HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of Maze Backpackers

Hostel | 417 Pitt Street, Sydney, Australia 2000

70.7% Overall Rating

374 out of 600 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/07/2014)

ERWANDY MOHAMED AZIZ thinks…

"Good free stuff -drinks, meal (check Maze calendar). Great social environment, staff are friendly. Hostel close to Coles which easy for traveler to get cheap ingredients and cook at hostel."

Read all Maze Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

*** Please note that there are NO en-suite bathroom rooms, BATHROOM FACILITIES ARE ALL COMMUNAL *** *** All bookings between December 22nd 2014 and January 4th 2015 are subject to a 14 night minimum stay. Guests can cancel with no penalty until 3 weeks prior to arrival when they will be charged in full for their reservation without refund. Failure to pay when required may result in your booking being cancelled.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Nomads Westend Backpackers
18.79 USD

Hostel 72.2% 514 reviews
Base Sydney
27.24 USD

Hostel 78.6% 425 reviews
Sydney Backpackers
21.60 USD

Hostel 66.7% 76 reviews
Strattons Hostel
21.60 USD

Hostel 66.2% 29 reviews
World Square Hostel
21.60 USD

Hostel 77.9% 253 reviews
Y Hotel Hyde Park
33.82 USD

Hostel 79.8% 146 reviews
Elephant Backpacker Sydney
15.03 USD

Hostel 65.6% 450 reviews
Central Perk Backpackers
19.73 USD

Hostel 64.6% 30 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
70.7%

Overall Rating

374 out of 600 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Maze Backpackers'

Atmosphere
67.2%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
64.0%
Cleanliness
57.6%
Staff
76.8%
Value
67.2%
Safety
68.8%
Refine your results Showing 411 of 494 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 16 | 17   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

WENTAO JING

Alone

Visiting friends or family

23 July 2014 WENTAO would recommend this property

Liked: good roommates

Disliked: The door of our room is broken...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was good and convenient backpacker

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

ERWANDY MOHAMED AZIZ

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2014 ERWANDY would recommend this property

Liked: Good free stuff -drinks, meal (check Maze calendar). Great social environment, staff are friendly. Hostel close to Coles which easy for traveler to get cheap ingredients and cook at hostel.

Disliked: Toilet little dirty. Room small for 8 Beds dorm. My bed was next to window just next to street and car noise was so loud, really annoying and cannot get proper sleep.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

29 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the freedom to come and go at any time.

Disliked: bit noisy but that was expected anyway :)

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Lucy Papafio

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

09 June 2014

Liked: Location

Disliked: The shower and toilets were very dirty. Staff only changed sheets on beds not duvet covers

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 June 2014

Liked: location

Disliked: dirty!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Maze is basically a university dorm. There is nothing special about it, but it's in a good location and the staff were helpful. I can imagine during high season it might get a little crazy there, though I found it was okay when I went at the end of May.

Disliked: It's not very clean, though they seem to try to keep up with it. The place is sort of run down. Some thing are broken, like the bathrooms. They have a very small number of bathrooms for the number of rooms.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

leon johnston

Alone

Work / volunteering

28 May 2014

Liked: Location is central to city.

Disliked: Generally not very clean. Shower facilities not very good. Kitchen just ok.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals

26 May 2014

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff. Good location.

Disliked: It was very shabby. My single room was so bare it looked more like a prison cell. Good thing I was only sleeping there! Bathrooms smelled clean but looked awful. Needs a make-over.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Events / festivals
Work / volunteering

26 May 2014

Liked: Location, staff, facilities

Disliked: Everything was gone about the stay except for how noisy it was. I stayed for 4 nights and barely got any sleep the entire stay. Screaming parties still going on at 6 am. I didn't expect this and would never stay there again or recommend it for that reason. Staff friend and location great. If you want a party backpacker, this is a good one. Sadly, I wasn't lol .

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Anja Krueger

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

17 April 2014 Anja would recommend this property

Liked: One of my favourite hostels in Sydney! Even though it is a big hostel it is really social and good for meeting new people when you are travelling on your own. The kitchen is big enough and usually clean. When you check in you get loads of vouchers for free drinks for the clubs and bars close to the hostel. And sometimes even free wine :-)

Disliked: It's usually a long way to the bathrooms ;)

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

kathryn reid

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

03 April 2014 kathryn would recommend this property

Liked: great location, had great activities all thru the week and everyone i met there were amazing!

Disliked: kathryn left no negative feedback.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 March 2014

Liked: Absolutely nothing!

Disliked: Evereything! It's been the worst hostel I've ever stayed in (after 8 months of travelling)! In more detail for those interested: - very noisy (can't close the window) - very unsecure (can't close the window) - the key in the doorlock was very hard to move (was afraid to break it) - the matress was so hard, I could hardly sleep because of the pain in my back - there were only 2 showers and 3 toilets for so many rooms and people - the 2-bed room is so small, it feel like prison - the whole building is old and dirty - the floors are extremely slippery (in bathroom and kitchen) - too many rooms and beds - the ladder for the bed was so sticky - disgusting - it's a party hostel, they offer parties, drinking games and free goon and people are noisy in front of the hostel until late - watch out for food thieves! (someone stole our bread)

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family

24 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Despite the overall first impressions, the bed was super comfortable and quiet enough to sleep well.

Disliked: It's old, feels rundown, and they're not subtle about the clientelle - they give you condoms at checkin(!).

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

22 March 2014

Liked: no

Disliked: no

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Marko Stojkovic

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 March 2014

Liked: nothing

Disliked: dirty stinky rooms, not cleaned. No Aircondition. Paying for the Internet. Small Kitchen for that much rooms and people they have

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Mai Kaneko

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

03 March 2014

Liked: Nothing. will Never stay there again.

Disliked: All staff was not friendly n unhelpful. Dirty n a door lock is old. Not safety for security.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is good. Kitchen is big, enough pigeon holes and stoves to cook. Showers works and there's hot water 24h. Hostel has every evening some party arranged.

Disliked: Kitchen area need more fridges. Also building is old and not that clean but basic things works. Dorm room smelled weird..

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jerica Balog

As a family with children

City break

26 February 2014 Jerica would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet location and great staff

Disliked: Jerica left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Vaughan Baguley

Alone

Visiting friends or family

24 February 2014

Liked: Excellent location

Disliked: This is an extremely dirty and noisy hostel. I used to stay here when it was the CB hotel and it looks like apart from common areas nothing has been done to it apart from cramming more beds in rooms. Needs new carpets and a paint job. The room I had just had a bed in it with nothing else - nowhere to hang clothes - no chair - actually absolutely nothing else. There are cheaper and better places to stay in Sydney They charge for Wi-Fi.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

22 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The theme of a maze was clever.

Disliked: The theme was frustrating at the same time as it was clever. It was hard to find rooms. the room I stayed in stunk, but everything was very clean and nice.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

17 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice layout, "maze" is right, the corridors on each floor are winding and interesting to walk around.

Disliked: My mattress was like concrete, no cushioning, pillow was a little flat for my liking

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

12 February 2014

Liked: Kitchen is clean!

Disliked: the staff are rude, I called for pick me up from the airport because I stay 3 nights and the staff who picked my call talked to me like I am an idiot eventhough I only want to confirm to them do I need to wait inside or outside the gate. He talked like I don't pay the accomidation and he doesn't need the job. I almost cancelled my stay but I don't know where to go. Prior I stay, most staff talked without any attention or care about their guests needs. I complaint about my electricity source because it didnt work, and no one fixed it. in my mind, what the hell with those people. I stayed so many places and this place has the worst service.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 February 2014

Liked: The location is great, very close to the centre. Kitchen facilities were good for a hostel and in reasonably good shape.

Disliked: The room (at least in our case) was nothing like in the pictures, very dated and cramped. The small size can be expected of course but the problem is that the air doesn't move at all and you didn't want to keep the window open because of the constat screaming, yelling and other ruckus in the alley way... so no air really. The whole place could use some tlc because it's really run down and dirty in places.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

thomas jenkins

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 February 2014 thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Good central location, good for meeting people.

Disliked: No aircon, temperatures in rooms get very hot and uncomfortable.


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels