HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of Strattons Hostel

Hostel | 249-253 Castlereagh Street, Sydney, Australia .

66.2% Overall Rating

18 out of 29 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/05/2014)

Kailee Murdoch thinks…

"It was just so conveniently located, close to the train station, close to food and shopping, everything was in walking distance"

Read all Strattons Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 10.48
  • Towel USD 1.75

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Sydney Backpackers
20.09 USD

Hostel 66.7% 76 reviews
World Square Hostel
20.09 USD

Hostel 80.5% 256 reviews
Sydney Central Inn
24.89 USD

Hostel 69.2% 13 reviews
BIG Hostel
26.20 USD

Hostel 87.1% 147 reviews
Central Station Hotel
45.24 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 76.4% 19 reviews
Y Hotel Hyde Park
41.05 USD

Hostel 79.8% 146 reviews
Central Perk Backpackers
19.21 USD

Hostel 65.5% 31 reviews
Mountbatten Hotel
22.71 USD

Hostel 65.9% 395 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
66.2%

Overall Rating

18 out of 29 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Strattons Hostel'

Atmosphere
56.8%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
52.0%
Cleanliness
60.0%
Staff
70.4%
Value
68.0%
Safety
67.2%
Refine your results Showing 23 of 26 reviews
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kailee Murdoch

With friends / other travellers

City break

28 May 2014 Kailee would recommend this property

Liked: It was just so conveniently located, close to the train station, close to food and shopping, everything was in walking distance

Disliked: I was happy with my stay

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: linked with world square hostel -> nice commonroom

Disliked: laundry room at world square hostel 2 blocks away

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

katie newbon

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

11 December 2013

Liked: The only thing I likes about this hostel was the location! It was easy walk to the harbour and bridge and even closer to shops and there is plenty of Bar in Oxford street which is also about 3 minute walk away!

Disliked: This hostel does not have a manned reception it is above a pub, it has the smallest kitchen with no equipment! It is mainly French staying here long term and they seem to gang together! This hostel is mainly full of people that at either staying there long term or actually live there like old single creepy men! And these people seam to think they run the place and don't welcome anyone! The kitchen is ment to be lock at 10 but doesn't, it has no communal area apart from the corridor where a lot of French seam to gather and sit there till 3/4 in the morning, don't take in any consideration for other guests! On our last night we were in an 8 mix dorm and was already very cramped but we ended up having 12 people in there because people where top and tailing it was hot and stuff! Didn't feel safe! There was cockroaches in our room and the rooms where never hoovered and showers were vile! There was only 2 toilets for about 60 people on one floor! One girl even had a different bloke back every night!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, big, nice people

Disliked: Reception is on another place

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Lawton

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 April 2013 James would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay

Disliked: Nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

01 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, perfect if u want to go out on george street or sleep well!

Disliked: no wifee, reception away, insect in the my bedroon and in my bag the next morning ! people who live there talk lourd during the night . and should install a tv to have some distraction.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

31 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is superb...

Disliked: No reception at this hostel, you have to walk to the other hostel to make check in and check out process..

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Daniel Lindgren

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 November 2012 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Easygoing and very helpful staff was the best part of the stay.

Disliked: I didn't like that the checkin and actual hostel was in two different buildings. It was very confusing understanding how to check in (you check in at WorldSquare hostel, they are also managing this hostel)

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2012

Liked: I was horrific I did not think i would come out alive people were fighting and kicking my door in No management to be seen anywhere as key pick up was in another location I have not returned my key - as i left the hostel with major panic attacks and forgot...tell me where to send it and i will. I have stayed at Mount battern Hostel in Haymarket - for around the same money - whilst their toilets were dirty, i had a sense of security. The secured door to the upstairs hostel had been kicked and pull so many times that you could pull it open and walk right in...possibley why the partying and drunks all over the corridors???? I may never be able to back pack again after this experience

Disliked: all the above

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

ALEX LEOW SHENG

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2012 ALEX would recommend this property

Liked: it's easy walk around in the city.and also free wifi.i'm sure next time will coming back again.i had meet a lot of friends there as well.

Disliked: nil

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

12 March 2012

Liked: Good kitchen

Disliked: Almost overall. Dirty, far away reception, locker not available, staff giving wrong keys

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

caitlin carberry-place

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

29 February 2012 caitlin would recommend this property

Liked: close to the railway in the city

Disliked: it was to warm in the room.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location...

Disliked: Loud at night.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 January 2012

Liked: Really central

Disliked: Not really clean, reception in another building, not a nice atmosphere

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2012

Liked: Location

Disliked: Cleanliness

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 December 2011

Liked: location

Disliked: tottally dirty, mold on the walls, bugs in the bed. Don't stay here!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

18 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: You have a electronic key for the room, and clean linger

Disliked: The reception is not close to the room

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Aidan Sutherland

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

01 December 2011 Aidan would recommend this property

Liked: i met some really nice french people and had a great time with them. Theres no common room, so everyone hangs out on the couches outside the room, its a great way to meet new people and have a laugh.

Disliked: the bed was solid, there was 1 shower between about 30-40 people, no microwave in the kitchen and the reception is 2 blocks away which was a bit annoying but for 20 bucks a night you cant really expect much. This is a place to put your head down at the end of the day and nothing more really.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

maria sol gonzalez cinetto

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

01 December 2011

Liked: It really is cheap comparing to other acommodations, even other hostels.

Disliked: - noicy - funny smell in bedroom - nowhere to park nearby - no wifi in main building - no security or people around in main building - HUGE cockroaches - no breakfast

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

rebecca chalk

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2011

Liked: not alot only the location

Disliked: very untidy, not secure atall, no lockers, no kitchen, tiny room with no space for bags atall, filthy due to renovations with prior warning! no laundy

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

03 October 2011

Liked: Very friendly staff on check in and check out (although not on site).

Disliked: The lack of notice that I would be staying in a construction site and quite noisy.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

03 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good to meet other travellers.

Disliked: renovations are being done atm. no kitchen in one of the buildings

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife

12 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close proximity to the city centre

Disliked: Old building and no towels supplied or informed of such.


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels