We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of Maze Backpackers

Hostel | 417 Pitt Street, Sydney, Australia 2000

80.6% Overall Rating

385 out of 612 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/08/2014)

carol balmes thinks…

"the location is sooo good! its in the heart of the city. near to all cafes and tourist spots. I rested well in my room with 3 other girls."

Read all Maze Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

*** Please note that there are NO en-suite bathroom rooms, BATHROOM FACILITIES ARE ALL COMMUNAL *** *** All bookings between December 22nd 2014 and January 4th 2015 are subject to a 14 night minimum stay. Guests can cancel with no penalty until 3 weeks prior to arrival when they will be charged in full for their reservation without refund. Failure to pay when required may result in your booking being cancelled.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Nomads Westend Backpackers
23.58 USD

Hostel 72.9% 523 reviews
Base Sydney
28.82 USD

Hostel 76.2% 428 reviews
Sydney Backpackers
23.58 USD

Hostel 66.7% 76 reviews
Strattons Hostel
20.09 USD

Hostel 66.2% 29 reviews
World Square Hostel
20.09 USD

Hostel 80.5% 257 reviews
Y Hotel Hyde Park
58.08 USD

Hostel 79.8% 146 reviews
Elephant Backpacker Sydney
20.09 USD

Hostel 67.9% 453 reviews
Central Perk Backpackers
20.09 USD

Hostel 65.5% 31 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.6%

Overall Rating

385 out of 612 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Maze Backpackers'

Atmosphere
81.6%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
76.0%
Cleanliness
69.6%
Staff
85.6%
Value
76.0%
Safety
78.4%
Refine your results Showing 421 of 505 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 16 | 17   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 November 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location good, met lots of friendly people, noise curfew 11pm so can sleep.

Disliked: have to pay for wifi.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

RODRIGO BALEIRO

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2014

Liked: Free towels

Disliked: I've got my guitar stolen. DONT USE THE LUGGAGE STORAGE!!!!!!!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: LOcation is really good

Disliked: There`s party going on every night

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

04 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very very easy. Lots of activities.

Disliked: nothing in particular to dislike

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Colleen Fielmann

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2014 Colleen would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, they were very helpful. Good location too.

Disliked: Very dirty. Bugs and smells.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference

17 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its proximity to central station is great.

Disliked: The rooms are cold

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location and value for money

Disliked: Too big and hard to get around

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

carol balmes

Alone

Business / conference

15 August 2014 carol would recommend this property

Liked: the location is sooo good! its in the heart of the city. near to all cafes and tourist spots. I rested well in my room with 3 other girls.

Disliked: there is one girl at the reception who made me carry my heavy luggage bag twice because she is so busy talking to her friend who lives at the backpackers and dont want to look for the key. and when i went up there to ask her again she just say "oh here it is" she didnt even say sorry. Pathetic training.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for twin room. Spotless. Decent showers. Noise stopped after 11pm.

Disliked: Pillows were a bit flat, mattress very springy.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rachelle Wood

Alone

City break

03 August 2014 Rachelle would recommend this property

Liked: Good hot water. Location. 24hr entry

Disliked: Noise.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

WENTAO JING

Alone

Visiting friends or family

23 July 2014 WENTAO would recommend this property

Liked: good roommates

Disliked: The door of our room is broken...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was good and convenient backpacker

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

ERWANDY MOHAMED AZIZ

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2014 ERWANDY would recommend this property

Liked: Good free stuff -drinks, meal (check Maze calendar). Great social environment, staff are friendly. Hostel close to Coles which easy for traveler to get cheap ingredients and cook at hostel.

Disliked: Toilet little dirty. Room small for 8 Beds dorm. My bed was next to window just next to street and car noise was so loud, really annoying and cannot get proper sleep.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

29 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the freedom to come and go at any time.

Disliked: bit noisy but that was expected anyway :)

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Lucy Papafio

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

09 June 2014

Liked: Location

Disliked: The shower and toilets were very dirty. Staff only changed sheets on beds not duvet covers

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 June 2014

Liked: location

Disliked: dirty!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Maze is basically a university dorm. There is nothing special about it, but it's in a good location and the staff were helpful. I can imagine during high season it might get a little crazy there, though I found it was okay when I went at the end of May.

Disliked: It's not very clean, though they seem to try to keep up with it. The place is sort of run down. Some thing are broken, like the bathrooms. They have a very small number of bathrooms for the number of rooms.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

leon johnston

Alone

Work / volunteering

28 May 2014

Liked: Location is central to city.

Disliked: Generally not very clean. Shower facilities not very good. Kitchen just ok.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals

26 May 2014

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff. Good location.

Disliked: It was very shabby. My single room was so bare it looked more like a prison cell. Good thing I was only sleeping there! Bathrooms smelled clean but looked awful. Needs a make-over.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Events / festivals
Work / volunteering

26 May 2014

Liked: Location, staff, facilities

Disliked: Everything was gone about the stay except for how noisy it was. I stayed for 4 nights and barely got any sleep the entire stay. Screaming parties still going on at 6 am. I didn't expect this and would never stay there again or recommend it for that reason. Staff friend and location great. If you want a party backpacker, this is a good one. Sadly, I wasn't lol .

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Anja Krueger

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

17 April 2014 Anja would recommend this property

Liked: One of my favourite hostels in Sydney! Even though it is a big hostel it is really social and good for meeting new people when you are travelling on your own. The kitchen is big enough and usually clean. When you check in you get loads of vouchers for free drinks for the clubs and bars close to the hostel. And sometimes even free wine :-)

Disliked: It's usually a long way to the bathrooms ;)

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

kathryn reid

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

03 April 2014 kathryn would recommend this property

Liked: great location, had great activities all thru the week and everyone i met there were amazing!

Disliked: kathryn left no negative feedback.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 March 2014

Liked: Absolutely nothing!

Disliked: Evereything! It's been the worst hostel I've ever stayed in (after 8 months of travelling)! In more detail for those interested: - very noisy (can't close the window) - very unsecure (can't close the window) - the key in the doorlock was very hard to move (was afraid to break it) - the matress was so hard, I could hardly sleep because of the pain in my back - there were only 2 showers and 3 toilets for so many rooms and people - the 2-bed room is so small, it feel like prison - the whole building is old and dirty - the floors are extremely slippery (in bathroom and kitchen) - too many rooms and beds - the ladder for the bed was so sticky - disgusting - it's a party hostel, they offer parties, drinking games and free goon and people are noisy in front of the hostel until late - watch out for food thieves! (someone stole our bread)

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family

24 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Despite the overall first impressions, the bed was super comfortable and quiet enough to sleep well.

Disliked: It's old, feels rundown, and they're not subtle about the clientelle - they give you condoms at checkin(!).

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

22 March 2014

Liked: no

Disliked: no


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels