
Strattons Hostel
17.69 USD

Hostel 67.4% 30 reviews
Mountbatten Hotel
18.46 USD

Hostel 65.4% 400 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
69.1%

Overall Rating

25 out of 37 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hyde Park Backpackers'

Atmosphere
66.4%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
62.4%
Cleanliness
55.2%
Staff
72.8%
Value
67.2%
Safety
73.6%
Refine your results Showing 30 of 35 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Chi hung Liao

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

09 March 2015 Chi hung would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location to everywhere

Disliked: Shower system is not stable

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Panholzer

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

01 March 2015 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: very central location, rooms and facilities are ok. manager is great

Disliked: Thomas left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

27 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Danny is a good guy. No frills place but not noisy at night and great location. Good aircon. Q

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were friendly and helpful.

Disliked: n/a

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly stay good location good size rooms

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Anela Chan

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break

01 January 2015

Liked: Location not bad.

Disliked: No lockers. No left luggage facilities. Rude, unavailable and incompetent host (double booked us and then put us in a dorm). Very dirty and dark.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rodrigo Guerrero

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

20 March 2014 Rodrigo would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice quiet hostel. Especial if you just want to have some rest after a day at work or a long walk through the city. Good location, close to everything. The kitchen is always available (they don't close it at night like in other places), and you have free wifi (even in the dorms)

Disliked: A few computers would have been nice and the wifi signal was weak pretty much everywhere in the hostel. The speed wasn't great either, but having stayed in at least 6 different hostels in Sydney, I can tell you, you won't find anything better for free.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

19 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a really good place. The toiletts/ showers are clean. Kitchen is pretty good too they've all the appliances that we needed. Its not a party place, good for people who wanna work a lot. And it's really close to central station, just 5 min walk.

Disliked: I can't complain.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

11 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and tidy and well appointed with all the necessary extras.

Disliked: Nothing.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

10 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its nicely situated - everything is within reach by an easy walk. For an inner city accomodation its much more quiet than suspected - almost no disturbing noise while sleeping. It was quiet an insuring feeling to have a separate locker for some personal stuff while i was out.

Disliked: It was not very clean!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, comfortable beds and lockers.

Disliked: Unclean kitchen and bathrooms. A bit messy everywhere.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

rebecca cass

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 March 2014 rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly staff. In a great location 5 mins from central station. I stayed in a private room which was very spacious. The cleanest hostel I have stayed in in Sydney.

Disliked: rebecca left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

26 February 2014

Liked: Easy come , easy go ,

Disliked: Laundry was very messy and needs cleaning up . No remote controls in bedrooms ,

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Edelyn Tabing

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2014

Liked: location

Disliked: dirty, sheets doesn't seem to be new when we arrived, pic of room is different from actual

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location very much. Danny, the manager, was very helpful and nice. Internet works well in the common areas and it's free. They have laundry there although I didn't use it. The private room I got has TV, minibar and fan.

Disliked: Could be cleaner. Guests were very organized during my stay there, but the bathrooms sinks and showers didn't look to be cleaned from one day to the other. There is no reception desk so if you arrive and the manager for some reason is not there you've got to call him, what could be a problem if you struggle with the english language.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 December 2013

Liked: The people I met and location.

Disliked: Everything else.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

07 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free wifi was great and the location was great

Disliked: It was very noisy from the road outside

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

francesco viccaro

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

26 November 2013 francesco would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is clean and in a great position, close to everything, train station is only 5 minutes walk, bar and restaurant are just down the stairs.

Disliked: One of the best hostel I've seen in Sydney.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Diana Neyra

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 November 2013 Diana would recommend this property

Liked: I originally booked for 3 nights but I liked it so much I ended up staying longer. I really liked its location, the friendly staff and the environment of the hostel. It has a comunal kitchen and also a laundry and dryer machine which is so convenient. The internet is free for everyone to use. The showers are cleaned daily.

Disliked: Diana left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Noreen Everett-Wing

As a family with children

Family Holiday

21 November 2013 Noreen would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone was friendly and considerate, the shared areas were always clean and tidy. Danny the manager was helpful and entertaining. It is located very close to the train station and only a 15 minute walk and you were in the heart of the city.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

florencia renda

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 November 2013 florencia would recommend this property

Liked: It's a very comfortable and clean hostel, i truly recommend it!! Danny is great very nice people and plays the guitar for you good location, quiet, good bedrooms and matresses, and downstairs you have obe of the best sushi restos ib town

Disliked: florencia left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Ellen Davis

Alone

Business / conference

18 November 2013 Ellen would recommend this property

Liked: It was close to everything, the room was great and the manager Danny was friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Ellen left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hallak Bassam

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 April 2013 Hallak would recommend this property

Liked: We were looking to spend a weekend in Sydney to visit Queen Victoria building and Sydney Harbour. We booked a double room for two nights, the room was well furnished, clean and it was comfortable. It also had free wireless in the room which was handy. For what we got the price was excellent.

Disliked: Hallak left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Edoardo Pelle

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

12 April 2013 Edoardo would recommend this property

Liked: My friend and I booked a twin room with a private bathroom. The beds were very comfortable, the room was clean and the facilities were good. We also enjoyed having wireless internet in the room. The management was also helpful with providing useful information. We read the previous reviews and some of them appear to not be true. I've stayed in a number of hostels during my travels in Australia and would highly recommend this place to anyone who comes to Sydney.

Disliked: Edoardo left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Lew

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

01 April 2013 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Homely atmosphere and it's a great central location

Disliked: Andrew left no negative feedback.


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels