HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of Maze Backpackers

Hostel | 417 Pitt Street, Sydney, Australia 2000

63.0% Overall Rating

364 out of 584 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/04/2014)

Anja Krueger thinks…

"One of my favourite hostels in Sydney! Even though it is a big hostel it is really social and good for meeting new people when you are travelling on your own. The kitchen is big enough and usually…"

Read all Maze Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

*** Please note that there are NO en-suite bathroom rooms, BATHROOM FACILITIES ARE ALL COMMUNAL *** *** Minimum 10 Night booking over Christmas & New Year’s (26 Dec December – 6th January) *** “If you plan to arrive between 26th December and 6th January – a minimum stay of 10 nights is required. Reservations are to be secured by pre-payment. All Reservations held by credit card will be charged during the month of November (between 1st and 30th). Any credit cards that decline will have their reservations cancelled. Cancellations after 1st December 2013 (and before arrival date) will incur a penalty equal to that of your reservation. PLEASE NOTE:-IF BOOKING MORE THAN ONE PERSON INTO A DORM ROOM WE CANNOT GUARANTEE YOU WILL BE IN THE SAME ROOM. WE WILL HOWEVER TRY OUR BEST. You must present valid ID (passport or drivers licence) to be able to check in.”

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Nomads Westend Backpackers
16.85 USD

Hostel 73.8% 491 reviews
Base Sydney
29.02 USD

Hostel 78.7% 420 reviews
Sydney Backpackers
21.53 USD

Hostel 63.0% 72 reviews
Strattons Hostel
24.34 USD

Hostel 63.9% 28 reviews
World Square Hostel
26.21 USD

Hostel 79.0% 251 reviews
Y Hotel Hyde Park
38.38 USD

Hostel 78.9% 145 reviews
Elephant Backpacker Sydney
16.85 USD

Hostel 59.1% 440 reviews
Central Perk Backpackers
20.60 USD

Hostel 62.7% 27 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
63.0%

Overall Rating

364 out of 584 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Maze Backpackers'

Atmosphere
60.0%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
55.2%
Cleanliness
48.0%
Staff
64.0%
Value
63.2%
Safety
64.8%
Refine your results Showing 401 of 479 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 16 | 17   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Anja Krueger

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

17 April 2014 Anja would recommend this property

Liked: One of my favourite hostels in Sydney! Even though it is a big hostel it is really social and good for meeting new people when you are travelling on your own. The kitchen is big enough and usually clean. When you check in you get loads of vouchers for free drinks for the clubs and bars close to the hostel. And sometimes even free wine :-)

Disliked: It's usually a long way to the bathrooms ;)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

kathryn reid

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

03 April 2014 kathryn would recommend this property

Liked: great location, had great activities all thru the week and everyone i met there were amazing!

Disliked: kathryn left no negative feedback.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 March 2014

Liked: Absolutely nothing!

Disliked: Evereything! It's been the worst hostel I've ever stayed in (after 8 months of travelling)! In more detail for those interested: - very noisy (can't close the window) - very unsecure (can't close the window) - the key in the doorlock was very hard to move (was afraid to break it) - the matress was so hard, I could hardly sleep because of the pain in my back - there were only 2 showers and 3 toilets for so many rooms and people - the 2-bed room is so small, it feel like prison - the whole building is old and dirty - the floors are extremely slippery (in bathroom and kitchen) - too many rooms and beds - the ladder for the bed was so sticky - disgusting - it's a party hostel, they offer parties, drinking games and free goon and people are noisy in front of the hostel until late - watch out for food thieves! (someone stole our bread)

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family

24 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Despite the overall first impressions, the bed was super comfortable and quiet enough to sleep well.

Disliked: It's old, feels rundown, and they're not subtle about the clientelle - they give you condoms at checkin(!).

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

22 March 2014

Liked: no

Disliked: no

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Marko Stojkovic

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 March 2014

Liked: nothing

Disliked: dirty stinky rooms, not cleaned. No Aircondition. Paying for the Internet. Small Kitchen for that much rooms and people they have

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Mai Kaneko

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

03 March 2014

Liked: Nothing. will Never stay there again.

Disliked: All staff was not friendly n unhelpful. Dirty n a door lock is old. Not safety for security.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is good. Kitchen is big, enough pigeon holes and stoves to cook. Showers works and there's hot water 24h. Hostel has every evening some party arranged.

Disliked: Kitchen area need more fridges. Also building is old and not that clean but basic things works. Dorm room smelled weird..

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jerica Balog

As a family with children

City break

26 February 2014 Jerica would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet location and great staff

Disliked: Jerica left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Vaughan Baguley

Alone

Visiting friends or family

24 February 2014

Liked: Excellent location

Disliked: This is an extremely dirty and noisy hostel. I used to stay here when it was the CB hotel and it looks like apart from common areas nothing has been done to it apart from cramming more beds in rooms. Needs new carpets and a paint job. The room I had just had a bed in it with nothing else - nowhere to hang clothes - no chair - actually absolutely nothing else. There are cheaper and better places to stay in Sydney They charge for Wi-Fi.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

22 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The theme of a maze was clever.

Disliked: The theme was frustrating at the same time as it was clever. It was hard to find rooms. the room I stayed in stunk, but everything was very clean and nice.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

17 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice layout, "maze" is right, the corridors on each floor are winding and interesting to walk around.

Disliked: My mattress was like concrete, no cushioning, pillow was a little flat for my liking

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

12 February 2014

Liked: Kitchen is clean!

Disliked: the staff are rude, I called for pick me up from the airport because I stay 3 nights and the staff who picked my call talked to me like I am an idiot eventhough I only want to confirm to them do I need to wait inside or outside the gate. He talked like I don't pay the accomidation and he doesn't need the job. I almost cancelled my stay but I don't know where to go. Prior I stay, most staff talked without any attention or care about their guests needs. I complaint about my electricity source because it didnt work, and no one fixed it. in my mind, what the hell with those people. I stayed so many places and this place has the worst service.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 February 2014

Liked: The location is great, very close to the centre. Kitchen facilities were good for a hostel and in reasonably good shape.

Disliked: The room (at least in our case) was nothing like in the pictures, very dated and cramped. The small size can be expected of course but the problem is that the air doesn't move at all and you didn't want to keep the window open because of the constat screaming, yelling and other ruckus in the alley way... so no air really. The whole place could use some tlc because it's really run down and dirty in places.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

thomas jenkins

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 February 2014 thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Good central location, good for meeting people.

Disliked: No aircon, temperatures in rooms get very hot and uncomfortable.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

29 January 2014

Liked: great location just round the corner to all things you need to see and do. relaxed atmosphere

Disliked: not friendly and helpful on the reception. very very dirty and scrufy and smelly with sticky floor.1dolar per 15min of internet use and charge for wifi also overcharged lockers. one of the worst hostels if it comes to hygiene am affraid.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

15 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free pancakes and airport pickup, they organise events in the weekends, perfect location. A nice hostel for meeting a lot of new people!

Disliked: It wasnt very clean, you had to pay for the wifi

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Moritz Brueckmann

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 January 2014 Moritz would recommend this property

Liked: Free goon, very clean, good kitchen organisation

Disliked: Moritz left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

08 January 2014

Liked: The nice lady that kept the kitchen clean otherwise it would be filthy

Disliked: Dirty rooms, no aircon, the fan blew dust all over my bed, showers no particularly clean, cockroaches. The cleaners weren't very friendly.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Rachel Tinkler

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 January 2014 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: Free things and social

Disliked: Occasional cockroach

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

YONG CHEN KHOR

Alone

Business / conference

06 January 2014

Liked: location

Disliked: cleanliness

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Considering how big the hostel is the cleanliness wasn't bad. Th location was fab - in the centre of town

Disliked: The noise. Doubled prices over Christmas and NY is not value for money.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Dennis Wieland

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2014 Dennis would recommend this property

Liked: Central, good facilities, nice people,

Disliked: N/a

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2014

Liked: Kitchen kept clean regularly

Disliked: Very rude and unfriendly staff on a number of occasions.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was my seventh stay @ Maze, and I´l be coming back again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels