We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of Maze Backpackers

Hostel | 417 Pitt Street, Sydney, Australia 2000

75.8% Overall Rating

397 out of 629 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/01/2015)

"The general atmosphere of Maze is great! The staff are very welcoming and friendly and were happy to help with anything. The bathrooms were also very clean, which is always a positive! And the bed was very comfortable.…"

Read all Maze Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

*** Please note that there are NO en-suite bathroom rooms, BATHROOM FACILITIES ARE ALL COMMUNAL *** *** All bookings between December 22nd 2014 and January 4th 2015 are subject to a 14 night minimum stay. Guests can cancel with no penalty until 3 weeks prior to arrival when they will be charged in full for their reservation without refund. Failure to pay when required may result in your booking being cancelled.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Nomads Westend Backpackers
19.21 USD

Hostel 74.9% 534 reviews
Base Sydney
27.07 USD

Hostel 76.5% 432 reviews
Sydney Backpackers
22.71 USD

Hostel 65.9% 77 reviews
Strattons Hostel
16.59 USD

Hostel 67.4% 30 reviews
World Square Hostel
16.59 USD

Hostel 81.5% 261 reviews
Y Hotel Hyde Park
25.76 USD

Hotel 79.8% 146 reviews
Elephant Backpacker Sydney
20.09 USD

Hostel 66.5% 457 reviews
Central Perk Backpackers
21.83 USD

Hostel 65.0% 32 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/01/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/01/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
75.8%

Overall Rating

397 out of 629 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Maze Backpackers'

Atmosphere
76.8%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
72.8%
Cleanliness
67.2%
Staff
82.4%
Value
70.4%
Safety
69.6%
Refine your results Showing 432 of 522 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 17 | 18   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

alex granger

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 January 2015 alex would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: no air conditioning

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

28 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The general atmosphere of Maze is great! The staff are very welcoming and friendly and were happy to help with anything. The bathrooms were also very clean, which is always a positive! And the bed was very comfortable. I will definitely stay here again and recommend this place to friends.

Disliked: The only thing I didn't really like about the property was the smallness of the room, very hard to move in and the curtains in the room I stayed in were very dirty and stained, which made me not want to touch them. Although these are only minor things, and they didn't worry me too much.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

28 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed my stay here, there is plenty of social events and other activities to do. Great location and very good for money. Highly recommended!

Disliked: It did get a bit hot and stuffy without AirCon in the room. My friend and i had our own private room, but had to change as water was leaking in everywhere, and there was several puddles that had collected on the floor. Most of our clothes got covered in water, but the staff were very very helpful in helping us sort it all out, and gave us free laundry and towels.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

18 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was all good.

Disliked: just a tad too hot as no A/C

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Martin Baeuerle

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 January 2015 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: clean

Disliked: staff..

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2015

Liked: The location was excellent close to everything. The kitchen area was kept spotless

Disliked: The hostel is massive and so loses some character. The TV room looked uncomfortable and so i didn't spend anytime in it. WiFi was not free and reception and connection was patchy. Lots of cockroaches in the hall way and in the room. Also not enough bathrooms and not kept very clean.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free activities for the guests made it easy to get to know to new people and I made friends for life! Great place for people who are travelling alone.

Disliked: Rooms were very hot and there was no air conditioning.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Geraint Lewis

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2015 Geraint would recommend this property

Liked: Good, clean kitchen

Disliked: could do with some basic DIY just to tidy the place up..

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Danny Smulders

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 January 2015 Danny would recommend this property

Liked: Location is perfect

Disliked: No airconditioning

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Murat Sürmeli

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 December 2014 Murat would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to traşn station and cheap

Disliked: Bank beds were not comfy

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

22 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the events that they arranged to the backpackers. Also the kitchen was nice and clean all the time.

Disliked: We stayed in twin room that looked a little bit like a jail. Sowers and taps didn't work properly and I think it's not right to force peoples to buy cooling bags for their food cause they can keep their food in plastic bags etc. duvees were also disgusting.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 November 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location good, met lots of friendly people, noise curfew 11pm so can sleep.

Disliked: have to pay for wifi.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

RODRIGO BALEIRO

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2014

Liked: Free towels

Disliked: I've got my guitar stolen. DONT USE THE LUGGAGE STORAGE!!!!!!!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: LOcation is really good

Disliked: There`s party going on every night

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

04 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very very easy. Lots of activities.

Disliked: nothing in particular to dislike

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Colleen Fielmann

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2014 Colleen would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, they were very helpful. Good location too.

Disliked: Very dirty. Bugs and smells.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference

17 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its proximity to central station is great.

Disliked: The rooms are cold

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location and value for money

Disliked: Too big and hard to get around

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

carol balmes

Alone

Business / conference

15 August 2014 carol would recommend this property

Liked: the location is sooo good! its in the heart of the city. near to all cafes and tourist spots. I rested well in my room with 3 other girls.

Disliked: there is one girl at the reception who made me carry my heavy luggage bag twice because she is so busy talking to her friend who lives at the backpackers and dont want to look for the key. and when i went up there to ask her again she just say "oh here it is" she didnt even say sorry. Pathetic training.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for twin room. Spotless. Decent showers. Noise stopped after 11pm.

Disliked: Pillows were a bit flat, mattress very springy.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rachelle Wood

Alone

City break

03 August 2014 Rachelle would recommend this property

Liked: Good hot water. Location. 24hr entry

Disliked: Noise.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

WENTAO JING

Alone

Visiting friends or family

23 July 2014 WENTAO would recommend this property

Liked: good roommates

Disliked: The door of our room is broken...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was good and convenient backpacker

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

ERWANDY MOHAMED AZIZ

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2014 ERWANDY would recommend this property

Liked: Good free stuff -drinks, meal (check Maze calendar). Great social environment, staff are friendly. Hostel close to Coles which easy for traveler to get cheap ingredients and cook at hostel.

Disliked: Toilet little dirty. Room small for 8 Beds dorm. My bed was next to window just next to street and car noise was so loud, really annoying and cannot get proper sleep.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

29 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the freedom to come and go at any time.

Disliked: bit noisy but that was expected anyway :)


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels