HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Kings Cross Backpackers Sydney

Hostel

79 Bayswater Road, Kings Cross, Sydney, Australia

Atmosphere 71%

Cleanliness 58%

Facilities 70%

Location 83%

Safety 75%

Staff 75%

Value 62%

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Fitness Centre"
  • Free Airport Transfer
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Pool Table
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Important Information

XMAS/NYE 2014/2015

14 Night package between 20 Dec and 3 Jan. Full payment will be made to your credit card on 01 Dec 14 with no cancellations after this time. Must stay over these set 14 nights. No checkins after 20 Dec.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 12:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 71%

Cleanliness 58%

Facilities 70%

Location 83%

Safety 75%

Staff 75%

Value 62%

Showing 1-10 of 48 reviews

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Free pizza and free breakfast, location, rooftop is cool, cheap prize

Disliked: Very noisy very dirty, disrespectful people that make noise during the night, staff that don't care abut it. A person entered our room around 2 am in search of his mobile phone and was behaving violently. There were boys only in the room and they brought some girls with them and were noisy and very disrespectful. Wouldn't stay there again, it is not worth saving few dollars. Probably one of the worst hostel experiences I've ever had.

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location was good - 5 minute walk from train station, and 20 minute walk from the main attractions of Sydney.

Disliked: Most things. The staff were clearly only working there so they could get drunk every night with the people staying there. Most of the people staying were working there and were outrageously messy. The cleaning process was simply a quick mop of the floor and taking out the bins. Despite this, the floors were constantly sticky, the surfaces were always filthy, the bathrooms had empty beer cans in them, the noise was all night despite the common room curfew and the showers only had a curtain to keep anyone looking in. This hostel was simply a disaster.

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Free wifi.

Disliked: Bathrooms were tiny. One toilet and 2 showers for a floor of 20+ people . Nowhere in shower to hang toiletries. Nowhere to get changed when showered. In men's toilets nowhere to hang towel. Frosted glass is all that divides the two gross showers so you can see eachother showering.. Bathroom window open constantly meaning people on streets can see your bits. We had 5 people checked into our 4 bed dorm. Staff didn't bother to check that someone hadn't checked out at 10 am as supposed to so when we arrived for check in time at 12:30 there was no room for us. The hostel then allowed a new person to check in the next day at 9 am so there were 6 people's belongings in our room! When staff vacuumed the hostel the lead ran from the first floor, along the corridor, down the stairs and into reception. Health and safety hazard.Nobody was on reception on day we were due to check out, just a piece of paper with a telephone number on- which was not answered ! Had to wait around for return to get room key deposit back. Kitchen was tiny and narrow and dirty. I lifts so had to carry cases up extremely narrow stairs. People would wedge our door open during the day and staff did nothing about it. Backpackers were roaming around the hostel heavily under the influence of drugs, openly so, and again nothing done. Cleaning of the hostel rooms consisted of emptying the overflowing bin and spot sweeping some rubbish from flood. Staff exclaimed "that's all we can do because apparently we gave to clean the whole hostel".

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The free access to the Gym - a good possibility to take a shower because of the clean rooms there. Socialising is pretty easy as well, though there is a "party crew" staying all the time on the hostel premises. Regular cleaning in the morning hours.Comfy beds.If youre there for partying it might well be a very good location. For everything else....Well look for another place

Disliked: Well, where should i start?The Showers where reasonably clean until the point where the festival (StereoSonic) started. Everything went to hell then. The floor was sticky all the time, even after cleaning it you could feel that your feet where sticking to the ground.The toilets were a mess. The room was hot, with a weak ventilator on the top. I think it was too small for the number of people living in it - they were quite messy all the time.

34% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
34% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Area where the location is, nice to travel by train from central station.

Disliked: I won't list up all these things now.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break, Events / festivals, Work / volunteering

Liked: I stayed in kings cross hostel for a weekend. It was very busy, lots of people drinking but it was a friday night. At first i felt slightly intimidated but the manager rachel was so friendly and welcoming - she introduced me to everyone and I felt instantly welcome, would highly recommend this hostel for anyone travelling on their own! The next day i dread to think what the kitchen social area looked like as there was so many people socialising but then came down in the morning and it was spotless couldn't believe it. They had cleaners twice a day cleaning the loo's, kitchen and morning room clean. Receptionists were very helpful giving me directions to the beach. Was quite noisy on the friday but it's a backpackers in sydney - would be worried if it wasn't.

Disliked: -

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: Have stayed/ been to four different hostels in Sydney and this was by far my favourite hostel! Very sociable hostel, free breakfast, free wifi, free pass to gym, great way to meet other backpackers, staff always happy to help, and a very central location (30 minute walk to CBD or just a few stops on the tube to Circular Quay to catch ferry or Bondi Junction to catch bus to Bondi beach!) Would definitely recommend this to any backpacker, long or short term!!

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: brilliant staff, great guests and an ideal location

Disliked: on the more expensive side for what it is, higher than most hostels.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Fantastic hostel in a great location. Everyone staying there was very welcoming and friendly and made an effort to make sure everyone was involved creating a great social vibe. Staff were amazing and went out of their way to help out. Very good value for money – free breakfasts, wifi, free access to the nearby gym. Overall the hostel felt very clean and secure. Would definitely recommend staying at Kings Cross Backpackers for people looking to meet lots of people and have a memorable time in Sydney.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location,price,free wifi,young people...I feel safe in this famous area.

Disliked: The sheet is not clean enough,I can't sleep very well with sensitive skin.but if your skin is not so sensitive,maybe it is ok for you.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability