HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Railway Square YHA Sydney Hostel

8-10 Lee Street, Sydney NSW 2000, Sydney, Australia

Atmosphere 81%

Cleanliness 92%

Facilities 86%

Location 98%

Safety 90%

Staff 84%

Value 80%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • ATM
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Foosball
  • Free City Maps
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Swimming Pool
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Steam room
  • Swimming Pool
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 10.78USD
  • Breakfast 4.62USD
  • Towel 0.77USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 81%

Cleanliness 92%

Facilities 86%

Location 98%

Safety 90%

Staff 84%

Value 80%

Showing 1-10 of 16 reviews

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Central location

Disliked: Bad wifi

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It's very spacipuus has large seating area and kitchen

Disliked: There are groups of travelers quite clicky, washing and drying is 4 dollars each and doesn't do great hostel activities plus the pool is out of use.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Shopping

Liked: Very hygienic, run like a ship.Easy to get to from Central Station.No weirdos.

Disliked: A lady was eating her food in the room, which was a downer as it can encourage pestilence, but I opened the window for fresh air.Stairs, no elevator.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Good inner city location in a heritage building combined with a modern feel; average cleanliness; friendly staff

Disliked: I have been in a 4-bunk dorm; consider slightly more options to store (hang-up, ventilate etc.) clothing.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: One of the highlights for me was how clean and comfortable the hostel is - very comfortable beds and I had two great nights' sleep! The staff were very helpful and friendly. I liked that the 8-bed dorm had an ensuite bathroom. The breakfast was very reasonable and the facilities at the hostel (kitchen size & equipment etc) were excellent. This hostel is also very well located, at Central train station.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Work / volunteering

Liked: Close to the train station. Once there it was easy to feel safe an secure

Disliked: The directions from the station weren't very clear I had to ask for directions. Not a good electrical output to charge phone/ wouldn't accept my English adapter in my room!!

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Good facilities friendly staff

Disliked: Not really value for money small rooms no power points near beds expensive for what you get no free wifi

Customer would recommend this property

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Fantastic location for most things. Good if you just want to sleep there one night with no luggage and leave first thing in the morning. They had cheap food one night.

Disliked: Where to start? *Cracks fingers* Some of the staff are rude and impatient and nothing seems to be included. I turned up at 8.30am to check in because thats what time my train got in. They charged $3 for a tiny locker for 4 hours to hold onto my bag while I waited to check in. Thats bad considering I was paying almost $40 a night. No breakfast included and a tiny bit of cereal was $3.50. They charged me $6 for a tiny lock for my locker. The staff booked me onto a Blue Mountains tour which never came to pick me up. They blamed the tour company and the tour company blamed them for not confirming the booking over the phone. Not sure who's fault it was, but it was a pain because it meant I had to use up my last day in Sydney to go on the trip. To add insult to injury the hostel told me to be there for 7.25am. I turned up at 7.10am and the tour lady was already there looking for me. She said she had been there a few minutes looking for me. The showers were ok, but would it be that hard to make it so you could get dressed on a dry floor? I've been in hostels where this isn't a problem and they had the same surface area to work with.I've never been to a hostel where the atmosphere was so dead. Why not have a comedy night? Do something!Oh and I only booked this hostel originally because I thought I was getting to stay in one of the cool looking fake train carriages. It was disappointing when I realised they only have about 4 of these type of rooms and of course I didn't get to stay in one. You've been warned.The keycard for my room took about 2 ~ 10 attempts each time to open the door to my room. The internet is shockingly expensive. What do I actually get for my almost $40 per night? I didn't even get a free towel.There wasn't enough wall sockets for charging phones etc for everyone. We all had to take turns. The simple reason for this is while there were 8 beds and 8 sockets the sockets were too close to each other and considering we were all travellers with adapters the adapters are each simply too big to fit everything into that small space. It would be better if they had individual wall sockets in our small room lockers like other hostels do who charge this much to stay there. I would only recommend this place for people who are staying here for a short period and want easy access to the train station. I wouldn't stay here for the long term especially considering the value for money. Every other hostel I've ever been to has had a better atmosphere. I hope I've covered everything there.

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Visiting friends or family

Liked: convenient location, tidy clean place

Disliked: noisy at night sometimes

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Next to Central train station, great facilities, very clean.

Disliked: Pool only big enough to sit in

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability