We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of Railway Square YHA

Hostel | 8-10 Lee Street, Sydney, Australia 2000

86.6% Overall Rating

39 out of 42 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/04/2014)

Hannah Lomas thinks…

"One of the highlights for me was how clean and comfortable the hostel is - very comfortable beds and I had two great nights' sleep! The staff were very helpful and friendly. I liked that the 8-bed…"

Read all Railway Square YHA reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Hot tub / jacuzzi
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 12.22
  • Breakfast USD 5.24
  • Towel USD 0.87

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Wake Up Hostel
31.41 USD

Hostel 94.4% 1189 reviews
Leisure Inn Sydney Central
36.47 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.1% 11 reviews
790 on George Backpackers
24.43 USD

Hostel 81.3% 414 reviews
Casa Central Accommodation
27.92 USD

Hostel 78.4% 43 reviews
Sydney Central YHA
34.03 USD

Hostel 88.3% 252 reviews
City Central Budget Accommodation
20.94 USD

Hostel 70.6% 133 reviews
Aarons Hotel Sydney
43.63 USD

Hotel 3 star 72.1% 9 reviews
Bounce Sydney
33.16 USD

Hostel 93.1% 267 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.6%

Overall Rating

39 out of 42 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Railway Square YHA'

Atmosphere
83.2%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
78.4%
Value
78.4%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 37 of 42 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hannah Lomas

Alone

Business / conference

04 April 2014 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: One of the highlights for me was how clean and comfortable the hostel is - very comfortable beds and I had two great nights' sleep! The staff were very helpful and friendly. I liked that the 8-bed dorm had an ensuite bathroom. The breakfast was very reasonable and the facilities at the hostel (kitchen size & equipment etc) were excellent. This hostel is also very well located, at Central train station.

Disliked: Hannah left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Amanda Grayson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

01 April 2014 Amanda would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the train station. Once there it was easy to feel safe an secure

Disliked: The directions from the station weren't very clear I had to ask for directions. Not a good electrical output to charge phone/ wouldn't accept my English adapter in my room!!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Jasmine Hulm

Alone

Visiting friends or family

03 March 2014 Jasmine would recommend this property

Liked: Good facilities friendly staff

Disliked: Not really value for money small rooms no power points near beds expensive for what you get no free wifi

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and interesting rooms.

Disliked: Very central, clean, nothing to complain about.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 February 2014

Liked: Fantastic location for most things. Good if you just want to sleep there one night with no luggage and leave first thing in the morning. They had cheap food one night.

Disliked: Where to start? *Cracks fingers* Some of the staff are rude and impatient and nothing seems to be included. I turned up at 8.30am to check in because thats what time my train got in. They charged $3 for a tiny locker for 4 hours to hold onto my bag while I waited to check in. Thats bad considering I was paying almost $40 a night. No breakfast included and a tiny bit of cereal was $3.50. They charged me $6 for a tiny lock for my locker. The staff booked me onto a Blue Mountains tour which never came to pick me up. They blamed the tour company and the tour company blamed them for not confirming the booking over the phone. Not sure who's fault it was, but it was a pain because it meant I had to use up my last day in Sydney to go on the trip. To add insult to injury the hostel told me to be there for 7.25am. I turned up at 7.10am and the tour lady was already there looking for me. She said she had been there a few minutes looking for me. The showers were ok, but would it be that hard to make it so you could get dressed on a dry floor? I've been in hostels where this isn't a problem and they had the same surface area to work with. I've never been to a hostel where the atmosphere was so dead. Why not have a comedy night? Do something! Oh and I only booked this hostel originally because I thought I was getting to stay in one of the cool looking fake train carriages. It was disappointing when I realised they only have about 4 of these type of rooms and of course I didn't get to stay in one. You've been warned. The keycard for my room took about 2 ~ 10 attempts each time to open the door to my room. The internet is shockingly expensive. What do I actually get for my almost $40 per night? I didn't even get a free towel. There wasn't enough wall sockets for charging phones etc for everyone. We all had to take turns. The simple reason for this is while there were 8 beds and 8 sockets the sockets were too close to each other and considering we were all travellers with adapters the adapters are each simply too big to fit everything into that small space. It would be better if they had individual wall sockets in our small room lockers like other hostels do who charge this much to stay there. I would only recommend this place for people who are staying here for a short period and want easy access to the train station. I wouldn't stay here for the long term especially considering the value for money. Every other hostel I've ever been to has had a better atmosphere. I hope I've covered everything there.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family

22 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: convenient location, tidy clean place

Disliked: noisy at night sometimes

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chye Hing Siaw

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

23 December 2013 Chye Hing would recommend this property

Liked: Next to Central train station, great facilities, very clean.

Disliked: Pool only big enough to sit in

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Caitlin Harnwell

With friends / other travellers

City break

10 December 2013 Caitlin would recommend this property

Liked: Good sized rooms, hot showers, good kitchen, overall very good.

Disliked: The beds were a bit creaky, and the bathroom sometimes looked like it had flooded, but nothing serious.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anna Lysakowska

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 November 2013 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Clean dorms. Location.

Disliked: Internet could be free.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emmi Hiivola

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

31 July 2013 Emmi would recommend this property

Liked: The interior is really cool and the dorm room was clean, spacey and comfortable. Bathrooms had heated floors, which proved to be a really good thing because then the floors dried up faster and helped make the place feel clean.

Disliked: Considering the size of this place the common room seating area was a bit small, in the evenings I never found myself space on the couches. But the rooms were comfortable enough to hang out in so it wasn't that much of a loss.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable and affordable

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jordan Gross

Alone

Work / volunteering

26 June 2013 Jordan would recommend this property

Liked: the location is amazing ive stayed here over 5 times in the last 3 years. Very clean and tidy plus the most helpful staff of any hostel. Its more like a hotel.

Disliked: I dont dislike anything of this hostel its 100%.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Nathan Odgers

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

24 June 2013 Nathan would recommend this property

Liked: Location next to Central station is great. Room was clean and the check out time is 11.

Disliked: Had to pay for everything- No free internet or wifi, on checkout the hostel would not hold my luggage for the rest of the day I had to pay for a locker.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, clean.

Disliked: They don't keep customer's luggage for free befoe check in .

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel located right by the Central Rail and Bus station, from there I can easily go to see the City of Sydney without the need of a car.

Disliked: The location, all my roomates are very friendly and care about 3 others who share the room.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kevin BOWLING

Alone

Business / conference
Visiting friends or family

20 December 2012 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Air Conditioning not run in hot waether

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Complete and clean facilities.

Disliked: The lazy, stupid, ill mannered, rude, uncouth, crass and unrefined front desk staff who make you feel unwanted. I didn't feel welcome at all. It didn't feel pleasant talking to them. They were lazy and rude even to old senior citizen people. Not once did they smile. One of the staff was also racist.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 November 2012

Liked: The train carriages!

Disliked: I can see people not being too happy about literally being on a train platform but I loved it!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Katy Rose

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2012 Katy would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Clean. Friendly staff. Big hostels lack a good atmostphere and friendliness but this was okay.

Disliked: Not quite enough room in the kitchen to store food! Everyone cooks in a hostel, this should be a priority. Having come through the US where most if the hostels had free wifi, Australia is disappointing... (This isn't just this hostel.)

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Work / volunteering

28 August 2012

Liked: Near central station, nice high ceilings in main foyer with comfy chairs, communal kitchen and pool table - free on Sundays (however not past 12pm Sat - they didn't let us... softs cocks) - YHA is literally platform the next platform from the actual train station which is pretty scary (unlucky room 306) but surprising there isn't as much noise as you'd expect. Price didn't reflect it's facilities, stay in YHA central or Glebe for same price.

Disliked: sdadasd

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Hannah Atwell

Alone

Business / conference

02 July 2012 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: It was close to central station, very clean, tidy.

Disliked: It didn't have the best sleeping arrangements - I stayed in the 8 bed dorm but wasn't able to go to sleep until very late because there was only one light for the whole room and other people were still awake doing stuff.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Roger Johnson

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2012 Roger would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent hostel- my congratulations to whoever designed, planned and built it, you've done a first rate job and it cannot be faulted. In particular the spacious and wll lit kitchen is exactly what every guest wants- roomy, fully equipped (except eggcups!) and most importantly, every single gas ring in full working order (rare in hostels). .Soundproofing is good although if you're in one of the coaches right beside the platforms, you will hear the trains. However, this is an allround great hostel, well done YHA Australia, we would certainly stay there again.

Disliked: No quibbles really , although reception was permanently unsmiling and I felt a little unwelcoming- but that is to be expected in a large hostel I suppose, particularly maybe when the guests are middle aged? Please remember - smiles costs nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Anita Straessle

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 April 2012 Anita would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, original set up, big comfy lounge area

Disliked: didn't find jacuzzi. Just small swimming pool. After you check out, you can't use toilets anymore, you need a magnetic key for that. So if you need to wait for airport pick up or transfer it's quite annoying. Only lockers which charge a lot of money (5 Dollars for 4 hours max.) no free luggage room available

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aurore Cupers

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2012 Aurore would recommend this property

Liked: I was a bit worried about sharing the room with 7 other people but it happened to be very nice people, it is very easy to make new friends there or in the common room.

Disliked: Aurore left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the train carriage room was pretty cool. good location.

Disliked: a bit pricey.


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels