We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of Maze Backpackers

Hostel | 417 Pitt Street, Sydney, Australia 2000

78.4% Overall Rating

413 out of 651 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/06/2015)

"Location is good, staff friendly on the most part, and the showers are pretty good (although the bathrooms are disgusting). There is an exceptional Thai cafe/restaurant/grocer next door called Boon."

Read all Maze Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

*** Please note that there are NO en-suite bathroom rooms, BATHROOM FACILITIES ARE ALL COMMUNAL *** *** All bookings between December 22nd 2014 and January 4th 2015 are subject to a 14 night minimum stay. Guests can cancel with no penalty until 3 weeks prior to arrival when they will be charged in full for their reservation without refund. Failure to pay when required may result in your booking being cancelled.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Nomads Westend Backpackers
13.15 USD

Hostel 64.1% 557 reviews
Base Sydney
21.18 USD

Hostel 77.1% 439 reviews
Sydney Backpackers
18.26 USD

Hostel 66.6% 79 reviews
Strattons Hostel
16.80 USD

Hostel 67.4% 30 reviews
World Square Hostel
13.88 USD

Hostel 84.7% 282 reviews
Y Hotel Hyde Park
16.98 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 80.6% 147 reviews
Elephant Backpacker Sydney
11.69 USD

Hostel 61.4% 477 reviews
Central Perk Backpackers
16.07 USD

Hostel 61.1% 35 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.4%

Overall Rating

413 out of 651 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Maze Backpackers'

Atmosphere
74.4%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
71.2%
Cleanliness
68.0%
Staff
88.0%
Value
78.4%
Safety
74.4%
Refine your results Showing 451 of 544 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 18 | 19   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Had everything we needed and creat value for money

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2015

Liked: Location is good, staff friendly on the most part, and the showers are pretty good (although the bathrooms are disgusting). There is an exceptional Thai cafe/restaurant/grocer next door called Boon.

Disliked: The name is fitting: the dingy, narrow corridors with old stained carpets offer the feeling of a juvenile prison in which you will certainly become a little lost. As for the rooms: cold, damp, and a lingering aroma of athlete's foot/rotting fish. Overall the property has absolutely zero charisma or any sense of warmth & homeliness. Probably the worst hostel I have ever visited. Furthermore, our room had a broken window adding to the damp/cold situation. The only consolation offered was a blanket. We were then woken at 08:30 to be booted out of the room to allow the workers in to fix said window; appalling service.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Haiping Tan

Alone

City break

15 June 2015

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: already said.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

05 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good basic accomodation with a good empahsis on living co-operatively. I liked the principle of encouraging the young people to enjoy themselves while respecting the comfort of others. Definitely helps to have some tame pubs!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Cai Jones

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

03 June 2015 Cai would recommend this property

Liked: Location - Walking distance from central Train Station

Disliked: Had some plumbing issues with the ladies bathroom.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

martin peterson

Alone

Visiting friends or family

10 May 2015 martin would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is a good stay. The hot water didn't work very well whilst I was there.. I had read a review that it didn't work well at other times also. Visit in summer. All up not too bad. Some areas smelt like damp travellers

Disliked: martin left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marielle Harmenil

Alone

Business / conference

02 May 2015 Marielle would recommend this property

Liked: Maze is really nice : - a lot of activities every time - in the city, near to everything and to the train station - the transfert to the airport available from Maze and to Maze - bedrooms clean All is aMAZing !!

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Timothy Stephenson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 May 2015 Timothy would recommend this property

Liked: Staff very helpful upgraded us to a double instead of the twin for the same price

Disliked: Walls were pretty thin so no protection from the party atmosphere if you wanted to sleep early

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Simon Barnes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 April 2015 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were excellent, lots of free drinks/food on offer, lots to do, great atmosphere

Disliked: Showers flooded easily and lots of the showers were out of order while I was there

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sara Hansen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

20 April 2015 Sara would recommend this property

Liked: Location. In the middle of the city. Everything in a walking distance.

Disliked: Sara left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good sized private room

Disliked: Messy bathroom

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

25 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Internet access is not too expensive. Available lockers.

Disliked: Iternet access isn't always good.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

15 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: amazing neighbourhood, friendly people

Disliked: rooms are TINY--i've seen jail cells that are bigger and better equipped. communal areas not great--it's clear the owner is out to make as much money as possible..

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

RINI YOSFIARTI

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

12 March 2015

Liked: good Location

Disliked: Old, dirty, no lift

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

James Singleton

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

04 March 2015

Liked: Location that's about it

Disliked: Dirty, no aircon cockroachs .. The mattress I slept on was like concrete and the pillow I had was about 2cm deep.. I had to fold it over 3 times to get any sort of comfort. 1 plug socket in the far corner of the room between 6 people is a joke! Couldn't close the windows as they where broke so had hardly any sleep as all you could hear was police sirens cars busses loud people. Bad hotstel would not recommend.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

13 February 2015

Liked: In centre of town and nearby railway

Disliked: Too warm no airco, to noisy

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

10 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I've stayed/lived here before when on a working holiday in Oz a few years ago and came back for the weekend while visiting Sydney with my boyfriend. Still has great entertainment and atmosphere but kitchen has now been redone which is a good thing, as it is now much bigger and has better facilities, however they now shut the kitchen at 12am which is disapointing, especially when you have allergies and need ti kitchen to prepare meals you can eat. Anyhow...still a great place

Disliked: Some of the long termers sneaking too much of the free goon... :( Communication about nightclub rules needs to be done before backpackers leave the hostel, not just outside the venue. :)

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and services

Disliked: None

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

alex granger

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 January 2015 alex would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: no air conditioning

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

28 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The general atmosphere of Maze is great! The staff are very welcoming and friendly and were happy to help with anything. The bathrooms were also very clean, which is always a positive! And the bed was very comfortable. I will definitely stay here again and recommend this place to friends.

Disliked: The only thing I didn't really like about the property was the smallness of the room, very hard to move in and the curtains in the room I stayed in were very dirty and stained, which made me not want to touch them. Although these are only minor things, and they didn't worry me too much.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

28 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed my stay here, there is plenty of social events and other activities to do. Great location and very good for money. Highly recommended!

Disliked: It did get a bit hot and stuffy without AirCon in the room. My friend and i had our own private room, but had to change as water was leaking in everywhere, and there was several puddles that had collected on the floor. Most of our clothes got covered in water, but the staff were very very helpful in helping us sort it all out, and gave us free laundry and towels.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 January 2015

Liked: No

Disliked: I couldn't lock my room's door and toilet wasn't in good condition.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

18 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was all good.

Disliked: just a tad too hot as no A/C

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Martin Baeuerle

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 January 2015 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: clean

Disliked: staff..

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2015

Liked: The location was excellent close to everything. The kitchen area was kept spotless

Disliked: The hostel is massive and so loses some character. The TV room looked uncomfortable and so i didn't spend anytime in it. WiFi was not free and reception and connection was patchy. Lots of cockroaches in the hall way and in the room. Also not enough bathrooms and not kept very clean.


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels