We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of Kings Cross Backpackers

Hostel | 79 Bayswater Rd, Kings Cross Sydney, Australia 2000

78.1% Overall Rating

75 out of 99 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/03/2015)

Nathalie Pinole thinks…

"The ultimate hostel luxury of free and fast wifi! Free breakfast was good as well. The staff were helpful and they have a nice dining/common area. Everyone is pretty friendly and they organise lots…"

Read all Kings Cross Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

XMAS/NYE 2014/2015 14 Night package between 20 Dec 2014 and 3 Jan 2015. Full payment will be made to your credit card on 01 Dec 14 with no cancellations after this time. Must stay over these set 14 nights. No checkins after 20 Dec.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Hump Backpackers
17.04 USD

Hostel 73.4% 56 reviews
Brados Backpackers
15.49 USD

Hostel 77.4% 10 reviews
Funk House Backpackers
24.01 USD

Hostel 73.3% 324 reviews
Jackaroo Hostel Kings Cross
24.79 USD

Hostel 81.5% 133 reviews
Backpackers HQ
20.91 USD

Hostel 84.2% 106 reviews
Jolly Swagman Backpackers
29.43 USD

Hostel 76.6% 205 reviews
Asylum Sydney
21.69 USD

Hostel 78.4% 340 reviews
Sydney Central Backpackers
22.46 USD

Hostel 75.7% 177 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.1%

Overall Rating

75 out of 99 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Kings Cross Backpackers'

Atmosphere
81.6%
Location
82.4%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
64.8%
Staff
82.4%
Value
74.4%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 76 of 94 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

WEN YURA?n

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 March 2015 WEN would recommend this property

Liked: Location,price,free wifi,young people...I feel safe in this famous area.

Disliked: The sheet is not clean enough,I can't sleep very well with sensitive skin.but if your skin is not so sensitive,maybe it is ok for you.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Nathalie Pinole

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals

12 March 2015

Liked: The ultimate hostel luxury of free and fast wifi! Free breakfast was good as well. The staff were helpful and they have a nice dining/common area. Everyone is pretty friendly and they organise lots of activities...but the crowd is young. Lots of 20 year old brits getting drunk on goon and listening to bad house music.

Disliked: If your over 25 you'll probably feel a bit old! The place is pretty grimey too...the rooms are small and dirty, and the windows dont have any blinds/curtains so you get woken up at sunrise every morning and everyone in the street can see in.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Edna Brodersen

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

09 March 2015

Liked: The location is good and the atmosphere friendly. There is free breakfast and tea and coffee and also free wifi. The long-termers are friendly and open.

Disliked: The Administration of this hostel Is very poor. We were not given sheets for the beds upon check-inane when we asked they gave us used ones (with stains and everything). there was only one bed available even though we had booked and payed for two. There were more than six people sleeping in our six-bed dorm, even though it was already very small. There was only one power socket in the entire dormitory, which meant you couldn't charge your devices. The whole hostel was dirty and even after cleaning there was rubbish and dirt everywhere. The kitchen is badly equipped with only one sink and stove for 80 people and hardly any cutlery and crockery.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

23 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean compared to other Hostels in Sydney, no cockroaches, nice common area, good location in Kings Cross, free Wifi, nice rooms. I highly recommend this place because they really keep it clean!

Disliked: no air-con, my room didn't have a light, one of the guys that works there was obviously on drugs He wasn't able to explain where my room is when I checked in

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

John Newbery

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 December 2014

Liked: Central location

Disliked: Rude staff. Felt like a frat house with drunk twenty-something poms singing drinking songs until the wee hours.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: on arriving at the hostel everyone was friendly including the staff. Yes there are lots of long tremors staying here but this made it all the better as i became one. Loved every minute of hostel life in kings cross backpackers. Great if your travelling alone or with a group. The hostel has 80 beds which is a great number for everyone partying together!! The rooms are clean and tidy as the floors etc are all new! The main travel man mike hooked me up with amazing deals for east and west coast. I also worked at the hostel for a period of time which gave me amazing freebies like whale watching tour! Yes sometimes there is noise and a messy kitchen but it is hostel life and kings cross backpackers made my Australia trip 2014!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

LOWRI JONES

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 July 2014 LOWRI would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast is definately a bonus!

Disliked: Very young crowd

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lots of long term residents were friendly and the staff were also lovely and helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness of fellow backpackers

Disliked: Cleanliness in the general areas and bathrooms.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

teresa cardenas

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 June 2014

Liked: NOTHING

Disliked: Everything. The lack of control from the managers, the roaches everywhete, the lack of respect and consideration.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly atmosphere, clean, good location for nights out. Welcomed by everyone (especially long termers)! Travel desk very helpful/ knowledgable with competitive prices.

Disliked: There was mince on the free nachos and I'm vegetarian

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mike Carr

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2014 Mike would recommend this property

Liked: The weekly free meals, foxtel sports, x box, free gym memberships and the rooftop bbqs where the atmosphere was electric.

Disliked: The kitchen could be bigger.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Franck Aumont

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

27 May 2014 Franck would recommend this property

Liked: Simply Everything, the rooftop, the atmosphere, the people are all really nice Mike the entertainment manager and all his team are working well, the cleanliness is really good, I saw a lot of backpackers but obviously this one is one of the best I've been in Australia. Moreover everyday it's easy to meet some people because the common room and the rooftop are the hearts of this place, Wifi is free, fans in the room, free breakfast,well a really nice place

Disliked: Absolutely nothing, even the girls living in there are hot !

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big lockers in the rooms, free wifi, sockets for charging electronics. I made a mistake with my booking dates and the check in lady was nice enough to take my initial payment into consideration.

Disliked: The room was tiny so felt crowded even though it had only two bunk beds. The location of the socket was rather high up, thankfully someone had an extension cable. The bathrooms that was available to me was filthy which made me stay only the one night. Check out time is too early

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

20 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location if you want to be close to lots of bars, Kings Cross is the red light district but it's not as scummy as most people make it out to be, you just have to be aware of your surroundings at night! It's about a 20minute walk to the downtown area, we always walked it and it's fine. They have good free breakfasts (variety of bread, cereals, tea/coffee, spreads), and lots of free dinners. Pretty clean. The lockers in the rooms are pretty big.

Disliked: 90% of the people there were long-termers... our roommates had been in the hostel for 6 months already, everyone had their own friends group and didn't really try to make friends with the newcomers. The kitchen was tiny for the amount of people staying there. The wifi was terrible.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Fred Santos

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2013

Liked: The Common areas are good and clean. Free Pool table and tv with Xbox.

Disliked: Too many permanents. The rooms are messy and not clean. The hostel is located far from metro stations.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooftop and nice Staff

Disliked: nothing

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

NONOKA KIKUCHI

Alone

Business / conference

15 July 2013

Liked: free breakfast

Disliked: cleaner

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is easy to locate and they have evenings where they provide food

Disliked: The hostel at the time when we stayed was full of long termers and so not as social as you would have hoped, even though the kitchen was always full they seemed to have their little groups already and seem reluctant to socialise with the short termers, especially those that work in the hostel as well as stay there.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vivian Lee

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

06 May 2013 Vivian would recommend this property

Liked: It was a really pleasant experience. The dorms were clean and the staff was great. The location is very convenient!

Disliked: I wish there was more than one toilet for the one ladies room... but its understandable.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everybody was nice, they have a board which says what's on what night! Is a really homely hostel!

Disliked: Bedroom was quite cramped. That's it!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eddie Knowlton

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 April 2013 Eddie would recommend this property

Liked: amazing place with great atmosphere and people - everyone is friendly and is down to have a good time with all. the planned events each night are a real bonus when you are travelling alone, excellent way to start socializing with others.

Disliked: bathroom and kitchen are a little small when they're busy (can get a bit crowded) but are still very clean and fully equipped.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location! I stayed for 8 nights alone in a female 10-dorm and it was great! Sometimes messy, but you get used to it. They clean the bathroom everyday and it was awesome staying there!

Disliked: The staff isn't so great. Always hanging on facebook and they don't really help you!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel put on good events every night, the basement is really cozy and feels more like a house than a hostel, it was really inviting (but there's not enough seating for everyone), rooms, lobby and kichen were all very clean, lockers available with own lock, very secure building. Beds were pretty comfortable as well. Before we arrived we were told that the kings cross area was very sketchy (druggies would give us a hard time, etc) but as two female travelers we felt very safe walking around the area. The city is about a 25 minute walk but the train station is close if you don't want to walk. Coles is within a 5 minute walk.

Disliked: The staff weren't very friendly at all. Not once did any of them say "good morning" or even "hey" to us, I'd still recommend the place but don't expect a welcoming greeting. If you're a light sleeper, bring earplugs, kings cross is a party area and therefore you could hear people at all hours of the night. Also the beds were squeaky so again if you're a light sleeper...earplugs.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Sonya Marlen Koerber

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2013 Sonya Marlen would recommend this property

Liked: very familiar

Disliked: sometimes very unfriendly staff


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels