HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of Bounce Sydney

Hostel | 28 Chalmers Street, Sydney, Australia 2000

90.6% Overall Rating

244 out of 250 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/02/2014)

"Clean, fresh and modern. The staff are friendly and it is a great place to meet people. The only place I would stay in Sydney."

Read all Bounce Sydney reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 13.06
  • Luggage Room USD 4.66
  • Towel USD 3.73

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Bounce Sydney has not made any charges to your credit card. Your credit card details have been collected to secure your reservation only and you will be required to pay all accommodation charges upon checking-in. Bookings of 6 or more are considered a group. To ensure we provide every guest with a great atmosphere there are separate terms and conditions for groups and we require a group request form to be completed before a booking can be confirmed. Please contact the agency Groups department at 44 (0)20 7440 4924 or Fill up a group booking form here http://www.hostelbookers.com/groupbkg/ Bounce does not cater for guests under the age of 18. Check-in is available from 2:00pm. All guests are required to present valid photo identification upon checking-in. Bounce will accept a Driver’s License, Passport or National ID Card only. Check-out time is 10:30am. Reservations may be cancelled or amended up to 48 hours prior to your arrival date without charge. Reservations cancelled or amended within 48 hours of your arrival date will incur a fee of one night's accommodation. Bounce Sydney accepts payment via cash, EFTPOS, VISA or MasterCard only. There is a 2.5% surcharge when paying by credit card.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Railway Square YHA
35.55 USD

Hostel 86.6% 42 reviews
Wake Up Hostel
33.68 USD

Hostel 88.0% 1156 reviews
Sydney Central YHA
36.48 USD

Hostel 87.3% 246 reviews
Home Backpackers
21.52 USD

Hostel 61.3% 47 reviews
790 on George Backpackers
27.13 USD

Hostel 82.7% 405 reviews
Leisure Inn Sydney Central
37.98 USD

Hotel 3 star 80.4% 7 reviews
Central Railway Hotel & Apartments
25.49 USD

Hotel 3 star 78.7% 34 reviews
Goodlet Lodge
51.45 USD

Guesthouse 79.0% 20 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.6%

Overall Rating

244 out of 250 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Bounce Sydney'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
93.6%
Value
85.6%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 205 of 241 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the new modern style and furniture is really cool and I would come back because of the good location (next to central station)

Disliked: I am very dissappointed because I hoped to get a perfect hostel, but it was not. I paid a lot of money and it would have been worth it, if the cleanliness would have been ok, but it was a big mess in the bathroom and kitchen/living room/balcony. The most disgusting thing is, that the sheets have not been changed at all - just the pillowcase, thats it! We have had a lot of yellow, red & brown stains on the sheets and it looked as if the person from the night before had just left, but we only arrived late at night, so that the housekeeping staff should have had enough time to clean...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great chill out areas, very good kitchen facilities. Good location, decent sized and comfortable beds.

Disliked: 'FREE WIFI' is in my opinion a bit of false advertising. This in fact meant 30mins free wifi, which clearly is not enough time to do anything!! $3 an hr for internet is not bad for Oz but if you say free then stick to it

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

24 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, great location, cleanliness, free breakfast, good connections with public transport

Disliked: high fees for wifi - 3$ per hour, charge for towels

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

kimberley swann

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2011 kimberley would recommend this property

Liked: Its very central location, value for money and clean secure rooms.

Disliked: The only qualm is it stated lockers in rooms but did not mention you have to provide your own locks, apart from that it is very hard to pick fault.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anastasia Zotalis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 July 2011 Anastasia would recommend this property

Liked: Contemporay Design. Spacious environment. Level 4 is great with outdoor seating and dining facilities.

Disliked: n/a

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Olivia Neeson

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2011 Olivia would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the city and trains, nice clean bedding.

Disliked: That some guests were long term (made the room more uncomfortable).

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Partying / nightlife
Work / volunteering

18 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere and the people who stay are amazing! Fresh and new. I would recommend Bounce to anyone wanting to stay around the area. Across the road to central train station. You can catch the train anywhere from this station. The bar next door is great and the deck area is amazing you wish you would stay there not in the dorm! Cleaners come in everyday.

Disliked: NOTHING!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

14 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The dorm rooms are big and there is excellent lounge, kitchen and dining facilities. Everything is very clean and it is in a pretty good location right next to central station.

Disliked: There were people coming in and out of our dorm room until 4am each night we were there. Each time they came in they turned the light on and woke the whole room up. We probably just got unlucky with the people we were sharing a room with though.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything perfect

Disliked: nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location. The rooms had lockers with plugs in them, which is great to charge safely all your electronic equipment with no worry. The hostel is brand new. I arrived early in the morning, well ahead the checking time and the staff let me take a shower, whcih was really great, after 24 hours in the plane. The ensuite girl room has the toilet outside the room (for exclusive use of those in the room, but you have to go out and get in, the doors of the room are noisy).

Disliked: The sheets were not changed, nor in my bed, nor in many others (who knows how many people slept in them before). Breakfast was a sort of utopia. It runs from 7:30 to 9:30. By 9:10 there's nothing left, food is no longer supplied. Either you wake up early, either you don't get any breakfast. When I complained, they said they coul do nothing for it. That it had been an exception, but other roomates said it had been the same the previous days. Internet connection (wifi and computers) is available but expensive. 3 AUD for 20 min or 7 AUD for 3 hours. Friday night a whole bunch of drunk people going up and down in the elevator, shouting. As there is no other option than recomend YES or NO, I would recommend it with a big BUT.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kathrrin Guderian

Alone

Business / conference
Visiting friends or family

30 June 2011 Kathrrin would recommend this property

Liked: Nice big rooms and the best lockers for storing luggage

Disliked: can't think of anything negative

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

22 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff, gave us advice on transport and good recommendations for eating out. Convenient location and very clean.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Michelle Ewbank

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2011 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: Bounce is a fresh, clean, modern and comfortable hostel/hotel. We stayed in a Queen double room which had a flat screen TV and en suite bathroom. The common areas were really well finished and very comfortable. The kitchen was large and clean and the rooftop terrace will be amazing to use in the summer; it was a little cold for use to make use of!

Disliked: The bed was on wheels and every time you turned over or moved slightly the bed moved away from the wall which was annoying. We had problems with the internet in that the credits we bought were preloaded incorrectly so we were short-changed on our internet time. We were offered a 24 hour internet credit in compensation but by this point we had already spent c. AUD$28. Our TV was hanging off the wall slightly; this did not affect the picture but was quite annoying as the screen was tilted. We were charged 3% to pay by credit card. After spending over AUD$400 to stay at Bounce, we asked to store our luggage for a couple of hours before we travelled to the airport but were told that there would be a AUD$5 each to do so. We declined.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very nice clean rooms

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was exceptionally clean, secure and comfortable.

Disliked: Nothing.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

16 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Plenty of communal areas. New beds and mattresses and carpet.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel i ve Everest stayed in by far i definitely Williams recomend it

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eleanor Harris

Alone

Visiting friends or family

31 May 2011 Eleanor would recommend this property

Liked: the spacious rooms and small additional extras like plug sockets in the ockers, large lockers and bed side lamps by each bed.

Disliked: n/a

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Patrick Skilton

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 May 2011 Patrick would recommend this property

Liked: You get what you pay for really. We wanted a break from your run of the mill hostelso we payed the extra for this one and it was worth it. Very clean, secure and very nice kitchen/dining area and terrace! In fact it's a bit of a mix between a hotel and a hostel really! Would recommend if you find you have a bit of extra cash or need a bit of a break for a few days

Disliked: Quite clicky people, however it wasn't that busy as it's nearly winter so could improve in busy periods!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Claire Durham

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 May 2011 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: This is a brand new gorgeous boutique hostel. The rooms are a decent size with big locekers with a socket inside. the roof terrace is gorgeous. Next door there is a cafe bar to get a great breakfast and drinks. Good location in town.

Disliked: Kitchen wasn't as clean and full of utensils like others I've been too, bins were overflowing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Riley Traill

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2011 Riley would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were the highest point, very friendly and helpful. The rooms were tidy and well-kept. Cannot think of a single negative point about the place. Their balcony was amazing, overlooking the city.

Disliked: N/A

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: this is a really clean and well maintained hostel,

Disliked: i don't think that it had much character and can be quite clichy especially among the long termers - great if you are on holiday and staying short term not so great to meet other people - theres not real good vibe here to clinical

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, new, clean, great common areas, big lockers

Disliked: minimal facilities, a bit overpriced

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Seems to be brand new. Like an hostel directly to the railway station for the price of a standard backpacker's

Disliked: Nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

02 April 2011

Liked: central located, clean

Disliked: expensive; extra charges for towels, internet, padlock,....; no refund if you have to leave earlier than expected;


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels